Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
3077 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 178)

Cat Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Slack Supports Thriving Culture of a Global 1300+ Employee Company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility around notifications. Being part of a 1200+ employee company & a member of multiple channels & groups in Slack, it's fantastic being able to control that notifications I WANT to receive (and which I'd like to "mute," another helpful function).
  • The ability to create separate "channels" & groups. This has been key in making sure communication is organized & categorized in a way that makes sense. For example, we have separate channels for announcements, tech-related troubleshooting, different departments, etc.
  • Ease of use & just plain fun. With emojis, "reactions," and gifs built in, communicating can be quite fun :)
  • A channel initially created as private can't be changed to public. (However, the reverse is possible -- public channels can be made private.)
  • The flip side of all the features, functionality, and "fun" aspects of Slack is that it can be a distraction from real work if you're not careful (there IS such a thing as falling into the Slack rabbit hole!).
Read Cat Nguyen's full review
Harshit Bhattaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Slack! All amazing items in a single package.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multiple channels/groups for a specific purpose.
  • Excellent functionality for code snippets.
  • When pasting a large code snippet it hangs and has to be force closed.
  • Video calls can be improved by giving more functionality like pass control and so on.
Read Harshit Bhattaram's full review
Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good communication platform for business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provision to create chat threads.
  • Saves chat history as per the pricing plan.
  • Provision to create channels and add guest members to specific channels.
  • Provision to add external members.
  • Call option which has good voice clarity.
  • All files shared to cumulate on a central repo could have been easy especially for admins.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
James Buchholz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Slack is so important to the way we communicate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's PERFECT for getting quick answers and having quick light conversations with coworkers.
  • Downtime is very rare.
  • It integrates well with other programs and has great little add-ons.
  • It can become a crutch when people become so accustomed to instant answers.
  • Can hinder productivity with add-ons and apps like Giphy.
Read James Buchholz's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

More than a mobile messaging app, it's Slack...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It has a nice UI and is easy to set up and use. New team members could easily get updated from a particular channel as well.
  • It has both mobile and web-based versions available allowing us to use it on the go.
  • It is free for most of the cases and allowed us to create different channels or groups for different departments, teams or projects.
  • It offers easy integrations with most used services like Google Drive, GitHub etc.
  • Its paid plan is very expensive for startups and businesses having low revenue/big teams.
  • For large organisations too, it creates chaos because large numbers of users generate large data. Slack does not support much management of this.
  • Sometimes it looks like we are using a messaging app instead of a professional service, as it has all the features of instant messaging apps, like emojis, etc. Professionally sometimes, these don't seem to be useful.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Second go around with Slack not so good, why do we use this thing?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It duplicates other services that we already have really well. For example, Yammer, our LMS, and other general communications tools.
  • I like that you can add pictures.
  • It is sort of retro, like ICQ.
  • Totally annoying and disruptive to getting anything done.
  • Seems to go down the most out of all our cloud services, and we got a bunch of them.
  • The UI is just bad. Not intuitive.
  • Not a good value.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Slack is much more than an instant messaging application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Perfect integration with external applications. The catalog is huge and responds before many needs of the digital work world.
  • Instant messaging is on another level because of all the features in the chats. The threads are great to continue a conversation.
  • Segment communication with channels that can be created at will. It's great to talk about various topics without mixing them.
  • The Search Bar is great: search even within the content of the documents shared.
  • At first, it is difficult to use Slack. It has many functions that are not intuitive to learn to use.
  • The browser application sometimes does not send notifications on time.
  • The license is expensive.
Read Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa's full review
Victoria Loza | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Slack for professional mobile communication

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Slack offers notification features for different departments.
  • Slack allows one to send private messages to administrators.
  • Slack allows one to send group messages.
  • Slack could allow for a video chat feature.
  • It needs to feature more emojis and stickers for its messages.
  • It also needs a voice messaging feature like Whatsapp.
Read Victoria Loza's full review
Prad Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Slack at an IT Campus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good for individual and team communications
  • Sharing documents and images, keeping confidential data in a private chat room
  • Maintaining corporate privacy
  • Securing data, and [ability to] delete it later as the scope gets diminished.
  • Linking with a Video chat conference tool e.g. Zoom or Webex
  • Linking a message with a telephone text or voice notification for after hours support
Read Prad Das's full review
ISHAN DEEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Slack - Professional Whatsapp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • App notifications using Slack Hooks.
  • Departmental updates on Slack Channels.
  • File sharing across organization.
  • Integrations with Bitbucket.
  • Personal notepad and reminder tools.
  • Calendar organizer.
  • Search feature. It's really hard to search for old data across channels and personal chats.
  • Syntax highlights for code.
  • Mobile app sometimes misses notifications.
  • Creating files inside Slack directly to send to a channel or person.
Read ISHAN DEEP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2020

Slack, the best 4 in 1 solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • instant messgaing
  • video calls
  • integrations-ability to create help tickets with commands within Slack
  • the internal searching mechanism could be better
  • sometimes run into bandwidth issues on calls
  • have had some issues picking up the microphone on my headset sometimes
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Slack is a solid group-communication platform. Clean, easy, intuitive. Offers a rich feature set and integrations.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Clean, intuitive UI.
  • Easy, custom functionality development.
  • Notifications can be overwhelming at times. It would be great to have a smarter way of filtering.
  • Channels may get unwieldy. Better ability to prioritize would be helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Slack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Through Slack you can collaborate within your terms very well.
  • You can use it to video call.
  • I do not think there are many cons to the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Wonderful instant communication tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows people to get instant responses and help with a project.
  • Slack is faster and so more productive to communicate than emails that we cannot read fast enough.
  • Because we work with three time zones, it has been a beneficial tool for us in the US, working with Europe and Asia.
  • I am not an expert, and I am not sure if I use 100% of the features that Slack offers, but maybe calling like hangout would be a valuable option to have?
  • I would like to add pictures instead of group names, not sure it is possible, but that would be helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Easy-to-use and Great for Organizing Your Workplace Communications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The interface is simple and easy-to-use.
  • There are so many other apps (Google Drive, Trello, etc.) that easily integrate with the platform.
  • The mobile app is clean and simple.
  • I don't love the drafts list and I wish I could turn it off. I understand its function, but for me, it is obnoxious to have to scroll all the way up to the top of the window in order to continue a message I started.
  • The calling feature sometimes kicks us off.
  • I wish there was a way to drag/drop channels and DMs into the order you want.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Terrific Software. Highly recommended!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. It is straightforward and easy to navigate.
  • File sharing while maintaining file quality is terrific.
  • Viewing user groups is a great feature.
  • I don't love that I have to scroll to the top of my unread messages before I can clear the messages.
  • I wish I could see a preview of my message before it gets sent out, especially if it's a poll or something with specific formatting.
  • A poll option that is easy to use would be great.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

No more slacking around!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows easy dissemination of information to the broader team.
  • Feels quicker and more informal to writing emails.
  • The sharing of files is a breeze.
  • Hyperlinks in text.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Review by common user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Communication between members of a team
  • Communication with clients
  • Send memos
  • Making sure must-read messages were in fact read
  • Polling
  • Erasing a whole message for non-admin users. Right now, erasing a whole message just crosses the words, we must substitute the old message with something else.
  • Options to save favorites Gifs on /Giphy
  • Adding personalized Gifs
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (94)
7.7
Gantt Charts (34)
7.0
Scheduling (69)
7.7
Workflow Automation (79)
7.7
Mobile Access (165)
9.0
Search (164)
8.3
Visual planning tools (46)
7.8
Chat (178)
9.6
Notifications (176)
9.0
Discussions (172)
9.1
Surveys (88)
8.0
Internal knowledgebase (91)
8.2
Integrates with GoToMeeting (46)
8.4
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (84)
8.6
Integrates with Outlook (51)
8.2
Versioning (72)
7.3
Video files (136)
8.2
Audio files (132)
8.1
Document collaboration (111)
7.8
Access control (98)
8.3
Advanced security features (81)
7.5
Integrates with Google Drive (102)
8.7
Device sync (107)
8.5

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No