Slack

Slack

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
Top Rated
Slack

Overview

Recent Reviews

Slack for everyday use

10 out of 10
September 20, 2022
We use Slack across all departments. It helps to connect multiple remote team members to complete projects, and it also connects remote …
Continue reading

Feel free using Slack

9 out of 10
September 14, 2022
When I started working at my current job, we would use Slack, but the directors changed it to Teams. Even in my previous job, they did the …
Continue reading

I love Slack!

10 out of 10
September 12, 2022
Slack is probably the best team communication tool I have used. The amount of redundant emails it can help cut down is staggering. The …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 23 features
  • Chat (288)
    9.7
    97%
  • Mobile Access (266)
    9.3
    93%
  • Discussions (279)
    9.3
    93%
  • Notifications (285)
    9.1
    91%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Slack, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Standard

$8.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Plus

$15.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Project Management

8.0
80%

Communication

8.5
85%

File Sharing & Management

8.5
85%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Slack?

Slack is a Digital HQ
As the command center of the workday, Slack provides a flexible way to work with people, apps and partners in one space.

The new space for success
Slack connects people with each other and with their tools and data, equipping teams to be productive and open up opportunities.

Transform Teamwork
Working together in channels—dedicated spaces built around specific projects and initiatives—keeps the right people and information in one place.

Embrace Flexibility
Huddles let teams chat over audio instantly, with the option for video and screen sharing with the tap of a button.

Work Faster
With clips, teams can create audio, video and screen recordings to share updates, walk through demos or talk out an idea with more clarity (and personality).

Extend Collaboration
Slack Connect lets users work alongside external partners and customers in Slack channels, to speed up projects and strengthen relationships.

Integrate Tools
From project management tools to a daily calendar, Slack integrates with more than 2,400 applications.

Automate Tasks
In Slack, users can turn routine meetings and tasks like standups, approvals and requests into automated workflows.


Slack Features

Project Management Features

  • Supported: Task Management
  • Supported: Scheduling
  • Supported: Workflow Automation
  • Supported: Mobile Access
  • Supported: File tracking
  • Supported: Tagging
  • Supported: Search
  • Supported: Integrates with other Project Management Tools
  • Supported: Visual planning tools

Communication Features

  • Supported: Chat
  • Supported: Status updates and activity feed
  • Supported: Notifications
  • Supported: Comments and feedback
  • Supported: Discussions
  • Supported: User directory and online status
  • Supported: Sharing and privacy
  • Supported: Surveys
  • Supported: Internal knowledgebase
  • Supported: Integrates with Skype
  • Supported: Integrates with GoToMeeting
  • Supported: Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts
  • Supported: Integrates with Outlook

File Sharing & Management Features

  • Supported: Versioning
  • Supported: Document files
  • Supported: Image files
  • Supported: Video files
  • Supported: Audio files
  • Supported: Document collaboration
  • Supported: Shared folders
  • Supported: Access control
  • Supported: Advanced security features
  • Supported: Integrates with Google Drive
  • Supported: Integrates with SharePoint
  • Supported: Device sync
  • Supported: Web interface
  • Supported: File change notifications
  • Supported: Simultaneous editing

Additional Features

  • Supported: Audio Conferencing
  • Supported: Video Conferencing
  • Supported: Sales Enablement
  • Supported: Unified Communications as a Service
  • Supported: Meeting Management
  • Supported: Encrypted Communications

Slack Integrations

Slack Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. Slack was acquired by Salesforce in December 2020. The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls. The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

HipChat (discontinued), Microsoft Yammer, and Convo are common alternatives for Slack.

Reviewers rate Chat highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Slack are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (6510)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 288)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Schedule messages --> In order to promote work-life balance, we can schedule messages such that they reach the recipient's inbox during the office hours
  • Entire conversation --> A new joiner to a channel has access to all the previous conversation, making it easy for Knowledge Transfer
  • Snooze notification option --> This is really helpful so that individuals don't get disturbed during the off-time or when they are in meetings/doing some important work
  • Ability to add images/videos in line and not as attachments --> makes it easier to make messages more engaging
  • Slack daily use report --> help users know how much time is spent on slack daily (digital/screen fatigue)
  • New reactions :D
George Mejia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Notification settings, I can set up notifications behavior by device; notifications runs differently on my phone than on my desktop laptop
  • Well organized threads, makes me focus on what really is important and setup the context very well
  • Reactions really simplifies people response
  • Formatting options, I would like I have better access to format my messages
  • Speaker camera would be great, sometimes it is needed so we need to go to meet
Megha Lotlikar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Screen sharing is a great feature
  • Channels helps us to discuss our projects and decisions making
  • Great video and audio quality for effective meetings with my colleagues and customers
  • Notifications sometimes are missed - there is a bug which read messages to be unread
  • Sometimes the support team is slow to respond
September 20, 2022

Slack for everyday use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use
  • Connects multiple teams
  • Multiple integrations with other software
  • Fun to add GIF’s
  • Adding channels
  • Creating a new logo
  • Better user control settings
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Organized way of having conversations and sub conversations through Slack thread
  • helps in setting reminder notifications and multiple communication types: voice/text messages, huddle calls/can set custom calls, huge set of stickers, etc
  • staying connected and updated with the team/org based in different time-zone/location
  • Drafts do not always remain saved when switching between messages.
  • it is hard to get back to a post if you are part of multiple channels
  • I wonder if there is something which notifies me after people reads my messages
September 13, 2022

Go back to Slack.

Nadine van der Haar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Slack has a mobile version with push notifications.
  • The web-app version is particularly useful when you need your screen and are not at your home desktop.
  • The integrations speed up a lot of processes because you do not need to be constantly redirected.
  • Thread conversations can get lost unless you actively revisit your old threads. You would need a mention to receive all the alerts.
  • Copy and pasting images into a thread does not work with forward bot applications.
  • Bots created by other users can become annoying. You have to wait for the creator to change its functions.
September 12, 2022

I love Slack!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Integrations. It integrates with almost every productivity tool I use.
  • Sharing files is super easy. You can simply drag and drop to upload files.
  • Searchable chat history is very important to us.
  • It is very easy to use. We were able to create "rooms" and group chats very easily.
  • I had difficulty setting up the right notifications. I wish that was easier to configure.
  • The stand-alone app works great, but sometimes I don't get notifications if I am using it through Firefox.
  • Call audio quality could be better but I don't really use it for that.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use! Slack takes very little to get up and running. The interface is very intuitive!
  • Collaboration is where Slack shines. It is so versatile in bringing all our teams, customers, contractors and vendors in one place, replacing email.
  • Integrations! Slack integrates very well with many products in your tech stack. There's no custom work required.
  • Missed threads are a common complaint from my team. When viewing messages in the unread or threads, it's easy to get distracted and lose that message. Some of us are subscribed to 100 channels and if you don't remember where a message was, it can be hard to find it again.
  • The search function is not the greatest. It takes some getting used to the filters and options to be able to really narrow down your search.
Javier Carrion | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Slack does very well with notifications. You can create reminders for people or an entire channel.
  • Slack lets you add basic text formatting. For example, a tilde around a text will let you add a strike-through.
  • You can start a search from your message box. Type "/s" followed by what you want to find.
  • There's no Boolean search. Say you want to find all messages and use two terms, and you will get any messages that have either term.
  • No way to notify all messages from a particular person.
  • Away messages are basic. Teams are either active or away.
Ryker Watts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Create Groups for specific users and their roles within Slack.
  • Great for note taking.
  • The mobile app makes it easy to keep in touch on my laptop or while on the go with my phone.
  • A customizable notification center for messages would be a plus.
  • Drafts do not always seem to create/save when switching between messages.
  • Option for just “@mentions” would be nice (not including @here and/or @channel).
September 06, 2022

As Quick As Slack

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We can record the audio and presentation
  • We can share files as attachments and see within each message thread
  • It would be great if Slack can accommodate more than 2 people for free video meeting.
  • Need a button above the chat box which will lead to the bottom/most recent chat when we get a ton of messages or when we are at the top and want to see the most recent messages.
  • A WhatsApp feature which gives us an option to see who all have seen the sent messages in group/channel would be amazing
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Slack is great for organizing conversations via channels.
  • Slack helps us stay connected to each other and our clients.
  • Slack has many integrations to enhance the overall experience and make transitioning between various apps seamless.
  • It would be nice if slack's HubSpot integration worked in private channels as well as public channels so our internal communications could be logged automatically in HubSpot (we currently have to copy/paste relevant info).
Nancy Cardin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • available in all formats
  • notification settings are pretty detailed
  • allows threads
  • issues on chrome, phone, especially older hardware
  • harder to find people of messages you've sent before. need to have another option with recent contacts that aren't starred. and channels
  • separate group messages from direct messages in starred
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Slack speeds communicating up.
  • Slack enables transparent communications.
  • Slack has flexibility to customize notifications so you can balance noise with focus.
  • Slack enables you to keep important information top of mind (pin posts, set message reminders).
  • Slack enables you to schedule sending messages so you can respect colleagues' work hours.
  • If you have many channels, it can be hard to remember where you saw a post to get back to it.
  • If other users don't know how to manage communications specifically for Slack, then it can get cluttered and disorganized.
  • If a company uses both email and slack equally, it can duplicate effort and cause confusion where messages are sent – you need to create clear guidelines for your employees.
Return to navigation