Smartlook Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
186 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 66)

Louis Schietekat | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Great for startups!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smartlook is used by me as the sole developer of our website and marketing campaigns. Since we are a startup company Smartlook is providing us invaluable insight as to how our users interact with our website, landing pages, and sales funnels. It has helped me identify website issues on specific screen sizes.
  • Smartlook has an awesome funnel visualization tool which is much easier to set up compared to Facebook and Google Analytics.
  • Smartlook incorporates great filtering functionality to group your recordings for east processing.
  • The free trial is loaded with functionality.
  • Privacy issues with other countries are unclear (especially in Europe).
  • Even though recordings are only kept for 30 days it would be useful if the old recording info is still available such as date and time.
  • The assistant pop-ups are useful sometimes and annoying sometimes. It would like to be able to enable/disable them.
Smartlook is well suited for any new website to understand how new users interact with the different aspects of the website. I guess it would not be appropriate to use Smartlook on specific websites where privacy issues would block or severely limit the recording of most of the user activities.
Read Louis Schietekat's full review
Nikol Burešová | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Get smarter with Smartlook

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smartlook is used by our marketing department and website developers. Thanks to Smartlook, we get important data that help us make our website more user-friendly for potential adopters of our animals. Also, fundraising strategy has become more efficient. Furthermore, we use the data to increase the sales in our online charity shop.
  • Heatmaps help you better understand how end-users use your website. Thanks to the data provided by Smartlook, you can adjust your website and make it more user-friendly.
  • Smartlook has fantastic funnels which help you analyse your data and understand them.
  • Records. You can just sit back and watch how the end-user used your website, where exactly they clicked etc.
  • In general, we are VERY HAPPY with Smartlook. It has everything a beginner needs.
  • Could use a mobile application perhaps?
Smartlook is best suited for websites where the end-user is expected to do something - read articles, shop, use an app. It is less suited for heatmaps of a mobile device.
Read Nikol Burešová's full review
claudia Koehoorn | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Get smart with Smartlook

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Smartlook to monitor our website, track where the visitors engage or seek information. Smartlook helps to understand what visitors find interesting and appealing or not by recording the time the visitor spends on the website and which pages he or she visits. It's a great service. We use this information to enhance our website and services.
  • Shows how long people stay on your website
  • Shows which pages of your website they visit
  • Shows where your visitors come from
  • Gives you insight into the visitor's interests
Smartlook is very easy to use and provides lots of information
Read claudia Koehoorn's full review
Ray Mai | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

A casual review of Smartlook

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smarklook is being used by the marketing department only and we are using it to create heat maps so we can have a better understanding of our website"s user behaviors. Besides that, the tracking function is quite helpful as well. Being able to see how the users actually interact with our websites helps the marketing team develop the website into the next level.
  • Heatmap function
  • User behavior tracking
  • Pricing is customizable and reasonable
  • Should have connected with google analytic
  • Should be able to tell the reference difference (like youtube ads and search ads)
  • The free trial should seriously have more monthly session
There are times that I am confused with google analytic's bonce rate since it counts as a bounce if the users aren't interacting with multiple pages. Smartlook is extremely helpful in terms of checking users' behavior who has only 1-page interaction. As an analytic assistant tool, Smartlook works essentially well when you use it along with Google Analytics.
Read Ray Mai's full review
Penta Mauqa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Getting to know your users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Smartlook to run qualitative analysis of user behaviour on our app. It is being used by the Product and Growth department. It helps us identify the issues and pain points within our app which leads to an informed decision while creating a solution.
  • Provides session recording of what your users are actually doing in their app
  • Lets you apply filters to get to different segments of your user base and observe their behavior
  • Gives event tracking and funnels to help you understand your user's journey
  • The visual design is a little outdated
It's well suited when your app is struggling to produce results and you cannot understand the issues of the app. It is less needed if you are just starting out or do not have enough users. Also, you need to have some quantitative data at hand as well as knowing what's working and what's not.
Read Penta Mauqa's full review
Vadim Shchedrinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Smartlook is a fantastic way to help you improve your website and customer journey.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Smartlook to help us better understand our users needs. We are able to see any issues that they have with using our website and what content they are looking for. This is a great tool for any organization and we recommend it highly to our clients and business partners.
  • Tracking user actions.
  • Understanding customer journey
  • Helping us make business decisions.
Any business with a website where you want to know what your customers are doing and how you can improve your process. This is quite an amazing tool and we are planning on using it extensively in the future.
Read Vadim Shchedrinski's full review
Francesco Fraioli | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

The best alternative to FullStory

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smartlook is used by my company to monitor usability throughout the whole app. It's going to be used by the product team, mainly the design team to understand, keep track and learn from our users.
  • Easy to create a project and add tracking events to it.
  • I like funnel functionality.
  • Interface very user-friendly.
  • I wish the recordings would be available immediately, seems that there is no "live" view experience.
So far Smartlook fits perfectly with our workflow. I have to look more into how difficult is to turn off recording for some portions of our app, we don't need to record everything, I hope there is the ability to do so on the admin level instead of in the code.
Read Francesco Fraioli's full review
Bryon McCartney | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Smartlook is a smart product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm currently using the trial version of the app. I've used it before on another website and it's a fantastic product. It's amazing to be able to see what users do on your site and to better understand how you can make improvements. If you have not tried it, I highly recommend this app.
  • Easy to setup
  • Easy to use
  • Fast results
  • None
This is for anyone who has a website and wanted to make improvements to it. You can discover how users are interacting with your website and how your content and design affect user interaction. The site records actual videos of your user's mouse actions in real-time. A cool feature is the ability to skip periods of inactivity.
Read Bryon McCartney's full review
Pablo López Mayayo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Useful, first-hand behaviour insights

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the Marketing and Design Department in order to store and analyse data about our online store user experience.
  • Easy-to-use, Integrate and interpretate
  • Clear examples of UX fixes
  • Reduced storage needed for our data
  • Amount of time required to analyse
It's an appropriate tool for discovering issues in the UX of your site and for finding technical errors in specific cases. You can see how people navigate through your website, uses your tools, perceive your buttons, etc.
It was really useful when we found a UX issue. We were concerned about abandoned carts, and Smartlook helped us see the journey of our clients and try to improve our website to make it more appealing.

It's not useful if you want to see aggregated data, because the use of video takes too much time to watch & analyze all the individual cases. It would take too long in order to create aggregated data from the viewing sessions.
Read Pablo López Mayayo's full review
Jaroslav Pešek | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Smartlook - Love at the first smart sight

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used only in our department. I am the only person who works with Samrtlook in our company. We have started a new project with a new website and we need to know how people interact with it. So far I am satisfied and I am willing to use it in the future.
  • Heatmaps - so far I have not created one but I worked with them before.
  • Recording of a customers' website journey.
  • I can not see any.
I really like recording customer's walkthroughs of our website. It helps us improve not only the website but we suddenly realize the advantages of our product which need to be communicated more.
Read Jaroslav Pešek's full review
Lior Geller | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Great first experience with using Smartlook

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recently started using Smartlook to help me understand better our user funnel and I am very happy with the capabilities Smartlook enables.
With Samrtlook it is easy to get an easy understanding of the funnel and the specific user events I want to dig into.
  • Easy to use
  • Clear
  • Haven't seen any yet
Very relevant for recording app sessions. I haven't found a tool better than Smartlook.
Read Lior Geller's full review
Steven Wickham | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Smartlook is a smart choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Smartlook as a marketing aide to track visitors to our website and to see their journey, i.e which pages they are viewing and if and where they drop off before completing registration. Using this invaluable info we can make changes to our message in our advertisements or to the info on the website.
  • It identifies the origin of the user in terms of URL.
  • We can see if our sign up form is being completed fully and submitted.
  • We can see which products on the website are viewed most often.
  • Information from filters can't always be downloaded.
It is well suited for tracking the customer journey within your website.
Read Steven Wickham's full review
Nicolas PORTA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

smartlook is really a great product to improve the user experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today we are a small team and globally most of the employees use this solution above all to understand the needs of users, especially in the context of improving the user experience.
  • The price is very affordable
  • Easy to use and configure
  • Consistent and qualitative functionality
  • Honestly, I can't find any faults.
Smartlook is perfectly suited to understand and improve the user experience.
Read Nicolas PORTA's full review
Anthony C | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Smartlook - Instant Easy Access To User Behavior

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are new to Smartlook but our UIUX team is using it to refine our design and user flow according to customer behavior. We find the videos much easier to decipher than massive amounts of data coming from the likes of GA, FB Pixel or Mixpanel. I'm looking forward to trying and learning more about how this is really going to impact us long term.
  • Easy to understand user behavior.
  • Easy to follow UI/UX.
  • Simple installation.
  • Unsure at the moment.
Unsure at the moment.
Read Anthony C's full review
Mauricio Mesquita, MBA, PSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

The best choice to analyze customer behavior

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Smartlook to improve our sales rates according to customer behaviors by analyzing heatmaps, events, and records.
  • Heatmaps.
  • Tracking events.
  • Visitor recording.
  • Nothing that I can think of.
Smartlook is perfect to understand your visitors and customer behaviors.
Read Mauricio Mesquita, MBA, PSM's full review
Michael Forte | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Smartlook Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the web services department, of which I head. I like to make design, user experience, and app development decisions based on data, and this product really helps me with that.
  • Heatmap.
  • Recordings.
  • Customer journey.
  • None at this moment!
Smartlook is well suited for the analysis of how people interact with our website.
Read Michael Forte's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

My Review of Smartlook

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Smartlook in our marketing department to make decisions across the whole organization. We are currently utilizing Smartlook on our landing page site to gain insight how users are navigating our website to make sure they are seeing the important content and taking the actions we intended. We are also using Smartlook to see the referring URLs to know which marketing tactics are working.
  • It shows the referring URL that clients used to get to our website.
  • It's useful to see where users are navigating to on our website and use that information to make adjustments or improvements.
  • It's helpful to be able to see if users are coming back multiple times to our website.
  • It would be nice to be able to categorize or sort the recordings into sections, such as "Improvements, Useful Interactions, Positive Experience" etc. - so the information could be easily sorted out & used.
  • I would like to flag recordings so I could review them again, or make notes on them.
  • It seems to take awhile for the recordings to load, especially when you click ahead in the recording.
It is useful when you are trying to learn where you can make improvements on your website or to see how users interact with different elements. It's especially useful when used on a marketing website where you have specific call-to-action you want users to act on. I don't think it would be as useful or appropriate on websites where there isn't any action you want the users to take.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

A valuable resource for digital marketers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to track and evaluate user behavior on a website. The hope is to collect and analyze the data to see where the gaps, trouble spots and positives are on the website in order to help fulfill marketing and agency goals. It is being used by one person and then presented to a team.
  • Recordings are very thorough.
  • Heat maps are especially useful.
  • The scrolling overview is useful.
  • Funnels were a little difficult to understand.
  • Events were OK.
It is well suited for anyone that is involved or in charge of website activity and performance. Having this option is a useful tool to see what people are clicking on, which can help understand if users are finding what they are searching for. Or, they help reveal what is popular on a website.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Great product to help improve on-page conversions!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Smartlook with all of my clients' websites to help inform our digital marketing planning and progress toward goals. A common issue we use Smartlook to address is how to increase on-page conversions. We use the heat map tool and recorded user stories to see how users are interacting with the site to improve conversion navigation.
  • Heat mapping.
  • User story logging (videos of what users are doing on-page).
  • Very small learning curve on set-up and use.
  • Easily integrates with Google Tag Manager.
  • Certain sites seem to block the heat mapping tool—especially around clicks.
  • Data Studio integration for heat maps.
  • It would be great if the heat map could index the entire site instead of entering each page one-by-one.
We use Smartlook primarily with customers who are interested in increasing on-page conversions and/or improving navigations toward certain goals. This is especially useful for our e-commerce customers. When we onboard new customers, it's also a great tool that goes above and beyond the traditional analytics most firms use - it helps set us apart.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

The best UX data analizer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smartlook is the perfect way to improve your conversions funnels, there is no other app that brings you the data like Smartlook. Easy to use, easy to install' and perfect to convert. The price is too low in comparison with the boost of your results.
  • Low Price
  • Optimization UX
  • Focus in warnings
  • A little difficult to install
  • Poor Dashboard
  • Missing mobile version
If you have a webpage, you need to use SmartLook obligatorily. From a webstore, to an information page; in all cases you see the customer's behaviors. The way that your audience are responding to your data and easily how can you improve it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Smartlook creates invaluable insight for your new business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smartlook has been implemented with website launch for tracking user behavior and website functionality. It is being used to check where traffic is coming from, what actions users are taking, what conversions are happening. It is also to check if the website is behaving as expected while the user is navigating through the site.
  • It has been consistent with capturing data when a user visits the website. This is useful for cross-checking analytics data from other platforms. It shows the referral links and enough details about the session to be able to confirm the data is valid.
  • It has filters that you can apply to recordings so that you can very quickly see which recordings belong to which marketing campaign or referral source.
  • You can set up funnels to track conversions and then very easily click through to see those specific recordings.
  • For the free or lower-level packages, the data is kept only for a limited time, i.e. 30 days, so there is the situation where you are implementing a marketing funnel that might take longer than 30 days and when you finally make a conversion you might want to see to complete history/path that your user took which lead them to finally make the conversion. In this situation, you will have missing recordings from their initial visits.
  • Recordings are not made in all cases of traffic sessions. I would like to have more clarity/detail on why a specific session was not recorded. It would be great if Smartlook could confirm cases, where it could not record and explain that it was due to i.e. privacy setting/location/ session too short/ website, didn't load. This would help with troubleshooting possible issues on the website.
  • They could have an option that while you are busy watching one recording, there is a quick button to go to the next recording so that you can more easily skip trough a few recordings.
Smartlook is a must-have for any new website. New business owners and entrepreneurs will enjoy the great benefits of this tool. It creates invaluable insight into how users are interacting with your website, how well your marketing campaigns are performing, and cross-checking data with other analytics platforms. You will need it most in the beginning stages of your business or website when you are testing out marketing strategies, troubleshooting, and refining website design. You will still benefit from this even later on for optimizing sales performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Great product to test your ideas.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Smartlook in the past when it didn't have many functions and was a step behind their competition. After using the trial, I switched to competition for a paid version, because it offered a better user interface and more functions. However! A few days ago, I have signed up for a trial version of SmartLook again and was VERY surprised by how they have evolved. They might even be better than the competition I switched to after all. I will definitely keep on using SmartLook for a few months now. Please keep on improving as you have! Thank you.
  • Quick and easy setup.
  • Many functions.
  • Friendly user interface.
  • Over-complicated pricing models.
It's great when you KNOW what you are looking for. If you only want to implement it to see whether you will find something, you won't find anything. I recommend thinking about WHAT you are looking for in order to be able to find it better.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Look Smart with Smartlook

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smartlook is being used to understand the consumer journey from when they arrive on the site, how they interact with it and what actions they take while there. It is predominantly being used by the marketing department of the company. It gives a clear insight into what consumers are doing and in real-time, giving a much more personal feel to the metrics being uncovered instead of just data.
  • Shows the consumer journey on your website/app clearly and unambiguously.
  • Gives a general overview of where those consumers are coming from.
  • Segments the actions taken into clearly defined and easily recognizable portions for identification.
  • Customizable menus.
  • Varied themes.
  • More explainer videos.
When it comes to commerce online, Smartlook is particularly suited to showing the customer journey from beginning to end. Smartlook lets you see how long they stay on the site, the buttons they interact with, if and when they are being active or idle on the page and finally, which geographical region that connection was made.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Loving Smartlook - smart choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Smartlook for heatmaps and user recordings to make better decisions for our web users - to help guide them in the right direction and get them the information they are looking for quickly.
  • Super gorgeous user interface
  • Excellent feature-set that is easy to navigate
  • Awesome automated support that drips you the information you need when you need it to get the most out of the platform
  • I do wish the price was a bit lower
Well suited for eCommerce companies who are spending on inbound traffic. One recording can show quite a bit to change up conversions based on poor interactions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Perfect for online shops!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use it to see how people interact with the website and spot any bugs.
  • Easy to see sessions.
  • Good interface.
  • Intuitive.
  • Setting up funnels can be a bit complicated.
It is perfect for ecommerce stores. I think it can work for just about any type of site, but I really like it for online shops.
Read this authenticated review

About Smartlook

Smartlook is a qualitative analytics solution for websites and mobile apps helping over 250,000 businesses of all sizes and industries answer the "whys" behind their users' actions. Eliminate the guesswork and discover real, actionable reasons.

Smartlook provides a way to understand user behavior at the micro level. Always-on visitor recordings show what every last visitor does on your website or app, while automatic event tracking shows how (and how often) visitors do specific things. Build conversion funnels to see conversion rates as well as uncover why users churn. Heatmaps for websites provide data about where most people click, scroll, hover, and otherwise interact with pages.

Smartlook started in 2016 with web analytics and branched into mobile app analytics in 2018. Smartlook services customers like O2, Miele, Hyundai, and Kiwi.com. It can also record games developed in the Unity engine.

Smartlook Features

Has featureAlways-on visitor recordings
Has featureAutomatic event tracking
Has featureConversion funnels
Has featureHeatmaps
Has featureVisitor journey
Has featureJS errors in console
Has featureAPI and user identification
Has featureSegments and filters
Has featureHistorical data in heatmaps
Has featureRecording of mobile visitors
Has featureOverview Dashboard
Has featureScheduled Email Reports
Has featureMobile SDK
Has featureAnomalies Email Reports
Has featurePremium Integrations

Smartlook Screenshots

Smartlook Integrations

Smartlook Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$01,500 sessions
Starter$195,000 sessions
Power$7925,000 sessions

Smartlook Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Smartlook Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Smartlook Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Germany, United Kingdom, Spain, France, Netherlands, Poland, Brazil, Portugal, Czechia
Supported Languages: English, Czech