Smartsheet Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
462 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 112)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 02, 2021
Hunain Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet is great at-
I use Smartsheet to really create various input forms & track the progress
Project and task management.
Managing meetings and exploring inputs from team members. Transparency allows it to become a great software to use.
It is a great fit between Microsoft Project and Excel. You can overcome both software's limitations in Smartsheet
Read Hunain Ahmed's full review
June 01, 2021
Gloria Musuli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet is an exceptionally robust and ,offer unique hybrid solution to manage projects and automate workflows that is based on accurate data. It offers better time-saving functions that speeds up delivery of projects on schedule and using the allocated resources.
Read Gloria Musuli's full review
May 20, 2021
Michael Rastall, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet is a must to companies that are in need of automating key business processes that will save them time and eliminate productivity killers. This software enables teams identify bottlenecks early on tasks and projects that are due so that they are able plan on a course of action to avoid going beyond the deadline for their completion.
Read Michael Rastall, MBA's full review
June 08, 2021
John Harrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet offers me excellent customer service, and they always respond to my requests with attention, which is the main reason for my choice.
Read John Harrell's full review
June 08, 2021
Duane Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet makes it simple to plan and budget on projects, streamline business workflows and improve overall customer service. The pricing plans are affordable and businesses that implement Smartsheet enjoy tremendous long-term value. Employee work performance is boosted and tasks that destroy productivity are no longer an issue and information is handled down at a precise time.
Read Duane Thompson's full review
May 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet is a versatile workspace that coordinators can handle in any way that a team feels [...] is the right platform to work better and faster. It's not like Jira, where your boss is looking for you to complete the tasks that are pending. This is more about efficiency than control.
Read this authenticated review
June 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp was a little too complex compared to Spreadsheet. Part of Basecamp's issue is that it tries to be many things to many people. Smartsheet first and foremost is a project management tool. It doesn't pretend to be anything else. Sometimes I wonder if Basecamp is trying to be more than a project management tool.
Read this authenticated review
June 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I believe Smartsheet is much easier to use than Asana. There is a better way to collaborate with colleagues and track your progress on projects. There is a better structure on how to set up your system. It has better filters to see what you have accomplished vs what is open and needs attention.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Before utilizing Smartsheet we utilized a combination of Quip and an in-house developed task management tool. Even though we did not utilize Smartsheet for all of our project management needs it did provide a useful structure for planning a schedule for routine tasks and tracking completion of those tasks. It also provided useful file storage and data visualization functionality.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other software's are more geared towards the construction process while Smartsheet is more geared to generic Project Management, no specific to the construction industry. We are using Smartsheet to communicate with our client and not to manage construction so from that standpoint it has worked well however I would likely not use Smartsheet over Procore or Newforma for our in-house management of projects.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer the more traditional usability of Smartsheet. It's like Microsoft Project or Excel, but far easier for my organization to access. We don't currently have it set up as our resource manager or integrate it with our timesheets (our problem, not Smartsheet), and I think there's a lot we could unpack and get more use out of.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet is much easier to collaborate on than Microsoft or Primavera in terms of scheduling software, but lacks the customizability of its competitors. You can also much easier link projects together when master scheduling which is a huge advantage compared to Microsoft project or primavera. Those two programs would be the biggest competitors and do not have that feature or at least its not as easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Basecamp for our day-to-day in-house operations, but need a more "rigid" structure (spreadsheet) for managing projects with clients. Everything is in one place in Smartsheet and clients are able to find and use it easily.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All the products seemed to perform the project and task management function adequately. The following factors were the keys to our selection:
  1. Ease of use - so similar to Excel everyone can figure it out.
  2. Flexible architecture lends itself to many different use cases beyond traditional project management.
  3. Extremely attractive licensing model where unlicensed users can access all necessary functions to fully participate in project management.
Read this authenticated review
June 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Excel and Google Sheets are two programs that I see that are competitors to Smartsheet. Both these programs are great, but Smartsheet is a step above. The features that are in Smartsheet allow the user to filter and navigate through a spreadsheet like a seasoned guru. If used properly, Smartsheet can almost be an all-in-one tool. As I mentioned before, the capabilities of dropping files into each row is a huge plus. This allows other members to download the files from one location instead of having to sift through the thousands of emails.
Read this authenticated review
January 09, 2020
Jesse Bickel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Smartsheet because we needed something between Excel and MS Project. We have a group of staff members who were not Project Managers by trade, but yet managed teams and staff who are supporting smaller efforts with task management. They were looking for a simple tool to deploy, that relies upon Active Directory and had proactive notification with reports. Smartsheet fits the bill right there in the middle.
Read Jesse Bickel's full review
January 29, 2020
Joshua Melder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet is a unique data and project management collaboration tool that sets itself apart from its competitors. Teams have the ability to create extremely customized dashboards that have data flowing to and from multiple worksheets and workspaces. Smartsheet has the ability to do so much more than just data reporting. The platform offers project management solutions such as Gannt charts, reminders, and tools to better understand and keep projects moving and on-time. Overall, I choose Smartsheet because the platform is consistently being upgraded with new features and has a passionate user-base ready to solve problems.
Read Joshua Melder's full review
January 09, 2020
Garry Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The dynamic nature of SmartSheet can do the same things as the other tools I've used (Trello, Asana, Basecamp, etc.), but you are not locked into a single methodology or format. You have the flexibility to create the type of project tracking tool that works best for your situation. Reporting and dashboards make sharing simple by stripping out only relevant or shareable information for external parties, while still maintaining all of the mission-critical data on the back-end that you need to operate.
Read Garry Adams's full review
January 02, 2020
Stephanie MacMillan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MS Access is not user-friendly or intuitive. It is hard to use and hard to understand. I prefer Smartsheet - it is user-friendly and has so many intuitive functions and commands that you can build. It is a fantastic report builder and data and time tracking tool.
Read Stephanie MacMillan's full review
December 20, 2019
Chris Metropulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Smartsheet offers the best blend of features from its direct and indirect competitors. It is intuitive and collaborative, like Asana. It provides entry-level features from DevOps in regards to Agile, it offers traceability and integrations better than both Teams and Liquid Planner, and has a far more intuitive, accurate Gantt chart view than Projects.
Read Chris Metropulos's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (118)
8.6
Resource Management (102)
7.8
Gantt Charts (101)
8.6
Scheduling (104)
8.2
Workflow Automation (92)
8.1
Team Collaboration (114)
8.7
Support for Agile Methodology (73)
7.8
Support for Waterfall Methodology (69)
8.1
Document Management (94)
8.1
Email integration (90)
8.2
Mobile Access (88)
8.2
Timesheet Tracking (58)
8.7
Change request and Case Management (63)
7.9
Budget and Expense Management (68)
8.3
Quotes/estimates (38)
7.7
Invoicing (33)
8.0
Project & financial reporting (54)
8.3
Integration with accounting software (28)
8.4

What is Smartsheet?

Smartsheet is an online project management and collaboration tool from Smartsheet.inc in Bellevue, Washington. The software has a characteristic spreadsheet like interface but contains the full panoply of features expected of project management and collaboration software, such as automated alerts, instantaneous updating and sharing across team members, resource management facilitating budgeting and task allocation, nested tasks organized in a hierarchy, a Gantt chart view, the ready production of exportable reports (e.g. Excel), and integration with email. Across spreadsheets cells can be linked allowing the creation of master spreadsheets that provide ready summaries or automated reports. Smartsheet's capabilities can be expanded with a multitude of apps (e.g. Dropbox, Google Apps) or integrated into combinatory solutions (e.g. with Salesforce) to tailor fit business needs. It supports full mobile access.

Three tiers cover Smartsheet's pricing options. The Basic level provides core features for small groups of individuals, while the Team level is recommended for groups of up to 50 people and supports more user features, allows multiple sheet creators, and has reporting functions. The Enterprise level is a custom fit tier for groups of greater than 50 individuals or companies, and may include dedicated support personnel if desired.

Smartsheet Video

Introduction to Smartsheet

Smartsheet Competitors

Smartsheet Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Individual$14Per Month
Business$25Per User / Per Month
EnterpriseContact Sales
PremierContact Sales

Smartsheet Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Smartsheet?

Smartsheet is an online project management and collaboration tool. It includes automated alerts, instantaneous updating and sharing across team members, resource management, nested tasks organized in a hierarchy, a Gantt chart view, exportable and automated reports, and integration with email.

What are Smartsheet's top competitors?

Wrike, Asana, and monday.com are common alternatives for Smartsheet.

What is Smartsheet's best feature?

Reviewers rate Team Collaboration and Timesheet Tracking highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Smartsheet?

The most common users of Smartsheet are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.