SoapUI Pro Reviews

124 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

Sharmin Promi | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Budget-Friendly Corporate Solution for API

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI Pro is used for all API Automation testing, load testing, and security testing across the organization.
It address the functionality, flexibility, responsiveness and validity of our services. It allows smooth partner integration with our infrastructure. Smooth service testing and downstream system compatibility testing are done on daily basis. This tools allow us to achieve 95% automation capabilities in our services testing. Overall the tool adds a great value to our business.
  • Random Data generational for testing.
  • Transfer data from one response to multiple API calls without manual intervene.
  • Security testing require enhancements.
  • Tool has bad cache management and folder setup.
  1. API Testing and automation.
  2. Environment configuration and setup.
  3. Flexibility to utilize same scripts for load and security testing.
  4. Need CI/CD pipeline integration enhancements for Azure.
Read Sharmin Promi's full review
Sachin Gulmadagkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

One Stop Solution for All Your API Woes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI Pro across our organisation in various departments. Engineering, operations and professional services. We have a product which has rich API support. Types of APIs include SOAP, REST and EJBs. SoapUI Pro helps us managing the quality of these APIs - function, performance and security.

We follow the typical automation pyramid where we try and automate as many tests as possible at component level where we have integrated SoapUI Pro with our development environment and run tests as part of Unit Testing. Functional testers then use the same tool to performance the blackbox exploratory testing of the APIs where they make use of SoapUI Pro's data driven testing feature to multiple combinations of tests.
Finally, our operations team also use the tool to make sure the integrity of the application is always kept intact by regularly running the tests using SoapUI Pro on staging, UAT and production environments.
  • Automated creation of extensive function tests based on WSDLs. This creates a full suit of tests where each optional and mandatory attribute is tried multiple times.
  • Great Security testing features which suppor0t varieties of security scans like SQL Injection, XPath Injection, XML Bombs and Custom Scripting using Groovy or JavaScript.
  • Recently the tool has become heavy since it has integrated virtualization features. Unless provided enough heap space, the tool sometimes can crash during the execution.
  • History of test execution is forgotten as new payload is executed in the same step. Will be useful to keep the history for reuse purposes.
  • Full function testing and regression testing of APIs.
  • One solution for different types of APIs. SOAP, JSON, REST, JMS, etc.
  • Continuous integration with Jenkins or any other build tools using command line tool called Test Runner.
  • Excellent performance testing features for APIs.
  • Up and running in few minutes after installation. Simply connects your WSDLs and start testing.
Read Sachin Gulmadagkar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

SoapUI makes QI life easier

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being extensively used for importing web services and also creating a structure for web services. As a QA Automation Engineer, I am using it for API mockups, functional testing and even load testing. The security test feature is really helpful in checking the SQL injection and malicious code attachment with just a few clicks. SoapUI is helping us to deploy the code to the cloud with the help of containers, as all this possible because of the robust integration of SoapUI with the other third-party tools like Bamboo.
  • By defining variables, you can customize parameter values without hard coding the values in the whole test-case.
  • You can also use external data sheets to retrieve data to your executions.
  • MockResponse module should be more enhanced and simplified.
  • I wish SoapUI would allow you to make a sample request which only consists of the required fields and leaves the optional fields out of the sample.
It will help you to create envelopes and headers to satisfy WS-Security, WS-Addressing, etc. IT has a wide range of assertion options. If you are still not satisfied, you can write your own assertion with the help of Groovy script and can use any Java library to do so. The Maven Support. You can simply export a TestSuite from SoapUI and run it from outside on your CI/CD tool (i.e. Jenkins, Gitlab, etc.) with the help of Maven.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

SoapUI Pro is a real good tool for all your web service testing needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build a lot of web services using various technologies like NODE JS and Springboot. But we have not found a better tool to test what we made and give our Product managers a good demo other than SoapUI Pro. We use SoupUI Pro extensively. It has a very clean and easy user interface and a lovely way to organize various URLs. We have explored other products like Postman, but nothing matches close to SoapUI Pro. We use it extensively for testing the APIs and Web services as well.
  • SoapUI Pro helped us with asynchronous testing of the web services.
  • Helped with our testing with data from databases and various files.
  • Tad bit expensive than their competitors.
  • No helpful with Web UI Testing and mobile app testing.
We compared SoapUI Pro with a lot of other products in the market like Postman and Katalon Studio. SoapUI Pro was the winner. This provides a clean user interface and an excellent way to organize projects. Helped us with test reports and handled multiple testing environments. Our team resued the test scripts efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

SoapUI Pro is great for separating functional issues from connection issues.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI Pro across the tech teams for validating services.
  • I like the way this app keeps my projects organized. We have many different services, and I would hate to have to reload each one each time it is needed.
  • I am a big fan of this app, but I must admit it does not always render thoroughly on all monitors. I have not taken the time to figure this out, but at times the image is just too small to read. I switch it to a different monitor, and it always works out.
I use SoapUI Pro to validate web services within PeopleSoft without the complexity of connection issues between applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

Fast debugging/testing for a better product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SoapUI whenever I need to test various endpoints be REST or SOAP. I usually set up various projects for different environments and within each project I setup multiple endpoints we want to test. I like the easiness of using the application to quickly debug any issues in any of our environments. I can get to the issue quickly and test it in multiple environments at the same time. I like the way I can jump from endpoint to endpoint with just switching windows back and forth and compare results in the same window and not worry about copying text to another text editor. I can do my workflow in the same application.
  • Organization of different endpoints and environments.
  • Easiness of use.
  • Quickly debug issues with endpoints.
  • Some times the UI freezes and I lose all my data.
  • Dated UI.
  • Autosave option.
Well suited to test and debug various endpoints in different environments. Setting up projects is a breeze and it can be done in no time and the option to import other Soup UI projects is very useful this way a test suite can be passed along several developers to start testing the same or create more test cases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

Advantages of SoapUI over other and how it help. Me and my organization for better development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used from time to time for testing our web services. I help developers to find and rectify issues, if any, before implementing it on the development system. It clears doubts about the functionality and output of the web service call.
  • Can be easily used by technical and non-technical staff in multiple environments that are familiar to them.
  • Its data-driven testing capabilities and real-world condition testing save a lot more time that can be put to some other usage.
  • It simplifies regression testing and clearly shows the test approach used and testing areas covered.
  • Test results and functionality can be tracked easily using test history and result comparison.
  • Its report building template is very cool and understandable they provide and highlights each and every required information in a better way.
  • It is quite heavy for old systems - The lite version could be beneficial for such old machines.
SoapUI Pro is well suited when there is lack of testing staff or when your company needs through regression testing on a regular basis. It helps to use time efficiently and provide accurate results with lesser usage of manpower. It gives a brief idea about the output of your web services before actual implementation into your system.
Read this authenticated review
valentine leamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Best software used for web services, security testing, and load testing.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Testing has been made really easy and quality has been improved manifold. The code coverage has also been increased thus improving overall customer satisfaction.
  • The SoapUI tool is the best out there when you need to test a web service with ease.
  • Great collaboration features, especially the scripts repository available in the paid version.
  • Documentation should be better, despite being a simple tool to use.
  • Sometimes the huge amount of configuration parameters could be overwhelming, luckily there is tons of information on the web and forums to solve any question or problem.
SmartBear is a desktop based application for API testing. With the help of this tool, my organization ensures the quality and performance of web-based applications. Drag and drop functionality saved a lot of my time, we don't need to write code manually repetitively. Requires prior knowledge of the product to be able to take advantage of the tool in its entirety.
Read valentine leamy's full review
Shankar Cheedella | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2019

SOAP UI tool is simply the best for any organization

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SOAPUI to test our web API calls and we did create a couple of projects inside of this tool to address different legacy projects. This tool is nice and handy when you need to test the bunch of different calls like GET and PUT, and POST. It also saves our work and can be easily picked up next time we need to test that API call. It also allows you to save user credentials to test the API call. We also tried Fiddler and Postman before coming to this. Somehow, this felt easy to maintain when testing the web API calls. I would recommend this product to my network friends.
  • Can be used to test all WEB API calls
  • All rest calls with an association with DataPower or Stone Bond can be tested efficiently.
  • Can store your work so that it can be picked up next time.
  • Would be nice if it stored the results of each call.
  • UI can be redesigned to give user-friendly exp compared to Postman.
Small to big industries can work with this tool.
Read Shankar Cheedella's full review
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

SOAP UI Hasn't Cleaned My Troubleshooting Needs Yet

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily for REST troubleshooting and authentication testing. It's the only application of its kind available on our locked-down development environment currently. We also use it for SOAP troubleshooting, as a lot of our medical data transfers use this standard.
  • Managing different testing environments through projects.
  • Makes a clear distinction between REST and SOAP troubleshooting.
  • There are a lot of options available that support various data standards, some that are more obscure but help the person that needs it.
  • When you need to just do a quick REST test, it takes too long to get everything setup from a new project.
  • Adding authentications can be a pain, and if it's basic auth then you have to base64 encode it yourself.
  • The UI used to be pretty ugly. Their update to it recently seemed to just put a flat look on everything to make it seem modern but didn't actually overhaul much. Buttons still jump around and move/shift when other dynamic areas change during a test that goes through a bunch of calls. Also, they still use child windows to control all the views, which isn't very nice to work with considering no other development application I use does that.
Managing lots of different projects and domains to test is easier with SoapUI, it's not good for doing a quick test on something new or a one-off thing.
Read David Crawford's full review
Pankaj Rawat | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Best and powerful framework for API testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is an powerful tool for API testing and solid framework.As it is an open source tool, it is totally free for everyone who use web service testing. We send services ad send data through webservices . We can declare the variables and change the values parameters without having code in our test cases. We just load the WSDL address and it shows us all the methods and then we submit the variables and send it and get the result. its interfere is easy to learn
  • Easy to use
  • Test out web services
  • Better hands on groovy
  • It shows an error if the request has special characters.
  • Writing upload test cases is a bit difficult
  • Virtual services are not supported
Easy to install with a great interface. We just need to put the WSDL URL and it shows us all the methods present in the WSDL location. We only need to submit the variables and send them and it shows the output in split screen with success or error.
Read Pankaj Rawat's full review
Prikshit Sood | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Great tool for testing web services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI in our organisation to simulate web services. There is a WSDL location which we copy and paste onto the SoapUI. After that we run XMLs through which data directly flows into our systems.
  • Acts as a great external source to get data onto the main system.
  • Runs all kinds of XMLs irrespective of their size.
  • Great tool for API testing.
  • Saving projects can be a little confusing for beginners.
  • Sometimes it functions a bit slow for complex XMLs.
  • UI is a bit outdated now and needs to get a new refreshing look.
This tool comes in handy when you need to retrieve data through web services. Catches all the errors easily and displays them line by line.
Read Prikshit Sood's full review
Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

A happy and proud user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using SoapUI NG Pro. Specifically, it's being widely used across all QA departments for Webservice testing. All the REST and SOAP API testing projects are being tested using SoapUI NG Pro. We are testing REST and SOAP APIs manually as well as automate them using SoapUI NG Pro.
  • Test validation on API responses
  • Mock services to test parts of the application
  • REST Discovery and Groovy scripting features
  • Working with Git needs to be improved.
  • The licenses could be more flexible with regards to floating licenses. In the case that a user changes a workstation, then the license locked to a certain workstation cannot be easily changed to another workstation. It would be more flexible if a license could be linked with the user personally.
SoapUI NG Pro is well suited for web service automation. It it less appropriate when it comes to code like reusable components or modular approach.
Read Binoy Shah's full review
Ayush Rastogi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

API testing using SOAPUI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used SoapUI for an automation testing of API's. Used test runner to run scheduler jobs which will automatically do the health checks of API's and update the status in the database. Later, that data is used to build dashboards which shows which API's are up and which are down along with the error details. It is used as part of monitoring test environments by environment teams. Test results and dashboards really help the environment team to find out the problematic component and help to create a mitigation plan.
  • Create test cases and test suites for testing API's
  • Test both SOAP and REST web services.
  • Test runners for running automated jobs.
  • It can be made more user-friendly, beginner users struggle to use the interface. For example, learning how to add request headers for different types.
  • Hermes JMS is slow for testing MQ services and struggled to use SOAPUI over other message queue tools.
It's very good for testing SOAP/REST web services, also we can create test cases and test suites to do the automated testing.
Read Ayush Rastogi's full review
Daniel Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2018

SoapUI - playing with web services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is implemented by the systems team. We use it for the realization of SOAP or REST requests of the different web services that we manage for our clients.
  • Rapid import of web services. Just by placing the url where the service is located, the application is responsible for directly detecting the .asmx and creates the necessary structure to work on it.
  • The interface is quite simple to work with, which makes it one of the most convenient applications to manage SOAP or REST projects. Besides, it also generates a self-saving of projects or requests that have not been previously saved.
  • Accepts multiple types of media to send in POST requests, including the most used JSON and XML.
  • What should be improved is the way in which the multiple queries that are made are displayed. It should allow you to see it in the form of tabs and not cover all the contents of the window.
Excellent for testing the connectivity and responses of web services or endpoints that are hosted within any application. However, there are scenarios where it is not very effective; for example, the requests that are made in authentication protocols.
Read Daniel Sanchez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Soap UI for Technical Product Managers and Business Analysts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a technical product manager. While we are dealing with opening new services via our product, it becomes very vital to test the input and output of services to look for all possible values. It is used by all system/business analysts and product managers across the whole organization. It seems there is no better alternative because it is a compact tool and makes analysts' and product managers' lives easier while dealing with the whole functionality of our products.
  • Easy to see all possible methods of a web service, easy to create many different possible requests.
  • The formatted view makes it easy to see the whole request and response.
  • It's easy to share via colleagues including all possible trials.
  • Some features could be added via add ons like an HTTP monitor, test runner, some artifacts. With them, it becomes a big installation (modularity).
  • Sometimes it takes some time to open the interface; it is important to have a faster interface in today's applications.
  • It could include input and output beautifiers - this would make users happy because they may use this feature heavily while they are making documentation.
For integration between two different systems, it is well-suited to show what parameters the client system should send and receive. In order to format output, SoapUI is less appropriate, and it is required to use other formatting tools.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Worle | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2018

Decreasing relevance in a RESTful world, but invaluable to SOAP users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is used primarily by developers looking to connect to and develop against our suite of enterprise services. It makes testing and discovery easy for them. Additionally, our services developers use SoapUI to test and support the services they write. Without having to write any code, the structure of services can be quickly examined, and specific use cases tested. When the code is not behaving as expected, running a quick request in SoapUI is often the fastest way to narrow down the source of the problem.
  • Quickly and easily discover and connect to service endpoints
  • Create and save test requests for easy re-use
  • Immediate "is the service up and responding" checks.
  • The UI is written in Java, and as such sometimes behaves in unexpected ways - ways that a native Windows UI would not.
  • Startup time can often be painfully slow. Once the program is running, it performs well, but starting up can sometimes take nearly a full minute. I believe this is also due to having been written in Java.
  • I used to consistently get errors about not having enough memory for the program to start up (in spite of having far more memory than it will ever need in my machine). I solved the problem by manually tweaking the startup script to allocate more memory to the Java Runtime Engine. However, this solution seems to have exacerbated the slow startup time I mentioned above.
While SoapUI can be used to access REST-style HTTP services, there are other tools that are better suited for this task. As its name suggests, where SoapUI shines is accessing and testing SOAP services. We still find this to be very useful, as we still have a number of SOAP services to maintain. Unfortunately, this will likely become less relevant as time goes on. The industry has clearly moved towards HTTP RESTful services.
Read Sean Worle's full review
Deepak Kushwaha | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2018

SOAUI NG Pro- Best in the industry.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Until now, I have suggested three of our clients to use SOAP UI for their automated testing. I am an Integration developer and love automation (CI/CD). For leveraging the full advantages of DevOps lifecyle, we wanted to automate our assembly test cases for SOAP and REST APIs. After a bit of R&D across the market, I came to know the amazing features of SOAP UI Pro. We can write test cases, can use custom assertions with Groovy and can do a lot of cool stuff with SOAP UI. The best thing which pushes us to buy soap UI is its ability to execute TestSuite from outside of the SOAP UI IDE with Maven support. This is what we wanted to use in a DevOps environment, a testing framework which can be executed from outside with Maven. The another cool thing about SOAP UI is the reporting. It is very detailed and a person with minimal technical background can understand it easily.
  • Full Support for SOAP Services Testing. It will help you to create envelopes and headers to satisfy WS-Security, WS-Addressing etc.
  • The wide range of assertion options. If you are still not satisfied, you can write your own assertion with the help of Groovy script and can use any Java library to do so.
  • The Maven Support. You can simply export a TestSuite from SOAP UI and run it from outside on your CI/CD tool (i.e. Jenkins, Gitlab etc) with the help of Maven.
  • The User Interface of SOAPUI is very oldish.
  • Sometimes it acts weird, like if you change/remove any header in the request it will not go away until you restart SOAP UI. So the changes does not reflect immediately. I guess is something with UI only.
  • Can add basic assertion like JSON match, XML Match , Json Schema Validation etc.
It is best suited for CI/CD. The Maven support is superb with minimal dependencies. For Rest APIs , It still needs some improvement but for SOAP It is the best tool in the market. So if your requirement is to test both SOAP and REST, go for it and If its only REST which you want to test, you can look for alternatives.
Read Deepak Kushwaha's full review
Nikita kumari | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2018

Best tool to exchange the XML form data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to create different types of web services and test those services. It helps to integrate test web services and verify that there is no bug in the newly developed web service. This tool is also used to get the XML response and store it into the system.
  • Provide support to fully test newly developed web services.
  • Easy GUI interface which helps to add customers' credentials easily while using web service.
  • An easy way to get a response through with the help of auto-created request XML.
  • It should add more GUI option which can show syntax error while adding new request XML.
  • Adding credentials is a little bit confusing as it does not show any hit.
  • It should allow sending the null value in request XML tags.
This tool reduces the overall workload to test web services manually as we can fully test newly developed web services using this tool. It also provides a very simple interface which is easy for those are not from this background.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
Parry Ghuman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2018

Great tool to fetch data from web services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool has been used by developers and integrators to develop/test the various kinds of web services. It is also used to create xml schemas and xsd files. This tool also helps to daily download micro power grid data and store in databases.
  • Helps to retrieve the data from any web service without developing any code.
  • Easy to create complex xml schemas and xsd.
  • Easy to find any error in xml request and response.
  • Difficult to add certificate file with request as it does not return any particular error if certificate is invalid.
  • It should add auto-trigger request functionality.
  • It takes time to request large sized data.
Easy to retrieve data from any web services without developing complex algorithm code. It also help the developer build web applications and web services with maximum accuracy. It reduces the work load of integrators as they can test web services easily.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
Payam Pirooznia | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2016

SoapUI: The best available test tool for Web Services.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has several IT teams with many projects that either offer new API to our other sub-systems, or utilize our web services as a part of Enterprise Serial Bus (ESB).
For example, we have OSS projects that provide public RESTful API to higher layers such as GUI portals, and at the same time use private API of many sub systems such as AAA, NMS, JMS, ACS and so on. Most of our private web services are based on SOAP or JSON.
For above reasons, SoapUI became a vital part of our testing and automation activities. We use SoapUI (both free and pro versions) for extensive regression testing, data-driven smoke tests, Mocking web services and even sometime for a quick load & performance test.
  • SoapUI NG Pro is a prefect tool for setting up complicated test cases with many steps including parameterized Web Service requests, response assertions, data generators, data sources, data sinks (report recorders) and more
  • You can use Groovy or JavaScript for more complicated automation such as validating the results, extracting data, using external Java libraries or running system processes. Groovy IDE is compatible with Java and you can easily write your code in Java with very few modifications.
  • SoapUI enables you to run multiple test suites in parallel or in a loop, and provide user friendly reports including all test case results and test case coverage.
  • SoapUI NG Pro lets you to perform security test against your web services with predefined scenarios such as xml bombing, xml injection, sql injection, buffer overflow tests, monkey testing and so on.
  • SoapUI NG Pro, offers a simple but practical solution for low to medium load testing scenarios. You can obtain many more Load and Performance testing features by extending your license with purchasing LoadUI Pro.
  • For JMS interactions, SoapUI relies on HermesJMS which is a 3rd party program and outdated. You can not easily run parallel tests suites when JMS sessions are involved.
  • SoapUI can easily cover LDAP for both testing and data-driven purposes but this feature is not provided yet.
  • As of 2015, SmartBear Software is enforcing the Pro users to use their All-in-One integrated platform: Ready!API . This tool is very slow in comparison with the SoapUI itself. For example, loading a project takes up to 15 seconds in a decent computer, so does clicking on different tabs for the first time.
SopaUI is the best choice when it comes to testing complicated combination of web services such as RESTful, SOAP, JSON and AMF. Although It can also cover simple HTML GUI test cases by calling web page elements as a recorded order, but it is not a good choice for testing user interfaces or as a replacement to Selenium.
Read Payam Pirooznia's full review
Christopher Saleh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2015

SoapUI despite the name is not a slipery tool that one always has problems grasping. In fact, it's the opposite!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a major hosting and Cloud company, we have thousands upon thousand of API that make calls across several programs, usually in very complex variations that involves coordinating not only testing back end of applications and API calls, but how they work and integrate with one another as we simulate a live production environment

So, SoapUI, after examining several different tools was the best candidate with all the modules and feature we needed to complete our testing. We did take a few steps further, due to the amount of tests that needed to run concurrently most of the time. But at the end, we managed to get maximum coverage of testing with a high degree of accuracy as we put in place redundant validation points.
  • Ability to combine multiple test and adhere to the sequence that they need to run in order to complete successfully, regardless of pass or fail, the result is accurate.
  • Excellent GUI design to make it as organic for the tester as they are revising or updating their tests. Once you get comfortable with the core functionality of SoapUI, you can explore the many added capabilities it has, like utilizing groovy or JavaScript. You can provide input and output files for the tests to use in sequence or randomly.
  • Excellent reporting mechanism and options to print or to save to file. Also you can include verbose debugging content or create a shorter executive summary version. We even went as far as importing it to SQL database for cataloging and archiving for the sake of better tractability.
  • Memory consumption, in large concurrent testing has been a challenge for SoapUI, mostly due to the amount of information that is getting written to the database, but there are workarounds to custom install SoapUI which for example runs on a Cloud server, where it can provide SoapUI the elasticity that it may need with large concurrent tests that run for while before completing.
  • compatibility with all other databases and Open Cloud environment such as OpenStack out there in Open source, which I think is already in works.
  • Integration of LoadUI is good, but to take serious step to compete with other performance and load testing tools
Well, obviously if the technology and application back end is supported by SoapUI, which 98% of time, it is. However, there are new methods other than Rest, etc. are coming out that would require SoapUI to be compatible. Also, built in popular add-on such as AWS support can be expanded to support similar companies to Amazon.
Read Christopher Saleh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2018

Make load tests easy with SOAP UI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Soap UI to test RESTful and WSDL web services creating scenarios to validate them after new changes.
  • It enables creation of parametrized tests
  • It supports RESTful web services
  • It allows creation of test scenarios
  • You can create load tests using it
  • Allowing versioning scripts to test
  • Integration with IDEs as a plugin
  • CI integration
It works awesome to test any kind of web services, we particularly are using for testing:
- SOAP Web services
- RestFul web services
Read this authenticated review
Natalie Colyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2014

Best product for the cost

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI Pro to cover automated, functional testing of our web services (SOAP/XML and REST/JSON primarily). It is used to the greatest extent in the QA department, but other client implementation teams also use some of it's basic functionality. Some of the key features we use are data source linking, Groovy scripting, and composite projects to facilitate our needs. It enables us to provide better coverage of expected results.
  • Ease of use and setup, particularly with SOAP services where you have the WSDL. Import and go. If your WSDL changes you can update the definition or refactor it, which is a life saver.
  • Decent GUI - I feel the GUI is well thought out in most areas.
  • Scripting and Plugins - Allows setting of a script repository (Pro). In general, you can script in Groovy or JavaScript throughout a project. We use Groovy and haven't run into anything we haven't been able to find a solution to through scripting. For plugins, we've written some custom ones in Java to add menu items. To use them you just have to drop the jar file in a specific directory.
  • Community - The community via blogs and forums is great. If you run into issues you can normally find someone else who had a similar problem. The response on the forums from SmartBear is also good. They also recently added an 'API Dojo' which is very informational.
  • REST - They have come a long way, but there could still be improvements here. I find the learning curve much higher and not as straight forward using REST vs SOAP.
  • Composite Projects - I'd really like to see them implement something around saving/refreshing Test Suites when using the Composite project ability in Pro. This is currently an enhancement in feature backlog (see their forum for more details). Functionality around Projects and Test Cases seems pretty sound.
I think you'd get the most out of SoapUI if you had some scripting knowledge and basic starting knowledge of the technology you're trying to automate (XML/JSON/etc), even if it isn't required to get going. While the GUI does a good job of getting you started I feel you'd be missing out and may have a tougher learning curve when trying to implement more advanced scenarios.
Read Natalie Colyer's full review
Brant Hestrup | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2014

A review from moderate experience point of view.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SoapUI among a small portion of our programming team for use in our development and testing of web services.
  • Incredibly easy to use and set up. Does the majority of work for you.
  • Great interface. You can get a lot of information on screen at once.
  • Has a high level of customization. Being able to modify settings relevant to your needs is a breeze.
  • In my use I honestly have not had any negative issues with SoapUI.
If you have a WSDL already defined it functions great. It makes generating the test suites incredibly easy. Admittedly this is my only use case of the application so I am a bit biased but I have been pleased with it.
Read Brant Hestrup's full review

About SoapUI Pro

SoapUI Pro is a powerful REST and SOAP API functional testing tool that enables software developers, QA engineers, and manual testers to work together to create, maintain, and execute complex end-to-end API tests in their CI/CD pipelines without needing to code.

SoapUI Pro Integrations

SoapUI Pro Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SoapUI Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No