TrustRadius
SoapUI NG Pro is an open source functional and load testing tool, supported by Boston-based developer Smartbear Software.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Jv/gB/6187RCKN3V59.PNGSoapUI - playing with web servicesSoapUI is implemented by the systems team. We use it for the realization of SOAP or REST requests of the different web services that we manage for our clients.,Rapid import of web services. Just by placing the url where the service is located, the application is responsible for directly detecting the .asmx and creates the necessary structure to work on it. The interface is quite simple to work with, which makes it one of the most convenient applications to manage SOAP or REST projects. Besides, it also generates a self-saving of projects or requests that have not been previously saved. Accepts multiple types of media to send in POST requests, including the most used JSON and XML.,What should be improved is the way in which the multiple queries that are made are displayed. It should allow you to see it in the form of tabs and not cover all the contents of the window.,8,The biggest impact has been the acceptance of the users, since there is a lot of information in the network regarding this tool, from support to online forums where they can clarify any questions you may have.,JMeter,Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Office 2016, IntelliJ IDEA, FortiClientDecreasing relevance in a RESTful world, but invaluable to SOAP usersSoapUI is used primarily by developers looking to connect to and develop against our suite of enterprise services. It makes testing and discovery easy for them. Additionally, our services developers use SoapUI to test and support the services they write. Without having to write any code, the structure of services can be quickly examined, and specific use cases tested. When the code is not behaving as expected, running a quick request in SoapUI is often the fastest way to narrow down the source of the problem.,Quickly and easily discover and connect to service endpoints Create and save test requests for easy re-use Immediate "is the service up and responding" checks.,The UI is written in Java, and as such sometimes behaves in unexpected ways - ways that a native Windows UI would not. Startup time can often be painfully slow. Once the program is running, it performs well, but starting up can sometimes take nearly a full minute. I believe this is also due to having been written in Java. I used to consistently get errors about not having enough memory for the program to start up (in spite of having far more memory than it will ever need in my machine). I solved the problem by manually tweaking the startup script to allocate more memory to the Java Runtime Engine. However, this solution seems to have exacerbated the slow startup time I mentioned above.,9,SoapUI has been an invaluable addition to our development and testing toolkit. If something like it did not exist, we would likely have tried to write something ourselves.,Visual Studio IDESOAUI NG Pro- Best in the industry.Until now, I have suggested three of our clients to use SOAP UI for their automated testing. I am an Integration developer and love automation (CI/CD). For leveraging the full advantages of DevOps lifecyle, we wanted to automate our assembly test cases for SOAP and REST APIs. After a bit of R&D across the market, I came to know the amazing features of SOAP UI Pro. We can write test cases, can use custom assertions with Groovy and can do a lot of cool stuff with SOAP UI. The best thing which pushes us to buy soap UI is its ability to execute TestSuite from outside of the SOAP UI IDE with Maven support. This is what we wanted to use in a DevOps environment, a testing framework which can be executed from outside with Maven. The another cool thing about SOAP UI is the reporting. It is very detailed and a person with minimal technical background can understand it easily.,Full Support for SOAP Services Testing. It will help you to create envelopes and headers to satisfy WS-Security, WS-Addressing etc. The wide range of assertion options. If you are still not satisfied, you can write your own assertion with the help of Groovy script and can use any Java library to do so. The Maven Support. You can simply export a TestSuite from SOAP UI and run it from outside on your CI/CD tool (i.e. Jenkins, Gitlab etc) with the help of Maven.,The User Interface of SOAPUI is very oldish. Sometimes it acts weird, like if you change/remove any header in the request it will not go away until you restart SOAP UI. So the changes does not reflect immediately. I guess is something with UI only. Can add basic assertion like JSON match, XML Match , Json Schema Validation etc.,8,It completes and compliments our DevOps Strategy. For Developers, writing test cases is very easy. No need of testers to write test cases.,Postman,Mule ESB, Anypoint API Manager, Oracle SOA SuiteBest tool to exchange the XML form dataIt is used to create different types of web services and test those services. It helps to integrate test web services and verify that there is no bug in the newly developed web service. This tool is also used to get the XML response and store it into the system.,Provide support to fully test newly developed web services. Easy GUI interface which helps to add customers' credentials easily while using web service. An easy way to get a response through with the help of auto-created request XML.,It should add more GUI option which can show syntax error while adding new request XML. Adding credentials is a little bit confusing as it does not show any hit. It should allow sending the null value in request XML tags.,9,Help to increase the team productivity by debugging different web services code. Provides a better interface for business clients as they always want an easy interface with any web services. Easy to handle various requests at the same time.,WordPress, NetBeans and MailChimp,WordPress, MailChimp, Microsoft Visual Studio Team SystemGreat tool to fetch data from web servicesThis tool has been used by developers and integrators to develop/test the various kinds of web services. It is also used to create xml schemas and xsd files. This tool also helps to daily download micro power grid data and store in databases.,Helps to retrieve the data from any web service without developing any code. Easy to create complex xml schemas and xsd. Easy to find any error in xml request and response.,Difficult to add certificate file with request as it does not return any particular error if certificate is invalid. It should add auto-trigger request functionality. It takes time to request large sized data.,9,Helping to deliver high accuracy web services for business customers. Optimized the team's overall performance and reduce the resources cost. It provides various inbuilt tool to test the web services.,MySQL, Code Compare, Eclipse
Unspecified
SoapUI NG Pro
97 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SoapUI Reviews

SoapUI
97 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 97 vetted SoapUI reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 26)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Daniel Sanchez profile photo
December 09, 2018

User Review: "SoapUI - playing with web services"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is implemented by the systems team. We use it for the realization of SOAP or REST requests of the different web services that we manage for our clients.
  • Rapid import of web services. Just by placing the url where the service is located, the application is responsible for directly detecting the .asmx and creates the necessary structure to work on it.
  • The interface is quite simple to work with, which makes it one of the most convenient applications to manage SOAP or REST projects. Besides, it also generates a self-saving of projects or requests that have not been previously saved.
  • Accepts multiple types of media to send in POST requests, including the most used JSON and XML.
  • What should be improved is the way in which the multiple queries that are made are displayed. It should allow you to see it in the form of tabs and not cover all the contents of the window.
Excellent for testing the connectivity and responses of web services or endpoints that are hosted within any application. However, there are scenarios where it is not very effective; for example, the requests that are made in authentication protocols.
Read Daniel Sanchez's full review
Sean Worle profile photo
May 01, 2018

SoapUI Review: "Decreasing relevance in a RESTful world, but invaluable to SOAP users"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is used primarily by developers looking to connect to and develop against our suite of enterprise services. It makes testing and discovery easy for them. Additionally, our services developers use SoapUI to test and support the services they write. Without having to write any code, the structure of services can be quickly examined, and specific use cases tested. When the code is not behaving as expected, running a quick request in SoapUI is often the fastest way to narrow down the source of the problem.
  • Quickly and easily discover and connect to service endpoints
  • Create and save test requests for easy re-use
  • Immediate "is the service up and responding" checks.
  • The UI is written in Java, and as such sometimes behaves in unexpected ways - ways that a native Windows UI would not.
  • Startup time can often be painfully slow. Once the program is running, it performs well, but starting up can sometimes take nearly a full minute. I believe this is also due to having been written in Java.
  • I used to consistently get errors about not having enough memory for the program to start up (in spite of having far more memory than it will ever need in my machine). I solved the problem by manually tweaking the startup script to allocate more memory to the Java Runtime Engine. However, this solution seems to have exacerbated the slow startup time I mentioned above.
While SoapUI can be used to access REST-style HTTP services, there are other tools that are better suited for this task. As its name suggests, where SoapUI shines is accessing and testing SOAP services. We still find this to be very useful, as we still have a number of SOAP services to maintain. Unfortunately, this will likely become less relevant as time goes on. The industry has clearly moved towards HTTP RESTful services.
Read Sean Worle's full review
Deepak Kushwaha profile photo
April 25, 2018

SoapUI Review: "SOAUI NG Pro- Best in the industry."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Until now, I have suggested three of our clients to use SOAP UI for their automated testing. I am an Integration developer and love automation (CI/CD). For leveraging the full advantages of DevOps lifecyle, we wanted to automate our assembly test cases for SOAP and REST APIs. After a bit of R&D across the market, I came to know the amazing features of SOAP UI Pro. We can write test cases, can use custom assertions with Groovy and can do a lot of cool stuff with SOAP UI. The best thing which pushes us to buy soap UI is its ability to execute TestSuite from outside of the SOAP UI IDE with Maven support. This is what we wanted to use in a DevOps environment, a testing framework which can be executed from outside with Maven. The another cool thing about SOAP UI is the reporting. It is very detailed and a person with minimal technical background can understand it easily.
  • Full Support for SOAP Services Testing. It will help you to create envelopes and headers to satisfy WS-Security, WS-Addressing etc.
  • The wide range of assertion options. If you are still not satisfied, you can write your own assertion with the help of Groovy script and can use any Java library to do so.
  • The Maven Support. You can simply export a TestSuite from SOAP UI and run it from outside on your CI/CD tool (i.e. Jenkins, Gitlab etc) with the help of Maven.
  • The User Interface of SOAPUI is very oldish.
  • Sometimes it acts weird, like if you change/remove any header in the request it will not go away until you restart SOAP UI. So the changes does not reflect immediately. I guess is something with UI only.
  • Can add basic assertion like JSON match, XML Match , Json Schema Validation etc.
It is best suited for CI/CD. The Maven support is superb with minimal dependencies. For Rest APIs , It still needs some improvement but for SOAP It is the best tool in the market. So if your requirement is to test both SOAP and REST, go for it and If its only REST which you want to test, you can look for alternatives.
Read Deepak Kushwaha's full review
Nikita kumari profile photo
April 24, 2018

SoapUI Review: "Best tool to exchange the XML form data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to create different types of web services and test those services. It helps to integrate test web services and verify that there is no bug in the newly developed web service. This tool is also used to get the XML response and store it into the system.
  • Provide support to fully test newly developed web services.
  • Easy GUI interface which helps to add customers' credentials easily while using web service.
  • An easy way to get a response through with the help of auto-created request XML.
  • It should add more GUI option which can show syntax error while adding new request XML.
  • Adding credentials is a little bit confusing as it does not show any hit.
  • It should allow sending the null value in request XML tags.
This tool reduces the overall workload to test web services manually as we can fully test newly developed web services using this tool. It also provides a very simple interface which is easy for those are not from this background.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
Parry Ghuman profile photo
May 08, 2018

SoapUI Review: "Great tool to fetch data from web services"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool has been used by developers and integrators to develop/test the various kinds of web services. It is also used to create xml schemas and xsd files. This tool also helps to daily download micro power grid data and store in databases.
  • Helps to retrieve the data from any web service without developing any code.
  • Easy to create complex xml schemas and xsd.
  • Easy to find any error in xml request and response.
  • Difficult to add certificate file with request as it does not return any particular error if certificate is invalid.
  • It should add auto-trigger request functionality.
  • It takes time to request large sized data.
Easy to retrieve data from any web services without developing complex algorithm code. It also help the developer build web applications and web services with maximum accuracy. It reduces the work load of integrators as they can test web services easily.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
No photo available
March 05, 2018

SoapUI Review: "Make load tests easy with SOAP UI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Soap UI to test RESTful and WSDL web services creating scenarios to validate them after new changes.
  • It enables creation of parametrized tests
  • It supports RESTful web services
  • It allows creation of test scenarios
  • You can create load tests using it
  • Allowing versioning scripts to test
  • Integration with IDEs as a plugin
  • CI integration
It works awesome to test any kind of web services, we particularly are using for testing:
- SOAP Web services
- RestFul web services
Read this authenticated review
Payam Pirooznia profile photo
August 09, 2016

Review: "SoapUI: The best available test tool for Web Services."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has several IT teams with many projects that either offer new API to our other sub-systems, or utilize our web services as a part of Enterprise Serial Bus (ESB).
For example, we have OSS projects that provide public RESTful API to higher layers such as GUI portals, and at the same time use private API of many sub systems such as AAA, NMS, JMS, ACS and so on. Most of our private web services are based on SOAP or JSON.
For above reasons, SoapUI became a vital part of our testing and automation activities. We use SoapUI (both free and pro versions) for extensive regression testing, data-driven smoke tests, Mocking web services and even sometime for a quick load & performance test.
  • SoapUI NG Pro is a prefect tool for setting up complicated test cases with many steps including parameterized Web Service requests, response assertions, data generators, data sources, data sinks (report recorders) and more
  • You can use Groovy or JavaScript for more complicated automation such as validating the results, extracting data, using external Java libraries or running system processes. Groovy IDE is compatible with Java and you can easily write your code in Java with very few modifications.
  • SoapUI enables you to run multiple test suites in parallel or in a loop, and provide user friendly reports including all test case results and test case coverage.
  • SoapUI NG Pro lets you to perform security test against your web services with predefined scenarios such as xml bombing, xml injection, sql injection, buffer overflow tests, monkey testing and so on.
  • SoapUI NG Pro, offers a simple but practical solution for low to medium load testing scenarios. You can obtain many more Load and Performance testing features by extending your license with purchasing LoadUI Pro.
  • For JMS interactions, SoapUI relies on HermesJMS which is a 3rd party program and outdated. You can not easily run parallel tests suites when JMS sessions are involved.
  • SoapUI can easily cover LDAP for both testing and data-driven purposes but this feature is not provided yet.
  • As of 2015, SmartBear Software is enforcing the Pro users to use their All-in-One integrated platform: Ready!API . This tool is very slow in comparison with the SoapUI itself. For example, loading a project takes up to 15 seconds in a decent computer, so does clicking on different tabs for the first time.
SopaUI is the best choice when it comes to testing complicated combination of web services such as RESTful, SOAP, JSON and AMF. Although It can also cover simple HTML GUI test cases by calling web page elements as a recorded order, but it is not a good choice for testing user interfaces or as a replacement to Selenium.
Read Payam Pirooznia's full review
Christopher Saleh profile photo
October 15, 2015

Review: "SoapUI despite the name is not a slipery tool that one always has problems grasping. In fact, it's the opposite!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a major hosting and Cloud company, we have thousands upon thousand of API that make calls across several programs, usually in very complex variations that involves coordinating not only testing back end of applications and API calls, but how they work and integrate with one another as we simulate a live production environment

So, SoapUI, after examining several different tools was the best candidate with all the modules and feature we needed to complete our testing. We did take a few steps further, due to the amount of tests that needed to run concurrently most of the time. But at the end, we managed to get maximum coverage of testing with a high degree of accuracy as we put in place redundant validation points.
  • Ability to combine multiple test and adhere to the sequence that they need to run in order to complete successfully, regardless of pass or fail, the result is accurate.
  • Excellent GUI design to make it as organic for the tester as they are revising or updating their tests. Once you get comfortable with the core functionality of SoapUI, you can explore the many added capabilities it has, like utilizing groovy or JavaScript. You can provide input and output files for the tests to use in sequence or randomly.
  • Excellent reporting mechanism and options to print or to save to file. Also you can include verbose debugging content or create a shorter executive summary version. We even went as far as importing it to SQL database for cataloging and archiving for the sake of better tractability.
  • Memory consumption, in large concurrent testing has been a challenge for SoapUI, mostly due to the amount of information that is getting written to the database, but there are workarounds to custom install SoapUI which for example runs on a Cloud server, where it can provide SoapUI the elasticity that it may need with large concurrent tests that run for while before completing.
  • compatibility with all other databases and Open Cloud environment such as OpenStack out there in Open source, which I think is already in works.
  • Integration of LoadUI is good, but to take serious step to compete with other performance and load testing tools
Well, obviously if the technology and application back end is supported by SoapUI, which 98% of time, it is. However, there are new methods other than Rest, etc. are coming out that would require SoapUI to be compatible. Also, built in popular add-on such as AWS support can be expanded to support similar companies to Amazon.
Read Christopher Saleh's full review
Natalie Colyer profile photo
May 10, 2014

SoapUI Review: "Best product for the cost"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI Pro to cover automated, functional testing of our web services (SOAP/XML and REST/JSON primarily). It is used to the greatest extent in the QA department, but other client implementation teams also use some of it's basic functionality. Some of the key features we use are data source linking, Groovy scripting, and composite projects to facilitate our needs. It enables us to provide better coverage of expected results.
  • Ease of use and setup, particularly with SOAP services where you have the WSDL. Import and go. If your WSDL changes you can update the definition or refactor it, which is a life saver.
  • Decent GUI - I feel the GUI is well thought out in most areas.
  • Scripting and Plugins - Allows setting of a script repository (Pro). In general, you can script in Groovy or JavaScript throughout a project. We use Groovy and haven't run into anything we haven't been able to find a solution to through scripting. For plugins, we've written some custom ones in Java to add menu items. To use them you just have to drop the jar file in a specific directory.
  • Community - The community via blogs and forums is great. If you run into issues you can normally find someone else who had a similar problem. The response on the forums from SmartBear is also good. They also recently added an 'API Dojo' which is very informational.
  • REST - They have come a long way, but there could still be improvements here. I find the learning curve much higher and not as straight forward using REST vs SOAP.
  • Composite Projects - I'd really like to see them implement something around saving/refreshing Test Suites when using the Composite project ability in Pro. This is currently an enhancement in feature backlog (see their forum for more details). Functionality around Projects and Test Cases seems pretty sound.
I think you'd get the most out of SoapUI if you had some scripting knowledge and basic starting knowledge of the technology you're trying to automate (XML/JSON/etc), even if it isn't required to get going. While the GUI does a good job of getting you started I feel you'd be missing out and may have a tougher learning curve when trying to implement more advanced scenarios.
Read Natalie Colyer's full review
Brant Hestrup profile photo
May 01, 2014

SoapUI: "A review from moderate experience point of view."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SoapUI among a small portion of our programming team for use in our development and testing of web services.
  • Incredibly easy to use and set up. Does the majority of work for you.
  • Great interface. You can get a lot of information on screen at once.
  • Has a high level of customization. Being able to modify settings relevant to your needs is a breeze.
  • In my use I honestly have not had any negative issues with SoapUI.
If you have a WSDL already defined it functions great. It makes generating the test suites incredibly easy. Admittedly this is my only use case of the application so I am a bit biased but I have been pleased with it.
Read Brant Hestrup's full review
Vineet Sahu profile photo
May 01, 2014

Review: "SoapUI - Developer's and Tester's Best Friend"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is being used for functional testing in our organization as well as other organization that I have worked with. Its been used by the development and testing team majorly. It's used for unit testing by the development team. It supports multiple protocols such as SOAP, REST, HTTP etc.. It helps in creating mock services and supports scripting which are really useful in creating automated unit testing. Its been used by the performance testing team to run the load testing which is one of the most important testing before the product goes live. Since web services are widely used by product these days SoapUI can be great tool to use these web services easily and efficiently. The tools can be used by almost all departments from development to operations support.
  • SoapUI is really easy to use and has a very small learning curve. It doesn't really matter if you are a programmer or not you can pick up SoapUI quickly. The user interface is really very intuitive.
  • Since it supports many protocols such as SOAP, REST, HTTP, JMS etc.. it greatly helps the developer to use a single tool and not jump around tools.
  • SoapUI can help create really advanced Load test scenarios really quickly. It can also integrate with LoadUI which has superior Load Testing Experience.
  • There are plugins available for IDE's such as Eclipse, NetBeans and IntelliJ. So if people prefer using the SoapUI inside the IDE they can use it as well instead of opening another tool.
  • It is capable of creating mock services for all kind of web services which is very important for testing.
  • The only disadvantage I could think off right now is that its Plugins for IDE's don't work as well. But that shouldn't keep you from using it. You can always use the SoapUI tool instead of the plugins.
SoapUI is really useful if you are creating a product which will have many users. It has a really good support for Load testing. Its always a good choice for the developers to create unit test scenarios using mock services and scripting. You can create various test scenarios with many mock responses based on the input. You can use most of the features of SoapUI in the free version. Developers really don't require the pro version of the SoapUI. But if you want to do security testing or load testing then you need a pro version for which you need to weigh your options as the pro version is not free.
Read Vineet Sahu's full review
Kory Grandy (SQA) profile photo
May 19, 2014

User Review: "SoapUI for automated test management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used SoapUI at different organizations throughout my career. SoapUI is a great tool for putting an interface on top of the common SOAP object access interfaces. SoapUI is both highly scalable and configurable, allowing custom test script creation to automate test activities including data manipulation, project validation, web services testing and validation and many other features. I have used SoapUI and SoapUI Pro to create automated test scripts, validate software and also complete basic load testing. The PRO interface will allow more functionality like looping tests more easily, that can also be beneficial to a test team, .
  • Automation
  • Test Script Management
  • Black Box Test Scripting
  • Global technical support staff
This tool may not be beneficial to a team that has a highly integrated, more waterfall or non-agile approach. However, this tool will still aid in testing in either situation.
Read Kory Grandy (SQA)'s full review
Hai-Son &quot;Titi&quot; Nguyen profile photo
May 09, 2014

User Review: "SoapUI an ideal solution for customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI was useful in overcoming a barrier to adoption for the customer base. The application it tested was a very complex analysis platform and a robust method of validating its results to domain experts was a pain point for the company and the QA department. SoapUI was selected for it's easy to understand and operate interface to perform automated testing using real world data to establish a baseline for validation prior to customization.
  • Assertion tests: Given complex examples tests users can ascertain if a particular logic is properly implemented both from a positive test, negative test, exemption test....
  • Results Aggregation: Tests can be packaged to provide high-level results, all tests failed, mandatory tests passed, etc...
  • Manual Edits of Soap Request & Viewing of Responses: Allow users to modify data on the fly in a simple interface and allows examination of results in real-time
  • Packaging of tests is not trivial, we wrote a program to actually convert from a repository data into the SoapUI project file; scalability was on our side since the testing ran into hundreds of cases. The project file was complex in design so it took efforts to learn it sufficiently to update it.
It is very useful for debugging issues with communications, we used it to debug problems with a BPEL application that was having issues communicating with an external web service and was able to resolve through analysis of responses the delta in expected response and actual response formats that were problematic.
Read Hai-Son "Titi" Nguyen's full review
Mark Lehky profile photo
May 09, 2014

User Review: "SoapUI is best in the league"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI to verify all our APIs across multiple products. All the products have multiple interfaces: SOAP, REST, AMF, and JDBC. Primary focus is functional testing.
  • Groovy scripting throughout! SoapUI can be extended to the limits of your imagination with Groovy. Add in the ability to import any .jar makes it very easy to create new functionality.
  • WSDL refactoring is a very useful feature, especially in the early stages when the API is still being developed. This allows you to map existing tests to a new method that has been possibly renamed or even one who's parameters may have changed.
  • Fully command-line driven allows tests to be scheduled with a task manager, or run through Maven from any continuous integration system.
  • Recent release of API Dojo gives a lot of detailed information to the beginner as well as advanced users.
  • JMS is the ugly step-child. Although the protocol is supported, the support is very limited. JMS is supported through a third-party add on (Hermes JMS), which is now very outdated (last update was 3 years ago).
  • AMF is the other ugly step-child. AMF does not have any method discovery, so you need third-party tools (BlazeMonster) to help you craft your messages.
  • REST, although this protocol was the main focus of the latest 5.0 release, still has some edge issues. Browse the SoapUI fora for details.
  • Some parts of the documentation are outdated / incomplete.
Although SoapUI does provide some record-playback style tools to help the beginner, such tests will be very limited. In order to get the most out of the tool, intimate knowledge of the protocol(s) and their technologies is required. SOAP: XML, XPath; REST: JSON.
Read Mark Lehky's full review
Justin Hambleton profile photo
May 09, 2014

Review: "soapUI is an Indespensible Web Service Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Yahoo, we used soapUI as our primary web service testing and troubleshooting tool. Our Technical Account Management team used SoapUI on a near daily basis to analyze SOAP messages from external customers and to help test and troubleshoot issues with Yahoo's various ad platforms.
  • Immediate access to and ability to execute web service requests
  • Very elegant and simple to use UI
  • Includes very useful features for developing test projects and supporting multiple WSDL versions
  • I recall having some issues with SoapUI on Mac. I haven't used it on a Mac so I'm admittedly not sure if these issues have since been resolved. I never had any issues with it on a Windows machine.
SoapUI, as the name suggests, is one of the best SOAP based web service testing tools.
Read Justin Hambleton's full review
Joe Tang profile photo
May 01, 2014

User Review: "What is in my mind for SoapUI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SoapUI for testing and automation.
  • SoapUI has HTTP, REST, SOAP, JDBC, WEB Service for functional testing
  • Support good assertion scripts such as Java and Groovy
  • Full JAVA and Groovy library
  • Nice framework support and easy to use
  • Enhance documentation supports
If your company is thinking to build a testing or automation framework internally but with limit time and resources, SoapUI is a good choose. The free version should fit most testing needed.
Read Joe Tang's full review
No photo available
September 23, 2016

User Review: "SoapUI, Your Mileage May Vary (YMMV)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI NG Pro is being used for creating regression tests for rest web services and soap services. The QA and development teams have used it to build and execute tests.
  • Ability to read in endpoints for a restful web service via a Swagger page of definitions file. You don't have to figure things out directly or rely on specs to build out your requesrs. When the endpoints change, just reread swagger.
  • The addition of groovy functions is very useful. The ability to use a programming language with Java libraries gives you much more flexibility in how you process results and build followup requests.
  • Auto generation of testcases. Soapui can give you a good head start on your testing by building a set of tests that will at least give you the happy path scenarios.
  • Test case gui in the pro edition is a nice visual guide to how your suites and scenarios are structured.
  • Xml tests. It's just painful to update these things from a source control standpoint.
  • UI can really slow you down if you're an sdet type tester. If you're used to building code that works directly with apis, building automation with this can feel cumbersome. You're doing things visually and it just can feel inhibiting, due to the strict structure of the ui.
  • Documentation feels incomplete, disjointed. It is difficult to get to certain details of the groovy language functions. JMeter is an open source, free tool...finding info on its internal beanshell libraries is much easier.
  • Some of the flow among endpoint/request discovery, test case creation and test run execution is not intuitive.
  • Getting environment variables, globals, per suite and test case settings also feels cumbersome. With the nice tree structure for testcases and suites in the ui, you'd expect the same for globals and environment settings.
  • Cost for pro license...seems a bit much for an annual license, if you are only getting a couple of licenses.
For experienced soapui users, it's great...you know the ins and outs. For non developer qa engineers, I'd recommend.

If you don't have a heavy focus on using the same tools, frameworks in a ci environment, it's a good choice.

If you want your tests to run in a particular language, soapui might not be a good choice.

If you have top notch SDETs, forcing them to use this might inhibit innovation and flexibility.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 27, 2016

Review: "SoapUI must have tool for developers in SOA"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is great tool when we are working in SOA (Soap service or REST Service). The IT software development team uses SoapUI for testing service endpoints for validating different scenarios like negative testing/load testing.
  • Functional Testing including Test Coverage, Multi-environment Support, Complex Scenarios & Debugging
  • Automated API Load & Performance Testing
  • SoapUI NG Pro has features like test history, comparing the test results between previous runs(s).
  • Input Data should be configurable with more supported formats. There should be some way to read Excel or csv files then build the input. This will make it more automated.
  • In Load & Performance testing threads segregation should be more configurable.
SoapUI NG Pro or SoapUI both can be used to minimize functional and unit testing from an application every time. Instead the API can be tested and saved in SoapUI. This will help even if we upgrade the API to find the backward compatibility.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2016

User Review: "SoapUI from a test point of view"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI to test features in our software and code in multiple departments of the business and also help our customers to construct their own test scripts that use SoapUI. It helps us to get around some time consuming problems when we need to test a specific feature.
  • Testing Endpoints
  • Retrieving data from a WSDL
  • Email injection
  • Difficult to use for new users
  • UI is a bit confusing but becomes easier with prolonged use
  • Exception messages could be structured better
It is ideal for my specific uses when I need to test my systems function and reaction to an email, rather than setting up hMail and thunderbird and connecting them to my system I can inject an email into the system using SoapUI.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2014

SoapUI Review: "APIs made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SoapUI to perform SOAP and REST test cases against various APIs. It's simplistic approach allows me to test and QA our product in a timely manner.
  • SoapUI allows me to load WSDLs quickly and in many cases I can avoid reading through hundreds of pages of API documentation.
  • I can easily build code base stubs.
  • SoapUI saves a lot of time because I can save my test scenarios and reload them when necessary.
  • I use SoapUI on a Linux platform. It is somewhat challenging getting all of the third-party applications such as Axis, Jax, JBoss, etc to work correctly with SoapUI.
  • Documentation generation could use some serious improvement.
  • It would be nice if SoapUI incorporated some API architectural functionality.
SoapUI is an excellent tool for any engineers needing quick testing against a WSDL.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2014

Review: "SoapUi is a great product +1 will use again."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI was used to test web services between in starting claims and uploading documents to our government client. It addressed adding information from outside vendors. The entire development team used SoapUi.
  • Robust
  • Easy to use
  • Free version is nice
  • If you don't know XML there is a huge learning curve.
  • Creating test suites is tricky
Cost, and ease of use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2014

User Review: "SOAPUI tool for webservices testing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work on web services development and SoapUI is a great tool. It helps testing both functional and load in a very systematic way and its support for Groovy script helps build the automated testing for the QA engineers on my team. It is a reliable tool even for regression testing and as a developer i have been using this from last 3 years and its help testing both SOAP and REST services. I would highly recommend this tool and its very easy to use.
  • Used in Rest based webservices
  • Used in Soap based webservices
  • Used for Functional testing
  • Good LoadUI tool, easy to check result response.
  • MAC-OS tool needs improvement.
For SOAP service awesome tool. For REST you have other options available too but still a good tool to use.
One of the best tool in market for webservice testing. Groovy support is the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2014

SoapUI Review: "Okay web service functional testing tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is used mainly in the QA departement to test web services i.e. REST and SOAP.

I know it is being used in my departement and in other departement

Solve test automation problem and performance testing. not very happy with the load test module
  • Records Rest requests, easy way to record them and make functional testing easy
  • Records Soap requests, , easy way to record them and make functional testing easy
  • Changing parameters on the requests
  • Assertion on responses easy too and user can save responses
  • Rest Mocking is very nice feature to start testing early and give early feedback
  • Sometimes it is not easy to maintain, work flow testing is not intuitive
  • Json assertion not very easy to do
  • Caching responses does not help getting accrate performance numbers
  • Security testing still something new
Easy to learn and to use. but sometimes buggy and they are not very responsive to fixing bugs. Also user community is not very big yet
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2014

User Review: "Automation with SoapUI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SoapUI in the QA test environment to automate some of our testing.
  • Allows automated test cases. As with all automation the dark side is the development time involved but for products that require frequent testing that investment in time has paid long term dividends.
  • Fully programmable using groovy. I did not know Groovy prior to using SoapUI but it's so similar to Java that the transition was seamless.
  • I find it quite useful to parse the response from one call and use that as input to the next.
  • The learning curve was difficult. I struggled to get it to do anything useful at first.
  • I'd like to see more examples to get newbies started.
It's quite a powerful tool but you really need to know Groovy (or Java) to use it effectively. This excludes a lot of QA folks who have not kept up. There seems to be a lot of those.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2014

SoapUI Review: "easy, trendy, powerful tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SoapUI is being used by our IT department to test our application performance, load capability, user capacity and load balancing. We have used SoapUI for web services testing as well.

It helped us to kick off load testing in a short time window and identify performance issues on time to fix them before our major release.
  • Functional Testing
  • Load testing
  • Web services testing
  • Functional testing could have been more practical
  • Would like to see how it is different from TestComplete for functional testing
  • TestComplete does most of the stuff
Is it scalable & robust? Is it easy to use and easy to learn? How detailed are the reports generated by SoapUI? Management readable reports? How easy to implement? How easy to manage licenses? How practical it is to develop test scenarios of certain real time issues to reproduce and retest? How stable, and how professional is support? Social groups on the tool.
Read this authenticated review

About SoapUI

SoapUI NG Pro is an open source functional and load testing tool, supported by Boston-based developer Smartbear Software.

SoapUI Integrations

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

SoapUI Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No