Socio

Socio Reviews

Customer Verified

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Ratings and Reviews
(1-25 of 48)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Main Event each year is a convention. Usually, it is in person with about 4000 people. Last two years we have been virtual. Socio was the event app for our last in-person event and the two virtual events we have held. It connects with our website and our registration system to automatically bring in content and attendee information. In this last year, we also used their platform for the streaming solution.
  • Customer service and attention is the best that I have seen. We have use 4-5 different event app systems over the past decade and no one came close to socio in terms of both meeting our needs and responding to questions and issues
  • The product itself is flexible but fairly easy to use. We have a fairly complex event (120+ sessions over three days with hundreds of speakers) and not only did it handle it - but it looked good.
  • Socio continually adds improvements to the product that really do make it better. They provide ample information on how to use each new feature as well.
  • Many of the changes to the product I know came from direct requests made by our organization.
  • For an organization like out with so many sessions, speakers, and sponsors, but only a few staff members, it would be nice if there was a level of access to the back end content that we could give to the speakers and sponsors for example so they could upload their own information or make needed changes.
  • Also within the socio studio - currently there is not an easy way for presenters to interact with chat or to handle Q&A.
There are always plusses and minuses to various platforms and nothing is ever going to be a perfect fit for everyone. Socio does so much very well, but there are a few places, like the current way that presenters are cut off from attendees in the normal system that if that is what is most important to you, there may be better options. However, if you are talking about out-of-the-box solutions for an event of any size, their customer service puts them far above anyone else.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio is being used across multiple departments at the Lupus Foundation of America. We are using Socio's virtual event platform to replicate our annual fundraising walk event that normally takes place in person. The Socio platform has allowed our walkers and supporters to gather safely and celebrate in a fund and engaging virtual environment.
  • Registration
  • Engagement
  • Would help is Socio were easier to integrate with organizations' existing databases.
  • Easier ways for people to connect and chat.
Socio is well suited to bring large groups of people together virtually. They have also created fund and engaging social "walls" where users and can interact and share with one another. As a non-profit fundraiser it would be nice to find a way to integrate a donation button or similar features.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Socio to host virtual conferences, networking events, and hybrid conferences for our organization. Socio provided the perfect solution to host an all-virtual annual conference and networking event in response to COVID. After using Socio for this event, we realized the benefits of the platform--it made connecting with others easy and helped us reimagine our upcoming hybrid event.
  • Socio was straightforward to use, both in terms of setup and in user experience
  • We were able to upload 100 sessions in one click
  • Our attendees loved the ease of using the mobile and desktop apps interchangeably
  • The documentation and support staff made the experience seamless
  • It would be nice to build out a more custom user profile with additional fields for attendees.
  • Updates require a manual refresh of the desktop app; it would be nice to have this occur automatically.
Socio is a robust solution for virtual, hybrid, and in-person events. It allows for full engagement with participants before, during, and after the event. It made attendee management and content delivery straightforward. The extensive customization enables the platform to be adjusted to suit a variety of specific needs. Most importantly, attendees were able to access content and network with others with ease.
Megan Cairns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio filled the technology gap in executing this brand new initiative we launched in 2021. We needed the software to facilitate a community environment while allowing the platform to live stream using our own chosen platform. Socio came in at the right price for the scale and scope for what we needed.
  • Versatile registration process that allows for many types of group registrations
  • Community platform is intuitive for users to navigate
  • Easy to build out all the content using Socio templates
  • The standard template to build out the community is pretty rigid. We had to adjust some of our styling and graphics to account for what Socio's template allowed.
  • Inability for event admins to make account changes for users. Several times we had users change jobs, therefore, changing their emails. Each time, we had to go through Socio support to get them access to their account.
  • Documentation and knowledgebase could be more substantive.
The registration component on Socio is incredible. I wish I could take that and use it for all of our events. I highly recommend utilizing their software if you are going to be using another Socio product. Managing the content for your event or community is purely widget based. There isn't an ability to utilize any custom HTML or CSS, which would be a drawback if you are wanting styled a certain way.
August 24, 2021

Socio for the win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CTLA uses Socio for our conventions, seminars and webinars. We use the mobile app to house our sponsor and vendor information as well as materials and recordings so that our members can access everything for each event fast and easy.
  • Customer Service with Socio is AWESOME! Every person I have worked with there is great. If they don't have an answer they find the answer.
  • New & Updated ideas. Socio is constantly improving their services. If at one event we asked if something specific was possible or available and it isn't, the next event it is up and running.
  • Tutorial Videos - If you can't figure out how to do something within the Socio app you can search and there are countless videos to walk you through the process and the best part is it is a real person not a computer recording.
  • It would be nice to be able to resize photos within the app.
  • When adding external links under a vendor or speaker it would be nice to be able to move them in the order you want. If you want them to be changed, you have to delete and start in the order you want the in.
I've been using Socio for about 4 years and each time we use them, everything gets better. Their customer services is top notch and I've never had any issues at all.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization used it to deliver a high-quality virtual conference to 550 attendees and sponsors in July 2021. We were extremely pleased with the customer support (both via our dedicated project manager and through the Knowledge Base), which made it very easy to design and implement the virtual conference when we were new to the system. Administrators and end-users do not need to be particularly tech-savvy to learn the system, and this was a big help. All people involved with the virtual conference (administrators, end-users, speakers, sponsors) were overall quite happy and at ease with the platform.
  • Customer Support
  • Well-designed and intuitive interface
  • Great end-use experience
  • Video rooms were not accessible through the agenda in the mobile app
  • Linking speaker and attendee profiles
  • Need for users to continually press refresh to see new content
Socio would be well suited for the delivery of conferences for large associations because it brings people from many different institutions/organizations together well. The ability to quickly see time zone conversions in the Agenda feature was particularly well-liked and made the experience easier for people outside the Eastern time zone-based organization. It would be less well suited for an event with attendees from a single institution or single organization.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using [Socio] for Statewide and Campus events/ conferences and meetings. We are no longer printing materials as all information, documents etc are in one place the app! We are able to increase the number of participants who can attend either virtually or in-person and giving them the same experience.
  • Customer Service/Support Staff - very responsive and sticks with till it is figured out.
  • Listens to their customers and constantly upgrading and adding new features
  • Knowledge base articles and training videos - put together nicely
  • More of the same ability on the mobile app and the web based version - already in the last few months that has grown better
[Socio is] in the game and constantly offer more and more updates to their clients. Keep us engaged and informed. They proved knowledge base links and training videos to help in a pinch or to refresh when building your event. Very reasonably priced comparable to other companies.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've always been an in-person event. And in the last two years, we have had to pivot to virtual. Socio helped us do that. Socio is being used across the whole organization as an alternative to live events. We use this product as a bonus to the attendees until we can meet again in real life. And when we do, Socio will be used as the conference mobile app. It can even help to produce a hybrid event. Details change up to the end when producing an event. So being able to make changes on demand and alert the attendees via push notifications addresses those challenges.
  • Socio Restream Broadcast Studio
  • Excellent Customer Service Managers
  • Online Ask Us Anything Tech Support
  • Mailchimp Integration
  • Add Attendee Video Camera Option in Sessions Along With The Chat Functionality
  • More Options for Speakers - Virtual Backgrounds
If you have to produce a virtual event for the first time. This platform will be a great choice. With seamless tech, and support, Socio makes it easy to transition to virtual. Also for hybrid events and in-person events, the mobile app and all the ways attendees and sponsors are able to interact is excellent!

Socio may not be appropriate if the producers are not technically savvy and are not willing to learn. In that case, hire someone who can help.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio allowed us to host our first hybrid event for our Annual Retailers Conference. We were able to implement a virtual option as well as a mobile app for our in-person attendees. It was a game-changer for our event and the attendee engagement was amazing!
  • Customer Service
  • Easy of use and set up
  • Tons of great features
  • Live stream function was difficult to set up
Socio is perfect for hybrid events as it is equally as useful for in-person attendees as well as virtual. It encourages in-person attendees to engage more during the conference and allows virtual attendees access to the entire event. Virtual attendees having access to all of our general sessions as well as breakout sessions was a game-changer.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed an event platform to host our (virtual) conference in 2021 and 2020. We held 120+ panels/training and had about 2000 attendees watching content and interacting during our event.
  • Intuitive platform, easy to set up
  • Responsive customer service
  • Professional looking streaming service
  • Captioning for sessions
  • Speakers should be able to interact with the attendee chat
We've used it as a complement to an in-person event and as our primary platform for virtual convenings. Socio was well suited for both.
Lindsay Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack used Socio to host our inaugural customer and partner virtual event. Hosting/Managing the event was strictly done by the Marketing department, but we had registered users across the organization to attend the event and connect with other customer and partner attendees. <br><br>Socio ended up being the perfect platform for our virtual event, providing an excellent event experience for attendees and unmatched customer support for us to host a seamless first event.
  • Virtual Event Management
  • During event communications with attendees
  • Customer Support and Account Management
  • Hosting large video files for seamless playback
  • Gaming, polling, and additional in-app engagement
  • Fully customizable experience to fit your brand
  • Login experience is a little clunky
  • More flexibility with minimized video location
  • Main navigation on platform/backend could use some reconfiguring
My only experience with it so far is hosting and managing a virtual event, which is something I can't recommend Socio more for. We have already received a lot of feedback from event attendees about the Socio app providing a great event experience as it's easy to use and has a lot of fun engagement features, like gaming, polls, and a social media-like wall.
Teri Jakob, CMP, CMM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Socio event platform has been terrific for my virtual fundraising events. It allows our attendees to be more engaged than just watching another Zoom call. They can share photos, chat, find additional resources, connect with each other and medical providers, participate in our silent auction and make donations to support our fundraising! It is a true venue for our online events!
  • Engaging virtual attendees
  • Sharing best practices
  • Amazing customer support
  • Step by step instructions to make the most of the software
  • Tying the whole event together in an easy to use interface
  • The attendee help feature has come a long way. Some of my guests are not tech savvy and have trouble with the standard help link, but I have been able to assist them by adding announcements to help with things that I see or hear them struggling with.
I highly recommend this platform! We are all Zoomed out, but Socio helps make the virtual events engaging and keeps the viewers entertained. Attendees are going to be on their phones anyway, and this keeps them focused on my event and allows me to grow their knowledge and interest in my program. This works well for virtual events, fundraisers, hybrid meetings, or conferences.
September 30, 2021

Socio Solves The Need

Kirk Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio was used by my client who was putting on a virtual event. I was helping to produce the Livestream signal from one of several locations and needed to interface with the Socio platform. With the current pandemic, this was a tool by which the client could have a conference and reach a large number of viewers as well as have presenters from various locations.
  • event management
  • virtual event broadcast
  • makes it easy to learn to use the platform
  • support services
  • RMTP signal switching with other presenters
  • Make the learning curve even easier
  • Login and Connectivity ease of use for non-tech users
I use a Newtek Tricaster streaming hardware to produce multi-camera shows. Socio was able to use my RTMP stream however you cannot switch from Socio to other presenters during the event and thus I had to configure my Tricaster output as a virtual camera source and use a second computer to connect to Socio for the event. It was a workaround but I would prefer to use one computer to free up the second to monitor socio as an attendee.
September 02, 2021

Lifesaver and Game-changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio was used for our annual convention and blockbuster seminars. It is easy to integrate a lot of great features for our members so that we can provide the quality of CLE programs that they expect. During COVID, Socio helped us so that our event didn't skip a beat and we were able to keep the fun, energy, and excitement that we would have had in an in-person event, virtually.

Socio definitely gave us the ability to allow our members to customize their conference experience. If you want to attend in person, you can. If you want to watch from home, you can. And if you want to do a combination of the two, you can. Socio really helped us to meet the needs of pretty much all of our members.

  • Customer service was great
  • The creativity was endless with lots of great ideas on how to make the event fun
  • Love the overall design of the app
  • Maybe more ways for vendors to interact
  • More features for the breakout rooms
Socio is great for seminars. We are able to house our materials and links to the speakers' bios, which is so helpful. Everyone has a smartphone and Socio helped us to give our members the education they need right at their fingertips. It also helped eliminate the paper waste and gave people another way to interact with each other and vendors.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ParentMap uses Socio to host our resource fair (trade show type) events. Socio has allowed us to continue to host these events and provide these resources to our audience throughout the pandemic. Additionally, by being able to continue to host these events, Socio has allowed us to connect our clients and sponsors with attendees who are looking for their services.
  • Socio has outstanding customer service! Their team is upbeat, quick to respond, and always willing to answer questions and suggest creative solutions.
  • Socio works hard to ensure their product evolves with the needs of their clients by constantly adding new features and upgrading current features.
  • Socio is very user friendly from the event management side to the attendee and vendor user experience.
  • It would be great to have a more robust filter system. Socio recently made improvements to this feature and I'm sure their team will continue to upgrade this.
  • For our events, it would be ideal if attendees did not have to request to connect with a vendor before being able to message chat.
  • I would like to see more customization options for vendors' virtual booths. Socio also recently upgraded this and, again, I am confident their team will continue to work on this.
Socio is a great platform for virtual trade show events. There are many customizable features and it is easy for attendees and vendors to navigate and connect with each other. We also include webinars in our Socio events. Socio does have their own live streaming; however, we have not used that primarily because of price, so we continue to use Zoom, which means attendees do have to leave the Socio platform while participating in our webinars, which is not ideal but works.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Socio as a state conference app for our upcoming hybrid conference in October. We used it last November for a completely virtual State conference. It is accessed by all conference attendees who are also MAEA members. All of our members are teachers.
  • Customer Service
  • Overall Web and Mobile App Aesthetic
  • Opportunities for Sponsors and Vendors
  • The Price it High For Non-Profit Organizations like Ours
  • The "Attendees Profiles" section should display the attendee who is logged and looking at his/her app so that he/she doesn't think they are unregistered.
  • The "Attendees Profiles" and the "Speaker Profiles" should merge so that speakers who are also attendees don't have to fill out two profiles.
Socio was fantastic for our virtual conference. I think they are very well suited for a state conference with sessions that will be meant for medium to large audiences of 50 or more. It might be less appropriate for intimate, small group sessions.
Sarah Marshall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Normally our company hosts a huge annual event to network with our existing customers, new customers, and people from all over the world to learn about our product, for our customers to share the projects they're working on using our product, to collaborate with universities and instructors and students. We needed to host virtually this year due to the pandemic, and Socio was a great fit.
  • interface
  • recordings
  • using our company's branding
  • chat features
  • schedule of events
  • live Q&A
  • everything worked well!
Socio was perfect for what we needed. We have companies from all over the world join our networking event and we needed something easy to use for everyone. The live presentations, Q&A and chatrooms were great! The only thing Socio couldn't do was live face-to-face networking only because this is purely virtual. It's a changing world and this will be the new normal most likely, but if there was a way to encourage attendees to talk more in the networking areas that would be great!
August 21, 2021

Socio Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio was used as a virtual user conference platform for our clients. We had many employees present during the conference, across multiple departments in our organization. Socio allowed us to host an interactive use conference, virtually.
  • Interaction
  • Calendar
  • Registration
  • A lot of options/features
  • Two-way typed communication during streamed events
  • Be able to send reminders
Socio is great for a virtual conference as it provides options for the live stream (using their streaming platform, or many others that integrate with Socio). I do not think it is appropriate to use if you want attendees to "type back" during the live stream, especially using their streaming platform. Otherwise, we had a really great experience, and have already recommended it to a sister company. I even gave them a demo and they loved it.
August 20, 2021

Socio is AMAZING!!!

Kent Prickett, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio was chosen as the platform to replace the TAPA meeting application. With the COVID-19 pandemic, we were glad that we made this change as the implementation to use Socio as the platform for both a hybrid and virtual meeting platform.
  • Customer Service
  • SocioStreaming
  • Virtual Meetings
  • Hybrid Meetings
  • Gamification
Socio has made pivoting to virtual & hybrid conferences a breeze!! I am so excited that our Association chose Socio for our long-term conference application partner.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio was new for my association to use. We needed a platform for our virtual conference in 2021. Some of the things we loved about Socio were how user-friendly it is, how responsive the support team was, and the helpful how-to guides in the Socio library. The platform has a lot of features to help make a virtual event interactive & fun for attendees. The phone app is a nice addition, too. We received positive feedback from speakers, sponsors & attendees alike.
  • Attendee Engagement
  • Ease of use
  • Detailed metrics
  • Live streaming
  • Missing virtual video backgrounds
Socio is an excellent platform for an association or company to use in place of an in-person conference or meeting. It offers a lot of features to engage the audience. It is also easy to work on the backend for administrators.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it for the second year to put together our large virtual conference. We wanted a professional platform that could help us in a completely new territory when we had to take what is normally an in-person conference over a weekend to a virtual setting in 2020. They did such a fantastic job that we signed with them again when we knew we needed to go virtual again in 2021. They are very professional, knowledgeable, and helpful throughout the entire process.
  • Customer service and problem solving
  • Platform design
  • Idea generation
  • Discussion boards 100% need better functionality--things like being able to pin a post, put a picture in your comment, like comments, have notifications when someone has mentioned you or commented on your post.
  • More streamlined welcome area when people first log in. Being able to choose an easy welcoming page that automatically loads upon first login would be awesome.
  • Being able to hide linkable areas within the app--having menu items that can be linked into the booths while not being visible in the actual menu. Also being able to link attendees into different areas, such as the exhibitor booth and speaker profiles.
Socio is well suited for any capacity virtual event. They can do it all. We are going to start talking with them to see if we can incorporate them into our live events.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Socio platform to enhance our marketing and participation efforts. This includes using the gamification aspect of the app to increase product awareness, revenue, and end-user satisfaction with our products and services. We also use the full application for our biannual in-person software training conferences held across the US. Using the app during the live events increases participant interaction, networking, and overall experience.
  • Gamification
  • Supports their users
  • Provides an intuitive application that can be deployed with ease and speed
  • Import data from other applications (schedules, etc.)
In-person and virtual events are the perfect fit for the Socio platform. It performs flawlessly and has many features. Socio is very flexible and with your own creativity, can be used in endless applications or situations.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio is a very easy to use platform. As a first time user I was able to master pretty much every feature we used. Of course when that wasn't the case, Socio's customer service reps were there to assist me!
  • Customer Service
  • During our first year using the platform, they didn't have as many features as they do now. They're always adding things which is great!
We transitioned our in-person fundraising event to virtual during the COVID-19 pandemic and Socio was the perfect platform to facilitate that for us.
August 23, 2021

Top Notch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Socio is used for our events, both virtual and now hybrid. We used it to create a virtual platform for our attendees to view content, network with attendees and create value add for our sponsors.
  • [Customer] Service
  • Ease of Set Up
  • Customization / Branding
  • Attendee Resources
  • Cost Effective
  • Wall Post Scheduling
Socio is well suited for content driven conferences. It's a great one stop shop for attendees to access content, view sponsors, networking and find valuable resources all without leaving one platform. Trade shows are more tricky - but those are hard to implement [virtually] regardless!
August 23, 2021

Highly Recommend Socio

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We turned to Socio as a solution to hosting [virtual] events during the pandemic. We were so happy with the product that we are continuing to implement the platform in our in-person events.
  • Customer Service
  • Ease of Use
  • Continuous Release of New Features
  • Integration with Microsoft Teams
Socio is great for adding technology to in-person trade shows. It is not the best fit for a fully virtual trade show. Socio has been fantastic for our virtual events such as awards programs, our annual dinner, and [virtual] meetings.

Socio Scorecard Summary

What is Socio?

Socio's end-to-end event platform powers virtual, hybrid, and in-person events for clients like Microsoft, Google, Lessonly, Stanford University, the National Speakers Association, and thousands more in 70+ countries. Socio’s integrated virtual software and live event app have drag-and-drop customization with features like registration, ticketing, schedules, streaming, video rooms, games, chat, polls, sponsorship, networking, lead retrieval, live display, analytics, and email.

Socio Features

  • Supported: Virtual Event Suite
  • Supported: Registration
  • Supported: Communities
  • Supported: Mobile App
  • Supported: Lead Retrieval
  • Supported: Live Display
  • Supported: Socio Streaming
  • Supported: Onsite Ticketing & Badge Printing
  • Supported: Gamification
  • Supported: Video Rooms - 1:1 Networking
  • Supported: Reporting & Dashboards
  • Supported: Social Media Integrations
  • Supported: Attendee Surveys & Live Polling
  • Supported: Floor Plans / Maps
  • Supported: ROI

Socio Screenshots

Socio Video Rooms: Attendees can chat, join topically based discussion rooms, set-up 1:1 video meetings, and connect from anywhere.Socio Sponsor Booths: Leverage powerful tools like sponsor booths, gamification, banner ads, sponsor profiles and push notifications to drive attendee engagement with your sponsors.Socio Data Dashboard: You can’t optimize what you can’t measure. From high-level attendee engagement analytics to drill down sponsor ROI metrics, Socio’s Data Dashboard gives you 360-degree insights to see what’s working (and what’s not) in real-time.Socio Lead Retrieval: The most seamless way for your sponsors and exhibitors to capture leads with enriched data—all by scanning attendees’ QR codes and exporting them straight to their CRMs.

Socio Video

Socio Integrations

Socio Competitors

Socio Pricing

Socio Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French (Français), Spanish (Español), Turkish (Türkçe), German (Deutsch), Greek (ελληνικά), Korean (한국어), Dutch (Nederlands), Portuguese (Português), Russian (русский), Swedish (Svenska), Simplified Chinese (中文), Italian (Italiano), Chinese Traditional (漢語), Czech (Čeština), Hindi (हिन्दी), Hungarian (Magyar), Polish (Polski), Serbian Latin (Srpski), Thai, Vietnamese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Socio?

Socio Labs headquartered in Indianapolis offers their branded mobile event app for in-person, hybrid, and virtual events supporting a customizable event engagement experience, lead retrieval, live display, and related features.

Who uses Socio?

The most common users of Socio are from Small Businesses and the Non-profit Organization Management industry.