SolarWinds Backup Reviews

23 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

chris maddox | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

SolarWinds Backup is a pretty good backup solution for MSP's

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP, and we use Solarwinds Backup for our clients. It provides an easy solution for server and workstation backups. We mostly use and deploy it through Solarwinds NCentral. Through there we can monitor and backup all devices for a client. We do have some clients that use a stand-alone backup management system.
  • It's easy to use.
  • Offers an easy to read dashboard.
  • Profile management is confusing in some spots.
  • No centralized log reader to easily find issues.
We have used Solarwinds Backup manager for multiple clients. We backup workstations, and servers. We have used it for file recovery, disaster recovery, or movement from one device to another. With one client we performed a PC refresh. We simply applied the user's backups from their old machine to the new.
Read chris maddox's full review
Russ Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

I'm going to test Solarwinds Backup tonight, it sounds kind of good... After a day of testing: TAKE MY MONEY!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are currently using Solarwinds Backup for our own company-wide usage as well as for most of our clients. Internally, we are currently backing up two Windows Hypervisors with Windows 10, Windows Server, and Linux VMs in the backup job. We are using it in a similar fashion across all of our clients. If there is a Hypervisor at a client site we install it there, but we also have it deployed purely as a file-based backup solution as well.
  • Backup Reporting: Email alerts, and a great, easy to read Dashboard with detailed error logs and an easy to search Solarwinds FAQ for a lot of them.
  • Restores: So far I have restored files, full VMs, and VMs to other hardware, and so far it has not only been flawless, but so flexible that I can't imagine going back to any other software.
  • My only major complaint is that we migrated some clients from the standalone Solarwinds Backup portal to our N-central Server. That part was great, but we have some backup only clients that we could not import. We wanted to move our N-central clients back to the standalone portal but that is apparently not something that can be done. We were told we would have to blow them out and start fresh. So the ability to migrate them back would be nice. But not necessary. Essentially we have a page in N-central right now where we can see all our MSP clients, and then a portal for some backup only clients. If we could do it again, we would not have moved them out of the standalone portal.
Use it for:
Hypervisor backups.
Systems in need of bare metal recovery.
Linux.

The only situation I've come across where it feels redundant is when the customer has a NAS with built-in Cloud/Local backup options.
Read Russ Taylor's full review
Calin Popescu | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Value in Reliability

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Solarwinds Backup is currently set up as a DR solution for 3 main servers. Active Directory and Domain Controller with VM as a DHCP server, Exchange Server, and ERP Server. DR System is set up with continuous recovery at a secondary location in case the main location fails. This secondary location is tested on a monthly basis in order to ensure availability in case of disaster.
  • Unlimited revisions
  • Unlimited deletion policies
  • Secondary location recovery for testing as well as DR
  • Bare metal restore
  • Restore complete settings: IP settings, the setting of CPU/Memory for VMs, etc. would decrease management during a restore.
  • Individual file backup: more granular settings for backup.
  • Change of device name after setup: at times, computer names change after restore so it would be great to rename the device name.
  • Option to recovery security key.
Solarwinds Backup would be suited for any setup where recovery time objective is not in the minutes but an hour or more. The overall system would require procedures that could take an hour or two to get a larger location recovered and running again. In my opinion, having a reliable system that can be tested at a secondary site without disrupting the main location and ensure procedures are continuously updated in order to minimize recovery time is a great benefit.
Read Calin Popescu's full review
Marc Shaffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Solarwinds suite of compatible services are among the best in class!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Solarwinds has been our lead product for at least 9 years and is carried by all of our salespeople and VAR's. We have also deployed Solarwinds Backup within our enterprise and have been more than happy. Security, reliability, and ease of install and use set it apart from many others. Since adding it to our line we have reduced tech support to under 1/2 of 1% annualized. It just goes in as it is supposed to and works as intended. They continuously strive to keep it current and a leader.
  • Daily backups are easy to create and activate and run on schedule as desired by the client.
  • Easy SQL backups no matter your SQL favor, it's just a few clicks to back them up.
  • Very good system state backups that several of our older clients have used (out of necessity) to recover systems and data from dead machines.
  • More webinars.
  • An override to gain access to a client system when it is turned off or make it a preinstall setting we can make.
  • A report or popup denoting which version of Solarwinds they are using.
  • A means to see (easily) just exactly where the client's data resides.
  • Access backups via cell phone.
It's great for any business from a small mom & pops to large enterprises. We have clients that run from a few hundred GB all the way to 22PB, and it all flows smoothly. We find it is most easily adopted by accounting, IT, then management. Some sales are driven by fear, but most are driven by compliance and security issues.

Given what is going on in the medical establishment, there is a somewhat harder and longer sales cycle for security software. If Solwarwinds had software that would interface, that would make it a better sell.
Read Marc Shaffer's full review
Daris Almonte | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Solarwinds Backup is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Backup for everything. The whole organization uses it. Solarwinds backup addresses our data loss issue. With Solarwinds Backup we have everything saved on the cloud and ready to be used at any time. I love how easy it is to use and how reliable it is. I totally recommend Solarwinds Backup.
  • Protect data - Data is protected and encrypted.
  • Easy cloud access - Easy to navigate dashboard.
  • Archiving - Can archive multiple histories.
  • The recovery console is not good for when crypto happens.
  • Sometimes jobs fail even if everything is okay.
  • Sometimes remote commands don't go through to start a backup.
Solarwinds Backup is well suited for files, folder, and system state backup. Once you have a backup you can basically make a new computer with the same information. It is also well suited for archiving data for a long time. The only issue I would say most affects us is not been able to have a recovery console that has multiple restore points ready to turn on a virtual machine.
Read Daris Almonte's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Happy to have it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds is being used to backup the configuration for the networking devices. It makes it easy to retrieve past configs to go back to "when it was working before" and troubleshoot what could have caused changes and issues. We use it for a few server backups as well, but primarily we use it for networking.
  • Easy to retrieve past backups for troubleshooting purposes.
  • Easy to test backups are working when adding/editing nodes.
  • Sends failed backup report for nodes that did not successfully backup.
  • Unless a large number of pollers is deployed, Solarwinds as a whole can be slow.
  • Nodes can occasionally stop backing up for unknown reasons.
  • Large numbers of nodes can cause long backup times.
Solarwinds Backup is ideal for individuals looking to keep a consistent backup of devices in their environment. We used it primarily for networking equipment. It is easy to set up, as it is one of the steps available when adding a new device to solarwinds. It is probably not an ideal product to use for long-term (1 month+) backups.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Solid backup solution designed for MSPs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It made a whole difference as you can manage - all your backups from a single dashboard: create, manage and monitor all your clients within a few minutes with a single person when it took hours with our previous solutions. It saved our lives several times with cryptolockers and our accounting department went quickly back on track after having been infected.
  • Monitoring of the backups : you know exactly the status of every backup and the reason (if anything) went wrong
  • Restore: several options from bare metal to continuous restore from one VM to another one (even with different hypervisors)
  • Tech support: we had some restore issues and the techs did a really great job, spending some time to find the root of the issue (which was on our client's side)
  • Sales: the economic model is fine but could be improved, mostly regarding VMs
  • User rights could be more granular
For an MSP with lots of small clients it's a blessing as you can see all of them within a single dashboard and connect to the device from it. The pricing per device is also an great bonus as everything is included in it, no surprise when you need to restore.

The only issue would be the pricing if you are managing a lot of VMs as the price per device and the fair use policy could be an issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

Simple/Convenient Cloud Backup Solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We provide Solarwinds Backup as a service to our customers, most of them in the hospitality market. Having a requirement for PCI compliance, we use Solarwinds as a second solution for cloud backups, and we use a different solution for local backups, as a way to offer redundancy to our customers. Because it is a versatile tool that could perform image backups, files and folders backups or specific database backups, it is suitable to implement in many different companies.
  • The management portal and client interfaces are web-based, which makes it convenient to set up and monitor the backups and modify configurations.
  • The solution can perform different type of backups, that could suit all customers depending on their needs: Image backups (system state) which allows customers to have an option for business continuity, Files and Folders, to select the specific data to go to the cloud, or application-specific backups for SQL, MySql, Oracle, VMWare, SharePoint, Exchange, HyperV.
  • It does have great deduplication capabilities, which does a good job compressing the data and transferring offsite.
  • The management of the device properties provides useful information like the history of the backups, audit of actions performed in the client, errors and statistics.
  • The files and folders restore in each client is simple and user friendly.
  • To perform restores on a different location, there's a need to install a standalone application call the Recovery Console, which makes it too much trouble. Instead, this should have been performed over the same backup management portal, where you should have been able to select in which location you want to restore.
  • The business continuity features, available for the system state backups, like restoring a backup as a virtual machine or performing a bare-metal restore, also require to install different standalone applications for each. And in disaster scenarios, both tasks take too much time to get everything running.
  • The retention of the backups (the archiving feature) needs to be set up individually for each server at a time, when this is something that should be more easily managed by the service provider (not expecting to be set up by the customer in each device) as a general setting within the Backups Profiles or Product Management.
  • There should be a better reporting tool, that would allow to export backup and restore events, as well as user activities.
  • The configurations for Backup Profiles and Product Management could be redundant and confusing.
For companies that have a low budget, Solarwinds Backup is a convenient tool because it provides simple cloud backup features and it can be priced based on the number of devices to backup. However, if companies expect to have business continuity for disaster scenarios, it might not be the best option.
Read this authenticated review
Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Great backup solutions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Backup to back up some of our customer servers. It helps ensure their data is safe.
  • Easy to setup
  • One place to monitor the backups
  • Good reports and knowledge base
  • system state backup fails a bit more often than expected
  • VSS needs changes are needs to avoid timeouts
SolarWinds Backup is well suited for MSPs as a solution for backing up their customer servers. This is ideal if you are already a SolarWinds customer and are using some of their other products such as the RMM. We have not yet deployed it in scenarios that require having a standby server or continuous backups, as we prefer and consider other products more suitable.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review

SolarWinds Backup Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (7)
7.5
Live recovery (7)
7.3
Recovery verification (7)
8.0
Business application protection (8)
7.6
Multiple backup destinations (8)
7.7
Incremental backup identification (8)
7.6
Backup to the cloud (8)
9.0
Deduplication and file compression (8)
9.0
Snapshots (6)
9.0
Flexible deployment (8)
8.6
Management dashboard (9)
8.6
Platform support (8)
8.7
Retention options (9)
8.1
Encryption (8)
8.8

About SolarWinds Backup

Solarwinds Backup is designed to cover servers, datacenters, applications, and workstations, and is provided to ensure business continuity and at-a-glance assessment and fast issue resolution via customizable dashboard.
Categories:  Data Center Backup

SolarWinds Backup Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No