SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
196 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Joseph Dixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2020

Solarwinds DPA - a DBA's MVP!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Was able to identify issues that we were able to take to one of our partners and improve the system for all users.
  • Identified an issue with storage that was also impacting other users, speeding the route to solving the problem.
  • Saves countless hours vs trying to pull these stats out of SQL server by hand. Being able to quickly find the source of the issue we are experiencing is invaluable.
Read Joseph Dixon's full review
Mike Saedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is an Excellent Performance Monitoring Tool for SQL Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I definitely receive value from this product. Before DPA, I could not easily pinpoint why my SQL Server was slow at any given point in time.
  • The graphs and trending also help me visualize where problems are and fix and address them much more quickly.
Read Mike Saedi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

SolarWinds DPA saves the day every time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Identified excessive blocking and allowed correction
  • Prevented need to upscale Amazon servers
  • Ensured that developers write efficient SQL code
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is a great product to visually see the health of the databases and make a proactive monitoring and root cause analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I cannot provide quantitative data, but can give you some real positive impact example .
  • We had several points in the Internet banking applications which do not work as well as desired. Using DPA we identified the heaviest SQL queries and initiate a change request to the vendor. After implementing the received changes we are able to reduce response time by an order of magnitude.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Try it out if you want happy customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Has definitely had a positive impact. It is one stop for all database monitoring for our global teams to identify any potentials issues or bottlenecks.
  • Very intuitive, so do not really have to spend too much time training people to use this tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA: The Advance DBA Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Better monitoring and proactive action on the basis of data collected helped to reduce outages and performance issues.
  • AG monitor give HADR monitoring
Read this authenticated review
Steven Pangilinan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Real ROI that added a 9 to our uptime.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Uptime has gone up a whole 9 because of SolarWinds DPA. We can address issues quickly, some we would have never known about and just thrown more CPU/Memory at.
  • Our developers use better coding practices and work more closely with our DBAs to streamline queries and stored procedures. This ultimately leads us to lower operational costs for computing resources and faster applications.
Read Steven Pangilinan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer helps you become the best DBA you can be.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • In today's world, people want access to information faster and faster. Our organization had some applications that were not operating as quickly as users thought they should. With SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, we were able to pinpoint the issue, create new indexes, and speed up access to the information.
  • SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer allows our technology staff to focus on other areas of the business. When a database issue arises, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer provides alerts to the staff, rather than running database analysis tools on an adhoc basis.
  • For smaller environments like ours, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is a cost effective solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

SolarWinds DPA review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved lots of man hours from troubleshooting application slowness issue.
  • Licensing model is a bit costly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Just works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Helps to keep our customers happy through database maintenance.
  • Connection correction!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Invaluable, Trusted Performance Diagnostics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • One DBA can oversee performance issues for dozens of DB servers, serving to triage and disseminate using DPA email capabilities.
  • Development and Support personnel can see the same data, in the same visualizations, enabling skills-development on actual code and tables that would take too long to replicate as a purely teaching exercise.
  • Customer solution performance concerns can be directly investigated by time-slice. Additionally, using hands-on monitoring while customers replicate issues, our developers can see the artifacts in real-time that are contributing to the issues. Communication, visualization, identification, in real-time, obviates artificial replication efforts, saving time and money.
Read this authenticated review

About SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) enables deep visibility into database performance and expert advice for performance optimization and tuning.

What can you monitor with DPA?
  • Oracle
  • Oracle Exadata
  • Oracle EBS
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • Azure SQL Database
  • Azure SQL Database Managed Instance
  • MySQL
  • DB2
  • SAP ASE
  • Aurora
  • MariaDB
DPA monitors physical, virtual, and cloud-based databases (including Microsoft Azure and Amazon RDS)

What makes DPA stand out:

  • Quick, easy, and reliable performance troubleshooting available in real time and historically

  • Machine learning anomaly analysis to bring intelligence to go beyond traditional threshold based analysis
  • Find inefficient workloads, aggregated by table, for indexing opportunities—an “X marks the spot” tuning analysis
  • Cross-platform database support for a single-pane-of-glass view into your environment
  • Blocking analysis: what is blocking and a hierarchy of what is being blocked, plus overall impact
  • PerfStack™ integration with other SolarWinds products for more complete visibility (applications, servers, storage, hypervisor, network, and more)
  • Agent-less architecture with the ability to scale from a few instances to thousands, low 1% average overhead

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Features

Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureTuning advisors for queries, workload, and indexes aggregated at the table level
Has featureCorrelated resource metrics for easy diagnosis of hardware constraint impacts on end-users
Has featureDetailed blocking analysis for contention bottlenecks
Has featureI/O activity tracking at the drive/mount and file level
Has featureAlerts and reports
Has featureDPA Central to manage large and/or distributed environments
Has featureAlways On Availability Group and RAC insights

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Screenshots

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Videos (2)

Azure Database Support Overview

Watch Product Overview

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Downloadables

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager (VNQM), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds User Device Tracker

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Competitors

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, AWS Marketplace app
Mobile Application:No