SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
196 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 101)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Joseph Dixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2020

Solarwinds DPA - a DBA's MVP!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is being used by IT in our organization. It allows us to have a better window into what the SQL servers are doing, especially with regards to applications that are using these SQL servers. It allows us to root cause problems and to find problems before they become bigger problems.
Read Joseph Dixon's full review
Emmanuel Bradley | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Great for general monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer is being used to monitor for issues with our SQL Servers by our organization. We use it to provide a baseline and display opportunities for improvement. The tuning feature helps us find bottlenecks and provide index suggestions. Our software development department uses the tool to show how the code has affected database performance. The network operations department monitors the data to find areas that may need upgraded hardware or configuration changes.
Read Emmanuel Bradley's full review
Mike Saedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is an Excellent Performance Monitoring Tool for SQL Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a consultant, I recommend and use SolarWinds across multiple clients currently at Nortek/Broan-Nutone, BlastMotion, and Hansen and Adkins. I use this on a daily basis to assist me with monitoring SQL servers and assisting me with troubleshooting performance issues as they arise. I have also used SolarWinds DPA to set up alerts for issues like low drive space and query plan changes.
Read Mike Saedi's full review
Pat Groce | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

DPA in Govenment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The database team uses DPA to manage up to 50 licenses. Only 5 team members who are DBAs actively use the tool. All SQL performance problems from large PeopleSoft DBS to Cots applications (500+) are covered. Performance problems can come from all directions so this tool is extremely useful because it's a catch-all.
Read Pat Groce's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

SolarWinds DPA saves the day every time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer to fine-tune SQL Server workloads and alert us to unexpected issues occurring on our database clusters. It helps us to see problems before they happen - long running queries or unexpected disk thrashing and to fix these problems before users become aware of a situation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer - Recommended

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It allows us to keep a close eye on our database. In the event we run into slowdowns, we can easily identify the issue using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer before larger issues pop up. Since we've implemented it, we are able to proactively keep our system running smoother with fewer service interruptions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is a great product to visually see the health of the databases and make a proactive monitoring and root cause analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our company we use SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer for proactive performance monitoring and anomaly detection in database overall health. This product gives us a first look at the big picture of the database performance. We configured some alerts and mail notifications, which saves us a lot of time. Our most common use case is to react to changed execution plans and take appropriate actions before end users of the systems start to complain about performance problem and response times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it at the data warehousing and analytics group to monitor the load and set up alerts on the data warehouse server. We have set up alerts on long-running queries, blocking other queries, deadlocks, instance availability, unused indexes, etc. Some of them are very useful, but the deadlocks alert can be improved to show what queries were in the deadlock, so we can improve our solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Try it out if you want happy customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it across our department to monitor our database landscape. We have different flavors of databases across our landscape, and SolarWinds for years has been an important part of the strategy for our monitoring solutions for the database tier across the landscape. It is very intuitive and quite easy to implement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

SolarWinds DPA - perfect for query performance analysis.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DPA is currently used by our development and support team to monitor our core database to keep an eye on performance day to day to avoid any rogue queries or new application causing issues for our business as a whole. In the early days of our business platform it was used to refine our queries to provide a better user experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA Pros and Cons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use this product to diagnose and maintain the good performance of SQL Servers. We find degradation or lag, and it also helps issues with queries to be addressed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Top of Class Database Performance Monitoring and Tuning Advisor!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use DPA for database monitoring across the enter enterprise, dev/QA and production. We connect it to Oracle, SQL and MySQL Database Servers. We use DPA as a single source of monitoring for database performance issues. The historical and real-time query monitoring allows us to troubleshoot and quickly identify the root cause of a poorly performing server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Key to knowing true DB performance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used in IT to monitor database performance and to assist with troubleshooting when there are performance issues with key applications. It is primarily used by our Database Administrators and has assisted in maintaining key performance metrics. It has allowed us to be proactive in our approach to performance monitoring and being able to resolve problems before they affect users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA: The Advance DBA Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our SQL server performance monitoring is done by using DPA SolarWinds. It's used in our department only.
Read this authenticated review
Aruna Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2020

Keep an eye on your databases using Solarwinds DPA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

A database should be more optimized to run faster and efficiently. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is one of the best applications which is used as a management and performance monitoring solution for any database. This software is straightforward to use and configure. And it is user-friendly. In our organization, we are using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer to manage database performance issues such as errors, long-running queries and more.
Read Aruna Bandara's full review
Steven Pangilinan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Real ROI that added a 9 to our uptime.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our business lines span many industries and have a vast array of projects in production. Many of the environments we have must be segregated, and SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer offers us a clear, detailed view of these environments through a single pane. Our DBAs can more quickly address issues and quickly settle the "hardware versus software" debate between engineers and developers.
Read Steven Pangilinan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer helps you become the best DBA you can be.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As an organization that relies on data and databases, it is important that we have the right tools in place to ensure our data is always accessible. The technology team has set up SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer to monitor all of the critical databases on our network to ensure 100% uptime. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer allows our technology team to focus on other issues and only deal with the SQL servers when SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer alerts the team to any potential issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

SolarWinds DPA review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The SolarWinds DPA module is used mainly to monitor our MSSQL instances for performance. We had lots of issues related to DB performance and we were not sure about the root cause before implementing DPA. Now, we are getting proactive alerts when there is a deviation from the performance baseline configured in the tool and we are very happy with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Just works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using the database analyzer to monitor any changes that have occurred or any issues currently prompting. It has helped when looking at the trends around the flow of information and possible connection issues. We use it on a regular basis within two of the main departments. It is a great product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Invaluable, Trusted Performance Diagnostics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DPA is an essential part of performance monitoring our hybrid Demand Management Solution for hosted customers, and select on-premise customers. Automation is essential considering the number of customers, the schema comprising approaching 3,000 tables and over 5,000 code artifacts. Daily summaries of the last 3 days of Top SQL resource consumers give us ongoing snapshots by which to spot trends and anomalies that DPA's functionality enables us to investigate to query and table level.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is used by our database and applications team to ensure the application code is working as expected, as well as to monitor database performance.
Read this authenticated review

About SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) enables deep visibility into database performance and expert advice for performance optimization and tuning.

What can you monitor with DPA?
  • Oracle
  • Oracle Exadata
  • Oracle EBS
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • Azure SQL Database
  • Azure SQL Database Managed Instance
  • MySQL
  • DB2
  • SAP ASE
  • Aurora
  • MariaDB
DPA monitors physical, virtual, and cloud-based databases (including Microsoft Azure and Amazon RDS)

What makes DPA stand out:

  • Quick, easy, and reliable performance troubleshooting available in real time and historically

  • Machine learning anomaly analysis to bring intelligence to go beyond traditional threshold based analysis
  • Find inefficient workloads, aggregated by table, for indexing opportunities—an “X marks the spot” tuning analysis
  • Cross-platform database support for a single-pane-of-glass view into your environment
  • Blocking analysis: what is blocking and a hierarchy of what is being blocked, plus overall impact
  • PerfStack™ integration with other SolarWinds products for more complete visibility (applications, servers, storage, hypervisor, network, and more)
  • Agent-less architecture with the ability to scale from a few instances to thousands, low 1% average overhead

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Features

Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureTuning advisors for queries, workload, and indexes aggregated at the table level
Has featureCorrelated resource metrics for easy diagnosis of hardware constraint impacts on end-users
Has featureDetailed blocking analysis for contention bottlenecks
Has featureI/O activity tracking at the drive/mount and file level
Has featureAlerts and reports
Has featureDPA Central to manage large and/or distributed environments
Has featureAlways On Availability Group and RAC insights

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Screenshots

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Videos (2)

Azure Database Support Overview

Watch Product Overview

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Downloadables

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager (VNQM), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds User Device Tracker

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Competitors

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, AWS Marketplace app
Mobile Application:No