SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
142 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 17, 2020
Susan Geye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our previous product did not offer traffic flow, bandwidth information or the ability to give us device information. With SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer we can monitor traffic coming in to our network and traffic going out of our network. This has allowed for greater security for our district and end users.
Read Susan Geye's full review
November 13, 2020
Steve Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We utilize NetScout in conjunction with NetScout. NetScout gives a finer grained insight into traffic, while [SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer] (NTA) gives a better quick glance at the entire organizational structure.
Read Steve Adams's full review
November 30, 2020
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I must say no other tools stands against SolarWinds NTA module, as it is easy to use tool with complete feature set, with almost all types of flows supported. Not just this, you will have rich information-based dashboard (fully customizable), out of the box reports, and Alert which is missing in other tools and vendors.
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
September 02, 2020
Justin Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

My team inherited SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer along with other SolarWinds products so I can't give reviews for alternatives as we haven't evaluated any other services. We are happy with what NTA provides us.
Read Justin Benner's full review
August 24, 2020
Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer is a user-friendly and much cheaper alternative than some of its competitors such as ExtraHop. It integrates well with the rest of the SolarWinds suite of tools and it's a lot easier to use.
Read Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP's full review
September 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The company I work for now uses:

SAM, VNQM, NCM, npm and DPAIM along with NTA
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds is the only tool I've used for netflow traffic analyzing. I can't say that I've used any other types of products to even monitor our networks. SolarWinds has always been the tool I've used for any network insight needed from any organization. I am a huge fan of using this product over others that I can't compare anything else.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
March 20, 2020
Kiran Yakkala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are not many tools in the market that provide a lot of info on networks that also integrate with other server related components like SAM, NCM, etc. SolarWinds NTA and all other modules need to embed a bit of AI into them which can give a lot more value than what it is doing now, however, that probably won't happen anytime soon.
Read Kiran Yakkala's full review
February 10, 2020
Julio Morales | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Brocade network advisor was great but it was too vendor-specific. It gave us the ability to make software upgrades from one location. It also provided real-time information on interface utilization to see anomalies in the network traffic.
Read Julio Morales's full review
April 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds has a simplified design and visualization. Additionally, the discovery and management of devices along with graphical visualizations and report creation was a huge benefit for us on our network status. Support from SolarWinds has been phenomenal, we have utilized services from implementation through troubleshooting and general questions as to use and best practices.
Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer has more features compared to Wireshark and WhatsUp Gold.
Wireshark provided raw outputs while we were looking for intuitive graphical interface hence SolarWinds was preferred over Wireshark.
And WhatsUp Gold was good at monitoring networking infrastructure but we went ahead with SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer for the fact that it can analyse traffic patterns as an addition to all the WhatsUp Gold features.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2019
Carlos Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have tried to test other tools and the results have been very poor, our infrastructure is based on Cisco and the adaptability is formidable, it is not necessary to install accessories as in other tools and this makes a difference. We have tested other solutions but fail to surpass Netflow for the results that are required.
Read Carlos Martinez's full review
November 04, 2019
Jennifer Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

So .. I still use Wireshark, but it can't even compare to Netflow. I went to the best of the best with SolarWinds out of the gate. Wireshark is just another utility I have used to gather traffic flows. SolarWinds puts all the data into a very understandable graph. The SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer is so much easier to use than Wireshark. I continue to be amazed at the amount of data that my organization pushes; Wireshark could never present me that kind of information!
Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
September 18, 2019
Armando Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Opmanager was a good product and they did have layer 2 visibility. We wanted to try SolarWinds NetFlow but was disappointed because of the lack of features we needed. So we did without and removed the module.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
November 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We haven't tried any other NTA products, this was the first one we tried and bought and still works for us after all these years. No need to look for anything else as far as I'm concerned.
Read this authenticated review

What is SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)?

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) allows the multi-vendor monitoring of network traffic flow records, the discovery of traffic patterns, and avoidance of bandwidth hogs. As an add-on to SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), NTA helps optimize spend on bandwidth by better understanding the who and what of bandwidth consumption boosting your network traffic analysis capabilities. Trace and monitor bandwidth usage of application or protocol patterns over months, days, or minutes by drilling down into any network element supporting a variety of network traffic flow standards (NetFlow, sFlow, J-Flow, IPFIX, and NetStream). Gain real-time deep Network Insights for Cisco, F5, and Palo Alto to identify critical issues quickly all in one easy to use interface.


NTA’s core features include bandwidth monitoring, application traffic monitoring, network traffic analysis, malicious traffic identification, performance analysis, and error root cause identification. The product also offers customizable traffic reports and alerts, including measuring the effectiveness of traffic prioritization policies. It is designed to integrate with other SolarWinds monitoring and management products.

Download a free trial today: https://www.solarwinds.com/netflow-traffic-analyzer/registration


SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Features

Has featureTightly integrates with SolarWinds NPM providing valuable insights into network bandwidth consumption.
Has featureMonitor bandwidth use by application, protocol, and IP address group. Collects and analyzes flow data from multiple vendors, including NetFlow v5 and v9, Juniper® J-Flow™, sFlow®, Huawei® NetStream™, and IPFIX.
Has featureApplication traffic alerting, alerts you if an application traffic suddenly increases, decreases, or disappears completely.
Has featureAnalyze network traffic patterns over months, days, or minutes by drilling down into any network element.
Has featurePerfStack™ cross-stack network data correlation. Accelerate identification of root cause by dragging-and-dropping network performance metrics on a common timeline for immediate visual correlation across all your network data and NetFlow analytics.
Has featureAdvanced application recognition allows you to identify which applications and categories consume the most bandwidth for better network traffic visibility with NBAR2 support.
Has featureCustomizable network traffic reports at your finger tips. Create, schedule, and deliver in-depth network traffic analysis and bandwidth reports with just a few clicks.
Has featureMonitor Wireless LAN Controller traffic to keep tabs on applications and clients utilizing bandwidth on your wireless network.
Has featureCisco Meraki wireless traffic monitoring.
Has featureCBQoS policy optimization measures the effectiveness of pre- and post-policy traffic levels per class map to determine if QoS policies are working as planned.
Has featureMalicious or malformed traffic flow identification with port 0 monitoring.
Has featureNetwork Insight™ for Palo Alto Networks® includes collection of flow from Palo Alto firewalls to show flow through nodes and interfaces

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Videos (2)

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Downloadables

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Integrations

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager (VNQM), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds User Device Tracker

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Competitors

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No