SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
457 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 160)

Collin Lichtenberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Customer Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

A long time ago we used WhatsUpGold and Nagios. It has been quite a long time since we evaluated and picked SolarWinds. At the time though, it was a very polished and professional product compared to other offerings. I have not recently evaluated other offerings to see if that still holds true though in comparison. I also know that many vendors like to "package" monitoring in with the rest of their "features" (like Cisco Prime) but they fail to be a single pane of glass for monitoring all our hardware.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
Ted Sadler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network "Magnificent Performance" Monitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other products I've used (Spiceworks, Mikrotik's The Dude) are good at their jobs but ultimately don't have the scalability of NPM or the more advanced network visibility features that make NPM so great. Other products (like Spiceworks especially) are also built as several products shoved into one -- an asset management platform, ticketing system, a network monitor, etc. -- and can be slow in performance or limited in their potential as a result.
Read Ted Sadler's full review
Matthew A. Osmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

A mature, customization monitoring solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds NPM is the best tool I have used. I have a little experience with ManageEngine OpManager. NPM is all around better (ManageEngine products are decent for extreme budget situations. I think of them as the 99 Cent store option). We also looked into Nagios, but the level of effort required to build it was huge. Probably multiple FTE's. Two of us are able to manage SolarWinds, which also wearing other hats.
Read Matthew A. Osmond's full review
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My SolarWinds Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Every monitoring tool has its merits and demerits. This is the competitive world and every organization will find an outstanding tool with a reasonable budget. There are so many monitoring tools available in the outside market and SolarWinds NPM is one among them. This outweighed because it has an efficient troubleshoot mechanism, gives accurate results, can go to history and find details. It communicates between the data centers effectively while others on the market are not good when it comes to a clustered environment. The cost competes with other products.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
Keith Gulledge | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds NPM is the bomb!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds is so easy to set up and to use. The alerting is better. It is a much cheaper product. I used Cisco Prime, and still do for wireless, for years but Cisco's Licensing is awful. We had it for all of our Cisco devices and we decided to drop it.
Read Keith Gulledge's full review
Alessandro Piras | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

An irreplaceable tool for complex networks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor for its simplicity of management and discovery of devices and its very detailed graphs and graphical customizable widgets that help to visualize the status of the network. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is a huge and customizable tool to create reports. Best of all, they have very remarkable and active support staff that help to resolve very quickly issues related to the platform.
Read Alessandro Piras's full review
Esam Alaslmy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

Great product, and I hope they never stop making better.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I recommend SolarWinds because it has accomplished all that I want from the technical perspective as a network engineer based on the trial version that I have evaluated. Second thing is that our management has chosen SolarWinds because it has a perpetual license.
Read Esam Alaslmy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds NPM is the magic bullet!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Given SolarWinds' popularity we actually ended up not trying any other products. Over time we have tried to use other systems, such as Spiceworks, for other small things and found it to not be as powerful. Some of the alerting was the same but there was no way to deep dive into the environment like you could with SolarWinds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds Network Evaluation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PRTG monitoring and SolarWinds NPM are very similar in their ability to monitor network-related events. However, I feel that SolarWinds' vast array of features and its ability to expand far beyond just NPM gives it a major lead in this category. Often times with PRTG there are features I wish I could add to the ecosystem that are just not available.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Solarwinds NPM - Well worth your time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WUG is a very baseline up/down monitoring solution and isn't terribly robust. The functionality built-in to the NCM product far outshines what WhatsUp Gold can do on its very best day. The product is overpriced and underperforms. SolarWinds is pricier, but the functionality gained is well worth it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor: THE leader in network monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We really haven't had the need to shop around for other platforms, since we're completely satisfied with SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor. There is a group within our organization that does use Netcool. The comparison isn't even close. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is the leader in this field.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have been using a mish-mash of toolsets to be able to do reports, backups, monitoring, alerting, etc. Each individual tool has its strengths, but each has a major downside in that they don't play nice (AKA do not integrate) with other tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have tried PRTG and WhatsUp Gold prior to selecting SolarWinds at a few institutions. I prefer the features available with SolarWinds and the licensing model as opposed to other solutions. Getting all the features we could benefit from with SolarWinds products, in general, is out of price range, but the base NPM solution offers enough to meet our needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds NPM is much easier to configure, has better out of the box functionality, and has better dashboard and widget options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

SolarWinds NPM: Good, but not great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have evaluated Cacti and still use an older version to monitor tunnel traffic. But support is worse and use-ability not as good as Solarwinds. Also, there is the question of scalability to 1000+ devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

The best network management software money can buy, if you need it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I regularly seek out and evaluate alternatives because we would prefer to use an open-source operating system and database. All the other products I have reviewed are lacking features we depend on from SolarWinds. Many products use an inferior graph-rendering package and are not attractive enough to present to our customers. Very few have permissions that are configurable enough for our needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

8 Years using the product. Have tried others but still recommend it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NPM/SAM/NTA combo is more advanced and simple compared to others in the market. Nagios XI and NPM are pretty close and to be honest, Nagios is way less expensive. But having the ability to incorporate SAM and NTM and how reliable is. If you have the resources available, I would recommend SolarWinds solutions over any other.
Read this authenticated review
Deirra J. Footman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

NPM is a valuable tool for Network Monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PRTG was the product we used before purchasing SolarWinds. NPM is a more intuitive product and the learning curve isn't as steep. NPM offers a level of customizability with dashboards that PRTG doesn't. With additional modules like NTA and SAM, we have another level of visibility the PRTG didn't provide.
Read Deirra J. Footman's full review
Dwain Erhart | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

How we use SolarWinds NPM, and some of the features you will find helpful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried Dell OMNM manager suite but it was difficult to clear alerts, to setup, etc. It did more -- allowed us to back up and recover switch configurations etc. -- but it didn't present a very user friendly interface and it was impossible to manage correctly. We spent a lot on the solution because we got it with our new switching equipment and were told it was the best way to manage an monitor our switches. It turned out that we continued to rely on SolarWinds NPM after repeated attempts to configure and make OMNM usable.
Read Dwain Erhart's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (171)
8.7
Network monitoring (190)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (167)
8.4
Alerts (189)
9.3
Network capacity planning (150)
7.7
Packet capture analysis (105)
7.5
Network mapping (156)
7.7
Customizable reports (174)
8.4
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (122)
7.7
Hardware health monitoring (176)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No