TrustRadius
SolarWinds RMM product is based on technology acquired from LogicNow in 2016, combining MAXfocus, MAX Remote Management, and GFI MAX, into a single MSP.SolarWinds RMM - The Effective Ugly DucklingThis question, I believe, shows a fundamental misunderstanding of what exactly SolarWinds RMM (SWRMM) is and it's target market. SWRMM is primarily targeted at Managed Service Providers (MSPs) who are companies that outsource IT for other organizations. As such, it solves one of the core business needs for our industry. SWRMM is used by the majority of our company (all the techs), so it manages several thousand endpoints on behalf of our customers. It gives us most of the solutions we need to manage, monitor and maintain these endpoints. In essence, the business problem it solves is our need to be able to quickly support several thousand endpoints with a small team.,It provides fantastic remote access capabilities. The Take Control tool gives us a robust platform that is capable of remote controlling almost any endpoint we need to and the chat, file transfer, and screen recording tools are all exceptionally useful. SolarWinds RMM is particularly useful as a single pane of glass solution that allows us to monitor and manage thousands of endpoints across dozens of different clients. It does a solid job of allowing us to sort, organize, and filter based off of who and what we want to see at any given time. Due to its client based nature, the platform excels at in-depth monitoring of services, event logs, and the functionality of systems with custom script checks.,Manageability of Customer logins to the dashboard is poor. AV whitelists don't apply to behavioral scans which makes them nearly worthless. The "Networks" tab doesn't let you monitor a network that isn't on the same subnet as a network adapter even if a monitored machine can access a different subnet. Vulnerability scans/patch management break ALL THE TIME. We have to uninstall/reinstall it on 5-10 systems per week. "Network Devices" is extremely limited in value. If each device also supported a list of SNMP check that could be customized, they might actually be useful. They need a new UX team. The settings menus are atrocious. I should be able to access ALL settings for any given product from its single settings menu, not have to try figuring out which of the three settings menus for that product actually contain the settings I need.,8,The SolarWinds name carries a good bit of clout in the industry. This has definitely helped secure a few deals. The addition of Cloud Backups had a positive impact because we were able to easily add it as a bolt-on for existing clients. We have now added this offering to almost 20% of our managed servers. We are in the process of moving into a "co-managed" business plan. SolarWinds RMM has facilitated this by allowing us to help in-house IT teams with offloading server management and maintenance while they are able to focus on big-picture objectives.,Made my life easierOur company and business has been built around SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management. RMM makes it easier for us to proactively monitor our customer's servers and workstations. The take control feature helps us assist all the users with their IT problems. The automated tasks are helping us automate most of our daily\weekly tasks.,All other SolarWinds products are built into RMM (e.g. Take Control, Managed Antivirus, Backup) and can all be accessed from a single central dashboard. The platform so far has never been down which allowed us to do our day to day job. Solarwinds is always trying to improve its platform and the range of products it offers which helps companies like us.,The vulnerability\patch manager scans fail quite often, but lately, I have noticed an improvement. The managed antivirus is quite heavy on the disk while performing a deep scan and this impacts the user.,10,It has greatly improved our reaction\response times and helped us fix issues a lot quicker. The daily and 24x7 checks allow us to monitor all the relevant services or processes running on servers. Easy to access as it is cloud-based, ideal for working from home. Great security with MFA.,ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), LogMeIn Pro and TeamViewer,Redgate SQL Monitor, MikroTik Routers and SwitchesSolarWinds RMM - A Networking MustSolarWinds RMM, and Orion as a whole, is the quintessential go-to network management solution for our company. We use it to monitor and maintain our entire network, which covers all of the US and parts of Mexico and Canada. We could not be happier with this product. The cost is relatively high, but you are getting exactly what you are paying for: a singular solution that does everything from monitoring and alerting all the while giving you a total birds-eye view of what's going on in your network -- all in real-time. The best part - everything within SolarWinds is completely customizable to your company's needs and the product support and community simply does not get better. Do yourself a favor - get this product so that you can be confident that there won't ever be an issue in your network without you knowing about it.,Thanks to RMM I never feel like I'm unaware as to what's going on in my network. I can be in the office or half a country away and feel completely aware of what's going on. We've had numerous situations over the years where a part of our network is having issues (latency or errors) that the RMM alerts have saved us from a major outage. You can't ask for better proactive alerting. The advanced alerting allows us to stay ahead of issues instead of reacting to them. This gives us confidence in our network and our end users better support.,Cost can be a little taxing, especially on smaller companies. Maintaining each module of SolarWinds can be a bit tedious. Server requirements can be on the high-end side, which means more licensing and money.,9,The ROI is immediate for us. The advanced alerting alone makes this product an ace in our bag. The confidence you have in your network is wonderful. Another big ROI we get from the advanced alerting is the peace of mind that our engineers feel. We are a 24/7 shop, so being on-call goes from being hectic to extremely manageable. The only negative I can honestly say is when the time comes to patch the product. Micro-patches are easy enough, but jumping versions can be a bit taxing.,SolarWinds IPAM, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager and Solarwinds Web Performance Monitor,SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager, SolarWinds Network Performance MonitorSolarwinds RMM: Good Monitoring ProductWe used SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management to remotely monitor client workstations. We could apply antivirus, check event logs, and push out windows updates.,Reliable Robust Adaptable,Hard to use. User management can be confusing and buggy. Remote connection tools didn't always work. Billing can be hard to figure out.,8,Helped provide clients with more options Gave us another revenue stream Allowed us to easier manage systems,,SolarWinds MSP Manager, QuickBooks OnlineSolarWinds RMM is for you!It's used by the whole team. It gives us insight into the health of a client network and status of all nodes. Daily and typical maintenance tasks can be automated and can be reviewed with automatic reports. Windows patches can be deployed, hardware status of PCs and servers can be monitored to the most accurate details.,Gives insight into the health of PCs and servers. Gives you on-the-second notifications when a device goes down or there's a connectivity problem. Microsoft and third party patches can be deployed, and if there is a problem, they can be removed also.,They offer a backup solution, but it needs maturing. The rules application can be simpler. It has a high learning curve. It would be nice if self-healing options or behavior learning was available.,9,Cuts time on deploying updates. Cuts time on troubleshooting issues. Allows you to be proactive and respond to issues even before your clients notice.,NinjaRMM, Continuum RMM and Kaseya Network Monitor,Sophos Endpoint Protection, Microsoft Office 365, Datto
Unspecified
SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management
24 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Solarwinds RMM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Solarwinds RMM
24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 25 vetted Solarwinds RMM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Bryant Lee profile photo
February 15, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds RMM - The Effective Ugly Duckling"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This question, I believe, shows a fundamental misunderstanding of what exactly SolarWinds RMM (SWRMM) is and it's target market. SWRMM is primarily targeted at Managed Service Providers (MSPs) who are companies that outsource IT for other organizations. As such, it solves one of the core business needs for our industry.

SWRMM is used by the majority of our company (all the techs), so it manages several thousand endpoints on behalf of our customers. It gives us most of the solutions we need to manage, monitor and maintain these endpoints. In essence, the business problem it solves is our need to be able to quickly support several thousand endpoints with a small team.
  • It provides fantastic remote access capabilities. The Take Control tool gives us a robust platform that is capable of remote controlling almost any endpoint we need to and the chat, file transfer, and screen recording tools are all exceptionally useful.
  • SolarWinds RMM is particularly useful as a single pane of glass solution that allows us to monitor and manage thousands of endpoints across dozens of different clients. It does a solid job of allowing us to sort, organize, and filter based off of who and what we want to see at any given time.
  • Due to its client based nature, the platform excels at in-depth monitoring of services, event logs, and the functionality of systems with custom script checks.
  • Manageability of Customer logins to the dashboard is poor.
  • AV whitelists don't apply to behavioral scans which makes them nearly worthless.
  • The "Networks" tab doesn't let you monitor a network that isn't on the same subnet as a network adapter even if a monitored machine can access a different subnet.
  • Vulnerability scans/patch management break ALL THE TIME. We have to uninstall/reinstall it on 5-10 systems per week.
  • "Network Devices" is extremely limited in value. If each device also supported a list of SNMP check that could be customized, they might actually be useful.
  • They need a new UX team. The settings menus are atrocious. I should be able to access ALL settings for any given product from its single settings menu, not have to try figuring out which of the three settings menus for that product actually contain the settings I need.
It works extremely well when trying to perform basic monitoring on a large number of endpoints and you also wish to perform some management tasks all from a single location. It isn't great at anything network related. A lot more data needs to be exportable, especially in the form of CSVs.
Read Bryant Lee's full review
Adrian Takacs profile photo
February 07, 2019

Solarwinds RMM Review: "Made my life easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company and business has been built around SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management. RMM makes it easier for us to proactively monitor our customer's servers and workstations. The take control feature helps us assist all the users with their IT problems. The automated tasks are helping us automate most of our daily\weekly tasks.
  • All other SolarWinds products are built into RMM (e.g. Take Control, Managed Antivirus, Backup) and can all be accessed from a single central dashboard.
  • The platform so far has never been down which allowed us to do our day to day job.
  • Solarwinds is always trying to improve its platform and the range of products it offers which helps companies like us.
  • The vulnerability\patch manager scans fail quite often, but lately, I have noticed an improvement.
  • The managed antivirus is quite heavy on the disk while performing a deep scan and this impacts the user.
Is well suited for managed service providers like us and it is ideal to implement for customers that pay for pro active monitoring. Due to the cost, it is not suitable to be deployed on devices for customers that pay as they go and contact support only when they have an issue.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
Michael Gombosi profile photo
September 05, 2018

User Review: "SolarWinds RMM - A Networking Must"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds RMM, and Orion as a whole, is the quintessential go-to network management solution for our company. We use it to monitor and maintain our entire network, which covers all of the US and parts of Mexico and Canada. We could not be happier with this product. The cost is relatively high, but you are getting exactly what you are paying for: a singular solution that does everything from monitoring and alerting all the while giving you a total birds-eye view of what's going on in your network -- all in real-time. The best part - everything within SolarWinds is completely customizable to your company's needs and the product support and community simply does not get better. Do yourself a favor - get this product so that you can be confident that there won't ever be an issue in your network without you knowing about it.
  • Thanks to RMM I never feel like I'm unaware as to what's going on in my network. I can be in the office or half a country away and feel completely aware of what's going on.
  • We've had numerous situations over the years where a part of our network is having issues (latency or errors) that the RMM alerts have saved us from a major outage. You can't ask for better proactive alerting.
  • The advanced alerting allows us to stay ahead of issues instead of reacting to them. This gives us confidence in our network and our end users better support.
  • Cost can be a little taxing, especially on smaller companies.
  • Maintaining each module of SolarWinds can be a bit tedious.
  • Server requirements can be on the high-end side, which means more licensing and money.
This is a great solution for mid-sized businesses and a MUST HAVE for enterprise-sized companies. For small-size businesses, this might be too costly of a solution. I would suggest checking out SolarWind's free trials to see if the cost-benefit is worth it.
Read Michael Gombosi's full review
Tyler Despain profile photo
August 31, 2018

Review: "Solarwinds RMM: Good Monitoring Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management to remotely monitor client workstations. We could apply antivirus, check event logs, and push out windows updates.
  • Reliable
  • Robust
  • Adaptable
  • Hard to use.
  • User management can be confusing and buggy.
  • Remote connection tools didn't always work.
  • Billing can be hard to figure out.
It is well suited for IT departments that need to remotely manage and monitor 50+ machines. It is not suited for small operations or small companies.
Read Tyler Despain's full review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

User Review: "SolarWinds RMM is for you!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the whole team. It gives us insight into the health of a client network and status of all nodes. Daily and typical maintenance tasks can be automated and can be reviewed with automatic reports. Windows patches can be deployed, hardware status of PCs and servers can be monitored to the most accurate details.
  • Gives insight into the health of PCs and servers.
  • Gives you on-the-second notifications when a device goes down or there's a connectivity problem.
  • Microsoft and third party patches can be deployed, and if there is a problem, they can be removed also.
  • They offer a backup solution, but it needs maturing.
  • The rules application can be simpler. It has a high learning curve.
  • It would be nice if self-healing options or behavior learning was available.
It's well suited if your company has grown to the point where automation is a must. This will also allow you to scale up whether you're a one-man shop or have many technicians. If your company is a break-fix model, than this software may not be suitable for your business needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 31, 2018

Review: "You need Solarwinds RMM if you're just starting your MSP!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Solarwinds RMM to monitor all of our clients servers and workstations. It lets us be more proactive in the IT industry by knowing about potential problems before they happen. Solarwinds RMM lets us create customer task and help our clients in a more efficient manner. Solarwinds was also a big part of us changing our business model to a more managed services model.
  • Great monitoring options for all hardware types
  • Incredible remote support tools to solve problems
  • Cloud based system means you don't need to invest in hardware
  • Easy to customize and create reports for clients
  • Patch management needs some improvement as well as the vulnerability scans
  • Would like more reporting options
  • Would like to see best practice guides published
Solarwinds RMM provides any small IT support business with the tools necessary to fully manage all clients. From monitoring, backups, patch management, remote support, reporting to antivirus, all you will need is Solarwinds RMM. This entry level management suite will allow you to be more proactive in the IT industry and create a better relationship with your clients.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Solarwinds RMM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The tool used for monthly managed services - securing and updated remote workstations.
  • Windows updates - reduce the hassle of end users doing the updates.
  • 3rd party updates (java,adobe, etc) - work very well and help keep things secure.
  • Remote management - excellent remote control of workstations and no UAC issues.
  • Would like the option for a remote access only option (similar to the AV only option).
  • 3rd party logo integration is not working.
Any IT service company wanting to manage and monitor remote PCs would love this software.
Read this authenticated review
Steve Putnam profile photo
June 27, 2018

Review: "Easy to use, powerful, extensible, cost effective- Solarwinds RMM has your back!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds RMM to monitor and manage 40 client servers and 190 workstations. Prior to implementing it, we had no mechanism to detect hardware/OS problems or internet outages for our client base.
  • The server monitoring at five minute intervals works very well and provides flexibility as to which events trigger SMS and or email notifications to our technicians and which are minor issues that can be addressed during business hours
  • The SNMP scripting capability is very powerful, allowing us to perform checks on routers, UPS devices, storage arrays, etc. The ability to create custom power shell script and execute them as tasks at scheduled intervals is also very powerful.
  • The wall chart feature is very powerful. However recent upgrades have caused it to be subject to a forced timeout such that we have to login again. Very annoying.
  • The tech-support is sometimes lacking. Simple problems that they should be able to address we end up figuring out for ourselves
  • The Web protection module does not have granular permissions so we cannot let customers maintain their own whitelists.
All right man is an extremely powerful tool with many many features and capabilities. Well we do not use all of the capabilities, a company that is looking to build the entire MSP management suite with one pane of glass would do well to consider Solarwinds RMM. Antivirus, monitoring, patch management, network monitoring, backup, remote control, and others too numerous to mention, all at a price that allows MSP’s to sell the services ata a competitive price and still make a profit.
Read Steve Putnam's full review
Derek Schroeder profile photo
March 15, 2018

Review: "Solarwinds RMM - an extremely powerful MSP tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Advanced monitoring including customization of every facet of a service, process, and disk. Easy to use and understand interface.
  • Immediate alerting and simple to customize regarding intervals and text.
  • Patch management controls Windows Updates very well, including vetting updates before deployment and configuring staging groups.
  • Hardware monitoring is second-to-none including VMWare based operating systems.
  • Has not seen as many consistent improvements since becoming Solarwinds RMM from N-Able.
  • Limited in integration that update third party applications including Adobe, Java, etc.
  • Scripting system is useful, but have drastic room for improvement in comparison to other RMM products.
It is an extremely competent and useful software that allows an MSP to manage clients with ease. It has a great level of customization per client and per device allows for scalability as intricate environments require additional monitoring.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Dave Gillam profile photo
March 09, 2018

Solarwinds RMM Review: "Solarwinds MSP-RMM isn't perfect, but it's close!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Risk Intelligence security scanning does a good job of finding PII/PCI (and optionally PHI) inside files on each computer, then reporting the file locations and redacted unprotected data content for remediation. It further applies industry standard monetary figures for the unprotected data, which gives clients a simple imperative to actually correct the problem. This one feature routinely generates additional revenue as clients forget to clean PII/PCI data from their computers.
  • Web Protection proxy is one of the security legs (training, firewall, email filtering, AV, backup, proxy) we recommend to all clients. It does a good job of preventing infection from socially engineered email links. It also is good at preventing browsing to client-outlawed site categories on a schedule (eg, during working hours).
  • Managed AV with BitDefender works well because it also includes real time/active protection. This scans files freshly downloaded, or freshly received in email.
  • Backup & Recovery is rock solid, and provides remediation protection for ransomware and other threats. Backups are sent onsite to a backup drive and also offsite to a secure cloud. All backups are encrypted before they leave the computer. Recovery can be to a VM image for getting back in business quickly, before the dead computer can be replaced.
  • The original vulnerability scan feature has issues with certain hardware/software combinations. Fortunately, this is mitigated by the similar vulnerability scan component in Risk Intelligence.
  • The original patch management feature sometimes has a problem with certain hardware/software combinations. Fortunately, this is mitigated by the similar vulnerability scan component in Risk Intelligence.
Solarwinds' MSP-RMM seems capable of managing most sizes of networks. It works well for the sub-100 size to the many thousands size. Its sweet spot is probably somewhere in the low thousands, though. If your networks are mostly Windows, MSP-RMM excels. Apple Mac support is there, and is actively being developed to be on par with the Windows side, too. It ties into third party PSA tools--and Solarwinds has its own PSA tools that are quite capable. It also ties into several third part email systems, so you can do some management of email accounts for clients. Solarwinds' older MSP-Mail product ties into the RMM this way, but not yet its new Mail Assure product. Development is ongoing.
Read Dave Gillam's full review
No photo available
March 20, 2018

Solarwinds RMM: "Solarwinds Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Solarwinds to manage all of our endpoints. We are a managed services company with over 2500 devices under management. All of our engineers used this extensively throughout the work day for remote management and monitoring. This program allows us access to "everything" within one single pane, resulting in us being able to do more with less.
  • Monitoring of preset thresholds
  • Email alerts
  • Auto remediation
  • Monthly reporting
  • When Solarwinds purchased this product, development was put on hold for an extended period of time
  • Sales resources are not very pleasant compared to other vendors
  • Very expensive to initially purchase
If you are a managed services company, RMM is a must. The best 3 products out there for this are Solarwinds, Kaseya and LabTech. If you only manage one single smaller environment this may be overkill as Windows provides many of the same tools, but where these RMM products excel is with integrations with other products.
Read this authenticated review

Solarwinds RMM Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Remote monitoring (1)
8.2
Network device monitoring (1)
5.5
Multiple Server Monitoring (1)
8.2
Multi-device monitoring (1)
7.3
Automated alerts and notifications (1)
6.4
Patch Management (1)
5.5
Service configuration management (1)
6.4
Software and hardware inventory (1)
5.5
Policy-based automation (1)
5.5
Performance data reports (1)
7.3
Customizable reporting (1)
4.5
Data visualization (1)
3.6
Risk analysis (1)
5.5
Data backup and recovery (1)
8.2
Antivirus and malware management (1)
5.5
Adinistraor access control (1)
5.5

About Solarwinds RMM

SolarWinds RMM product is based on technology acquired from LogicNow in 2016, combining MAXfocus, MAX Remote Management, and GFI MAX, into a single MSP.

Solarwinds RMM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No