SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 13, 2020
Brandon Demko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
The quality of support can vary depending on whom you end up speaking with. I was fortunate enough to work with a support representative who was very familiar with the product. He had even authored some of the support documentation on the website. On the flip side, I had two other experiences where I was simply directed to online training material.
Read Brandon Demko's full review
October 23, 2020
Tim Short | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
SolarWinds customer support has always been amazing and extremely willing to help. They also are great at providing a library of training and videos to further your knowledge and help you learn more about your product. The support team has helped us with data migration of other products and upgrades and they kept at it and stayed with us until the project was done.
Read Tim Short's full review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
The support for SolarWinds SEM is pretty good. Most issues are easily resolved and the support team will work with you until the issue is fully resolved. Sometimes it takes a while to receive initial help, but once you get in contact with the support agent, it typically is a pretty decent process.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We've used the support 3-4 times. It was very fast and very efficient. All the problems we had were solved within the day. The support teams know the product, and there is no bounce between dozens of support teams. So it was a nice experience. Also, it is easy to reach them, I don't think we've waited more than 20 minutes.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Support for SEM is really good. For example, if the connector is not decoding the event correctly, SolarWinds will make a new connector to properly decode the event - this usually takes about two weeks. The support team is very knowledgeable about the inner workings of SEM and have full access to the system to resolve any internal issues.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I haven't had to utilize this, but I know about SolarWinds support I get on the other products.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I have had no issues with SolarWinds Security Event Manager support so far. They have always been able to solve my problems in a timely manner. Unfortunately the more complex the problem is the more difficult it is to get support to resolve it, so you will have to learn a lot about the application either way.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
The documentation is lacking specifics on definitions of alerts, so trial-and-error needs to be employed to use SolarWinds Security Event Manager properly. The installation of SolarWinds Security Event Manager was straightforward and any issues were resolved quickly via emails to the SolarWinds Security Event Manager support team. Using a virtual appliance vs. the regular install was the way to go in our environment and made the deployment that much easier.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2019
Adam Morrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I have not directly worked with SolarWinds support. However, my staff has great things to say about them. Even during upgrades on the servers that we were doing ourselves support was very helpful with troubleshooting and best practices. Also the TWACK community is very helpful. I have heard other people in the industry stated that it is one of SolarWinds best features.
Read Adam Morrison's full review
December 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
We have only needed to contact SolarWind's support a few times for this product but when we have, the engineers have been thorough and persistent with helping us to resolve our issue. One of the issues we had was an upgrade the went wrong. The engineer was able to help us and get our SIEM back online before the end of our maintenance window.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Support is above and beyond what I typically deal with from IT products. I've never had a support ticket go unanswered for longer than an hour, and within another hour someone was ready and able to help with the issue. Their support staff is all in-house, and they actually know the product they're supporting.
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

1
I don't think we've ever actually called support for this specific product. We've called Solarwinds support for several of the other Solarwinds products we own and they are usually pretty helpful.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized event and log data collection (18)
8.6
Correlation (15)
7.7
Event and log normalization/management (18)
7.3
Deployment flexibility (18)
8.0
Integration with Identity and Access Management Tools (13)
8.0
Custom dashboards and workspaces (17)
4.9
Host and network-based intrusion detection (4)
9.0

What is SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM)?

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (previously know as Log & Event Manager) is presented by the vendor as a powerful and award-winning SIEM. It is an on-prem deployed tool that collects, consolidates, and analyzes logs and events from firewalls, IDS/IPS devices and applications, switches, routers, servers, operating system logs, and other applications.

The main applications are threat detection, automated incident analysis and response, and compliance reporting for IT infrastructure.

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Features

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) Features

Has featureCentralized event and log data collection
Has featureCorrelation
Has featureEvent and log normalization/management
Has featureDeployment flexibility
Has featureIntegration with Identity and Access Management Tools
Has featureCustom dashboards and workspaces

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Screenshots

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Video

Security Event Manager - Overview

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Downloadables

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Competitors

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM)?

SolarWinds LEM is security information and event management (SIEM) software.

What is SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Host and network-based intrusion detection highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM)?

The most common users of SolarWinds Security Event Manager (SEM) are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.