SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 204)

Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While SolarWinds does not offer an appliance-based setup the usability offered from running through a VM is miles ahead of the competitors. Being able to easily migrate from something like windows HyperVisor to VMWare without any setbacks or serious network configuration leads me to believe that SolarWinds is the be all, end all answer for us when it comes to monitoring software.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

A major influence was the overall reputation of SolarWinds as a company. It was obvious that there was a continual roadmap for product improvement and growth. During the evaluation period support was friendly and professional. I had confidence in the information that the support engineer was passing on. Additionally the most significant influence was the whole stack in the suite in addition to Server & Application Monitor. A goal for picking a monitoring tool was to get as close as we could to a single pain of glass. There might have been some individual products that could have met the needs but nothing was hitting as many of the check boxes as Orion was, (NPM, Netflow, SAM, Virtualization, Patching).
Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When balancing cost, previous staff experience with other products, and the ease of implementation and use yielding immediate value made SolarWinds a great choice. Cost and ease of implementation were very important. Module purchasing with other useful options on the menu was great and enticing as well. Reputation for SolarWinds is solid and useful for marketing to executive staff.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The only other monitoring tools I have used in the past were the built-in Windows performance monitoring tools which are very cumbersome and overwhelming. SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor allow you to accurately pinpoint problem areas quickly without having to spend hours sifting through Windows Event Logs. You quickly find out what the problem and then fix it.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

SolarWinds Server/Application Monitor review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It provides a wide range of functionality and it is part of an integrated platform (Orion), so a single pane of glass is an appealing aspect of it.
Read Jurek Plona's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Previously we have evaluated Nagios which at the time was quite limited in the presentation layer and was quite labor-intensive to configure. With SolarWinds, we benefit from the flexibility and ease of implementation as well as the slick user interface and web-based wizards to cater to the configuration and addition of new assets into the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Simplifying our environment from multiple tools to a single monitoring tool has greatly reduced the amount of time we spend configuring our monitors. SCOM is decent at monitoring Microsoft applications but doesn't do a good job with network equipment, and Nagious can be very complicated especially if you're not in the interface every day.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nagios and Rancid are used internally by a company that was acquired last year. They're a big open source group.

Other groups also use HostMonitor, Big Brother, and a couple of home grown tools that don't really stack up. Those groups don't want to change the way they do things, or give up control of monitoring, even though Orion doubles up the monitoring for the same inventory.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Helps You Sleep at Night

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've been happy with SolarWinds and have been using it for about 10 years. We have not needed to look at other products to replace it. We use Pingdom to get similar performance monitoring on our websites from an external source. Pingdom is also a SolarWinds product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sure there's a big community and a lot of help for Spiceworks. But in our case since we're a plan running 24/7/365, we need to have reliability and fast support in case something happens. Spiceworks can't offer a quick response anytime we need it.

In the case of Solarwinds, we can have help any time and in the case it's a critical issue, the answer is really fast.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Overall Satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to New Relic, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor definitely is a better option and a better tool to use due to it is more user friendly despite the poor UI of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor. Because of the above reason, my company is switching from New Relic to SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English