SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 242)

Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My Opinion on SolarWinds SAM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I feel it shines in monitoring a mix of virtual and physical servers. There are other products that have issues with that physical piece, but SAM doesn't care which one it is. While a bear to maintain at times, the custom-ability is another place it does well. Being able to monitor things not included/out of the box is a key feature. The user community is strong and has a lot of useful input.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The best use for SolarWinds is a comprehensive organizational and network monitoring tool. The network atlas/mapping tool is extremely useful for visualization of the physical locations of cameras, switches and numerous other network devices. SolarWinds is not the be-all-end-all when it comes to performance, however. It should be used only on large-scale server clusters that can handle the load efficiently.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

With a limited operations staff it would be next to impossible to get the insight into all the server and applications stacks in our environment. The reality is that there would be issues that would go undiscovered for who knows how long. If there's no smoke you might not notice many issues. SolarWinds Server & Application Manager (SAM) has worked well for us to work with application owners to show that performance issues that they may perceive are not part of the environment but the application configuration. The biggest benefit to me is just shortening the time to resolution for issues and more importantly providing me with information that allows me to be proactive and attack problems before they are noticed by our users.
Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Works well to see performance and generate alerts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited when you only need to monitor basic elements like disk space, RAM and CPU. When you need to go deeper you will need another suite of SolarWinds or you will need to buy the agents for the specific application like Oracle, MySQL, SharePoint, etc. The good and the bad is that you have available all the suites for deeper monitoring, but as always it is not free so you have to expend more money.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A cost-effective solution for your small or enterprise business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds is a great, cost-effective solution for small to enterprise-sized companies to use for server and application monitoring for their physical or virtual environments. It handles network gear along with servers to cover all of your infrastructures as well. It can also monitor on-prem or off-prem resources from one console.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a wide variety of systems, and perhaps some rarely used or interacted systems, this is a great tool for monitoring servers and applications. In addition, if your staff is small, can greatly empower those that you have to keep an eye on more. Easy to use and train to newer staff. Notifications are easy to set-up and modify.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Very Happy with Solarwinds SAM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use it to monitor all of our servers (over 500) and over 750 Windows XP machines in our retail stores. We find that we get a lot of false-positive alerts on the more in-depth component monitors so we have shy'd away from using them - mostly because I am unsure what they actually mean.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
ZAREH OHANIAN (MSM, CISSP, ITIL) | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Infrastructure at a glance with DB as a side note

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I see SolarWinds to be an invaluable tool for an infrastructure team for Network as well as DB monitoring point of view. It is not a tool to perform application performance troubleshooting, but can assist in that area indirectly.
Read ZAREH OHANIAN (MSM, CISSP, ITIL)'s full review
Ramon Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

Awesome, works great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When you have an application in production and want to see the performance of the application, as well as of your hardware to ensure the best customer experience.
Read Ramon Gomez's full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for monitoring IIS Websites and keeping track of associated components like app pools, expiring certificates, With Server and Application Monitor, you can detect and be alerted when app pools have degraded. It also allows you to see how much resources an app pool uses so that you can make a decision on increasing the resources.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

SolarWinds SAM review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Large companies or users who work remotely will find SAM useful for monitoring issues with servers in their production environment. It is much easier to have one application monitoring their systems then to manually monitor their systems one by one.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
Jeff Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Out of the box SAM is great! Can't wait to fully deploy and watch the magic happen

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Again, not fully deployed. Where it has made a big impact is visibility of our exchange server, SQL server, and virtualization to prevent issues from rising during the production day. I will note that SAM brought to my attention a server that was using up way too many resources for its role, and after investigating, we identified the server was hacked.
Read Jeff Allen's full review
Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

SolarWinds Server/Application Monitor review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In our environment, we are using the Microsoft SCCM toolkit for server performance monitoring on top of SolarWinds. It would be desirable to focus on a single platform for that purpose (SolarWinds) but that would be possible if SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor had specific SCCM functionality supported. Otherwise, we have to rely on the use of multiple tools.
Read Jurek Plona's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Good tool for application monitoring, with its limits

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Agent install is really easy when simple applications are used. But, only install, then you need to do almost everything manually, check/search/try and mostly again one more circle. One case I had with Redis app, data about one app server cannot be checked on one page, if you don't do some custom dashboards, oh, dashboards are fully editable. TBH, after almost 2 year, am still searching how to. Overall, tool does what it is for.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Just starting . .

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think this is a better application for smaller environments over enterprise environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SolarWinds Server is ultimately suited for small to mid-sized companies wanting to monitor their in-house applications and servers, as "one pane of glass" - tool for the internal IT Department. Also suited for managed services providers as allows for 'multi-tenant' setup. Less suited for specific applications that are not supported out-of-the-box or for companies running iSeries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Discovering applications such as Exchange, SQL, and SharePoint for monitoring is very straightforward. The basic thresholds are very good, however combining thresholds for applications and OS sometimes cause issues. As an example, Exchange will use as much RAM as the OS has available which in turn will trigger OS alerts due to high CPU memory utilization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SAM is both extremely easy to use out of the box, as it is customizable for advanced users and complex environments. The user community is an outstanding resource for users trying to take their monitoring to the next level using advanced scripts and customization. I still struggle with full app stack monitoring, and we lack visibility with some of our custom apps (Java), where I'm hoping to see some growth out of the AppOptics purchase.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Helps You Sleep at Night

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for someone who needs application and server monitoring in a small to medium environment. Solar winds can handle multiple operating systems and applications. It's also good for monitoring networking infrastructure and conjunction with the server modules to provide a more complete picture of information technology environment performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have an internal data transfer application that is used and it can calls multiple side-application.
With all the application monitored, we know where there's a bottleneck when the end-user doesn't receive his data.

By having everything monitored in SAM, we know exactly where it goes wrong and where to address the issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Overall Satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for start-ups and small IT departments when the budget is limited, despite the clunky and low visibility issues that it has. The tool gives you the basic monitoring work that you need at a fairly low cost. After all, you get what you pay for.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English