SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 241)

Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Decreased downtime across all network applications. Time is money and SolwarWinds saves you both.
  • Increased productivity. Our IT team is able to perform the needed work at a much faster pace than without the program.
  • SolarWinds versatility has saved countless hours of searching for the right tools to achieve a task because they all right there in front of you.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Server & Application Monitor has helped identify both current active issues and focus the troubleshooting where it needs to be.
  • Issues that might not be noticed can be identified before they become a issue.
  • For success it takes a commitment. There is so much functionality, its difficult to leverage all of it without commitment from all teams in a organization. The Network teams need to be bought in to maintaining the Network Performance pieces, Same for the DevOps team, DBAs and management. Without commitment it become fragmented and parts of the suite done get the full ROI they should.
Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Works well to see performance and generate alerts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Now the NOC can immediately know when a failure happens and start the protocol reducing the response time from 1 hour to 5 mins
  • Admin servers have more time to dedicate to others task
  • Planning the future capacities is easier and reduces the time in almost 50% of time
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Very Happy with Solarwinds SAM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We had a problem where servers would stop responding because they were out of disk space. Now we get email notifications when a disk is at 90% capacity to either add more disk or remove files before it gets to 100%
  • We get notified if a server goes down. During off hours, we can address this problem and get the server working again so there's no impact. During business hours, we can get to the problem before most users report an issue.
  • Reports for maximum CPU and memory from certain production servers let us know if more resources need to be added to stay efficient.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor have provided us more time to focus on other projects by accurately pinpointing the root cause of problems. This has saved us a tremendous amount of "worker hours" that are spent on other projects and day to day activities.
  • When our company recently went live with a new web application, we received reports that parts of the application were not performing as well as other parts. A process in the application that was used to generate reports had seen a reduction in performance by over 125% We used SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor and determined that a particular app pool was not getting the appropriate resources needed for the load it was experiencing. We provided the suggested amount of resources and performance returned to normal.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

SolarWinds SAM review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We remain up 98% of the time as SolarWinds' alerting notifies us when a server is down.
  • Cost is still a bit high per module but is beneficial to our company.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cut down overhead and costs related to daily recurring manual tasks by using automated procedures for alerting and reporting.
  • Dramatically reduce the time from incident detection to ticket assignment and incident resolution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Let's face it, when things are running normally the business rarely recognizes uptime. SAM allows us to be proactive and head off outages, many times before they become a work stoppage.
  • Our previous reporting solution required at least one SME to manage the product, now most of our staff is comfortable managing and monitoring our application from a single tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Orion is instrumental for the success of our organization.
  • Orion is occasionally challenged by free or open source tools internally, and always wins, proving it's ROI again and again.
  • We occasionally struggle with support from SolarWinds where if the technician can't solve the problem, they quickly blame our environment and close the case. Support quality has had it's ups and downs, but lately (the last year?) has been pretty poor for us. Rarely do we get a rep who really can tackle our cases quickly and expertly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • By being aware of what's happening, we are alerted when we have a downtime and it's easy to know where to go.
  • By having all the information we need, it's easy to address the problem.
  • We're having support 24/7 on specific applications and with that, it's easy to give support at any time.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English