SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 242)

Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My Opinion on SolarWinds SAM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The IT department uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our entire server environment, both physical and virtual. We are mainly a Windows shop and do additional monitoring of Active Directory, SQL, Citrix and custom apps or specific services we are looking to monitor. It keeps track of server up/downs, memory/CPU and application outages.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We the application monitor to both keep track of and monitor the nodes on our network. It not only allows us to pinpoint areas of failure, but is a thorough system to documents IP addresses, MAC addresses, and SMTP devices such as networked cameras. The alert system in SolarWinds is probably the most useful tool - we have setup intricate monitors and alerts to correctly alert the right department at the right time. The versatility of the program allows us to monitor everything from servers, to switches, to specific processes running on VM's hundreds of miles away.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our environment is very distributed throughout the United States. SAM gives me good insight to what's happening in our various data centers and local sites, in addition to the valuable information that I am getting from NPM about the nodes themselves, resource usage and other metrics. Thanks to the SAM alerts and App Insight I am able to better tune the applications that we are monitoring (AD/SQL mostly). It has exposed some misconfigurations on our SQL servers and lack of resources on some servers. In addition to identifying servers that needed more resources to be allocated we identified some nodes that were over provisioned allowing us to reclaim processors, memory and storage.

If I were to offer a criticism it would be that between NPM, SAM and other SolarWinds monitors that are part of the suite there can be an overwhelming amount of data. It isn't trivial to tweak what you are monitoring and getting alerts for. Depending on the size of the environment don't be surprised if it takes a lot of resources (human time) to get it setup and working to suit you. It will work doing a next, next install but you can end up getting overwhelmed by data you might not care about.

Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Works well to see performance and generate alerts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds SAM for monitor physical servers for part of our virtual environments and core network elements. We started to use SAM, because we needed to give visibility to the NOC about alerts and made them proactive to avoid a system failure. We create different alerts in order the notify when some abnormal behavior is happening so they can do the work of Tier1 without problem. After a couple of weeks using SAM we realized that we can exploit other functionalities like forecasting, reporting and application monitor. We actually use SolarWinds to create reports and reporting weekly the health of our infrastructure.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds brings our uptime up by allowing fewer people to monitor applications and servers in a single application with a great notification system. Previously, I had been using a variety of programs that this new one suite can do. It is easy to use. In addition, the option to prioritize notifications allows for better and more accurate resource allocations.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Very Happy with Solarwinds SAM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SAM to monitor all of our servers (across 4 different sites in North America) as well as our store registers (Over 350 stores). We report and get alerts on disk space, high CPU/Memory usage, running processes and just implemented AppInsight for Exchange (which is awesome).
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
ZAREH OHANIAN (MSM, CISSP, ITIL) | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Infrastructure at a glance with DB as a side note

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use SolarWinds to monitor our network infrastructure for 90+ clinics as well as our DB environments to ensure optimal data transmission takes place. At Peoplefinders.com I used the product, both to monitor the Network performance for our various websites for B2B and B2P operation, as well as to proactively respond to poorly performing sales figures, as there was a direct correlation between 'Website access speed' and 'Sales $.' Thus, the tool allowed us to eliminate the network as a possible root cause.
Read ZAREH OHANIAN (MSM, CISSP, ITIL)'s full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Server and Application Monitor to provide us a greater in-depth analysis of our IIS, FTP, Exchange applications, DHCP servers, DNS services, our Active Directory and Sharepoint amongst others. Using the results, we can pinpoint bottlenecks in performance for services, app pools, and other applications. This helps us spend less time trying to figure out the root cause and more time fixing the issue.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A slightly recommended product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use this app exclusively in the infrastructure/networking department. It allows for real-time monitoring of assets and allows for historical data, which is useful to our team.
Read Derek Benson's full review
Brian O'Connor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Great inventory finding tool and performance notifications

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used SolarWinds products over the years, both free and paid. I've been involved in many network deployments, migrations and performance troubleshooting issues. SolarWinds products do a real nice job of finding all of your network assets, inventorying them and keeping a track on the possible issues going on.

The products only get better as development grows. Its a great visual tool to analyze your network and get notified when your assets are unavailable. There are other free tools out there to do this, but Server monitor takes care of everything you can think of.
Read Brian O'Connor's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Good tool for application monitoring, with its limits

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAM module mostly used by IT monitoring team to report more detailed info in case of issues. We are using it for proactive monitoring, more or less deep view of app performance running on business critical servers, better than just hardware health info. Team is able to start fix with good value of data, provided by monitoring team.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Just starting . .

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we're just testing the product in our environment to see if it is something we'd like to use in the long term. Of course we use it to monitor our current VM environment as well as switches, routers, and some applications. We'd just like to have an extra eye on our environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds throughout the whole organization, for monitoring managed systems for our end-customers, and for in-depth analysis in case of incidents. Customized dashboards have been implemented per team. We have set up extensive alert triggers that interface with our main ticketing system for direct analysis by our Support Team. We have also automated a vast majority of the daily checks and monthly reporting via SolarWinds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company uses SolarWinds to monitor our Microsoft Windows Server environment including most, if not all, of the Microsoft applications running on those servers; that includes SQL, Exchange, SharePoint, ActiveDirectory, etc. running on those Virtual Machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAM is used primarily for operations support, and is extended to datacenter and technical support teams. While we use some canned monitors, the bulk of our SAM components are custom written script monitors using Perl, PowerShell, VB, or TSQL. We monitor everything...
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Helps You Sleep at Night

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds Server and application monitor to monitor our production servers, networking equipment, and critical applications across the entire organization. We are able to see details about specific applications, insight into response times, uptime, and server performance in near real time. We are able to see issues before our end users, and proactively communicate what we are doing to address the issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) is currently used to monitor the server and applications that are essential to the well being of our organization. Whenever we have a problem or an abnormality, we're alerted and we can take action more efficiently by knowing exactly where the problem is coming from.

It also gives us a quick overview of what's happening in the back-end of our organization.

We're also using it to monitor some special devices that we wouldn't be able to monitor efficiently. But SAM is really a great tool to help us monitor and take action accordingly to each situation.

Setting up SAM to monitor unorthodox application isn't the easiest thing to do but in the end of the day, if you can get it to work properly to monitor what you want, you'll be set to go and it will work like a charm.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Overall Satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I was working with the IT department using SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our company's server environment and alerts. By using the tool, we are enabled to maintain at the level to be informed of the status of our servers at all times. It also enables us to monitor SQL and other apps.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English