SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
570 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 11, 2020
Drew Hood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Solarwinds now offers Enterprise support which we invested in to get quick and fast support. It is a little costly, but worth it to be able to have someone respond to questions quickly and dive into issues you might be having. Standard support is good but not great. You will sometimes have to wait once you put in a ticket, but they are generally pretty good at getting your issue resolved.
Read Drew Hood's full review
December 09, 2020
Adam Gadsby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I've not had much cause to call on support as the application is pretty intuitive to use, but when I have done both, the SolarWinds Customer Support and the superb community in its Thwack forums have been superb, friendly, and very knowledgable.
Read Adam Gadsby's full review
December 03, 2020
John Martins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Normally support is fast and provide resolutions quickly, yet there has been one instance where the support case has gone on for an extremely long time.(due to the complexity of the problem)
Read John Martins's full review
November 19, 2020
Marty Mankins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
The initial SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor setup for our organization was a project tasked to me. I had to spend some time getting things prepared, such as finding a place for the VM that would be running SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor and making sure we had sufficient resources available. The install of the product was very frustrating, as there were a few failed installs--mostly getting rights to the MS SQL server for the database. Even after the install, there were calls to support where I needed some hand holding to get to the next step. Once escalated emails were sent, a support tech was able to resolve all issues and we got SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor up and running. Highly recommend taking the free classes SolarWinds offers to learn more about this product. They helped a lot to improve product knowledge.
Read Marty Mankins's full review
October 23, 2020
Mandy Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I didn't ever have to reach out to support but the team members that implemented SolarWinds didn't seem to have any issues working with SolarWinds support at any time. They were always able to get their issues resolved in a timely manner or receive more help at any time. I think training could have been better but that may have been on our team, more than it was on SolarWinds support.
Read Mandy Ferguson's full review
November 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I have only had the need to submit one support request thus far. The reply was quick and I am currently working through the answers they sent. However, I am not to the point of resolution. This rating will likely change as the process continues.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Great communication throughout deployment. Knowledgeable support that responds quickly to technical questions.
Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2019
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I think there was only a couple times I had to open a support case for SAM and one time they got multiple engineers on the phone to get a better idea what I was trying to monitor and was able to point me in the best direction to monitor that system.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
February 22, 2016
Erron Walter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
We talk to a initial person and they may not be specialized in what we are trying to resolve. They then have to call back or have someone call back after that person is free from working on another issue with another customer.
Read Erron Walter's full review
March 08, 2016
Brent Lyle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

1
Support team is not strong in SAM technologies you are monitoring. My last issue I ended up closing the ticket, but it was not resolved.
Read Brent Lyle's full review
February 15, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Sometimes it takes a while to get an issue resolved. There was only one instance where I had to call in on the same issue.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (255)
8.6
Database monitoring (222)
7.8
Threshold alerts (258)
8.3
Predictive capabilities (206)
7.4
Application performance management console (229)
8.1
Collaboration tools (138)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (244)
7.6
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (206)
7.5
Virtualization monitoring (223)
8.5
Server availability and performance monitoring (257)
9.0
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (238)
8.4
IT Asset Discovery (190)
8.0

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

An introduction to and a brief overview of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

Watch SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Training Videos

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

Microsoft System Center, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Progress WhatsUp Gold (formerly Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold), Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities. SAM allows for self-service for easy setup, 1200+ monitoring templates, and customization options, as well as integrate with other SolarWinds products.

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor's best feature?

Reviewers rate Server availability and performance monitoring highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

The most common users of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.