SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
137 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 103)

Kevin Staton | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk - ITSM on a Budget

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Solarwinds Service Desk across the organization for:
  • Office experience and building maintenance incidents
  • IT incidents
  • Forms-based approvals
  • Business process improvement
  • Vendor and contract management
As a mid-sized company, many of our processes were previously informal. Solarwinds Service Desk helped us create process workflows for many requests that were previously difficult to track and measure. The reporting tools give a much more holistic view of these requests for decision-makers and give users more transparency into the process.

Additionally, the vendor and contract management modules help us track contract expiration on everything from SaaS licensing to hardware and consulting contracts. We also use vendor and contract management to gather and store security-related documentation such as PCI-DSS, SOC 2, and Privacy Policies. We store these with the vendor so that we have a central repository of all security compliance documentation.
  • Incident Management
  • Process Workflow
  • Vendor and Contract Management
  • A welcoming landing page
  • There is potential to greatly improve the capacity for cascading attributes. Currently, categories are limited to a top-level category and one subcategory. This leaves a fairly shallow decision tree.
  • Greater flexibility to modify the layout of incident request forms.
  • More integration options for cloud file-sharing platforms. Solarwinds Service Desk has tie-ins to Dropbox but not other vendors.
Solarwinds Service Desk strikes a good balance between cost and features. If you're an organization without any tools for incident management, process workflows, or vendor management, then Solarwinds Service Desk will be a huge improvement. Service Desk has more features than other products in the same tier. We compared Solarwinds Service Desk to Zendesk but found that Zendesk was missing key capabilities.

For larger organizations or organizations with more sophisticated project management, dashboard, incident management, asset tracking needs... as well as larger budgets... something like ServiceNow or TeamDynamix would be a better choice.

The key takeaway for Solarwinds Service Desk is that it has many features at a fraction of the cost of the big players in this space. It won't be as customizable as the more expensive models but it will help you mature your ITSM and help with organization wide process improvement.
Read Kevin Staton's full review
Steve Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Solarwinds - When you need a complete Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage IT services for a number of companies and this is our helpdesk incident management software. We utilize the purchasing function for ourselves as well as the contracts management module for several of the companies. Currently, only the IT department is using this software. The inventory module is also used across most companies and provides an excellent foundation for ITIL service management.
  • Helpdesk Incident ticketing - Solarwinds does an excellent job of incident tracking and enables you to fold those incidents into Problems and then use effective change management when called for. It provides a full ITIL management package.
  • Inventory Tracking and Management - It has a really nice, complete package for Hardware and Software management. The agent is pretty light and data is encrypted.
  • Change Management and Approval Workflows - There's a really nice module here. Allows you to attach an Incident ticket or multiple incidents as a Problem. Lets you manage changes to systems, services, etc. and get approvals from the appropriate stakeholders while providing an audit trail for everything.
  • Reporting - Custom reporting leaves a little bit to be desired. They need to find a happy medium between having to make your own variables and query and not having the ability to customize a report. It would also be nice to have the ability to export reports to Excel.
  • Time Tracking on Incident Tickets - Time tracking is pretty much a manual thing. The agents just estimate the time they spend on a ticket and enter it manually into a time tracking field. There is no automated tracking of time and it's not a mandatory field.
  • Project Management - It would be great to have a project management capability built in that we could use to set up tickets, changes, tasks, etc for longer term projects.
We moved to Solarwinds Service Desk from Connectwise. I think it's a far superior product with better support and features. I believe it to be best suited for a company IT department with expansion capabilities through the service desk to other departments in the company, such as HR, that need self service capabilities.
Read Steve Taylor's full review
Mitchell Hollberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk (formerly Samanage)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk is used within our IT department to catalog and prioritize requests. It allows a standardized process for users to request IT support and allows IT and management to view current and historical requests.
  • Ticket Management
  • Automated notifications
  • Setup
  • Reporting / Data Exports (Currently manual request to generate *.csv)
  • Limited configuration and customization options in base product
  • User management
Any team providing core support for a larger organization would benefit from a tool like Solarwinds Service Desk. We use this in IT, but it could be useful for groups such as HR to manage employee questions and requests, or a centralized marketing department, requisitions team, etc.

The tool seems optimized for use within an organization. I don't see how it would support external customers in a clean fashion.
Read Mitchell Hollberg's full review
Matthaniel Cowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

A Mostly Good Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently only use Solarwinds Service Desk in the IT department and in collaboration with select IT related vendors. This platform allows us to maintain great records of all incidents, actions, changes, and inventories of our IT-related cases and products in one place. Service Desk helps us maintain great quality of service with our internal customers with alerts and reliable tracking of incidents and inventory.
  • Great API Interface
  • Now Very Customizable
  • Integrates well with G Suite
  • Reasonable Licensing Terms
  • GUI can be sometimes wonky, especially with newly added features.
  • Mass CSV Import feature through GUI can be cryptic and cumbersome. (Better to use the API if you can.)
  • Exclusively relies on custom email extensions to automatically create incidents from received emails (ex: support+whatever@domain.com) instead of reading a properties template for an email forwarded to special support email like Zendesk.
  • The "Remote Support" feature that integrates with LogMeIn and GoToAssist has never worked and SolarWinds support doesn't seem to know how to get this to work as explained in documentation.
This platform is great for managing and tracking incidents, changes, inventory, and creating Support/FAQ articles for the organization. It might not be great for managing network diagrams or some other high-image-based documentation, though it will work. The feature set seems to be always expanding, so some stuff that may be lacking might be soon available.
Read Matthaniel Cowell's full review
Derek G Desautels Jr | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

Solarwinds can do everything but actually produce solar power!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a construction company, we have utilized Solarwinds Service Desk in a very unique way. We launched Solarwinds for our homeowners and warranty team. This gives the homeowners the ability to log in/email warranty-related items on their homes so that the warranty team can address them and track the tickets as they come in.
  • Ability to manage and close out tickets
  • Inventory asset tracking
  • Service catalog items - Great for on-boarding new employees
  • Reporting
  • Reporting
  • Reporting
Solarwinds Service Desk is perfectly suited for any company's internal IT functions. Great for IT when onboarding new employees, tracking assets, or managing tickets. The ability to make service catalog items for onboarding is easy, well built, and fully customizable.
Read Derek G Desautels Jr's full review
Chris Peters Sr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk has been a great solution for my IT team!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk was my choice for a help desk resolution after a lot of time researching the best fit for our organization. It has proved very useful and helpful. I had gone from having no help desk solution. Solarwinds Service Desk has been a great solution and provided excellent tools for me and my IT team.
  • Easy, multiple means of creating tickets
  • Support is responsive when needed
  • Collects information from the monitoring tool
  • Fast to resolve any technical issues with the site
  • Reports - not very "easy" find it hard to report on items I have created
  • Reports - easier use could use more intuitive UI
  • Reports - fill it is missing what should be standard reports for users, etc.
Solarwinds Service Desk has been an excellent easy-to-use help desk solution for our organization. I feel that it could be much more robust with the reporting end of it.
Read Chris Peters Sr.'s full review
Kevin Fortenberry | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Service Desk at its best.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Affiliated Foods, we use the Service Desk to help manage the work requests in IT. From user profile requests, password changes, new hires, office moves, break/fixes, software updates or breaks as well as managing our purchase orders, vendors and contracts. We also manage our assets such as PC end points and other assets like iPods. Most of our IT staff uses it daily including myself.
  • Asset tracking - ability to track end points and software and other assets.
  • Incident tracking - workflows to track time and progress of incidents.
  • Purchase Orders - Vendors and Po creation and storing and ability to add documents.
  • Workflows - New hires, office moves, etc... give multiple tickets for different techs to complete requests.
  • Documentation / How-to's of workflows.
  • Additional customizable fields on Assets that can be used for reporting/tracking.
  • More fields in Location for use of Store name/Address/City, etc...
Service Desk is great for our IT environment. We hope to expand to our maintenance dept as well as our company's Help Desk. Incidents and workflow tracking is the greatest need we had and Service Desk is serving us well.
Read Kevin Fortenberry's full review
Dave Pekol | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Service Desk: great features at a good price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is primarily used for handling inbound IT requests from across the Enterprise. We also have other non-IT related departments that have been able to use it to manage their own business requests. We find that Service Desk helps us to organize our work, utilize skill based routing, manage priorities, provide greater visibility and coverage (from management and other team members), and provide reporting and metrics that we didn't have before.
  • Very easy to setup.
  • Training end users and people working requests is easy.
  • Good customer service and support.
  • Lots of features.
  • Service catalog forms are limited, it would be better if you could do some formatting or arranging to make it look better to the end user.
  • Today there is an agent that is deployed to every workstation, which provides asset inventory. However we don't know what we don't know. I would prefer agent-less integration to see all of the workstations on my networks. Right now I don't know what I am missing, and agent versions change.
  • Ability to integrate any remote support application into Service Desk, so and end user could connect from the ticket, chat, or portal to start a remote session.
For an IT helpdesk application, it is fantastic. We were able to deploy it across all of our IT teams at different companies and it was easy for them to learn and was adopted quickly by the end users. We have used it for other business segments that were not IT. Service Desk works great, but there is no escaping that it is an IT tool built on the ITIL process. If you could turn off Problems, Changes etc, for some of those folks it could look better for them.
Read Dave Pekol's full review
Alan Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

ITSM Out of the Box

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Service Desk for a number of activities in our organization. These include, incident and change management, service catalog requests, and inventory monitoring. Currently, we use it mostly in IT but have recently started using it with compliance and have plans to move its use into other areas where task-based work is done that can benefit from workflow and scheduling.
  • Incident Management - tracking categories/sub-categories by site or organization. Notifications to the user as well as those cc'd on the incident
  • Change Management - allows for standard identification of change, test and rollback plans, tasks and some workflow with approvals
  • Inventory allows for risk identification, asset tag activities, one can see what software is installed, associate incidents with that asset
  • Reporting is in my mind a bit basic
  • API needs some work also. Why can I not create a saved report and then execute that report from an API call?
It is well suited for creating an ITSM program at your organization without having to have in-depth expertise in ITSM or its associated frameworks like ITIL.
It does not provide for much automation and management with regards to your hardware assets. You will need another tool for that and there may be integrations and other Solarwinds products for that and I'm unaware of them.
Read Alan Hill's full review
Justin Soungie | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

ITSM-focused Help-desk Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Solarwinds Service Desk in our IT department to service our organization. It's our ticketing, problem, and change management ITSM system.
  • Multiple methods that our employees can open and monitor incidents.
  • Easy to use app for the IT team to keep up to date with incident status.
  • ITSM framework is logical and well thought out.
  • Works extremely well "out of the box".
  • User portal is a bit dated, needs to be brought forward from 2005.
  • More guidance of how to maximize the AI for smart suggestions.
Solarwinds Service Desk is a great fit for small-large teams or geographically diverse teams. Our company doesn't follow ITSM but the framework is very welcome. It gives us the framework to centralize our IT team and keep everyone informed.
Read Justin Soungie's full review
Virginia Grey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Overall satisfaction, needs some work on reporting details

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is being used for Incidents, Contract Management and Inventory by the IT Department. Until we had Samanage, IT had no way to track service requests or document outcomes. Now we have established benchmarks and can provide metrics to our Executive Team to document growth and technical trends.
  • Incidents - the bread and butter of an IT department. SolarWinds has an easy-to-use configuration. Training takes minutes.
  • Inventory is excellent. If technical equipment is purchased, it gets tracked in SolarWinds and we can easily track items, even if they've been assigned to other staff.
  • Changes in Incidents should be fully disclosed before dev releases them. Many times we started on a Monday and found things were turned around and it took us awhile to find what we needed and get used to the new setup.
  • Reporting really needs to be more robust. We can pull some canned reports that can be used in meetings, but for IT staff who need to get specific information quickly, that doesn't happen.
For the small IT Department, this is the perfect tool. It's easy to set up, easy to understand and customize as needed. The cost under Samanage was appropriate as well. Under SolarWinds, the cost has increased enough that we (small non-profit) may need to consider finding an alternative as they couldn't work with us at all on the price. Also, if an organization needs more robust, configurable reporting, they might need a more sophisticated program.
Read Virginia Grey's full review
Susan Kirschner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk is a great product for the price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it to manage our IT Department - Incident Management, Change Management, Contracts and Vendors.
  • Ease of use - everything is fairly straightforward; not a lot of clicking around.
  • Ease of management - I can make changes in production without reboots/downtime.
  • Portal - can customize to what users want to see.
  • Reporting - not as robust as I'd like to see it.
  • Incident Management - would like to see user history while working on new ticket.
  • Dashboard - would like to be able to customize with more options than what is given.
SolarWinds/Samanage is a pretty efficient out-of-the-box software. It's well suited for small to mid-sized companies and is a fantastic option for managing IT.
Read Susan Kirschner's full review
Christine Blickhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk is used across the whole organization. We use it for application assistance/issues, onboarding, offboarding, user security changes, hardware/software issues, change control, and procurement tracking.
  • On-boarding, so we do not forget any steps
  • Off-boarding, so we do not forget any steps
  • Change control for tracking system modifications
  • Resolving and then closing a ticket--I wish we could just close, without having to resolve first.
  • I wish custom reporting was easier.
  • I wish automation allowed for multiple key words, such as "key word = this, or key word = that."
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited because you can track help desk items, work request items, change control items, and equipment all in one place.
Read Christine Blickhan's full review
Richard Gonzales | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Solarwinds Service Desk as our primary IT ticketing software. The product is used throughout the whole organization. It has vastly improved our response time and allowed us to be more thorough with the end users as far as addressing problems goes. It has allowed us to properly assess situations as well as communicate if the problem can not be fixed of if other measures need to be taken. Without the software, we would be left using multiple other means to do this, which would cause to much of a headache and lose a lot of valuable time. Especially now the healthcare professionals at this clinic need something fast and easy to get their problems solved.
  • My favorite thing is the options of closing or holding tickets and allowing the end-user to see this in real-time.
  • The product is web-based, which allows for ease of use anywhere.
  • The pricing is not based on the number of end-users, which is great for a big organization.
  • The product does make users log in, which can be a hassle sometimes as we all know people forget passwords all the time.
  • The product still lacks a viable chat feature.
  • The mobile version is a bit clunky and hard to use even for an IT professional. And the end-users are unable to use the web version altogether.
The best place for software like Solarwinds Service Desk is in a large organization. Especially one with multiple sites. This is because the options are almost endless for the end-user to be able to sign in and submit tickets or as for resources. It allows them to be very descriptive almost to a point of being too much which is good, the more information the better. I feel like in a smaller organization a lot of features would be lost due to the robustness of the program. It would be too much for a smaller business to adequately use it
Read Richard Gonzales's full review
Vikas Choubey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Better than any other product I've had to work on.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Service Desk to monitor customer applications and display current statistics to stakeholders. It is used for the TCS Enterprise Cloud Project--monitoring and visualization of applications.
  • Multi-tenant support
  • All kinds of graph and charts are available.
  • Very customizable
  • Very interactive
  • Very visually appealing
  • Could be more user friendly
  • Steep learning curve
  • Graphs are not vertically resizeable
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for multi-tenant environments and specific views are required for different levels of technologically sound stakeholders. Not suited for viewing on small screens.
Read Vikas Choubey's full review
Treyce Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Solarwinds Service Desk as our IT ticketing system. We also use Solarwinds Service Desk for asset tracking. We are only using it for our IT department, but are planning to implement it for other departments in the future. The reporting features allow us to see which problems we have most often and allow us to prepare better to correct them.
  • I think the interface (Incidents Page) is easy to use and very customizable.
  • Reporting is easy to understand, and there are many pre-built reports that can be used without the user having to do much.
  • The asset tracking system allows you to create assets and assign them to particular users or locations. You can also add custom fields to make sure you have all the asset information documented.
  • I think the filters for the Incidents can be a little buggy (sometimes shows closed incidents when on the "Active Incidents" filter).
  • The reporting section was updated recently and is now much harder to navigate when trying to create custom reports.
  • If Service Desk doesn't have a function that other incident systems may have, it can take a long time (or be impossible) to have those functions added.
I actually used Solarwinds Help Desk at a previous job for about 2 years. When I started my current job, they were looking for an incident tracking system. So, I recommended Help Desk. We tried it out for a couple of weeks. Then, the company decided to go for Solarwinds Service Desk because it was cloud-based. We have been using it for almost a year.
Read Treyce Miller's full review
Salvador Salcedo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk--the right application for the job

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk is the IT ticketing platform that is used by our organization. It allows the IT Department to track customer issues and address them in a timely manner, both providing updates to the IT team and end-user. It has also allowed us to set up a self-service portal, a knowledge base to common problems that end users find useful.
  • Customer support
  • General ease of use
  • Solutions feature
  • Report filtering--I would like to be able to be more granular in the reporting.
  • I would like to see an improvement in the way it integrates with Solarwinds Orion and the formatting of the ticket it creates.
Overall, Solarwinds Service Desk is well-suited as an all-around ticketing system. I like using solutions as a knowledge base for both the IT team and end-users. End-users find it easily accessible and navigable. One department that it may not be best suited for is General Services. It does not have geo-mapping and fleet management features that General Services-specific ticketing applications provide.
Read Salvador Salcedo's full review
Mike Paron | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Great for inventory management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Solarwinds Service Desk (Samanage) for inventory tracking on all of our end-user systems, appliances, network devices, servers, and AV equipment. We track equipment age and warranty status in Samanage, as well as software, hardware, and location.

We are not currently using the service desk portion of Samanage. It is only used within the IT department for systems administration.
  • Easy to deploy! We can install in many different ways, even having the end user install.
  • The user interface is fast and responsive.
  • Reports are super easy so my director is happy I can gather info he needs quickly.
  • Lifecycle changes are tracked automatically.
  • We currently don't have a way to add custom fields and report against them.
  • Not easy to pull a report for systems missing certain software.
I would recommend Solarwinds Service Desk (formerly Samanage) for anyone who needs automatic inventory tracking. Before, we were using spreadsheets and PDQ, which is not a great solution. Samanage has saved me hours of work every month and provides more info than I could track manually.
Read Mike Paron's full review
Jonathan Cotti | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Great product, easy to use and manage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it in the technology department. However, we are in the process of implementing it into HR and Facilities. Once we have implemented into these two additional departments, we will be looking to expand it into other areas in our school district. We have found this product to be extremely valuable to us and it is very user friendly for our staff.
  • Very user friendly, end users need little to no training at all
  • Customizable, we are constantly changing custom fields to better suit our needs.
  • Great Mobile App, having access from a cell phone is very valuable and useful for us.
  • Slow-release of updates and/or allowing users to choose whether they want the changes or not
  • Add quick video tutorials right into the setup process, so when we try to implement a change, we can check out a quick video to make sure we are doing things right.
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for any environment that needs a well-laid-out and fully-customizable tracking system. I cannot think of a scenario where it would be less appropriate unless a ticket/inventory type solution is unnecessary.
Read Jonathan Cotti's full review
Toni Ventura | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

great ITSM platform! cost effective and easy to use.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are utilizing SWSD not only in IT but for HR and a couple of other departments that use it for work order intake. In IT we are using most modules: Incident, Problem, Solutions (Knowledge), Change and the Service Catalog.

Using SWSD allows us to stop trying to work through email. It gives us visibility into our workload and who's taking care of what.

  • Automations: we use automations to direct tickets to the appropriate team for resolution versus having tickets come in to one team and waiting for reassignment. Time saver.
  • User portal: the portal allows us to offer solutions to the end user without them opening a ticket.
  • Smart suggestions: offers possible request forms or solutions based on what they type in the search bar. Great self help assistance.
  • So far we've been pretty happy with the product. I can't think of anything specific.

SWSD is great for small-medium sized enterprises. Doesn't require a programmer/developer or someone with a specific skill set to administer and manage.

Easy to use and cost effective.

The user portal works well for user notifications and access to forms and solutions. Users also have immediate access to their tickets and can see the current status as well as the history of their tickets.

Read Toni Ventura's full review
Ian Llanera | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

No regrets choosing Solarwinds Service Desk

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk is currently being used mainly by the IT team, but is partially being utilized by the the whole organization. Service Desk addressed the need for a ticketing system. Now, users can submit tickets through the portal or simply via email. It also addressed the lack of asset management and tracking. We heavily rely on it to keep track of all IT assets.
  • I like how user-friendly the interface is. It is very easy to navigate the portal.
  • Asset tracking is built-in (not an add-on) and provides a lot of information about the asset.
  • Affordable price across all three plans.
  • Great technical support.
  • The only feature I'd like to be added is to be able to add "States" whichever plan was purchased.
  • As with all other subscriptions, some features are only available with higher Tier. However, the price still is very affordable for services offered.
Overall, Solarwinds Service Desk is a solid and excellent choice or a straightforward ticketing system. It offers most of what the other systems in the market offer. It's suitable for practically all organization types, whether it's used by a big or a small team. It also offers integration should there be a need for collaboration with other apps.
Read Ian Llanera's full review
Richard Webster | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Decent product, getting better.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT support desk - used by our (one) department, company wide. Primarily used for incidents, service catalog and change management.
  • Sorting and filtering of pending incidents.
  • Good flexibility in creating templates for service catalog items.
  • Recent improvements in real-time update make the use better/easier.
  • Generally a steady flow of improvements over the last year or so have enhanced usability.
  • Categories, sub-categories, sub-sub-categories.
  • Tailoring form and field display.
  • Control and segregation of incident fields separately from service catalog fields.
  • Reports module - although I gave up on it and haven't looked recently.
Well suited for day-to-day incidents and service requests. Not very project friendly. We've had trouble using manager approval elements reliably.
Read Richard Webster's full review
Barry Dutchak | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Great product with potential to help other non-IT departments

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the service desk from Solarwinds for our IT department. We make use of most of the functionality and primarily for the incident, problem and change management. We manage all of our IT assets including the built in purchase order system. All workstations are auto inventoried and other assets are listed manually as well as manual entry and management of support and maintenance contracts.
  • Ticket/incident triage.
  • Workstation inventory.
  • Procurement.
  • Incident task assignment.
  • Product development and the communication of product improvements.
  • Azure AD integration.
  • Licensing for non-IT departments. They expect full price for non-IT to handle incidents/queries.
  • Improved time tracking flexibility.
  • Solutions/Knowledge base formatting options.
  • CMDB is quite lacking - the ability to link various assets and issues/changes.
  • Can't specify due dates on incidents to help in prioritization/triage.
Service Desk is great for smaller organizations that don't need to maintain tight ITIL standards. It also works great to have other departments using the same service desk for the entire organization if they are willing to pay the high licensing fees for each individual. If you have a large amount of users that require this functionality then I would suggest looking at other products where the pricing would be less expensive per user. That said, on the IT side, we have been able to combine many lists and applications into one with this solution.
Read Barry Dutchak's full review
Pamela Lynn | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Help desk improves reporting of issues

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds in many departments in our organization as a way for staff to submit issues, ask questions and submit ideas for improvement.
  • Easy user interface: when we changed from our old service desk our tickets doubled overnight.
  • I like the solutions and how easy they are to attach to tickets and to create a solution from a ticket.
  • Like the tagging feature.
  • Can't just cut and paste an image into a comment or ticket.
  • The change management module is lacking items needed for ITIL making it necessary to have other processes.
  • The reporting is horrible and hard to use.
  • Hard to set up SLAs.
  • Permission are confusing.
IT is difficult to do change management via the help desk.
Read Pamela Lynn's full review
Jordan McCormick | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Puts the Wind in Your Sales

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This Solarwinds Service Desk (formerly Samanage) was used primarily for the IT department and Facility Management departments. IT used it as a workflow management, vendor management, contract management, helpdesk, asset management, and change management. Facilities Management used it for service request/maintenance request ticketing system, as well as, reoccurring work order checklists.
  • Asset Management
  • Ticketing (queue, assignments, customization, linking tickets, solutions database.)
  • Self-service portal for user ticket submissions and status tracking
  • Contract Management
  • Change Management
  • Automation/ Integrations
Solarwinds Service Desk solution is great for asset management, not to be confused with device management. This tracks information regarding assets (hardware specifications, software, warranty information, etc.), it does not push commands or information to the asset. This solution is also great for a ticketing solution, very customizable for categorizing and organizing requests, and works well with communication with staff or end-users.
Read Jordan McCormick's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (90)
8.7
Expert directory (54)
6.8
Service restoration (55)
6.5
Self-service tools (81)
7.5
Subscription-based notifications (66)
7.8
ITSM collaboration and documentation (72)
8.1
ITSM reports and dashboards (82)
6.8
Configuration mangement (71)
7.1
Asset management dashboard (78)
7.1
Policy and contract enforcement (61)
6.9
Change requests repository (62)
8.2
Change calendar (42)
7.1
Service-level management (69)
7.6

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk, previously Samanage Service Platform, is a cloud-based service desk for IT or any other department.

A single platform for service management, IT asset management and configuration management, Service Desk is ITIL-ready and complete with Incident, Problem, Change, and Release Management capabilities. Advanced reporting modules empower users to analyze trends, monitor service quality, and continuously improve service management processes.

SolarWinds Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureSelf-Service Portal
Has featureSoftware and Hardware Inventory Tracking
Has featureRobust and Flexible Reporting
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureContract and License Tracking
Has featureIntegration with Over 200 Applications
Has featureCode-Free Customization
Has featureSLA Management

SolarWinds Service Desk Screenshots

SolarWinds Service Desk Video

SolarWinds Service Desk Integrations

Zendesk, OneLogin, Zapier, Google Apps, Salesforce

SolarWinds Service Desk Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Live Chat
Forum/Community

SolarWinds Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Support for 40+ Languages