SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 12, 2021
Ali Kazempour | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SSD has more features and simplicity in implementation, and working with it is very important to us. It is also very reputable in terms of company security and safety. Helpdesk software should be designed user-friendly in mind. The SolarWinds desktop is created in the cloud and works in the secure cloud, and is constantly updated for usability and performance.
We looked at different platforms, most of them were limited and must buy a separate plugin and module for every common feature, but SolarWinds has all the basic features as standard and by default.
Read Ali Kazempour's full review
December 09, 2020
Sebastian Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • JIRA Service Desk,Salesforce Service Desk,ServiceNow
Above all, the Samanage Sales rep provided me with everything I need, which in comparison to the others made a huge difference at the end. ServiceNow is too expensive, and the sales rep quickly put me out of their target. JIRA Service Desk didn't provide clear information about their product and I felt they didn't give me enough attention in my evaluation process.
Read Sebastian Pereira's full review
December 11, 2020
Christopher Fritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Samanage is much simpler to implement in a medium-sized organization of around 100 employees. Other software easily gets more complex, and would have taken too much time for an end user to learn as well as inexperienced IT gurus. Price etc also has a say, and with Samanage you will find the biggest expense when you look at the admin users, and not the end user license.
Read Christopher Fritz's full review
December 11, 2020
Allan Eisenhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Prior to Solarwinds we had been using Spiceworks that resided on a local server. They both had the basic items that I needed to have but Spiceworks was local so I would only be able to connect when I was in one of the offices or connected through my VPN. Spiceworks was not as easily managed and configurable as Solarwinds and for the Spiceworks configuration, we spent a week or 2 getting it configured. Several times we had the Spiceworks service fail, which caused us to have to troubleshoot and search forums for answers as it is freeware so no true support.

WebTitan we only watched an online demo so we really never got any hands-on time with it. From what I saw it was very similar but since it had a higher price-point we haven't pursued any further any evaluations.
Read Allan Eisenhauer's full review
December 08, 2020
Chris Peters Sr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I previously used Sales Logics but have not in quite some time. I decided to purchase and utilize SSD and find it very valuable and beneficial to my organization. It's functions and capabilities have proven to be very useful for my staff and organization. I am about to renew again very soon.
Read Chris Peters Sr.'s full review
December 08, 2020
Steven Hiersche, Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • ServiceNow, SysAid and BMC Track-It!
We looked at ServiceNow, SysAid and Track-It! and Samanage came out on top because it did everything well. The other three were all more proficient in some things, but they were not a complete package.
Read Steven Hiersche, Jr.'s full review
September 15, 2020
Connie Inman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are using SolarWinds Service Desk because it was here and already integrated with our computer management inventory. We also have access to Footprints, which is used campus-wide, but SolarWinds Service Desk is better for us. It is easier to use and is connected to our inventory management.
Read Connie Inman's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As Solarwinds Service desk is completely hosted, it removes the need to commission one or more servers and database(s) which also removes quite a bit of overhead for the IT department to manage and maintain. Also, the operating system, database, and software updates are a thing of the past once the hosted platform is adopted completely. A few detractions of the hosted model are as follows:
  • If the Internet or network connectivity is lost, so is the access to the ticketing system.
  • There is little control over maintenance windows or problems that may affect the system.
  • Customization is not an option beyond the controls provided by the platform.
  • Feature additions are somewhat random and not under your company's control.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose SolarWinds Service Desk for its user friendly platform compared to what we had. Its was easier for requestors to submit tickets, provide feedback, merge tickets, build a suitable approval process.

Our organization had a hard time going back and forth with the end user on providing a status on their request or issue, where most users just didn't follow through or lost interest in their issue. We would have to send multiple emails to get any type of feedback and that's something we did not want to keep on doing.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Solarwinds has a much better UI than Remedy. It's more modern and flows better than the older "Windows 95" view of Remedy. Spiceworks does offer a modern UI but is lacking on a lot of features that are considered basic for ITSM related tools. Spiceworks does work very well for smaller companies that need but the core functions of ITSM.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Solarwinds Service Desk is much more intuitive, user-friendly, and modern than the service desks we have used in the past. It offers additional features and is a lot easier to navigate. We selected Solarwinds Service Desk because we were looking for a change and a way to positively increase customer service and our offerings.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk and ServiceNow are both tools my organization has used and are still on the board in the future if things change with Samanage. Samanage came in at a good price point, provided the functionality we needed as an organization to centralize our support efforts, and is easy to manage. Spiceworks wasn't even a contender for our decision, just something we looked at, and it fell flat compared to the others.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we transitioned to Solarwinds Service Desk, it was the only hosted service that was HIPAA compliant. Having a HIPAA-compliant solution was a requirement to allow us to support our health care clinics.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had Spiceworks and we were limited by functionality, customer service, and program updates. We selected SolarWinds Service Desk because the software had all the functions that we needed in 1 program. We had several meet and greets and demos with their sales team. The way they listen to their customer's needs you can not beat. The company is always striving to help make the software user-friendly and efficient.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow is definitely the leader in this space and I've used it at a prior company. It has a lot more integrations and modules. Samanage is good for newer or smaller shops that need something.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2020
Kevin Staton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used Zendesk, ServiceNow, Spiceworks, and TeamDynamix. Zendesk lacked features like vendor and contract management but offered a competitive price. ServiceNow and TeamDynamix are more full-featured ITSM tools with more features but not cost-effective for our organization. Those tools are also highly customizable, which is great, but also an impediment to standing up a solution quickly and at low cost. Solarwinds Service Desk offered most of the features we were looking for with our budget.
Read Kevin Staton's full review
April 28, 2020
Steve Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Solarwinds Service Desk is a far superior product to my experience with Connectwise. Connectwise, at the time, did not have ITIL inventory management or very good time management built in. You had to purchase add-ons. Furthermore, it was very buggy and crashed repeatedly. Service level was nowhere near as good as Solarwinds.
Zendesk was very stable but, again, did not manage hardware inventory or do a very good job of change management. Also, reporting was very much an Ad-Hoc service as you had to write your own query. I even had to develop my own measure for time spent on a ticket so I could report time back to my companies. I felt this was a serious flaw in the system.
Read Steve Taylor's full review
May 11, 2020
Matthaniel Cowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Solarwinds Service Desk seems to offer more features and a more intuitive interface for our internal customers. While Zendesk may provide some slightly better usability features, Service Desk gives us great reporting and contains an inventory management tool where information about each computer in our company is documented and continuously updated automatically with service agent software can run on each device and some network scanning tools.
Read Matthaniel Cowell's full review
May 08, 2020
Derek G Desautels Jr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I didn't use Zendesk much but when I used it at a previous company it was years ago and I felt it was very lackluster and didn't have a lot to give. Samanage at the time I was introduced and now has continued to grow and build out its systems making it feel very powerful and intuitive.
Read Derek G Desautels Jr's full review
May 07, 2020
Kevin Fortenberry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at 5-6 different packages before selecting Samanage. Our decision was based on seeing our need and what best fit that need. Incident tracking/asset tracking/Procurement, etc.
Read Kevin Fortenberry's full review
May 06, 2020
Dave Pekol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated several vendors like ServiceNow, Track-IT, Footprints, FreshDesk etc. Service Desk had a lot of the features that covered our IT processes/needs, and enough features for us to grow into. Service Desk implementation was well organized and fast. Price-wise, Service Desk has a lot of features at an affordable price.
Read Dave Pekol's full review
May 06, 2020
Alan Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks, Freshdesk, and their ITSM product. Both of those products are limited in their scope and difficult to implement. Solarwinds Service Desk was easy to implement and their implementation team got us to production quickly and with little fuss or changes since. We just use the product, we don't have to manage the tool.
Read Alan Hill's full review
May 06, 2020
Justin Soungie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Zoho has a multitude of products that may be great for some companies, but I found the product didn't feel like it was polished or done well. More of a Jack-of-all-trades, master of none.
Freshdesk and Zendesk had a lot of modern features but lacked the ability to host multiple companies/domains under one help desk. They also lacked the ITSM framework, which was a huge plus in my decision making.
Read Justin Soungie's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (96)
9.2
Expert directory (57)
7.2
Service restoration (58)
6.7
Self-service tools (86)
7.7
Subscription-based notifications (68)
8.1
ITSM collaboration and documentation (76)
8.1
ITSM reports and dashboards (87)
6.5
Configuration mangement (74)
7.0
Asset management dashboard (81)
6.9
Policy and contract enforcement (63)
6.8
Change requests repository (64)
8.5
Change calendar (44)
7.4
Service-level management (72)
7.7

What is SolarWinds Service Desk?

SolarWinds Service Desk, previously Samanage Service Platform, is a cloud-based service desk for IT or any other department.

A single platform for service management, IT asset management and configuration management, Service Desk is ITIL-ready and complete with Incident, Problem, Change, and Release Management capabilities. Advanced reporting modules empower users to analyze trends, monitor service quality, and continuously improve service management processes.

SolarWinds Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features

Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards

ITSM asset management Features

Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement

Change management Features

Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureSelf-Service Portal
Has featureSoftware and Hardware Inventory Tracking
Has featureRobust and Flexible Reporting
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureContract and License Tracking
Has featureIntegration with Over 200 Applications
Has featureCode-Free Customization
Has featureSLA Management

SolarWinds Service Desk Screenshots

SolarWinds Service Desk Video

SolarWinds Service Desk Integrations

Zendesk Support Suite, OneLogin, Zapier, Google Apps, Salesforce

SolarWinds Service Desk Competitors

SolarWinds Service Desk Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Live Chat
Forum/Community

SolarWinds Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Support for 40+ Languages