SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
139 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 107)

Kevin Staton | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk - ITSM on a Budget

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Incident Management
  • Process Workflow
  • Vendor and Contract Management
  • A welcoming landing page
  • There is potential to greatly improve the capacity for cascading attributes. Currently, categories are limited to a top-level category and one subcategory. This leaves a fairly shallow decision tree.
  • Greater flexibility to modify the layout of incident request forms.
  • More integration options for cloud file-sharing platforms. Solarwinds Service Desk has tie-ins to Dropbox but not other vendors.
Read Kevin Staton's full review
Steve Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Solarwinds - When you need a complete Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Helpdesk Incident ticketing - Solarwinds does an excellent job of incident tracking and enables you to fold those incidents into Problems and then use effective change management when called for. It provides a full ITIL management package.
  • Inventory Tracking and Management - It has a really nice, complete package for Hardware and Software management. The agent is pretty light and data is encrypted.
  • Change Management and Approval Workflows - There's a really nice module here. Allows you to attach an Incident ticket or multiple incidents as a Problem. Lets you manage changes to systems, services, etc. and get approvals from the appropriate stakeholders while providing an audit trail for everything.
  • Reporting - Custom reporting leaves a little bit to be desired. They need to find a happy medium between having to make your own variables and query and not having the ability to customize a report. It would also be nice to have the ability to export reports to Excel.
  • Time Tracking on Incident Tickets - Time tracking is pretty much a manual thing. The agents just estimate the time they spend on a ticket and enter it manually into a time tracking field. There is no automated tracking of time and it's not a mandatory field.
  • Project Management - It would be great to have a project management capability built in that we could use to set up tickets, changes, tasks, etc for longer term projects.
Read Steve Taylor's full review
Allan Eisenhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Love that it is cloud-based, so even when I am not in the office I am still able to log in and assist and or see what is happening.
  • It allows the techs and staff to communicate within the portal and provides the techs the options to do "private" messages that the other techs can see but not the end-user.
  • Makes configuring the layout simple and allows us to "brand" it the way we want and not just another cookie-cutter version.
  • I would love to see the ability to change and move sections around on the forms to help prevent wasted space and lengthy scrolls.
  • I would also like to see an addition to the inventory section to include depreciation values and have itself calculate based on purchase criteria.
  • For the checkbox option, it would be nice to be able to control how many checkboxes are per section and have other things triggered if the checkbox is checked.
Read Allan Eisenhauer's full review
Matthaniel Cowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

A Mostly Good Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great API Interface
  • Now Very Customizable
  • Integrates well with G Suite
  • Reasonable Licensing Terms
  • GUI can be sometimes wonky, especially with newly added features.
  • Mass CSV Import feature through GUI can be cryptic and cumbersome. (Better to use the API if you can.)
  • Exclusively relies on custom email extensions to automatically create incidents from received emails (ex: support+whatever@domain.com) instead of reading a properties template for an email forwarded to special support email like Zendesk.
  • The "Remote Support" feature that integrates with LogMeIn and GoToAssist has never worked and SolarWinds support doesn't seem to know how to get this to work as explained in documentation.
Read Matthaniel Cowell's full review
Chris Peters Sr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk has been a great solution for my IT team!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy, multiple means of creating tickets
  • Support is responsive when needed
  • Collects information from the monitoring tool
  • Fast to resolve any technical issues with the site
  • Reports - not very "easy" find it hard to report on items I have created
  • Reports - easier use could use more intuitive UI
  • Reports - fill it is missing what should be standard reports for users, etc.
Read Chris Peters Sr.'s full review
Kevin Fortenberry | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Service Desk at its best.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Asset tracking - ability to track end points and software and other assets.
  • Incident tracking - workflows to track time and progress of incidents.
  • Purchase Orders - Vendors and Po creation and storing and ability to add documents.
  • Workflows - New hires, office moves, etc... give multiple tickets for different techs to complete requests.
  • Documentation / How-to's of workflows.
  • Additional customizable fields on Assets that can be used for reporting/tracking.
  • More fields in Location for use of Store name/Address/City, etc...
Read Kevin Fortenberry's full review
Dave Pekol | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Service Desk: great features at a good price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to setup.
  • Training end users and people working requests is easy.
  • Good customer service and support.
  • Lots of features.
  • Service catalog forms are limited, it would be better if you could do some formatting or arranging to make it look better to the end user.
  • Today there is an agent that is deployed to every workstation, which provides asset inventory. However we don't know what we don't know. I would prefer agent-less integration to see all of the workstations on my networks. Right now I don't know what I am missing, and agent versions change.
  • Ability to integrate any remote support application into Service Desk, so and end user could connect from the ticket, chat, or portal to start a remote session.
Read Dave Pekol's full review
Alan Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

ITSM Out of the Box

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Incident Management - tracking categories/sub-categories by site or organization. Notifications to the user as well as those cc'd on the incident
  • Change Management - allows for standard identification of change, test and rollback plans, tasks and some workflow with approvals
  • Inventory allows for risk identification, asset tag activities, one can see what software is installed, associate incidents with that asset
  • Reporting is in my mind a bit basic
  • API needs some work also. Why can I not create a saved report and then execute that report from an API call?
Read Alan Hill's full review
Justin Soungie | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

ITSM-focused Help-desk Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multiple methods that our employees can open and monitor incidents.
  • Easy to use app for the IT team to keep up to date with incident status.
  • ITSM framework is logical and well thought out.
  • Works extremely well "out of the box".
  • User portal is a bit dated, needs to be brought forward from 2005.
  • More guidance of how to maximize the AI for smart suggestions.
Read Justin Soungie's full review
Virginia Grey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Overall satisfaction, needs some work on reporting details

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Incidents - the bread and butter of an IT department. SolarWinds has an easy-to-use configuration. Training takes minutes.
  • Inventory is excellent. If technical equipment is purchased, it gets tracked in SolarWinds and we can easily track items, even if they've been assigned to other staff.
  • Changes in Incidents should be fully disclosed before dev releases them. Many times we started on a Monday and found things were turned around and it took us awhile to find what we needed and get used to the new setup.
  • Reporting really needs to be more robust. We can pull some canned reports that can be used in meetings, but for IT staff who need to get specific information quickly, that doesn't happen.
Read Virginia Grey's full review
Susan Kirschner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk is a great product for the price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use - everything is fairly straightforward; not a lot of clicking around.
  • Ease of management - I can make changes in production without reboots/downtime.
  • Portal - can customize to what users want to see.
  • Reporting - not as robust as I'd like to see it.
  • Incident Management - would like to see user history while working on new ticket.
  • Dashboard - would like to be able to customize with more options than what is given.
Read Susan Kirschner's full review
Christine Blickhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • On-boarding, so we do not forget any steps
  • Off-boarding, so we do not forget any steps
  • Change control for tracking system modifications
  • Resolving and then closing a ticket--I wish we could just close, without having to resolve first.
  • I wish custom reporting was easier.
  • I wish automation allowed for multiple key words, such as "key word = this, or key word = that."
Read Christine Blickhan's full review
Richard Gonzales | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • My favorite thing is the options of closing or holding tickets and allowing the end-user to see this in real-time.
  • The product is web-based, which allows for ease of use anywhere.
  • The pricing is not based on the number of end-users, which is great for a big organization.
  • The product does make users log in, which can be a hassle sometimes as we all know people forget passwords all the time.
  • The product still lacks a viable chat feature.
  • The mobile version is a bit clunky and hard to use even for an IT professional. And the end-users are unable to use the web version altogether.
Read Richard Gonzales's full review
Treyce Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I think the interface (Incidents Page) is easy to use and very customizable.
  • Reporting is easy to understand, and there are many pre-built reports that can be used without the user having to do much.
  • The asset tracking system allows you to create assets and assign them to particular users or locations. You can also add custom fields to make sure you have all the asset information documented.
  • I think the filters for the Incidents can be a little buggy (sometimes shows closed incidents when on the "Active Incidents" filter).
  • The reporting section was updated recently and is now much harder to navigate when trying to create custom reports.
  • If Service Desk doesn't have a function that other incident systems may have, it can take a long time (or be impossible) to have those functions added.
Read Treyce Miller's full review
Salvador Salcedo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk--the right application for the job

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer support
  • General ease of use
  • Solutions feature
  • Report filtering--I would like to be able to be more granular in the reporting.
  • I would like to see an improvement in the way it integrates with Solarwinds Orion and the formatting of the ticket it creates.
Read Salvador Salcedo's full review
Mike Paron | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Great for inventory management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to deploy! We can install in many different ways, even having the end user install.
  • The user interface is fast and responsive.
  • Reports are super easy so my director is happy I can gather info he needs quickly.
  • Lifecycle changes are tracked automatically.
  • We currently don't have a way to add custom fields and report against them.
  • Not easy to pull a report for systems missing certain software.
Read Mike Paron's full review
Jonathan Cotti | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Great product, easy to use and manage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very user friendly, end users need little to no training at all
  • Customizable, we are constantly changing custom fields to better suit our needs.
  • Great Mobile App, having access from a cell phone is very valuable and useful for us.
  • Slow-release of updates and/or allowing users to choose whether they want the changes or not
  • Add quick video tutorials right into the setup process, so when we try to implement a change, we can check out a quick video to make sure we are doing things right.
Read Jonathan Cotti's full review
Toni Ventura | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

great ITSM platform! cost effective and easy to use.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automations: we use automations to direct tickets to the appropriate team for resolution versus having tickets come in to one team and waiting for reassignment. Time saver.
  • User portal: the portal allows us to offer solutions to the end user without them opening a ticket.
  • Smart suggestions: offers possible request forms or solutions based on what they type in the search bar. Great self help assistance.
  • So far we've been pretty happy with the product. I can't think of anything specific.
Read Toni Ventura's full review
Ian Llanera | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

No regrets choosing Solarwinds Service Desk

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like how user-friendly the interface is. It is very easy to navigate the portal.
  • Asset tracking is built-in (not an add-on) and provides a lot of information about the asset.
  • Affordable price across all three plans.
  • Great technical support.
  • The only feature I'd like to be added is to be able to add "States" whichever plan was purchased.
  • As with all other subscriptions, some features are only available with higher Tier. However, the price still is very affordable for services offered.
Read Ian Llanera's full review
Richard Webster | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Decent product, getting better.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sorting and filtering of pending incidents.
  • Good flexibility in creating templates for service catalog items.
  • Recent improvements in real-time update make the use better/easier.
  • Generally a steady flow of improvements over the last year or so have enhanced usability.
  • Categories, sub-categories, sub-sub-categories.
  • Tailoring form and field display.
  • Control and segregation of incident fields separately from service catalog fields.
  • Reports module - although I gave up on it and haven't looked recently.
Read Richard Webster's full review
Barry Dutchak | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Great product with potential to help other non-IT departments

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ticket/incident triage.
  • Workstation inventory.
  • Procurement.
  • Incident task assignment.
  • Product development and the communication of product improvements.
  • Azure AD integration.
  • Licensing for non-IT departments. They expect full price for non-IT to handle incidents/queries.
  • Improved time tracking flexibility.
  • Solutions/Knowledge base formatting options.
  • CMDB is quite lacking - the ability to link various assets and issues/changes.
  • Can't specify due dates on incidents to help in prioritization/triage.
Read Barry Dutchak's full review
Pamela Lynn | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Help desk improves reporting of issues

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy user interface: when we changed from our old service desk our tickets doubled overnight.
  • I like the solutions and how easy they are to attach to tickets and to create a solution from a ticket.
  • Like the tagging feature.
  • Can't just cut and paste an image into a comment or ticket.
  • The change management module is lacking items needed for ITIL making it necessary to have other processes.
  • The reporting is horrible and hard to use.
  • Hard to set up SLAs.
  • Permission are confusing.
Read Pamela Lynn's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (94)
8.8
Expert directory (55)
6.9
Service restoration (56)
6.5
Self-service tools (84)
7.5
Subscription-based notifications (66)
7.8
ITSM collaboration and documentation (74)
8.0
ITSM reports and dashboards (85)
6.5
Configuration mangement (72)
7.1
Asset management dashboard (79)
7.0
Policy and contract enforcement (61)
6.9
Change requests repository (63)
8.2
Change calendar (43)
7.1
Service-level management (71)
7.6

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk, previously Samanage Service Platform, is a cloud-based service desk for IT or any other department.

A single platform for service management, IT asset management and configuration management, Service Desk is ITIL-ready and complete with Incident, Problem, Change, and Release Management capabilities. Advanced reporting modules empower users to analyze trends, monitor service quality, and continuously improve service management processes.

SolarWinds Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureSelf-Service Portal
Has featureSoftware and Hardware Inventory Tracking
Has featureRobust and Flexible Reporting
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureContract and License Tracking
Has featureIntegration with Over 200 Applications
Has featureCode-Free Customization
Has featureSLA Management

SolarWinds Service Desk Screenshots

SolarWinds Service Desk Video

SolarWinds Service Desk Integrations

Zendesk, OneLogin, Zapier, Google Apps, Salesforce

SolarWinds Service Desk Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Live Chat
Forum/Community

SolarWinds Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Support for 40+ Languages