SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2020

Get a better picture with SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Veeam ONE is a product to compare against SolarWinds Virtualization Manager. Veeam ONE is a solid product, however, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has multiple product tie-ins for a bigger more complete picture of the total environment it is deployed in. It is hard to put a dollar amount on what complete views into all of your infrastructure can give you, but once you have it, it is hard to go back to anything else.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Brief but to the point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Better performance monitoring. Was able to see bottlenecks in our network that we were able to address. Ability to set thresholds and critical warning
alerts to match our specific business needs and parameters. The predefined reports helped us with metrics to ensure the health of our VMs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Awesome product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Virtualization Manager does a much better job of bringing all of the relevant system information together in an easy to view and use interface.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Virtualization Manager consolidates the views of many environments into one easy-to-use solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have trialed almost all of the SolarWinds family of products if they were seen to have a potential positive effect on our environment and ability to find/resolve problems. We are currently using all of the products outlined previously as it gives us an excellent top down view of our entire environment to find/resolve problems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Trying to wrangle your private cloud environment? Never send a child to do the work of a VMAN!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In our experience, the market for exemplary tools for managing a VMware environment is pretty small. Either go with the VMware tools, which may or may not be part of your enterprise licensing, or use a 3rd-party platform. If you have a multi-vendor environment (say VMware + HyperV) and/or have to support a series of other solutions (network, storage, databases, etc.) then using VMAN is the right choice.

If you are running OpenStack or if you have a significant Cloud presence, VMAN isn't going to help solve your visibility challenges with your multi-site, multi-vendor, multi-platform environment.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

VMAN is the Man

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We're also a Veeam customer and have assessed Veeam ONE. We found the interface to be lacking and the contents misleading. Having VMAN in a single pane of glass integrated with the rest of our Orion products makes life very easy and everything very clear. The features that VMAN provides out of the box we also found to be far better than that of Veeam ONES.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Essential for a solid Virtual environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Cisco solution is more expensive and complex to install and configure
The VMware Horizon does not detect and manage the non VMware VMs such as Microsoft Hyper-V
In case the environment is purely VMware, then VMware Horizon provides more possibilities of managing the VMs and initiating remediating tasks.
The VMware software is more expensive also.
As for Virtuozzo, the price is really competitive.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager helps buisness go forward

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds is far superior to the base tools. Every manufacture has a management tool that often has really good benefits to using it, however with VMAN you get a single pane of glass for so much more than just Virtual Machines and or storage. You gain total control of your virtual environment and are able to be the virtual manager you need to be.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
Austin Nickens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Great starting tool but not not the best for automation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At the time it met most of the requirements we had, easy to implement and gave us more insight into our current environment than we had prior to implementing it. Previously we monitored our hosts and VMs individually but this allowed us to see our entire environment on one page.
Read Austin Nickens's full review
Turnor Wootton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Our VMan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

VMware vCenter Server accommodates only VMware hosts and guests. The dashboards are not customizable and require a lot of clicks to get the necessary information on a host or guest.

MS Configuration Manager and Virtual Machine Manager are cumbersome when compared to VMan. The ability to show a holistic view of the virtual environment is limited if at all available. All the System Center products require some amount of specialized training for the administration of the products. ** The learning curve for VMan was very short. ** Though there is integration between the System Center products the transition between those products is not smooth.

Read Turnor Wootton's full review
Jennifer Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager - Good to GO - Go NOW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Virtualization manager from SolarWinds, I am quite partial to this product, and the whole SolarWinds product line. SolarWinds develops their products according to the users. I can definitely say that the users groups associated to SolarWinds has been the driving factor to success. I am a member of the community, and there is not much that this group can do to influence the product. You can be a member even if you don't have any of their products. You can demo any of the products and SolarWinds appreciates the feedback positive or negative. I can't say enough about SolarWinds, and specifically Virtualization Manager. Tools leveraged properly make great success stories.
Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

Can handle it in a single glass pane

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Seamless incorporation into the Orion framework. We needed a tool to tell us what was going on with our vSphere environment beyond what vCenter was telling us. There are just 2 of us that manage 40 ESXi hosts on1000 virtual machines and we needed some additional insight. I have some daily & weekly reports sent to my inbox to help keep tabs on things like available disk space and newly created VMs.
Read Swathi Aljala's full review
Dathon Stokes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager- saves time and money

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've only tried out a few products, but we were already using SolarWinds for other things, and the capability of having all your monitoring products integrated is extremely valuable. Also, it is much easier to work with than VMWare's monitoring tools.
Read Dathon Stokes's full review

About SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No