SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2020

Get a better picture with SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • VMAN has been used for reports provided to executive-level meetings. These reports showed our growth patterns, allowing for easier decisions on purchasing additional hardware.
  • VMAN has provided a positive impact on allowing for near real-time monitoring of resources, able to pinpoint when services are using more memory than expected, not running at all, or other options as defined.
  • VMAN was purchased to help monitor our VMware platform, the added abilities for AWS allowed us to migrate clients from on-prem to cloud-based with the same views.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Awesome product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has allowed us to drop several other software packages that were monitoring various facets of our installation, which then allowed us to stop paying for the extra support on those programs.
  • It has increased our reaction time and awareness of problematic issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Current version isn't what it used to be!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For the environment size we have (and the licensing model we use), it is VERY affordable. I don't think SolarWinds even sells VMAN licensed that way anymore and we're grandfathered in. Therefore, for us, it is a good value.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

SolarWinds VM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Fully recovered the investment.
  • We get notifications whenever devices are down.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Trying to wrangle your private cloud environment? Never send a child to do the work of a VMAN!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • VMAN is expensive. Make sure you aren't duplicating existing functionality, especially if you have enterprise licensing from your virtualization solution
  • VMAN + AppStack is a match made in heaven, but neither AppStack nor VMAN has an out-of-the-box view of your network -- but you can always build one!
  • Adding other modules from the SolarWinds Orion platform is part of the secret sauce that makes the Orion environment work so well
Read this authenticated review
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

VMAN is the Man

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have certainly stopped some outages, particulary where delta files from abandoned VMs have been left to grow. In the past this would have caused an outage with the VM going offline.
  • We have reduced resources being consumed by using the over provisoning reporting.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

Look forward to using long term

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Maximising computing and storage resources as easy visibility of waste.
  • Long deployment lead time (but more due to resources on our end).
Read this authenticated review
Jez Marsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds VMAN Review - A service provider perspective.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Every business I have worked with who have adopted VMAN has seen an efficiency improvement. This means that they are able to run more guests on the same hardware, leading to an increased time before requiring further CAPEX for additional capacity.
  • Performance benefits, via heeding the recommendations within VMAN, are not to be underestimated. Once VMAN has enough metrics on your estate, it can quickly advise you which guests need more compute, but more importantly which ones are over-provisioined, and can have CPU/memory reduced! This leads to increased capacity.
Read Jez Marsh's full review
Austin Nickens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Great starting tool but not not the best for automation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Snapshot Management - It is nice to have an automated tool for cleaning up snapshots because this is often forgotten in the day to day. One of those things that no one wants to do themselves
  • VM Management - we are still getting started with this but we keep finding it coming up a little short on exactly what we need, it will do most of the job we need but still requires some manual intervention.
Read Austin Nickens's full review
Turnor Wootton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Our VMan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The cost of managing the mixed virtual environment is greatly reduced by presenting a single solution.
  • Using the features included with the other SolarWinds modules, such as reporting and issue alerting have had an impact on the management of the infrastructure
  • The self service capability of the VMan dashboard allows the information to be easily shared with other IT and management resources.
Read Turnor Wootton's full review
Jennifer Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager - Good to GO - Go NOW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ROI is really hard to calculate. If your systems don't fail, and the up time is reaching 5 9's - I would say that we are doing quite well. The tools that people choose to use to aid in the pursuit of success can make a dramatic impact. SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has made a personal impact for me; I can tell you who, what, when, where, and most times... why the performance is great or perhaps having issues.
  • My objective is to serve up an application to work stations that are up and available for 911 calls 24X7X365. Virtualization manager has assisted in monitoring resources and indicating issues. I highly value Solar Winds Virtualization Manager.
  • I also use SolarWinds Virtualization Manager to monitor my data being replicated between sites. I have great confidence at night and during the day because of the information being presented by the tool!
Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

Can handle it in a single glass pane

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Monitors resources and makes recommendations on changes and upgrades.
  • Sometimes VM seems to over-report on issues. An example would be that we have allocated memory to the VMs to a point at the monitored threshold. Instead of it understanding that was allocated and basing memory utilization on the host based on its available memory (for the host OS), it reports warnings that it is low on memory resources. This should not be an option.
Read Swathi Aljala's full review

About SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No