SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Brian Ambarita | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

VMAN, hyperconverged utilization/performance monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is reliable when you have many virtualizations in your infrastructure. It helps you to maintain how effective & efficient you manage the virtualization with VMAN forecasting. Some customers have the problem where they can't manage multi hyper-converged into a single-pane dashboard, and VMAN makes it easier and faster.
Read Brian Ambarita's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2020

Get a better picture with SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is used by the IT department at our organization. VMAN is utilized by the department to run health checks and metrics. VMAN allows us to properly compare workload numbers from multiple days, weeks, months, and years. These comparisons let us determine when and how we need to add or remove resources from our virtual environment, both on-prem and cloud-based.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Brief but to the point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to manage our VMware servers. We use it to monitor and help manages these servers and address issues as they arise. It gives us the ability to plan for future growth with measuring CPU utilization, memory and HDD space.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Awesome product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Virtual Manager is being used for monitoring our vSAN clusters and accompanying VMs. We use it to bring alerting and performance analysis under one pane of glass.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization manager: a flexible way to manage your virtual environment.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using SolarWinds Virtualization Manager to help manage our VMWare environment. We have reports that indicate what VMs have snapshots, whether there are systems with memory ballooning, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Virtualization Manager consolidates the views of many environments into one easy-to-use solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using it within my department as it does not provide any value to the other departments. It is currently used with all of our other SolarWinds products that provide a fantastic monitoring environment that helps us find/resolve issues quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Current version isn't what it used to be!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Before I get started, you should know that I'm intentionally running v7.1, and all answers to this survey will be referring to that version. That's because future versions DO NOT deliver the information in the same way and the product has lost much of its value as a result. Support was NOT helpful in finding a solution or getting their "new" product to behave the same way. That said, to answer your question, I'm the only person in the company who uses VMAN daily, or at all, really. It gives me a "coffee-cup-view" each morning of how our hosts and VMs have been performing (Memory, CPU, IOPS, Network) and it is one of the first places I check when I get calls about performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

SolarWinds VM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to monitor all the network devices in our organization. It is used by IT and some other business units to monitor their critical devices. IT has been a great help for us in checking the bandwidth utilization and health of network devices in our environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is being used by the VMware team. It addresses the problem of not being able to easily see the health of the VMware environment. It gives the engineers the ability to see everything on a single pane of glass. You can see which VMs need more memory/resources and which have too much, in which resources can be reclaimed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Trying to wrangle your private cloud environment? Never send a child to do the work of a VMAN!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Building a consolidated view of the infrastructure that supports your virtualized environment is hard. App owners blame the OS. The OS admins blame the DBAs. The DBAs always blame storage. Everyone blames the network team. And, when all else fails, they blame virtualization. VMAN stitches together a consolidated view of your environment and let's you do it without investing in additional tools from VMware. Using the SolarWinds Orion authentication, you can even give non-admin users views and access to your environment through a single interface.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We had a member of the team on long term medical leave and we needed something that could help other members of the team monitor the VMWare infrastructure. This was the best option that we could afford. We found it fairly easy to configure and we tied it into the rest of our SolarWinds environment.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

VMAN is the Man

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Virtualization Manager is being used by the IT department to manage and monitor our relatively large, global VMware environment. We have issues with virtual machines being over provisoned, snapshots not consolidated or removed, VMware tools not kept up to date, hardware issues with ESXi hosts. Virtualization Manager was purchased after a successful POC to cover the entire estate and reduce the aforementioned problems.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

Look forward to using long term

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is vital to our full stack monitoring solution. Spanning global datacentres and branch offices SW VM provides full coverage of our virtual estate. It's main benefit is resource both in human and technical sense. As an engineer allowing me to diagnose and resolve outages in a significantly quicker timeframe. Benefitting both end users for internal systems but also our customers.

Its in depth coverage also allows us to identify wasteful resources and maximise our efficiency bringing real savings to infrastructure on premise costs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used to monitor our Vmware environment. It gives a clear view of the overall status of our 350+ virtualized servers allow us to see when we need to add more capacity of CPU, storage or IO.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Essential for a solid Virtual environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is used by the IT systems engineer. This tool enabled us to monitor all the virtual servers in the environment. It works across different platforms like VMware and Hyper-V. The system helped to detect virtual server problems before they occur and perform proactive maintenance. SolarWinds VMAN has advanced reporting capabilities and a customizable dashboard. We used this application to forecast the virtual environment growth and accordingly estimate annual budget.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Jez Marsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds VMAN Review - A service provider perspective.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As the Founder of Silverback Systems Services Ltd, an IT consultancy specialising in providing professional services to both end users and resellers of SolarWinds products, I find myself working with many different businesses who have a need to monitor their virtualisation infrastructure. Virtualisation Manager, or VMAN for short, is the best-in-class, vendor agnostic, tool which does that job in spades. Whether an organisation uses VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, or a combination of both, VMAN provides all the details an organisation could want on their hypervisor estate. When integrated with other Orion modules, such as Server and Application Manager (SAM) and Network Performance Monitor (NPM), you get visibility across the whole estate, using Orion's AppStack™ environment views. In my experience, once a business takes up an evaluation of VMAN, they quickly find it a key part of their infrastructure team's toolset.
Read Jez Marsh's full review
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager helps buisness go forward

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is used by the enterprise IT [department] to manage the VMWare environment daily. It gives deep insight beyond what vSphere can and also ties back to storage and hardware giving me a single pane of glass view.

Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
Austin Nickens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Great starting tool but not not the best for automation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Virtualization Manager for maintenance and some basic levels of automation. On the maintenance side we use it to clean up old snapshots and send Slack notifications to our channels of impending removal. We just implemented checks for the VMs in vCenter, specifically our DHCP servers, and it will automatically reboot the VM if it detects issues. This also sends Slack notifications and escalates before paging our IT team if the simple reboot doesn't fix the issue.
Read Austin Nickens's full review
Turnor Wootton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Our VMan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Virtualization Manager to get a complete view of our virtualized environment, VMware and HyperV in a single pane. Its use is focused in out IT infrastructure area. One benefit is the integration with other SolarWinds products such as Server Application Monitoring (SAM). This allows us to monitor the entire virtualization structure from performance at the guest level and how it impacts hosts performance.
Read Turnor Wootton's full review
Jennifer Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager - Good to GO - Go NOW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize SolarWinds Virtualization Manager on a daily basis to monitor 2 sites, 3 Clusters. I utilize virtualization manager along with other tools to ensure that we are proactive rather than reactive. The main dashboard is displayed on a wall monitor to ensure that the team has full visibility to the environment.

The tool tells you if you have VM ware tools out of day, attached media to the virtual machine, data store over allocation, host running low on disk space, VMs rebooted, VM Phantom Snapshot Files, ... the list goes on and on. You have great visibility into resource allocation across the whole environment. CPU Utilization, CPU Ready, Memory Utilization, Data store I/O latency. I can't appreciate this tool enough; you get more out of this tool simply by asking Virtualization manager to discover your environment.

Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

Can handle it in a single glass pane

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is great to have auto-monitoring from SolarWind's virtualization tool. We use this tool in our department. It is great if we want quick and fast results and solutions. It provides an accurate status of the system. I also like the way it can be used for monitoring troubleshooting and optimising; it's very simple to use. We use it for cleaning up data.
Read Swathi Aljala's full review
Andrius Labanavicius | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

SVM customisation and API benefits

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using SVM to monitor our networking devices from their hardware utilization to monitoring business networks critical links, syslog messages, netflow and performace as a whole. Currently SolarWinds is being used by our IT department which has different roles within. The entire platform has been separated for two types of users: Service desk and Infrastructure team.

Service desk is able to monitor all our devices and would be alerted in a prompt manner if any issues would appear. This is very useful for escalation process within the business in scenarios where critical business services are down. They are restricted to certain uses of the platform though.

Infrastructure team is administrating all of the devices added to the platform, we are actively using SolarWinds API for our internal processes which are expanding rapidly with the ease use of the API.
Read Andrius Labanavicius's full review

About SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No