TrustRadius
SolarWinds Help Desk will help you streamline your supportWe have been using SolarWinds Web Help Desk across our whole organization to better support our core end-user base. By implementing this product we have created a more efficient ticketing system to meet current SLAs for our company. Since its implementation, our goals have been met more often and our end users are happier with the level of support received. Customized reporting has allowed us to track all metrics and make our service better overall.,Customized reporting allows us to track our service and support better, and find where we need improvements. This allows us to constantly upgrade our service levels and keep the customers happy. Detailed tracking and response to the end users have led to quicker remediation of tickets. We are able to see where we need a better response or where to add additional resources for support. Overall metrics allow us to staff properly for our tickets by location and remote users.,Some of the initial setup could use better instruction. Customization will grow with experience with the product. Fortunately, there are good forums and support to help with this. Reporting is the same but we have found great help from the vendor and other resources on the web to get our reporting where we want it.,10,Overall we have become more efficient using this tool and our ROI for implementing this has been great. By having a service tool that can manage inventory, tickets, as well as change management just to name a few, our company is better off in our support. The core business community has seen quicker responses to tickets through use of the ticketing tool. Business continuity has had less disruptions as we are better able to anticipate or respond to issues. Finance has been happier with our ability to do cost analysis by using the various tools in SolarWinds help desk.,SysAid,Cisco WebEx Teams (formerly Cisco Spark), Splunk Enterprise, Citrix Hypervisor (formerly XenServer)No-frills help desk ticketing systemOur university uses Solarwinds Web help Desk as our primary ticketing system for students, faculty, and staff. It helps delegate tasks automatically to the appropriate techs within the information systems department. We also have it connected to our mobile device management system which allows asset information to be added to each ticket automatically if a user has a system enrolled.,Email notifications are pretty good; you can add hidden notes, close/resolve/update tickets just by selecting the appropriate link in the email that is sent when a ticket is created or edited. It provides a great deal of information to both the user and tech. It allows us to automatically update asset information with our mobile device management system by using an extension.,The Web Help Desk mobile application for iOS is severely lacking. Sometimes email notifications can be very cluttered. It's built on WebObjects which has been deprecated by Apple for many years. It's a little click-heavy.,6,Positive - Allows us to create granular reports to address problem areas fairly quickly Positive - Routes tickets to appropriate tech/team based on user problem selection,Zendesk, Freshdesk and Spiceworks,Jamf Pro, SlackHelp! Desk.We use SolarWinds web help desk across the enterprise. We are using internally and with our customer facing services.,Capture incidents and resolutions Transforming resolutions to self help Reduces cost of repeat incidents by allowing proactive engagements,We would like to see it integrated with the top 3 cloud providers Better integration with other solarwinds tools,7,Turn around times for my technicians reduced equals more productivity which equals dollars. Self help means we add real dollar value to our customer where they don't pay for an incident.,Spiceworks and Microsoft Azure,Microsoft Azure, Microsoft Dynamics GP, Intuit PayrollSolarWinds Web Help Desk is an adequate solution, but there are better options out there.SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD) is utilized by the IT department to manage work orders and trouble tickets. The tickets are generated via email from the end users, or manually by the technician. This allows us to monitor the time and resources it takes to support our organization and also provides us with a central managing point for data regarding work orders or trouble tickets.,Automatically creates trouble tickets via email. This allows our users to create their own tickets and allows the technicians to review the queue and prioritize the work, allowing for more efficient production. Automatically corresponds with end users and technicians. Any changes made to a ticket can be automatically sent to all parties referenced in a ticket. Ticket updates via email. WHD also allows for tickets to be modified by email responses by clicking links in the corresponding emails it modifies the subject line which in turn updates the ticket when it is processed. For example, I can click the link to close the ticket in the email, type up a solution, and send the email and the ticket will automatically update and close out.,Built-in inventory scanning. This system is very cumbersome and problematic. We eventually gave up on utilizing it as it was generating numerous duplicate entries. Software tracking. When the inventory scanning did work, the end results were not very efficient. We would have liked to have the ability to search for systems with Office 2013 installed on them for example, but their was no easy way to do that. Reliability. We find the server needs to be rebooted every couple of weeks as it slows to a crawl. This isn't a huge inconvenience to our small IT department, but it is an annoyance.,6,Provides a positive experience to our end-users in managing trouble tickets and work orders. Provides a positive experience to our technicians allowing them to be more productive in their daily duties. Provides a positive experience to manage allowing us to run reports and research measurable data to find areas of improvement.,BMC Track-It!,MS SharePoint, Windows Server, Symantec Backup ExecSolarWinds WHD ReviewOur IT department uses it to track issues and manage the workload and see what to prioritize our time on.,Keeps us organized Accepts incoming email Decent reporting AD integration,Layout can be confusing Integration with other products (ex: Lansweeper),7,Keeps us organized. Helps us track stuff we're working on and get an idea of what the status is across the department. Reporting for higher ups to see what exactly IT is working on.,Autotask and ServiceDesk Plus,MS SharePoint, Lansweeper, Lanteria HR,3,2,IT issues organization Reporting for CTO and COO,We don't have users email in tickets. We don't have users get notified of the tickets being created.,Possibly used to track requests for office services (supplies and other office related needs),7,Merging tickets Assigning tickets Creating tickets,Setting up alerting dashboard not very good,7
Unspecified
SolarWinds Web Help Desk
25 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Reviews

SolarWinds Web Help Desk
25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 25 vetted SolarWinds Web Help Desk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Eric Krueger profile photo
December 07, 2018

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "SolarWinds Help Desk will help you streamline your support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SolarWinds Web Help Desk across our whole organization to better support our core end-user base. By implementing this product we have created a more efficient ticketing system to meet current SLAs for our company. Since its implementation, our goals have been met more often and our end users are happier with the level of support received. Customized reporting has allowed us to track all metrics and make our service better overall.
  • Customized reporting allows us to track our service and support better, and find where we need improvements. This allows us to constantly upgrade our service levels and keep the customers happy.
  • Detailed tracking and response to the end users have led to quicker remediation of tickets. We are able to see where we need a better response or where to add additional resources for support.
  • Overall metrics allow us to staff properly for our tickets by location and remote users.
  • Some of the initial setup could use better instruction.
  • Customization will grow with experience with the product. Fortunately, there are good forums and support to help with this.
  • Reporting is the same but we have found great help from the vendor and other resources on the web to get our reporting where we want it.
One of the main issues for us is tracking overdue tickets and how they can be better resolved. Missed SLA's are also better tracked to show our team how to avoid this by giving better support or passing along to another level if needed. The reporting mechanism allows us to change on the fly to see where we are lacking support and where we may have too many resources staffed. By utilizing these reports we can move resources around to have better coverage.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
John Mahlman IV profile photo
November 14, 2017

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "No-frills help desk ticketing system"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our university uses Solarwinds Web help Desk as our primary ticketing system for students, faculty, and staff. It helps delegate tasks automatically to the appropriate techs within the information systems department. We also have it connected to our mobile device management system which allows asset information to be added to each ticket automatically if a user has a system enrolled.
  • Email notifications are pretty good; you can add hidden notes, close/resolve/update tickets just by selecting the appropriate link in the email that is sent when a ticket is created or edited.
  • It provides a great deal of information to both the user and tech.
  • It allows us to automatically update asset information with our mobile device management system by using an extension.
  • The Web Help Desk mobile application for iOS is severely lacking.
  • Sometimes email notifications can be very cluttered.
  • It's built on WebObjects which has been deprecated by Apple for many years.
  • It's a little click-heavy.
I feel that Web Help Desk would be appropriate for technical users or for people that require a great deal of customization without a lot of frills.

A small organization, or an organization that employs many non-technical people may find Web help Desk to be too utilitarian and/or difficult to use.
Read John Mahlman IV's full review
Eric Nuckols profile photo
July 25, 2017

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "Help! Desk."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds web help desk across the enterprise. We are using internally and with our customer facing services.
  • Capture incidents and resolutions
  • Transforming resolutions to self help
  • Reduces cost of repeat incidents by allowing proactive engagements
  • We would like to see it integrated with the top 3 cloud providers
  • Better integration with other solarwinds tools
I think it's a great fit for service providers who are moving to a cloud based model for their business and moving customers to a cloud based model.
Read Eric Nuckols's full review
Tim Twiss profile photo
June 03, 2016

Review: "SolarWinds Web Help Desk is an adequate solution, but there are better options out there."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD) is utilized by the IT department to manage work orders and trouble tickets. The tickets are generated via email from the end users, or manually by the technician. This allows us to monitor the time and resources it takes to support our organization and also provides us with a central managing point for data regarding work orders or trouble tickets.
  • Automatically creates trouble tickets via email. This allows our users to create their own tickets and allows the technicians to review the queue and prioritize the work, allowing for more efficient production.
  • Automatically corresponds with end users and technicians. Any changes made to a ticket can be automatically sent to all parties referenced in a ticket.
  • Ticket updates via email. WHD also allows for tickets to be modified by email responses by clicking links in the corresponding emails it modifies the subject line which in turn updates the ticket when it is processed. For example, I can click the link to close the ticket in the email, type up a solution, and send the email and the ticket will automatically update and close out.
  • Built-in inventory scanning. This system is very cumbersome and problematic. We eventually gave up on utilizing it as it was generating numerous duplicate entries.
  • Software tracking. When the inventory scanning did work, the end results were not very efficient. We would have liked to have the ability to search for systems with Office 2013 installed on them for example, but their was no easy way to do that.
  • Reliability. We find the server needs to be rebooted every couple of weeks as it slows to a crawl. This isn't a huge inconvenience to our small IT department, but it is an annoyance.
SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD) is best suited for a smaller environment, at least with its built-in resources. Perhaps using third party scanners or database engines would provide better results, but we wanted to keep the costs down.
Read Tim Twiss's full review
Chris John profile photo
April 15, 2016

SolarWinds Web Help Desk: "SolarWinds WHD Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department uses it to track issues and manage the workload and see what to prioritize our time on.
  • Keeps us organized
  • Accepts incoming email
  • Decent reporting
  • AD integration
  • Layout can be confusing
  • Integration with other products (ex: Lansweeper)
SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD) has helped us keep track of issues. I do like the fact that the AD integration works well. I feel though that the system overall feels a bit sparse. There is a personal dashboard that you can set up for each user but it only has a few options and just is very bare.
Read Chris John's full review
Zachary Estevez profile photo
April 01, 2016

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "Good Product That Requires Tailoring"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Web Help Desk used to be used as the organization's ticketing system. It was being used by all IT staff. It was implemented in order to provide an environment for us to launch our CCF initiative.
  • Ticketing
  • Asset Management
  • Group Management
  • Change Control is not natively built in. It took a large amount of time to tweak WHD to perform this task by creating mailing groups, approvals, etc.
  • The calendar function for setting up return for rented equipment in the asset management could be done better. Perhaps provide a widget that alerts the users of when and what needs to be returned and upcoming retrievals of equipment.
  • Make custom trees for ticketing types easier to create. It would generally take me 30-45 minutes to create a new ticketing type and sub types. It shouldn't take that long.
SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD) is not going to be useful for a small sized business. However, if you can get your co-workers involved in the process it can become a good asset for larger deployments. This is solely based on whether or not you have co-workers that are willing to use all of the features of WHD effectively.
Read Zachary Estevez's full review
Michael Santangelo profile photo
September 15, 2015

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "Web Help Desk Will Help Your I.T. Staff Be The Most Popular People In Your Organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed SolarWinds Web Help Desk in a school district for use by teachers and administrators to report issues with technology in our district. The Tech Department (6 people) access the technician side, while just about 800 teachers and administration staff access the client portion of the system. The only people who do not have access to put in tickets are the students - they have to ask teachers to report the issues directly to us. It really helps get a handle on what issues are occurring, the frequency with which they occur, and which people we can count on to give us the best information.
  • Client/Location History Is Very Helpful
  • AD/LDAP Integration Is Easy
  • SolarWinds Support Is Very Responsive
  • DameWare Remote Control Integration Is Useful
  • FAQ System Is A Big Time Saver
  • Messages System Helps Prevent A Flood Of Tickets Over Known Issues
  • Support occasionally misses the mark (e.g. usually simple misunderstandings or mis-communications)
  • Intermittent UI bugs (e.g.: fields disappear until page refreshes)
  • AD/LDAP imports can be quirky (e.g.: user name changes, deactivates old user, makes new user instead of just renaming user)
  • Reports can be tricky to write
I think it is well suited for an environment where AD/LDAP integration is a must, and in situations where tracking individual part prices for billing purposes. It's also great where you need to track problematic users or rooms. The ticket history is amazing. This might be too much for a small-ish shop, but for large to medium groups this is a great piece of help desk software.
Read Michael Santangelo's full review
Michael Chelone profile photo
September 21, 2015

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "Web Help Desk is a boon to IT management and Asset Compliance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used SolarWinds Web Help Desk at my old district. When I moved to my new position and saw the ticket system in place and our lack of inventory management I knew that implementation of SolarWinds Web Help Desk at my new job was going to be a huge boon. Not only has it simplified ticket responses but has allowed for robust inventory tracking. Integration with Active Directory has been a huge plus as well as planned SCCM integration for our inventory. Current implementation is only for our IT department but planned expansion to HR and operations is on-going as the benefits of a single platform and communication have already been readily seen.
  • Customized ticket assignment, and routing.
  • Asset management and tracking.
  • Client, ticket and asset linkage.
  • More variance in dashboard tracking.
  • Second phone option for clients.
  • Better way to track software.
  • Reporting can always use more help.
Still wish there was a better way to do on-boarding as generating multiple tickets seems a huge waste, would prefer a checklist style system integrated into the ticket with the ability to assign to multiple technicians.

Day to day tickets on the other hand are far simpler and easy to manage as well as meta issues being tied to a single ticket.
Read Michael Chelone's full review
No photo available
September 25, 2015

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Review: "District Approved"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Web Help Desk was used by all district staff to open and track the status on technology related request. Our technical support staff used the system to update their tickets, track trends, create an FAQ database to assist teachers with some initial troubleshooting, notify the district of a outage or maintenance. We also used it track district inventory on all district owned equipment, this included of over 5000 student iPads and chargers.
  • I love the dashboard. Being about to see a quick snapshot into what is going on was helpful when tracking trends and see where we were as a whole.
  • The system is very user friendly for the end user. It makes entering a ticket very easy. This is one place that we continued to struggle before moving to SolarWinds Web Help Desk and our staff was ecstatic at will how easy it was to enter tickets and find out the status of an existing ticket
  • Custom and automatic reports. We found this to be extremely helpful and it was not dependent on someone pulling the trigger.
  • We did struggle with some of the inventory features. Because we were dealing with over 5000 iPads we found the check in and check out process very cumbersome and difficult to complete in a timely manner. There were to many steps where people had to type, click and some times we found that it would time out and not save the changes
  • When creating invoices, we were not able to get the student name to be the bill to. It would always default to the Client Admin for the location. Again, we did find a work around but it takes more time and sometimes we were short on time
  • Students would make payments on their invoices but we also found that was not something that worked well in this system.
SolarWinds Web Help Desk works well to enter, track and update service requests. The reporting features are wonderful and it provides great information that can be used to make decisions. There is some set up that needs to take place to use this product but the consultant we worked with was very helpful and the documentation that they provided us allowed us to customize the product as we saw fit. This was also a huge bonus.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2015

Review: "SolarWinds Web Help Desk is a Great Tool!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially began using the product strictly to manage our hardware assets. We were dissatisfied with the ticketing system we were using so we began evaluating the ticket module in SolarWinds Web Help Desk. We started with one small team and have expanded its use to our IT Help Desk and HR representatives. The solution works well in both environments.
  • SolarWinds Web Help Desk is easy to configure and customize. Some other, more complex solutions have more capabilities, but if they are so difficult to configure that they aren't used, the are useless.
  • SolarWinds Web Help Desk does an excellent job of managing hardware asset information. This is critical in assigning tickets with accurate information.
  • We have had spotty success with technical support. While adequate, I would like to see the support match the functionality of the product.
Does the product, as written, meet my needs? Do not rely on planned future upgrades or enhancements. Purchase the product based on current capabilities, not it's potential. This is not unique to SolarWinds Web Help Desk, this is any software package.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (10)
8.2
Expert directory (6)
6.8
Service restoration (5)
8.1
Self-service tools (9)
8.4
Subscription-based notifications (9)
8.8
ITSM collaboration and documentation (7)
6.6
ITSM reports and dashboards (8)
7.2
Configuration mangement (9)
7.8
Asset management dashboard (7)
6.5
Policy and contract enforcement (3)
8.5
Change requests repository (4)
8.9
Change calendar (5)
8.9
Service-level management (5)
9.2

About SolarWinds Web Help Desk

SolarWinds Web Help Desk is ticketing and IT asset management software. It is designed to simplify help desk management. This solution includes built-in ticketing management, asset management, change management, and knowledge base capabilities.

SolarWinds Web Help Desk Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No