TrustRadius
Sophos Endpoint Protection is endpoint security and antivirus software from UK-based Sophos.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ID/V4/TPU9Q91FBC7S.pngSophos Endpoint - An essential component in a modern antimalware/security platform.We use Sophos Endpoint Protection on our internal equipment, as well as client computers/servers. The product enables us to manage AntiVirus, Encryption, and Next Gen AntiMalware in a single portal with a single agent. The protection we get from this combo is second to none, and that's where the real value of this product comes through - tight integration to the entire platform...,Simple Installation. Clean reporting. Single pane of glass management with other Sophos products.,Client can occasionally be more resource intensive than we would like...,10,Customers on Sophos have yet to manage to encrypt a PC with malware. It's that simple - we don't have to fight those fires anymore...,Bitdefender GravityZone, VIPRE and AVG AntiVirus Business Edition,Zoom, Ubuntu Linux, ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect),Yes,Product Features Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Analyst Reports,If we had it to do again, we would have simply done it sooner... This change has freed my helpdesk team up to do more valuable tasks instead of fighting fires because a user was able to click a link that contained malware to spite our best efforts to protect them with legacy software platforms.Sophos Endpoint the Right Tool for Any EnvironmentWe use Sophos to protect all the machines in our environment. We also have the cloud set up so when our mobile users connect in the world we can make sure they get updates from the Sophos Database. We also get alerts if a system has not updated in a while which helps us find computers that are not used that often.,Licensing is per user not, machine. So a user could have multiple machines and not have to purchase so many licenses Notifications for issues on devices where it has not contacted system in awhile Notification when there is a threat that was cleaned and if any additional action is needed. Blocking unwanted applications from running in the background when browsing the internet,I honestly cannot thing of anything negative about the Endpoint protection.,9,We have had an outbreak threat that started to encrypt our files and we were able to stop and roll back the changes it made automatically using Sophos. We have had a few instances where it was blocking Java programs but we allowed those on the interface so the work by our NOC techs could continue without issues.,ESET Endpoint Security,Sophos Phish Threat, DameWare Remote Support, SolarWinds Web Help Desk,150,2,Antivirus protection Endpoint policy setup and maintenance Can uninstall PUA on detection with administrators ok,Able to group with other Sophos products to provide better protection. Cloud management so i am able to monitor anywhere without having to connect to my network.,Might be able to add more sophos products in the future and maintain them all from the cloud management,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product,Not sure we would change anything about our evaluation process in the future,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Some applications needed permission to run but was able to easily do that via policy.,9,9,No,Had an issue where one of my computers failed to install fully. The support team was able to fix the issue and instruct me on what they were doing so i could fix it on another device if it happens again.,The interface on the cloud management system is very easy to use and follow.,Not sure I have found anything cumbersome to setup or use on Sophos Endpoint protection,9Great Endpoint Protection SolutionWe use Sophos Endpoint Protection for threat detection and prevention. It's deployed across our endpoints and other resources to provide antimalware protection, monitor our web resources and emails in real time and to protect us against ransomware attacks. After being a victim of ransomware attack, we switched to Sophos endpoint protection and it has been able to provide complete protection against ransomware and malware attacks over the years, thus providing peace of mind for us.,This product provides excellent protection against malware and its database is usually updated regularly to provide protection against even the newest malware This product gives far less false positive alerts than most products I've used Sophos Intercept X is a wonderful artificial intelligence solution that works better than most competing product's solutions. It provides excellent protection against ransomware attacks and hasn't failed since we steered using it,The web console looks dated and surely needs some improvements Support is very slow to respond It lacks customization when compared to some other popular solutions,8,It keeps us safe from malware attacks, thus giving us peace of mind to focus on our work, thereby increasing productivity It provides protection against ransomware attacks that are usually very expensive to resolve once they occur and usually leads to loss of important files and resources.,Norton Internet Security,Webroot SecureAnywhereThe easiest and most reliable security software out there!We use Sophos Endpoint Protection to provide an extra layer of security for our users. We deployed this software to our entire organization. The great thing is, I do not believe the majority of users are even aware that it exists. It runs completely silent in the background. It also makes management and monitoring very easy since all instances can be modified and changed in the cloud.,Easy, simple, centralized management makes this software a breeze to administer. The latest definitions update quietly and frequently. This provides great peace of mind knowing that your users will be protected from the latest threats. Deployment is very easy! It's a quick install and it simply does not malfunction once it's installed.,I literally have nothing negative to say about this software.,10,Sophos Endpoint Protection has made life easy for me, as an administrator. It is easily deployed, configured and maintained. This software has saved a lot of time. It stays up to date reliably, which saves me from having to go investigate why the latest definitions package was not installed. We have not had any security issues since it was deployed years ago. That alone makes Sophos Endpoint Protection a winner!,Symantec Endpoint Protection,Malwarebytes, Sophos UTMSophos makes financial and security sense.We implemented Sophos Endpoint Protection across our organization a couple of years ago and it has been the best solution we have seen to date. We installed this across our entire company and even implemented it into a new company that was recently acquired. Security is obviously at the fore-front of all of our minds, and Sophos has given us peace of mind.,Sophos Endpoint Protection installs very easily Sophos Endpoint Protection is very unobtrusive on the clients and doesn't get in the way of doing any other tasks. We have had no breaches since we installed Sophos and feel very confident in its protection,It may be nice to have a weekly/monthly digest to see what is going on and how the protection is holding up.,8,Sophos has allowed our IT team to set it and forget it and reduced our overall time spent managing our Security on our Network The value for the price of Sophos has been the best I've seen in my 15 years at my company,Symantec Advanced Threat Protection, Kaspersky Endpoint Security and Trend Micro Endpoint Security,Infor VISUAL, JIRA Software, VMware vCenter Server, vSphere, Microsoft SQL Server, Veeam ONE, Veeam Backup & Replication
Unspecified
Sophos Endpoint Protection
57 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Sophos EPP Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Sophos EPP
57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 58 vetted Sophos EPP reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-16 of 16)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Alex Farling profile photo
December 13, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos Endpoint - An essential component in a modern antimalware/security platform."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Sophos Endpoint Protection on our internal equipment, as well as client computers/servers. The product enables us to manage AntiVirus, Encryption, and Next Gen AntiMalware in a single portal with a single agent. The protection we get from this combo is second to none, and that's where the real value of this product comes through - tight integration to the entire platform...
  • Simple Installation.
  • Clean reporting.
  • Single pane of glass management with other Sophos products.
  • Client can occasionally be more resource intensive than we would like...
We use it everywhere, including mixed environments / Mac and Linux deployments. Where it may not be well suited is for extremely budget-conscious customers who are not willing to adopt the whole solution stack - that said, you get what you pay for and Sophos is cost competitive against other solutions.
Read Alex Farling's full review
Ryhlen Schoeberl profile photo
November 26, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos Endpoint the Right Tool for Any Environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sophos to protect all the machines in our environment. We also have the cloud set up so when our mobile users connect in the world we can make sure they get updates from the Sophos Database. We also get alerts if a system has not updated in a while which helps us find computers that are not used that often.

  • Licensing is per user not, machine. So a user could have multiple machines and not have to purchase so many licenses
  • Notifications for issues on devices where it has not contacted system in awhile
  • Notification when there is a threat that was cleaned and if any additional action is needed.
  • Blocking unwanted applications from running in the background when browsing the internet
  • I honestly cannot thing of anything negative about the Endpoint protection.
I like it in our environment. 2e paired it with Sophos Intercept X for added protection where it detects unusual changes and rollback from changes that threats have made. All the information is on the same interface as well easy to use and deploy. Not sure what scenario it would not be able to be used in.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
Frank William profile photo
July 11, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Great Endpoint Protection Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sophos Endpoint Protection for threat detection and prevention. It's deployed across our endpoints and other resources to provide antimalware protection, monitor our web resources and emails in real time and to protect us against ransomware attacks. After being a victim of ransomware attack, we switched to Sophos endpoint protection and it has been able to provide complete protection against ransomware and malware attacks over the years, thus providing peace of mind for us.
  • This product provides excellent protection against malware and its database is usually updated regularly to provide protection against even the newest malware
  • This product gives far less false positive alerts than most products I've used
  • Sophos Intercept X is a wonderful artificial intelligence solution that works better than most competing product's solutions. It provides excellent protection against ransomware attacks and hasn't failed since we steered using it
  • The web console looks dated and surely needs some improvements
  • Support is very slow to respond
  • It lacks customization when compared to some other popular solutions
It's well suited for mainly small and midsized organizations concerned about protecting their computers and other resources from everyday threats such as malware, viruses and ransomware attacks.
Read Frank William's full review
Matt Rogers profile photo
September 07, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "The easiest and most reliable security software out there!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sophos Endpoint Protection to provide an extra layer of security for our users. We deployed this software to our entire organization. The great thing is, I do not believe the majority of users are even aware that it exists. It runs completely silent in the background. It also makes management and monitoring very easy since all instances can be modified and changed in the cloud.
  • Easy, simple, centralized management makes this software a breeze to administer.
  • The latest definitions update quietly and frequently. This provides great peace of mind knowing that your users will be protected from the latest threats.
  • Deployment is very easy! It's a quick install and it simply does not malfunction once it's installed.
  • I literally have nothing negative to say about this software.
I think this software has a place at both large and small organizations. It is easily able to be scaled to any number of clients. It is great if you want to employ centralized management of your security software. It is great in scenarios where the IT staff simply does not have the time to troubleshoot software that should just work. I cannot think of a scenario where this software would not be beneficial!
Read Matt Rogers's full review
Jon Shurtliff profile photo
October 01, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos makes financial and security sense."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Sophos Endpoint Protection across our organization a couple of years ago and it has been the best solution we have seen to date.
We installed this across our entire company and even implemented it into a new company that was recently acquired. Security is obviously at the fore-front of all of our minds, and Sophos has given us peace of mind.
  • Sophos Endpoint Protection installs very easily
  • Sophos Endpoint Protection is very unobtrusive on the clients and doesn't get in the way of doing any other tasks.
  • We have had no breaches since we installed Sophos and feel very confident in its protection
  • It may be nice to have a weekly/monthly digest to see what is going on and how the protection is holding up.
Sophos has been great for our Medium-sized company and has allowed us to focus on other tasks instead of worrying about security.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Happy Sophos AV End user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is being used across the whole organization. We mainly use it as an advanced anti-virus solution to protect end users from malware and viruses. It has cut our monthly infections down to almost 1 or 2 a month from being much higher before implementation
  • Cloud based management is much easier than its on-prem solution
  • Easy to install and easy to get updates
  • Easy on the CPU but still very powerful
  • The migration from on-prem sophos to cloud sophos, could have been a little more seamless
  • Would love to get more insight on what was blocked or flagged and what it was trying to do
  • Better and more granular feature management from group policies
It is ranked highly by Gartner for a reason, the cost and performance are great. They stay up to date with virus engines. Every company really should have anti-virus even Mac computers. We run Sophos on sensitive computers too because it is not hard on the CPU and is pretty silent when its working well
Read this authenticated review
Paul Li profile photo
May 31, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos Packs a Punch"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In October of last year, our then IT consultants advised our Los Angeles office to switch from AVG to Sophos Endpoint protection. We were told that Sophos Endpoint Protection is a superior virus protection program. AVG had given us a number of problems by frequently detecting false positives and quarantining programs we use quite often in our organization. So AVG along with Malwarebytes were both uninstalled from all our workstations & our servers replaced by the single protection program Sophos Endpoint Protection.
  • Sophos Endpoint Protection provides a web portal for the administrator to login. Here the administrator can examine and track which computer devices are being protected from virus attacks.
  • The Sophos Endpoint Protection web portal provides a dashboard entry page that shows a summary of what viruses may have been detected and quarantined. In addition this dashboard landing page shows a summary of alert messages sent from the protected computers like when a reboot is needed from a server after software updates.
  • From the Sophos Endpoint Protection web portal various agents like for workstations as well as for servers can be downloaded for deployment. Here you can quickly find and install the agent for the Windows OS, Mac OS and even how to proceed with mobile device protections.
  • Though the Sophos Endpoint Protection agent for workstations is fairly competitive in cost, especially when with one agent we're protected from both viruses & malware intrusions, the agent to protect our servers are doubled in price. In order for Sophos Endpoint protection to compete with other comparable products, the price for server protection should be lowered.
  • Though Sophos Endpoint Protection is supposed to be a superior antivirus protection program, we did encounter slowness specifically when attempting to open PDFs using the Adobe Acrobat program. Further research did show that Adobe Acrobat with "Protected Mode" enabled may cause this problem. The solution was to switch to other PDF applications and the problem was resolved.
  • Unfortunately, Sophos is just not as well known as some of its competitors like AVG & Symantec. Perhaps more marketing from the company would help make this very powerful virus protection program become more of a household name.
Sophos Endpoint Protection is more well suited for larger organizations where they require protection from serious attacks, especially on the server side. With their robust high powered agent specifically designed for the server, large corporations would have no problems in paying a more heftier price to protect their servers compared to their workstations.

Read Paul Li's full review
Alex Waitkus, CISSP-ISSAP, OSCP profile photo
April 04, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos - Leader and Trusted"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos is a leader in the endpoint protection market. Manageability, system behavior, signature base are all top notch and can compete against any end-point protection software on the market. Sophos was a replacement for Kaspersky for enterprise-wide endpoint protection on workstations and servers. It is easy to deploy and is a reliable signature-based endpoint protection suite.
  • Malicious file identification
  • Signature-based detection
  • Web-based protection
  • Signature visibility
  • Direct endpoint management - it seems this feature has gone away in recent versions
I cant think of any endpoint protection scenarios where Sophos Endpoint Protection is not appropriate for deployment, perhaps restricted deployments that only allow one-way traffic (data diodes). Sophos is great for Mac, Windows, Linux, and server environments. It is easy to deploy and manage through its admin utility. Some direct endpoint management functionality has disappeared in recent versions.
Read Alex Waitkus, CISSP-ISSAP, OSCP's full review
Mauro Ruscelli profile photo
June 01, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "The best solution I ever use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sophos endpoint for the protection of all the pc servers and Macs in the company in a worldwide environment. Not only in [our] corporate [office], but also in branches and all our stores spread around the world. We have worked with Sophos for many years without any problem, and this is what I search for in a software like this.
  • Web control on the client, also if it’s not connected to the company it works well
  • We use also the Intercept X module to prevent attacks on non-signature based [issues] . And it’s really powerful.
  • It’s multiplatform also for Mac
  • Doesn’t use a lot of hardware resources
  • The deploy in a large environment is not easy, with the on-premise central server sometimes the deployment doesn’t work.
  • With the cloud console, the deployment feature doesn’t exist, you must use third-party tools, but with a problem. The executable that must be downloaded expires after one month from the download and if you forget this the deploy in any new machine fails.
  • The web console need improvement is slow and with poor function.
I suggest Sophos in any environment because I think that it’s doing good work and [provides] good protection. This is most important for an endpoint protection [tool].
Read Mauro Ruscelli's full review
No photo available
June 01, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Strong capabilities and easy day to day administration."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos is being used across our entire organization. As we have distributed locations, having Sophos cloud helps us both deploy easily but also makes day to day management and remediation simpler. We were looking for a tool that was meaningful in the sense of security but also simple to manage and having a fast learning curve. Another benefit for us is that it has been easy to add capabilities such as protection against ransomware and more.
  • Cloud dashboard has easy UI and the product is generally easy to manage. The capabilities are strong, so we don't have to compromise between usability and features.
  • We've been happy with the detection capabilities and feel generally well protected.
  • The pricing has been fairly aggressive, which is welcome in a midsize organization.
  • Alerts are meaningful, making it easy for us to act and re-mediate issues.
  • The MacOS client has been just as strong as the Windows client.
  • We have to create new users in the access management part but Sophos also creates a new user based on every windows login. It'd be preferable if the system could automatically reconcile the user accounts.
  • Special care needs to be used when planning when the client scans/updates, as this sometimes can be felt by the end-users.
  • Would prefer if they didn't sell core security products separately, but included them all in one platform.
Sophos Endpoint Protection is great for smaller and midsize companies. It offers well-rounded protection capabilities while also being user-friendly enough that small and medium companies can easily adopt and maintain it while offering a great overview of your devices. For larger enterprises, integrating with a directory seems to be essential to allow for reconciliation of user accounts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 30, 2018

Sophos EPP Review: "Best in its class"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos Endpoint Protection is one of the industry leaders in providing information security services for enterprises. They offer a whole range of security features for an enterprise. We use their client end protection as well as more advanced firewall security. It offers real time protection for our IT resources including web, mail and all sorts of malware protection.
  • The company offers one stop service for all security related needs.
  • Excellent Malware protection and recovery.
  • Deployment and configuration is a breeze using the consolidated web management console.
  • Software can get bloated at times and consume lots of resources on machines, especially while performing incremental updates.
  • Some emails and attachments are incorrectly flagged as dangerous.
  • We had some issues while integrating Digital Guardian with Sophos, since it kept on blocking OS updates on the machines.
I think it's an excellent all in one antivirus protection software. It filters out malware and flags potentially dangerous websites as well.

We went with the cloud version of the software suite instead of hosting it on premises. It has an extremely simple all in one web management console. Sophos End Point Protection suite comes with a very well designed and comprehensive web management console. It is the single point of access for numerous services.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2018

"Sophos Endpoint Protection Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos is a legitimate endpoint product. At first, I was skeptical by their claims of being able to block CryptoLocker, but seeing it work first hand was extremely impressive. Using this product has saved us countless hours recovering by encryption and they also offer a free home product that is just as good.
  • Preventing viruses
  • Centrally identifying malicious behavior
  • Backing up good files BEFORE a disaster
  • This is one of the best products in this area that I have seen, so not much room for improvement
  • Software can always cost less, but they offer a free home version
We have successfully used this in small to medium sized companies. It is hands down one of the best solutions out there in this area. Restorations are simple, central management is a breeze as well as deployment. Pricing is reasonable as well, as the ROI is very high (especially if a user gets an infection).
Read this authenticated review
Juan Carlos Sanchez Pignalosa profile photo
April 18, 2017

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos EndPoint most awarded Features"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Sophos EndPoint Protection is widely used by organizations that want robust protection, along with other functionality. It resolves the problems of virus infection, web & mail downloads and mostly real-time protection. When customers ask me, "why Sophos EndPoint"? I answer; "Support is awesome, definitions are awesome, why not?". We are in a digital era where everything moves very quickly, Sophos has adopted to this situation, and convert it into a strengths by always keeping ahead of needs. For example, the latest module "Add On" that Sophos provides is Anti Exploit Prevention, to protect users against ransomware.
  • Malware Detection
  • Awesome Performance (does not impact OS and/or Hardware performance).
  • Top of the line worldwide Support.
  • Multi OS Compatability with just one installer (for Windows) and Multi OS's compatability for management (one single console, centrally manages WinOS, MacOS, LinuxOS, etc).
  • The console is still based in local application, when many other vendors offers Web management
  • Lots of room for default generated Reports
  • Migration tools for end user to be able to migrate from one server to another (changing many parameters such as Server Name, IP Address, etc).
Sophos EndPoint exceeds today's IT Needs and protection, since it outperforms competitors on many levels, such as detection and performance. It is difficult to find tools that perform so well, and also to detection. ISophos EndPoint is suitable for every organization since enterprise grade protection and communication exist (via SUMs "Sophos Update Managers") for remote offices and branch offices. Sophos EndPoint is less suitable for small companies, which only needs anti-malware. Sophos EndPoint Protection, at its most basic level, offers Web and multiple modules of protection.
Read Juan Carlos Sanchez Pignalosa's full review
Evan Miller profile photo
March 14, 2017

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos - No Nonsense Protection Deployment"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos EndPoint is currently being utilized across the whole organization on all leased/purchased Windows based computers. It is deployed via scripting in Group Policy for OUs. It is providing adequate protection on our endpoints and provides peace of mind to end users knowing that their work PCs are being actively scanned for threats.
  • Deployment and implementation was relatively easy to do
  • Reporting of issues to users via the desktop app and steps taken to remedy
  • The application just seems bloated and resource hungry. Four different app listings in programs and features for this protection.
  • Malware remediation could be better. Doesn't remove infections of this type well.
For larger enterprises, the deployment capabilities of this protection suite are well suited. If you are in a smaller business or IT shop there are probably other more cost-effective and better-suited protection suites available.
Read Evan Miller's full review
Kyle Farago profile photo
April 12, 2016

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos - #1 Endpoint Security"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Sophos in our entire company on all of the desktops, laptops, and servers throughout our various offices and mobile sites. With its simple integration through MSSC we are able to automatically deploy it to all of the machines on our network, as well as any new computers we bring online and pretty much forget it is even there. It runs near silently in the background taking up very little computer power at idle and during your usual active scans. It does use a bit of CPU power when performing a full system scan, but that is to be expected. The email reports you can have set to alert you for various events assist greatly in helping fix issues before they become big problems which is especially invaluable with our field techs that we cannot just go visit. At times it will send out false positives, especially if the computer has been off, or offline for a long time (as can happen in the field) and will show being out of date, out of compliance, etc., as it comes back up - but false positives aside it always syncs up and runs like a champ.
  • Simple installation (MSSC compatible.)
  • Removes all conflicting software automatically.
  • Small system footprint.
  • Powerful Scanner/Active Shields.
  • Email reports can be false positives - software should check itself and attempt to update/apply policies and then send out a notification if that fails, not before.
  • It should not require admin privileges to run a manual scan.
  • Email reports could use a little more detail on what exact policy/item is out of compliance to make issue easier to verify/fix.
Sophos offers protection for nearly every setting, from a single home computer to a small 10 computer business to a thousand computer company. It is a stable system, it has high customization, and is simple to use for your average home user or an IT professional. The only situation in which Sophos may not be a good fit is for a computer that is never connected to the internet and never has anything connected to it from the outside world. Not many standalone systems like that are present.
Read Kyle Farago's full review
Dan Lepinski profile photo
February 23, 2016

Sophos EPP Review: "Sophos is very easy to use with Windows"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sophos across our entire infrastructure. We have a mix of Windows, Linux, and Apple products. Deploying Sophos out to Windows machines is a fairly easy and seamless process that can simply be done through the enterprise console to a machine anywhere that's connected to your network. The package must be manually installed on Linux and Mac, but updates to all machines will be automated once the client is installed.
  • Automatically installed on Windows machines.
  • Automatically updates.
  • The console gives you lots of control over your deployment. Including things like what version of the client software you want to run on your machines.
  • You can easily see what machines are, or aren't, checking in with the console.
  • It'd be nice if there was an automated deployment for Linux and Mac.
  • Visibility into Mac/Linux machines from the console could be better. Basically the functionality with Mac/Linux is very limited.
  • The enterprise console isn't very straight forward at first. It takes some time to get used to navigating the menus to find what you want.
It's much more well suited in a Windows environment; simply because it was clearly built around supporting Windows machines. If you have a lot of Macs and/or Linux machines, you may want to consider looking elsewhere if you need the install process to be automated. Knowledge around scripting would obviously help a lot in that scenario. However, I'm not sure if there is an endpoint protection product out there that works seamlessly and is automated for Linux/Mac out of the box.
Read Dan Lepinski's full review

About Sophos EPP

Sophos Endpoint Protection is endpoint security and antivirus software from UK-based Sophos.
Categories:  Antivirus

Sophos EPP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No