Sparkrock

Sparkrock

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
Sparkrock

Overview

What is Sparkrock?

Sparkrock’s cloud-enabled solution helps organizations manage their finance and accounting, human resources and payroll, human services case management, and donor and fundraising activities.

According to the vendor, key benefits and features include:

  • Finance Management with capabilities to help organizations increase...
Read more

Recent Reviews

NAV Payroll

5 out of 10
March 21, 2016
It is being used for human resources, payroll, accounts payable and receivable, client management, and scheduling. It has replaced a …
Continue reading

Altus

7 out of 10
March 18, 2016
We use Altus for our accounting system. We have our finance department using the full version with management and school sites using the …
Continue reading

Great Support

10 out of 10
March 17, 2016
Our finance department uses the Altus Dynamics ERP product for all financial tracking. This includes accounts payable, general ledger and …
Continue reading

Altus K-12 review

7 out of 10
January 22, 2016
We are using Altus Dynamics ERP for K12 in the finance department only for our accounting software and purchasing needs. It has helped to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 77 features
  • Accounts payable (5)
    10.0
    100%
  • Role-based user permissions (5)
    9.0
    90%
  • Accounts receivable (5)
    9.0
    90%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Sparkrock, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Sparkrock?

Sparkrock’s cloud-enabled solution helps organizations manage their finance and accounting, human resources and payroll, human services case management, and donor and fundraising activities. According to the vendor, key benefits and features include: Finance Management…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • $50,000 per installationRequired
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.sparkrock.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is SAP S/4HANA Cloud?

SAP S/4HANA Cloud is a modular cloud ERP software designed for every business need – powered by AI and analytics. SAP S/4HANA Cloud enables users to run mission-critical operations in real time from anywhere, introduce new business models in an industry, and expand globally. It can be deployed…

What is SAP Business One?

SAP Business One is an integrated enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution for small and medium-sized businesses, The product encompasses functionality around sales, customer relationships, inventory, operations, financials and human resources.

Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Payroll Management

9.4
94%

Customization

10.0
100%

Security

9.5
95%

Reporting & Analytics

9.0
90%

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting

8.8
88%

Inventory Management

9.3
93%

Subledger and Financial Process

9.6
96%

Project Financial Management

9.4
94%

Grants Management

9.3
93%

Procurement

9.6
96%

Supply Chain

9.3
93%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Sparkrock?

Sparkrock’s cloud-enabled solution helps organizations manage their finance and accounting, human resources and payroll, human services case management, and donor and fundraising activities.

According to the vendor, key benefits and features include:

  • Finance Management with capabilities to help organizations increase transparency and reduce risk.
  • Workforce Management to help front-line employees deliver services to clients, with tools that help them to be more productive on the go and help manage them more effectively.
  • Case Management so organizations get the critical information needed to ensure the quality of care and program delivery.
  • Donor Management to provide a complete view of all donor activities, helping to build relationships with donors, and improve fundraising effectiveness.

Sparkrock partners with Microsoft Dynamics to build a solution with vertical-specific functionality based on over a decade’s worth of experience working in the nonprofit sector. Additionally, the vendor says this means users get a solution that has cutting-edge technology and unique capabilities that are meaningful to them and their organization.

Sparkrock Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features

  • Supported: Accounts payable
  • Supported: Accounts receivable
  • Supported: Global Financial Support
  • Supported: Primary and Secondary Ledgers
  • Supported: Intercompany Accounting
  • Supported: Localizations
  • Supported: Journals and Reconciliations
  • Supported: Enterprise Accounting
  • Supported: Configurable Accounting
  • Supported: Centralized Rules Framework
  • Supported: Standardized Processes

Subledger and Financial Process Features

  • Supported: Automated Invoice Processing
  • Supported: Shared Services Payments
  • Supported: Billings Management
  • Supported: Customer Receipt Applications
  • Supported: Customer Collections
  • Supported: Revenue Recognition
  • Supported: Cash Management
  • Supported: Asset Management
  • Supported: Travel & Expense Management
  • Supported: Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting
  • Supported: Period Close
  • Supported: Transactions Tax
  • Supported: Subledger Reconciliations

Inventory Management Features

  • Supported: Inventory tracking
  • Supported: Automatic reordering
  • Supported: Location management

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Customization Features

  • Supported: API for custom integration
  • Supported: Plug-ins

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: Single sign-on capability
  • Supported: Multi-factor authentication
  • Supported: User-level audit trail

Grants Management Features

  • Supported: Award Lifecycle Management
  • Supported: Spending Control
  • Supported: Indirect Cost Management

Project Financial Management Features

  • Supported: Budgeting and Forecasting
  • Supported: Project Costing
  • Supported: Cost Capture
  • Supported: Capital Project Management
  • Supported: Customer Invoicing
  • Supported: Customer Contract Compliance
  • Supported: Project Revenue Recognition
  • Supported: Project Financial Performance Analysis
  • Supported: Project Financials Dashboard
  • Supported: Real-time Financial Reporting
  • Supported: Embedded Business Intelligence
  • Supported: Project Planning Collaboration

Procurement Features

  • Supported: Sourcing Team Collaboration
  • Supported: Sourcing Analysis
  • Supported: Bids Analyzed and Compared
  • Supported: Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees
  • Supported: Contract Authoring
  • Supported: Contract Compliance Management
  • Supported: Contract History
  • Supported: Contract Renewal Automation
  • Supported: Contract Repository
  • Supported: Contract Standardization and Enforcement
  • Supported: Electronic Signatures
  • Supported: Invoice Automated Matching
  • Supported: Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management
  • Supported: Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated
  • Supported: Spend Compliance Management
  • Supported: Supplier Assessment
  • Supported: Supplier Communication and Collaboration
  • Supported: Supplier Management
  • Supported: Supplier Portal

Supply Chain Features

  • Supported: Forecasting
  • Supported: Inventory Planning
  • Supported: Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning
  • Supported: Performance Monitoring

Additional Features

  • Supported: Flexible architecture with multiple integrations
  • Supported: Microsoft-based tool
  • Supported: Secure Mobile Access
  • Supported: Volunteer Management
  • Supported: Grant Management
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Donor Management
  • Supported: Fund Accounting
  • Supported: Employee Scheduling

Sparkrock Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Sparkrock Videos

Watch Do you wonder why your scheduler always seems frazzled? They have to juggle so many staff requests, remember all your scheduling rules, adhere to stiff labor regulations and know that if they make a mistake it could mean that a client in need doesn’t have anyone show up for a shift. Sparkrock has been working with human services organizations for the last decade, and together with them we have developed our employee scheduling solution.

Watch How many small requests does your HR team get daily from staff? “I need to change my address” “Can I get a copy of my pay stub?” “When’s my next shift scheduled for again?” “I need to request some vacation”. We found that many organizations spend way too much time dealing with all of these requests. That’s why we created the Workforce Management solution - a secure, permission-based web application where employees can access everything in one place.

Watch Do you spend too much time getting your financial data in the desired format? Is your finance team bogged down with collecting data from multiple sources and ensuring it is the same across departments or locations? We can help.

Watch Wouldn’t you like a smart enough system that aids you in controlling costs and putting a check on overspending at your organization? Sparkrock has been working with non-profit organizations for the last decade, and together with them we have developed several non-profit focused capabilities.

Watch You play a huge role in the lives of the people your organization serves. But the tangible results of your hard work are not always easy to see, and sometimes even harder to report on.

Watch Imagine a world where you can access neatly organized client data without rummaging through papers. Or imagine easily reading case notes without struggling to decipher handwriting. Sparkrock has been working with human services organizations like yours for the last decade, and together with them we have developed a secure online portal for our Case Management solution.

Watch Do you feel like it takes forever to find the information you need? Do you need to sift through irrelevant data to get to what you really need? Do you worry that sensitive financial data is available freely to all within the organization? Sparkrock has found that many organizations share this concern. Which is why we built a system where the user experience is tailored for each employee so that they can find information quickly and easily.

Watch When people come to your human services organization for help, the last thing they want to do is fill a mountain worth of paperwork. With our Case Management solution, as soon as ongoing program data is collected for clients, their corresponding client profile will be updated automatically, allowing you to spend less time entering data and more time helping your clients reach their goals.

Watch That pile of timesheets sitting on someone on your team’s desk is the thing they dread most about their job. What if I told you that you could take manual timesheet entry right out of your process? By linking payroll to an online time entry and scheduling system, we can eliminate a lot of extra steps and ensure that all your employees get paid the right amount, and on time. Would that pique your interest?

Sparkrock Downloadables

Sparkrock Integrations

Sparkrock Competitors

Sparkrock Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)90%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%

Sparkrock Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesCanada, United States
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French

Frequently Asked Questions

Sage Intacct, Sage 100cloud, and NetSuite ERP are common alternatives for Sparkrock.

Reviewers rate Direct deposit files and Reimbursement management and Single sign-on capability highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Sparkrock are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (14)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-9 of 9)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Andres Pirela Loyo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This software is very efficient and fully complies with the need to organize the company's employees and keep order with payroll and finances. It is cloud-based which saved us the tedious task of installation and congestion of our computers. Everything has been excellent with this tool.
  • It contains all the complete accounting management to keep up-to-date payments with debtors and suppliers. I can have all the information in the system and make payments through the same means.
  • It allows us to issue customized invoices quickly and recurring billing is very agile as well.
  • Payroll is handled perfectly with the software, as we also manage the employee management and hiring process there.
  • The problem with a cloud-based program is that it is impossible to work it without a connection or bad internet connection, which is a big limitation.
  • Not all the functions are used and there are so many that can become overwhelming at the beginning of the use of the software.
  • They could have configured in a more organic or friendly way the main panel so that it would be a much more navigable experience for the page.
For all companies that want to improve the performance of their employees and increase productivity, this software helps all daily business tasks to be executed on time efficiently and smoothly. A very useful program that's why we don't stop using it.
Complete tracking of employee performance, hours worked, attendance and absences, vacations, and overtime.
Alecia Lantz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User

Navision is currently being used by our Finance, Purchasing, Human Resources and Payroll departments within our organization. We are also using the WebApps (formerly known as Altus Employee Portal) as a self-service tool for employees to view payroll information and access pay stubs; to submit purchase requisitions as well as p-card and expense reports. In addition, we also implemented Kwiktag to compliment our work towards a "paperless" environment.

Through our implementation of Navision we have been able to reduce the administrative burdens that we were experiencing as a result of our previous system. In addition, having all modules connected and under one "umbrella" has allowed for more detailed analysis and reporting to be conducted. With the implementation of Kwiktag all documents are tagged in Navision which has eliminated hours of manual filing and searching for files when conducting analysis.

  • Altus Dynamics is very customer focused! Altus Alliance is just one example!
  • Offers an integrated product which meets the needs of the users!
  • Continuously invests in the product to make each release better than the last!
  • Building in additional training support for end users as part of an implementation or upgrade.
  • Sharing of best practices amongst like minded organizations and creating system and or reporting standardizations where possible.
  • It would be great to see a "cashless schools" module as part of the product which integrates into the financial system!
Navision is a very flexible ERP solution that has set our organization up well to deal with changing financial reporting requirements over time. Altus Dynamics, through their Road Map process has helped us to continue to be "future oriented" in our work by helping us map out our continued utilization and enhancement of the solution to meet our overall goals and objectives.
Duke Ganeshalingam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Altus Dynamics CRM for our non-profit charity to do our accounting related activities. Altus is only used by our department. The business problem Altus solves for us is the customization and ease of use component. We have found Altus Dynamics to be very useful and it is a highly recommended product.
  • Customization
  • Ease of use
  • Great customer service
Altus Dynamics CRM is well suited for a charity's accounting department. It addresses all the basic needs.
Malcolm McAuley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Altus Dynamics CRM is the centralized CRM system used by the Big Brothers Big Sisters offices across Canada. The user base is made up of our front line mentoring coordinators, as well as agency executives to garner data about the current state of operations from a service delivery perspective. The system manages basic information about constituents, and helps keep staff on track of their day-to-day tasks.
  • Data collection - the system is robust and we can tailor it to collect the information we need.
  • Easily configurable - the system is easy to configure to meet our specific business needs.
  • Reporting and data extraction - the system allows for easy access to information that helps inform business decisions.
  • Learning curve can be a challenge for some, but by having dedicated support channels to help users find the answers to questions they need, users can adapt to the processes quickly.
  • While reporting is a positive, the sheer robustness of the system can be overwhelming for some. Understanding how to extract the exact data they want can be challenging at times.
  • The system is huge. There is so much to learn that getting users to focus on the basics first can be a challenge. That said, we'd rather have a system that includes many areas of functionality that we can grow into than feel limited by lack of system potential.
Altus Dynamics CRM is a fabulous tool that meets our needs. Where we identify gaps, we can quickly and easily configure the system to meet those needs. Altus Dynamics as a partner were excellent at helping us get the system set up initially to meet our needs, though the lack of function specific training meant that we had to ensure resources on our end to learn through some trial and error at times. That said, Dynamics CRM resources are bountiful on the internet through community forums and groups and questions can often be solved within minutes of searching for the item.
March 21, 2016

NAV Payroll

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being used for human resources, payroll, accounts payable and receivable, client management, and scheduling. It has replaced a system that was not supported any longer, so it provides information on employee files, employee positions, employee scheduling and diminishes the amount of manual entry. It also provides information for financial reporting.
  • It is easy to gather information for reports.
  • It is fast to find information that is needed.
  • It has diminished manual entry for payroll.
  • The scheduling module is missing a few key parts that would enhance our employee's use of the system.
  • Payroll is not yet stable and there is difficulty posting payroll.
  • Some of the pay controls do not work to the ability that we would like them to.
I feel that our organization may be somewhat too complicated for the system and so we have had to have many customizations.
March 18, 2016

Altus

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Altus for our accounting system. We have our finance department using the full version with management and school sites using the portal.
  • Data is easily exported to Excel which allows for easy manipulation and reporting options.
  • There are many filtering options to provide specific data.
  • Some functionality is difficult to find within the program.
  • When there are data issues/errors, the program doesn't tell you what the error/issue is. You need to go through everything to find it.
Large companies that utilize all parts of the program.
March 17, 2016

Great Support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our finance department uses the Altus Dynamics ERP product for all financial tracking. This includes accounts payable, general ledger and capital tracking.
  • Dimension combinations allow us to report on expenses in various ways.
  • The support from Altus Dynamics is superb. They truly understand our business processes and help mold the software solution around that.
  • The migration to the Altus Dynamics ERP is one of the smoothest deployments of my career.
  • Custom development/reports are difficult to do on our own, however Altus Dynamics is open to assisting with that.
For this product to be effective I feel you do truly need an experienced and professional finance and accounting team. A one person finance department may find the solution overwhelming.
January 22, 2016

Altus K-12 review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Altus Dynamics ERP for K12 in the finance department only for our accounting software and purchasing needs. It has helped to streamline some processes and ease some other processes for staff.
  • Organization of data from an accounting perspective. It is logical and easy to use.
  • Linking of data between modules - accounting and purchasing. Very easy to get the whole story when looking up a vendor.
  • Reporting - the canned reports do not meet our needs.
  • Budgeting module - needs improvement and updating.
Phyllis Fidler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Altus Dynamics ERP is being used in finance, HR, and payroll and is accessed by all employees through the SharePoint Employee Web App. This ERP has made it possible to connect all financial information, including payroll directly to the GL and allows reports to be accessed by budget unit heads giving them information that is up-to-date at all times. The connection to SharePoint for employees allowed us to decentralize our purchasing functions and made the purchase order process faster and easier for all departments. The ERP solution has made our finance department more efficient and has allowed members of the department to focus more energy on analysis and review.
  • Integrates finance with payroll. Many solutions still run these as separate functions and this was one of the deciding factors for King's when purchasing Microsoft NAV in 2005.
  • Altus has added an employee web app that seamlessly connects the outside 'users' to the information they require.
  • HR position management has taken the many details of an employee in this environment and allowed each position to be tracked individually.
  • Many of the improvements are being met with each upgrade. Altus Dynamics has an idea portal that customers can add ideas to and vote on other customer ideas. This means that most issues that come up are resolved with each new upgrade.
Altus Dynamics works very hard to make the solution work for the client. I don't see a disadvantage to using this solution.
Return to navigation