Spiceworks Help Desk

Spiceworks Help Desk

Top Rated
Score 8.7 out of 10
Top Rated
Spiceworks Help Desk

Overview

What is Spiceworks Help Desk?

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Best free product available

8 out of 10
July 01, 2022
Primarily network discovery, inventory and help desk. We used the alerts system regularly until we replaced that functionality with a true …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • External knowledge base (46)
    8.7
    87%
  • Ticket creation and submission (52)
    8.4
    84%
  • Ticket response (51)
    8.1
    81%
  • Organize and prioritize service tickets (52)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Spiceworks Help Desk, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

All Tiers

Free

Cloud

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Run an IT help desk with Spiceworks
01:26
Return to navigation

Features

Incident and problem management

Streamlining ticketing and service restoration processes

7.6Avg 8.2

Self Help Community

Features that allow customers to self-service for support issues.

8.2Avg 8.1

Multi-Channel Help

Features related to providing customer service and support via different communication channels. Communications are organized by ticket/customer/channel for the convenience of agents.

7.4Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Spiceworks Help Desk?

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually.

Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and was backed by multiple investors, notably Goldman Sachs. In 2019 Spiceworks was acquired by Ziff Davis, a division of J2 Global. It is now a J2 Global company, operating under the name Spiceworks Ziff Davis.

Spiceworks Help Desk Video

Spiceworks Help Desk Overview

Spiceworks Help Desk Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually. Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.

BMC FootPrints, BMC Helix Remedyforce, and Pulseway are common alternatives for Spiceworks Help Desk.

Reviewers rate Email support highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of Spiceworks Help Desk are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 80)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Primarily network discovery, inventory and help desk. We used the alerts system regularly until we replaced that functionality with a true network monitoring service. We used the help desk until we replaced it with SolarWinds Service Desk cloud. We mainly used inventory to track software usage as the fixed assets were already being monitored by our finance group.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I implemented Spiceworks Help Desk 9 years ago at my previous employer. I had a team of 5 technicians and prior to me taking the leadership role there, they had no formal way of tracking help desk requests. It was very easy to implement and it had everything I needed to keep the team organized which ultimately improved on our SLA times. I left that organization 5 years ago and came to a new company that had no formal process in place either. I setup Spiceworks the first week I was here and we have used it ever since. We have run over 10,000 tickets through it so far.
Kelly Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use Spiceworks Help Desk as an internal network monitoring tool, keeping track of new users, new computers, disk space on servers, devices that are down, etc. We used to use the help desk feature for internal IT help ticket requests but no longer use it for that purpose. We are a small business, so it is used across our whole organization.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently we use three different Spiceworks help desks for three different departments. It started for IT use and eventually our Facilities team and Merchandising team both wanted the use of Spiceworks. Both IT and Facilities are on prem. installations whereas the Merchandising team uses the cloud version of Spiceworks. This allows for each department to keep up with what's going on as well as have a trail to search in case of repeat problems or tickets.
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Spiceworks Help Desk is used to manage our entire IT helpdesk operation. Users across the entire company access it to submit helpdesk tickets, make purchase requests, and check status. The IT department I oversee works the individual ticket items.
Héctor Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use [Spiceworks Help Desk] to manage technical support tickets for all clients, some of them use our product on tablets, phone, and laptops so [are] important that it runs on almost any device, is web-based and responsive and that allow us to respond to issues effectively and fast, assuring customer satisfaction.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Spiceworks Help Desk is a great tool used by our large non-profit organization. We primarily use the tool to organize our technology needs. After submitting a request, our technology department is able to complete the request in an efficient, quick manner.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use Spiceworks Help Desk to manage tech tickets for a high school with over 200 employees. It is used school-wide. Currently, it's helping us to track and assign tickets to our limited number of tech staff. It also allows the users to see where the ticket sits in terms of progress.
April 26, 2021

Great Free Help Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Spiceworks Help Desk for internal tickets. Most of our users submit support requests through email and Spiceworks picks them up and turns them into tickets. Having a central location for tickets makes sure that requests don't get lost in our individual inboxes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
End users send in [a] support request to an email address, which is then forwarded to the Spiceworks Help Desk and creates a ticket in the system. Our software support team all receives a notification that a ticket is created and we are able to assign the ticket to ourselves, If a ticket is left unassigned after a chosen time period, we have created a notification so that the manager can go and assign the ticket to the appropriate staff.
David Yates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We recommend Spiceworks Help Desk for smaller clients that are managing their IT issues in-house. Not incredibly intuitive in its business process and flow, it nonetheless is an excellent way for an SMB to start tracking [its] equipment and issues. The reports allow an organization to see what users or systems are creating the most issues and allow you to zero in on how they are trending.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Spiceworks Help Desk is used by the Information Systems department to record all end-user requests for IS support, which includes computer troubleshooting, software installation and assistance, and other, general IS-related requests. Spiceworks helps us by creating a ticket for each user support request; assigning those requests to (or accepting the requests by) the available staff; recording critical system outages; managing communication with users through the ticket itself; and providing basic reporting of ticket-related metrics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Spiceworks Help Desk was used in my organization and in other organizations I help maintain as a turnkey ticketing solution for remote tech support of both the primary locations and branch offices.
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Spiceworks is used by IT for Asset information, inventory, and we have tested the helpdesk functions. It performs well and has decent features which will assist in your daily functions. A full-featured ITSM it is not, but it is a wonderful helpdesk offering. It's offered at a great price.
Dan Sarauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My company uses Spiceworks to track our IT inventory and help desk tickets along with the projects we have going in our department. We selected it because it has a broader community than our previous solution and offered better adoption and ease of use for our technicians.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The IT Dept is using Spiceworks. It provides us with a great level of detail right down to the memory in a workstation or laptop. The tool provides us with all the information we need to make informed decisions about hardware and software on any of our devices.
Barrett Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used it exclusively as a ticketing system to start with. As we have gone on and refined things we are slowly adding to it more and more. At the moment, the main use it still as a ticketing system, but we have recently added inventory information and started using the purchasing section of it. It is being used in the Department of Residence at the moment.
January 24, 2020

Spiceworks Works!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Spiceworks is being used to manage our general mailbox for our service team. Our mail program did not keep replies with the incoming messages, and messages could be deleted from our inbox and not be able to recover them.
January 23, 2020

Free and Wonderful!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use this for both maintenance and IT for their free cloud ticketing system (on.spiceworks.com) in order to keep things organized. I also use it for asset tracking and am a member of their online community. This has been a blessing for us, as all of it is free. The community is also very knowledgeable, being able to help me with various problems I run into. Also, I am a member of what they call SpiceCorps, which is a local group of IT people who meet up periodically, just be social, share knowledge, and general friendship.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Spiceworks as our help desk ticketing system and as a resource for learning and troubleshooting issues. The help desk ticketing tool is very useful and cost effective, it is free! The Spiceworks community has been great, there are a lot of technical professionals and the wealth of experience is tremendous.
January 16, 2020

Spiceworks, can't miss!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Spiceworks in a variety of ways.
It addresses our need to maintain software and hardware inventories, as well as deal with any of our help desk ticketing. We have, in the past used it in order to ensure that products and services are currently online. The other thing that it addresses is our ability to put any questions out to their community and have valuable feedback provided by community members.
January 15, 2020

Great Free Product

Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are mostly using Spiceworks to complete auditing and reporting across our network. IT automatically inventories all of our devices and lets us see at a glance the key metrics and measurements that we need to know. We can also put specific notes regarding each device to help us to keep track of things such as hardware faults/fixes/upgrades. We have over 250 devices and counting so it is critical we keep track of these types of things in a central location.
Return to navigation