TrustRadius
Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually. Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0l/fc/34XZ7H18O1T7.PNGExcellent Software, Outstanding Price!My organization encourages the use of open source software when it can be used to cut costs. We were testing multiple asin set management softwares, and I was asked to test Spiceworks as I had experience with it. I set up a virtual server, installed Spiceworks and began to test. Let me say from the start that scanning in all the devices it in my plans took an incredible amount of time, but now that they are scanned in, it is not that bad. Spiceworks is built and maintained by all of the "spiceheads" on the Spiceworks forums, and they are very proud of what they have built, as well they should be. This software, in my opinion, is second only to PDQInventory for asset management.,Actively monitors all of the devices on your network. Excellent for software inventory Outstanding for hardware inventory Price. For the low, low cost of zero you get an amazing quality tool 3rd party integration,Scans are very slow. Huge learning curve 3rd party integration is not really well documented, meaning that it can take a while to find what you need to set something new up.,10,Spcieworks has saved me time looking for certain machines that might be online—positive. Spiceworks is free, so I am able to manage my inventory for no cost —positive. I can quickly look up what computer a user is logged into when troubleshooting over the phone. This is priceless—positive.,ManageEngine AssetExplorer, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite) and Ivanti Asset Tracker (formerly Heat Asset Tracker),LogMeIn Rescue, LogMeIn Pro, DameWare Remote Support, Zoom Video Webinar, Cisco Aironet Access Points, VMware ESXi, Kernel-based Virtual Machine, CentOS, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Oracle VM VirtualBoxSpiceworks is an Amazing ToolI use it to network with other IT professionals and to continue learning/expand my knowledge and experience in the IT field. I have also downloaded their Support product, but haven't set it up for use and I have also downloaded their inventory program as a redundant program to what our MSP provides/owns.,They provide excellent learning tools. The provide great webinars. They provide interaction with software and hardware vendors in addition to other IT professionals.,I only use what's free since it is a redundant inventory program - no complaints though. I typically use their website which can be tricky to navigate until you get used to it. Nothing else to add.,10,Since I got the free version, ROI is 100% on day 1. Again, I use the website mostly, to search for information and knowledge. If I can't find it on my own, I can ask and many people have the opportunity to help. This had no involvement in business objectives, it's just a great tool.,,Epicor Eclipse, Evolution Payroll, Microsoft Office 2016Spiceworks, Quick!The tool is providing lots of details about our environment. It's being used by the IT department, but it helps the entire organization. It solves problems as hardware Inventory, management details of the devices, and environment mapping, and lots of reports, like license tracking, for example, or hardware reports. It helps us a lot in daily activities.,Hardware Inventory. Reports. Software Tracking - This is amazing. After the scan, they show you already the number of machines and pending updates, not only from Microsoft but other players too.,Network Scan x Authentication - Sometimes it stops scanning. Integration with Spiceworks Pages. It works but I think it's not good to force this. The web interface is heavy.,8,No need to buy complex solutions (for now). Quickly generated reports. Extremely fast to run and start utilization in our environment.,Remote Desktop ManagerSpicework the hot chilli to help give you a kick.I use Spiceworks to perform an inventory of my network and devices. I also monitor security and track issues and apply patches within the different apps it uses. it lets me control IP addresses check on tickets that clients generate using the client portal. The appearance can be changed to show what tools are being used to monitor issues. Overall a good application to use.,Monitor devices. it collect all devices using ip address. Monitor application licenses. It shows everything at a glance.,Have a larger knowledge base Have a better list of security applications on the market.,9,Increased income and clients Positive impact by improving my knowledge Better overview of my networks,Spiceworks - Cheap and Easy SolutionsI currently use Spiceworks as my helpdesk application, my network inventory manager, and to host a company portal, where employees can access information that has been shared by IT. Spiceworks has made it easier to manage the devices on my network and to evaluate their relationships and configurations. It also provides a great platform for communication from IT to the rest of the company. In addition to the services provided by Spiceworks, I also utilize the Spiceworks community, for tackling issues that I haven't been able to wrap my own head around. The Spiceworks community is a GREAT place to get feedback on ideas, answers to questions, and help with overall challenges.,Network Monitoring -This application works pretty well, is lightweight, and not very intrusive. It does lack a bit of detail, and you can't do anything with MiBs, but for simple up-time monitoring, it works great. Spiceworks Helpdesk -This application is great. I use it to manage tickets submitted by our employees. This allows me to not only maintain an easy line-of-communication, but also allows me to see trends in ticketed issues. Spiceworks Community -Great group of people. There's always good discussions taking place in user threads. Whether it's troublehooting, problem-solving, or just throwing ideas around, the Spiceworks user community is a great place to get some feedback on your thoughts. Spiceworks Portal -I use this to communicate important information to our employees. I also host a lot of FAQs and How-Tos on the portal.,Spiceworks Network Monitor -Could use more integration of MiBs and also a more flexible implementation of SNMP versions.,10,Spicworks has provided a cheap alternative to the expensive software solutions provided by bigger vendors,OpenNMS,Vipre, SonicWall TZ,Help Desk is the best and easiest to use! I use this system to support our entire organization. The network inventory is also a great tool! Keeps a great historical record of our assets, and can maintain a collection of associated warranties, files, and other documentation/files per asset. The community. I LOVE the community. It's a great place to hash out problems that you've been fighting with.,The network monitor is not the easiest to use. It is a simple setup, but is limited in how you assign devices to the monitor, as well as with controlling what versions/credentials are used for SNMP. Also, there is no ability to add MiBs.,Yes, but I don't use it
Unspecified
Spiceworks
168 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Spiceworks Reviews

Spiceworks
168 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 168 vetted Spiceworks reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 35)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Timms profile photo
December 06, 2018

Spiceworks Review: "Excellent Software, Outstanding Price!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization encourages the use of open source software when it can be used to cut costs. We were testing multiple asin set management softwares, and I was asked to test Spiceworks as I had experience with it. I set up a virtual server, installed Spiceworks and began to test. Let me say from the start that scanning in all the devices it in my plans took an incredible amount of time, but now that they are scanned in, it is not that bad. Spiceworks is built and maintained by all of the "spiceheads" on the Spiceworks forums, and they are very proud of what they have built, as well they should be. This software, in my opinion, is second only to PDQInventory for asset management.
  • Actively monitors all of the devices on your network.
  • Excellent for software inventory
  • Outstanding for hardware inventory
  • Price. For the low, low cost of zero you get an amazing quality tool
  • 3rd party integration
  • Scans are very slow.
  • Huge learning curve
  • 3rd party integration is not really well documented, meaning that it can take a while to find what you need to set something new up.
Spiceworks is just a suited well to the startup that has a very small budget to the Information Technology Juggernaut that has a multi-billion dollar budget. It is not suited for an IT department that is not used to doing some troubleshooting on enterprise level software. Spiceworks can probably do what you need, but it might take you a while to set it up.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Erik Hall profile photo
December 06, 2018

User Review: "Spiceworks is an Amazing Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to network with other IT professionals and to continue learning/expand my knowledge and experience in the IT field. I have also downloaded their Support product, but haven't set it up for use and I have also downloaded their inventory program as a redundant program to what our MSP provides/owns.
  • They provide excellent learning tools.
  • The provide great webinars.
  • They provide interaction with software and hardware vendors in addition to other IT professionals.
  • I only use what's free since it is a redundant inventory program - no complaints though.
  • I typically use their website which can be tricky to navigate until you get used to it.
  • Nothing else to add.
Spiceworks itself is a great thing. It is more than just software, it's a network of vendors and users and I haven't seen anything like it. They provide forums where questions can be asked of other IT professionals. They have social groups for sharing common interests. They provide webinars and educational tools that put vendors and their core customers in the same room, allowing interaction and one-on-many communication. In my opinion, this is an amazing collective of all things IT.
Read Erik Hall's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Spiceworks, Quick!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The tool is providing lots of details about our environment. It's being used by the IT department, but it helps the entire organization. It solves problems as hardware Inventory, management details of the devices, and environment mapping, and lots of reports, like license tracking, for example, or hardware reports. It helps us a lot in daily activities.
  • Hardware Inventory.
  • Reports.
  • Software Tracking - This is amazing. After the scan, they show you already the number of machines and pending updates, not only from Microsoft but other players too.
  • Network Scan x Authentication - Sometimes it stops scanning.
  • Integration with Spiceworks Pages. It works but I think it's not good to force this.
  • The web interface is heavy.
If you need a tool to scan your network, log with your Active Directory credentials, SSH, SNMP, and is fast, then Spiceworks is a good option. The web interface is very good, check lots of details of your environment quickly.

It's less suited to a environment where you don't know some basic credentials, or firewall protected devices, as you need to do some configuration before
Read this authenticated review
Iain Young profile photo
February 15, 2018

Spiceworks Review: "Spicework the hot chilli to help give you a kick."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Spiceworks to perform an inventory of my network and devices. I also monitor security and track issues and apply patches within the different apps it uses. it lets me control IP addresses check on tickets that clients generate using the client portal. The appearance can be changed to show what tools are being used to monitor issues.

Overall a good application to use.
  • Monitor devices. it collect all devices using ip address.
  • Monitor application licenses.
  • It shows everything at a glance.
  • Have a larger knowledge base
  • Have a better list of security applications on the market.
The desktop version is good for small business and also using the online version means you can work from anywhere, Tickets from clients mean you can respond quicker than some other apps. The Spiceworks community has knowledgable members who are always willing to share experiences and tricks and tips for your business.
Read Iain Young's full review
Phillip Barrios profile photo
April 17, 2018

User Review: "Spiceworks - Cheap and Easy Solutions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Spiceworks as my helpdesk application, my network inventory manager, and to host a company portal, where employees can access information that has been shared by IT. Spiceworks has made it easier to manage the devices on my network and to evaluate their relationships and configurations. It also provides a great platform for communication from IT to the rest of the company. In addition to the services provided by Spiceworks, I also utilize the Spiceworks community, for tackling issues that I haven't been able to wrap my own head around. The Spiceworks community is a GREAT place to get feedback on ideas, answers to questions, and help with overall challenges.
  • Network Monitoring -This application works pretty well, is lightweight, and not very intrusive. It does lack a bit of detail, and you can't do anything with MiBs, but for simple up-time monitoring, it works great.
  • Spiceworks Helpdesk -This application is great. I use it to manage tickets submitted by our employees. This allows me to not only maintain an easy line-of-communication, but also allows me to see trends in ticketed issues.
  • Spiceworks Community -Great group of people. There's always good discussions taking place in user threads. Whether it's troublehooting, problem-solving, or just throwing ideas around, the Spiceworks user community is a great place to get some feedback on your thoughts.
  • Spiceworks Portal -I use this to communicate important information to our employees. I also host a lot of FAQs and How-Tos on the portal.
  • Spiceworks Network Monitor -Could use more integration of MiBs and also a more flexible implementation of SNMP versions.
Spiceworks is well-suited for small-to-medium sized networks. I use it on 5 networks that are all connected via VPN. In this setup, I can set up the remote sites, to report back to the primary site, so that they are all tied together and cooperating. Spiceworks may not work as well, or be as necessary, where money has been invested in more sophisticated software that handles aspects of what Spiceworks covers.
Read Phillip Barrios's full review
Louis F. DeWeaver III, M.S.I.S. profile photo
December 12, 2017

Review: "Spiceworks- free but worth so much more"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Spiceworks to manage all of the networking equipment to ensure uptime. The software is currently only being used within the Information technology department. I searched long and hard to find a single product that would do both monitoring and inventory control. Spiceworks does all that I was looking for to do with multiple products all in one.
  • It gives accurate alerts for down systems and eliminates a lot of false positives.
  • I like that it has never crashed or given me a single problem in the 7 plus years I have been using it.
  • The full-featured suite gives any IT professional the ability to use one module, several modules, or all the modules to meet their needs. New versions come out at least once a year with updates more frequently.
  • Creates too many tickets for one task.
  • The only downside is that it’s heavily IT based, so using it for other team types is not adoptable.
  • There’s no source code so you are stuck with its look.
  • PROS

    It's free. Extensible with other (not free) products. Good basic monitoring. Easy to use and understand. Spiceworks is also big on training. For example, you can attend Spiceworks University regional events to get hands-on training from certified trainers, watch the free training videos on Spiceworks TV, and participate in the free IT Webinars.

  • CONS

    Currently only supports Windows servers. I would like so see it be available for the Linux operating system.

Read Louis F. DeWeaver III, M.S.I.S.'s full review
Barry Watts profile photo
August 09, 2017

Review: "Spiceworks is a great tool for any system administrator to automate their labor intensive jobs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Spiceworks to inventory hosts, get details on servers connected to our network and monitor up-time. We also use Spiceworks to monitor cloud activity from within the enterprise on a user level.
  • Inventory capabilities are very good. The detail provided makes my job easier to monitor what hosts we have, the OS they are running, software installed, upgrades available and more....
  • Printer alerts for connectivity and ink levels is a plus.
  • Antivirus installations are checked and monitored for updates. I get a report daily on updates that are available as well as any systems with more than one installation of antivirus software.
  • The networking feature needs to be more automated.
  • The graphical network diagram needs to be more flexible and easy to segment.
  • It needs to offer more features to monitor new devices that get plugged into the network on a live and or daily basis.
It is well suited for Hosts inventory and I would highly recommend it for that. The ability to obtain software installations, mac addresses, bandwidth used and updates that are needed is one of the best I have ever used. I would not recommend Spiceworks for any type of professional network monitoring or configuration.
Read Barry Watts's full review
Richard Bird profile photo
September 16, 2016

User Review: "Spiceworks: The Basics & More"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks across our organization. We primarily use it as a help desk and ticketing system. We also use some of the other inventory and reporting features and have considered using other third party applications with Spiceworks. It has provided users with a single point to report IT issues and provided us in IT with a great way to track ticket issues and our time spent in different areas.
  • Help Desk
  • Reporting
  • Inventory
  • Vendors
  • Ticket templates for when users submit different types of tickets or a different template with different questions/fields could be used.
  • Recurring tickets on a schedule for maintenance type items.
  • Ticket workfows (not just checklists) for things like employee onboarding and exiting where different tasks & steps are preassigned to different techs with parallel & consecutive processing flow options.
Help Desk is great!
Inventory is pretty good.
Monitoring is a bit weak.
Vendor/Purchasing is weak, but great vision.
Read Richard Bird's full review
Zach Olsen profile photo
September 06, 2016

"Spiceworks IT Department review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose Spiceworks as a help desk ticketing system for our IT team. It works amazing, is easy to use and set up, and does everything we need it to and more. We use it as a way for users to submit tickets to our IT Department by email; assign the tickets, track the ticket history and even look at past ticket history. It does a lot more but we do not use most of the features or are not currently utilizing them. The best thing about it is that it is free and the support is free too! Another great feature is the forums and articles where lots of other IT professionals get together to talk and answer questions. We use this quite often to help with issues that we might be facing or read how others are using technology in their workspace.

We highly recommend it, in fact we have to many other professionals, even in our own organization.
  • Help desk
  • Forums for IT issues
  • Articles
  • Scanning of network devices
  • Purchasing piece is a nice try but found it is not very useful
It's great for a help desk ticketing system, that does not need to be very robust. It works great for our environment, and actually does it pretty well. We stopped using another product that we were paying for that was much more complex and expensive because Spiceworks was so simple. You can't beat the price also.
Read Zach Olsen's full review
William Baker II profile photo
September 16, 2015

Spiceworks Review: "Strong community and the price is right!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Spiceworks is used over the entire organization. Unfortunately, when I was in the construction retail business, not many users were very technically adept. Having to log onto a website, log in using domain credentials, submitting a ticket via the portal and following/tracking their ticket via the portal was not really too user friendly. Our users did not have the patience to learn to use it, rather opting for phone calls or direct emails.

Our IT department on the other hand used Spiceworks much more thoroughly, and it helped us audit machines, track reboots, update the knowledge base, and more! I enjoyed using it for the short period of time I did so.

  • Lots of community support
  • Easy to navigate GUI
  • Lots of free features that are fully built and worth using
  • End-user ease of use
The price is right!
Read William Baker II's full review
Demitri Pevzner profile photo
August 19, 2015

Spiceworks Review: "Spicetabulous"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our organization, Spiceworks is being implemented as a ticketing and inventory solution for the helpdesk team. It has been instrumental in providing my team with the tools required to quantify our achievements, simplify our job, and give us a level of transparency that our branch managers appreciate. The ability to generate monthly and quarterly reports and show our productivity levels is definitely a tremendous asset, in addition to having the ability to quantify our daily/weekly workload.
  • Allows my team to quantify their daily workload and predict heightened workload based on trends.
  • Allows me to provide my employer with solid tangible data when it comes to proposals, or requests for additional budget/head count.
  • Provides a simpler means to inventory our hardware.
  • Better ticketing views. I would like to see nested ticket attributes and categories.
  • SpiceWorks as a non web-based app would be nice to have.
  • More bandwidth, network, and hardware monitoring features would be a big plus.
I would say Spiceworks is a well rounded Swiss army knife, that comes with a pre-built knowledge database, and a community of like-minded IT professionals. This is truly a priceless asset, as I am able to get live feedback from real professionals. Having a group of experts offer advice on your infrastructure issues is great, but having it part of your one stop shop for helpdesk needs is overly convenient.
Read Demitri Pevzner's full review
Patrick Yeager profile photo
August 19, 2015

Review: "Spice Up Your IT Department with Spiceworks."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks in a variety of ways: helpdesk ticketing and tracking, inventory tracking and management, as well as a trouble shooting tool and to submit purchase requests.
  • Helpdesk ticketing. Spiceworks does this very well - plenty on modules and plug ins to support just about anything you want to do. You can also write your own!
  • Inventory management is another thing thing Spiceworks does pretty well. Right down to what software and software keys are on each machine. It's not the end all be all but it does a good job and it's free.
  • The community! Wow the community is amazing. Supportive quick and quick to respond with valid answers. I rarely wait more than an hour before someone has responded with something valid.
  • The network map isn't the greatest. You need to spend some time to lay it out correctly. It also seems to be wiped out with each new update.
  • Can be sluggish when using IE.
I wouldn't suggest Spiceworks for very small offices with less than 10 machines or over 1000. I have often recommended Spiceworks be used for service vendors. The helpdesk system can be adapted to work as a time management and invoice tool for them.
Read Patrick Yeager's full review
Brian Knott profile photo
July 15, 2015

Review: "SPICEWORKS is Great for Hardware Asset Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is a great tool to use for everyday network management. It can scan network for devices and gives great detail on hardware/software. I use this tool daily to check for any unwanted software users may have installed or to check the health of a machine in question. I would recommend Spiceworks to anyone who doesn't already have this in place. It is very easy to set up and very easy to manage.
  • New hardware added to the network it alerts me
  • New software added to any machine it alerts me
  • Any printer issues or even if a printer needs toner it will alert me
  • When scanning a network for new machines it rescans each device. I wish it would know to skip and move to next item and only scan new items.
Run spiceworks on its own VM and take snapshot backups of the DB weekly.
Read Brian Knott's full review
Mitch Tuckness profile photo
May 11, 2015

"Spiceworks Helpdesk & Inventory Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is being used by the LCCA IT Department. It was determined that we needed an easy to use, fast and ultimately free help desk product that didn't take a lot of install time or agency resources to deploy. Since the usage of a help desk system allows users to regulate their level of interest in participating with IT on receiving technical support, it also allows them the ability to update and learn from the information the Technical Support staff supply them to resolve their issue. This ultimately makes it easier for the technical staff because the end user can reference the ticket if it occurs again. It also helps the end user by saving them time to search for a technician.

Without the Spiceworks support portal, I would have people come into my office all the time for support or to ask simple questions about none critical issues. Not only is this time consuming for the end user, it interrupts the technicians if they are working on other projects or managing network resources at the time. Since we are a 911 Dispatch Center, the dispatchers don't have the time to leave their stations, so once again the help desk system helps a lot because they can visit the portal, leave a ticket and I can evaluate the severity of the request based on others in the queue, well worth the price of free.

I also want to mention the support forums and the in-house support that Spiceworks has. If you are having issues with Spiceworks, the install, updating or even having issues finding a resolution for a support ticket that was submitted, someone else has probably already encountered it and asked on the forums. The support forums are built into the ticketing system so it's easy for the administrator and the end user to research issues if they desire or require it. The in-house support is also great, they are there and answer very fast, they also participate in the forums a lot.
  • Easy installation. You can pick any server that is on your network and Spiceworks will install and configure itself without much input from the admin.
  • Support Forums. There is nothing better than having access to experienced users of the systems along with the developers of the software that you are using and Spiceworks provides just that.
  • Company support. If you can't find the issue on the forums, the Spiceworks team is ready, fast and affective in resolving issues with their software, giving you ideas on how to improve the system and customize it to your needs.
  • Last thing I have found using the system is that along with Desktop Support the Spiceworks package also helps you get a handle on your entire networks needs, inventory and asset management. It's all included in the package and perfect for year end asset management.
  • One of the issues I found with the Spiceworks software is the network management. A lot of the time it is discovering items that you have no interest in managing remotely and yet it keeps finding stuff and bringing it to your attention.
  • Too much of a good thing? Some would say that because of the nature of the product, being free, the marketing and the software might be considered feature rich, too rich, I think the best thing they could do would be to make it easy to remove features you don't want to use a little easier.
The Spiceworks software collection has a sensor for everything. If you have to ask specific questions on what features you are looking for or if you think all help desk software's look and feel the same, then you're not looking for the right things.

Spiceworks is great for small to medium and even large organizations that don't mind ad placement or other advertisement within their ticketing systems. As a governmental agency, this was the perfect help desk portal for us to use, saving tax payers money that would be used for other projects.

With that said, Spiceworks might not be appropriate for companies that are looking for an in-house solution that isn't driven by ad placement. So in those cases it might not be a good fit, but for smaller companies that cannot afford to invest in a Tech Support Portal like Synergy or Trackit it's a great start. Not only do you get the ticketing system, help-desk portal you get network management tools and asset management. You also are able to build up an in-house support database that customizes itself to past support ticket information.

Overall I like the system. I have had excellent luck with it, our users love the easy of use and I like the asset management and warranty monitoring within the software, it's reminded me a few times or warranties that are getting close to expiring that were not documented by previous staff.
Read Mitch Tuckness's full review
Jeremy Rochow profile photo
April 08, 2015

"Spiceworks - A Simple Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is currently being used by our entire organization. We are using it for hardware and software inventory purposes, as well as using it for logging of our trouble tickets through the Help Desk. Our IT department also uses it to log the IT related purchases we are making, and who the purchases were made for.
  • Spiceworks does an excellent job of keeping track of our tickets, and provides a great search tool to help you search through your old tickets for existing solutions to problems.
  • Spiceworks is very customizable in the type of fields that can be filled out for both tickets and purchases
  • Provide better way of deleting multiple tickets from the HelpDesk menu
It's best if run on its own device, whether that be a server or a desktop (this would depend on the size of the network). This also runs best in an environment that is in a domain, not a workgroup. In a workgroup, it is difficult to provide authentication that will work across all devices.
Read Jeremy Rochow's full review
Duke Pustay profile photo
February 25, 2015

Review: "Why Spiceworks works: Your personal help desk minion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is currently being used company-wide in many ways. For us, it's our means of inventory and monitoring. For our users, we use the help-desk ticketing system to track problems and respond in a timely fashion. It allows us to document and keep a history of issues, which is invaluable in IT.
  • Free, aka not a penny!
  • Easy to update and maintain
  • Customizable reports
  • Email notifications
  • Deletion of tickets could be easier
  • Customizing GUI
  • Ability to manually add inventory items
Seeing as this is free software, little goes into the thought of whether or not it's worth the money. As long as you load it on a decent server and keep it maintained, Spiceworks does the rest for you. If you have no other system in place, this is a great solution for help desk and inventory. It also has many plugins available and great community support.
Read Duke Pustay's full review
Chaun Davis profile photo
February 04, 2015

Spiceworks Review: "Simple to understand with countless options!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As Medical Management Company we support multiple hospitals and assisted living facilities. We use Spiceworks to track inventory, security settings, ink and toner, as well as track and log tickets. Spiceworks helps us stay organized and gives us the ability to handle multiple issues at once.
  • Gives our company the ability to track the progress on all outstanding and resolved issues.
  • We are able to monitor any unwanted programs on all computers.
  • Allows our company to communicate with other IT professionals on software or hardware.
  • A way to categorize submitted tickets with the ability to search closed issues.
We love Spiceworks at our office and would recommend it to anyone.
Read Chaun Davis's full review
A.J. Stringham profile photo
December 30, 2014

Spiceworks Review: "It's okay for SMB but not great"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks was used as a ticketing/helpdesk and networking inventory software. We used it for our only location for the network portion but the remote users, in addition to local users, used the ticketing portion. This helped us track issues that were arising, see and also anticipate potential problems and assisted when urging those with the credit cards to make, what we knew to be, very much needed purchasing decisions.
  • It's free. No other ticketing system, that I know of, can say that (at least any good ones).
  • It integrates nicely, as a whole, with the ticketing in trying to find an answer to the ticket by including links to possible solutions from TechNet, the Community and the manufacturer's website.
  • The inventory portion isn't bad. It often has a good deal of scan errors but, once remedied, it does a nice job giving you lots of relevant info.
  • The ticketing system is basic but lacks many features of bigger players. Spiceworks was designed for the SMB that didn't/doesn't have the money for a large $$ ticketing system. I currently use Autotask at my current employer and it is far superior in it's tracking with tickets and the like.
  • Spiceworks could stand to open up their code a bit more. I often hear of people who have specific needs that wouldn't be difficult to integrate/allow but that aren't done.
  • The interface needs a bit of an overhaul. They keep adding features to the product that, while they are good, they need to be addressing previous concerns first. It often feels like, with the product, they're trying to be flashy and show off what it can do now vs address the issues of long-time users/attempted users.
  • No projects! Users have been requesting multi-tiered tickets for awhile now or a projects-like ability. Having a task list under a ticket would be awesome as well. I've been using Spiceworks over 2 years and it's been requested since before I started and still hasn't been implemented.
If you're a SMB and your budget for IT is "what budget", then Spiceworks for a ticketing system is for you. It's ideal for one or two man shops that just don't want to worry about paying big money for ticketing when they know they won't get said money. It makes tracking work much easier. Email notifications are awesome too although it can be finicky with some email servers.
Read A.J. Stringham's full review
Kelly Hicks profile photo
April 08, 2015

User Review: "SpiceWorks Keeps My Work Spicy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks in our IT Department and in our Maintenance Department. Users email work to separate email addresses which then are deposited in a ticket inside of Spiceworks. End users can also jump on our Intranet site and submit a ticket through the Spiceworks Portal. It's helped both of these departments to stay on top of work and helps end users feel like their work is in the schedule.
  • The price for sure, who doesn't like free?
  • Great community of users who are constantly improving the product.
  • Once you get used to the customization in Spiceworks, it's really easy to make the program do what you want it to do.
  • Searching could be improved, where there are a lot of work orders in the system, it can be hard to distinguish between open and closed items.
  • The ability to prompt for "Are you sure you want to change screens without saving first?" Sometimes I do a lot of documenting in a Work Order then have to look at something else, and I lost everything I've written. The beauty of Spiceworks though, is that someone might fix this soon.
I love Spiceworks, I don't know why you would want to purchase a piece of software for helpdesk and inventory, when Spiceworks is free! I've used many of the other providers in my past and this product is really great!
Read Kelly Hicks's full review
Tyler Dickinson profile photo
June 13, 2014

User Review: "Spiceworks = Hot Stuff"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using it as a backup to our Dell KACE appliance. Since it's agentless scans can collect more data than KACE's, it is a great way to monitor and collect information about systems that we do not want to install an agent on, such as servers. Plus, due to it's low system requirements and the fact that I'm the only one using it right now, I have it running on a spare laptop on my desk.
  • Agentless scanning provides complete system details, including things like license keys for Microsoft software and toner levels on printers.
  • A full-featured help desk system, rivaling some the best paid solutions.
  • The ability to manage Active Directory users.
  • A purchase tracking system. See where all your money is going and who the big spenders are.
  • Windows only install. A nitpick point, I know, but it would be nice to be able to install it on a Linux box.
  • While an agent is provided (say, for your laptop users who are not always in the office), there is no built in option to deploy it across the network. It must be downloaded and installed manually.
  • No Mac version of the agent, making it difficult to manage MacBook users.
  • A Dell KACE feature, the ability to run scripts and installs directly from the Spiceworks appliance.
This is a great product in almost any work environment. The only place that may be problematic is if you have a lot of remote users using Mac laptops, since the remote agent is a Windows only product. The agentless network scanning, however, will scan Mac, Windows, and Linux machines as well as non-computer items like routers, managed switches, and network printers. For free. The help desk system is just as good as others that cost hundreds or thousands of dollars more. And the Spiceworks Community support, whether you use the product or not, is a tremendous resource for anyone in IT.
Read Tyler Dickinson's full review
Chris Johnson profile photo
June 06, 2014

Review: "Spiceworks has done more for my IT department than any two or three other software packages combined, and all for free."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks within the company as an asset management/discovery tool for all of our networking and computing equipment. It's the primary inventory for our desktop and mobile PCs and tablets and software licenses. It automatically discovers and inventories anything attached to your network, and you can also add in other devices to the database as well. It has a very robust help desk built in, and it has tools to put its users directly in touch with vendors and re-sellers for quotes on hardware, software, and services. The community forums are an invaluable resource because it puts IT professionals in touch with each other to share advice, support, software and hardware reviews, and user generated scripts and plugins, etc. The software itself is invaluable, and the community is second to none when it comes to getting real answers from real IT professionals.

With Spiceworks, I can solve computer problems from start to finish. For example, a user submits a ticket to Spiceworks Help Desk, then I use Spiceworks Inventory to compare his computer to similar machines and to see what software is installed that could be causing problems, I can go to the Spiceworks Community forums to get advice on how to solve the problem or to read product reviews, and then I can even get quotes from vendors for the replacement parts or new software, all without having to leave Spiceworks.
  • Help desk software is easy to set up and manage and has a user portal with room for a FAQ or self-support as well as a robust ticketing system.
  • Network inventory discovery in Spiceworks is better than many expensive solutions that I've used, and it's completely free.
  • I get quick answers to complicated questions in the community forums. Many IT Superheroes are more than happy to help you out with technical problems or offer up advice.
  • With Spiceworks, I can solve computer problems from start to finish. For example, a user submits a ticket to Spiceworks Help Desk, then I use Spiceworks Inventory to compare his computer to similar machines and to see what software is installed that could be causing problems, I can go to the Spiceworks Community forums to get advice on how to solve the problem or to read product reviews, and then I can even get quotes from vendors for the replacement parts or new software, all without having to leave Spiceworks.
  • There has been talk of adding a Wiki feature to SpiceWorks, which I think would be a great addition.
  • Only runs on Windows. It will automatically discover and inventory any OS, but the software itself must be hosted on Windows.
Very useful for small and medium businesses, MSPs, and large enterprises with small IT departments for organization and inventory, help desk, etc.

We run Spiceworks on our antivirus management server (VM), it doesn't need anything too powerful but it can be a little slow at times if you're running on a slower host.

Many people seem to only use the help desk feature, or only participate in the community, etc. so even if you don't use the entire package, there is something that everyone in IT will find useful in Spiceworks.
Read Chris Johnson's full review
Brent Long profile photo
June 04, 2014

User Review: "Spiceworks truly is "Everything IT!""

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is an integral part of my daily IT toolbox and we utilize it throughout our organization for IT Support, Help Desk, Inventory Management, User Management, License Tracking, Software Tracking, Warranty Statuses, Network Monitoring, Server Monitoring, and even more! I cannot say enough positive things about this software and all of its features, not to mention the organization itself, and the entire IT community that supports, uses, and interacts with one another on a daily basis. The hardest thing to believe about Spiceworks is the fact that it is 100% FREE while still being robust, constantly updated, and phenomenally supported!
  • Help Desk interface and management, hands down, is a fantastic feature of Spiceworks. The user portal enables my users to empower themselves while also allowing our IT department to provide a better level of service to the user base. Ticket management and Problem resolution are much better organized and allow any IT department to optimize their support processes.
  • The inventory abilities of Spiceworks are a great ability that allows an IT department to track assets, get extended and detailed information of many, many devices, and the advanced scanning options allow for an administrator to fine-tune the scans to be unobtrusive, selective, and thorough.
  • Warranty and License management within Spiceworks allows for proper and accurate tracking of these critical subjects which allows an organization to stay within compliance of software regulations, keep track of hardware age, warranty expiration, and so much more!
  • One of the greatest features of the Spiceworks package has to be the IT user community that supports it! I have found SO much in terms of support, tweaks, add-ons, and an answer to almost ANY technical question you could possibly have, regarding Spiceworks or any other hardware/software!!
  • I've come across a few things about Spiceworks that could use refinement, one of which being the network scanning/inventory feature. I've come to notice that handling stale/expired inventory is a bit of a hassle within the database, however there are independent user tweaks and tips that allow an competent IT pro to work around and cleanup inventory.
  • I would REALLY like the ability to fully customize the Help Desk Portal within Spiceworks itself without the need of directly modifying the page code or using a third-party module. the base Portal design is great, however it is not nearly as customize-able as it could/should be.
  • I've noticed that the Spiceworks installation on a server sometimes has a hard time restarting, will hang upon service restart, or will sometimes just "die" (for lack of a better term) however a simple reboot of the server usually resolves the issue. I do not have a dedicated Spiceworks server, so that *could* be the issue. In the real-world most IT departments wouldn't necessarily be dedicating a server just to Spiceworks, however with Virtualization being what it is now, if you have the spare resources, it could be a good idea to dedicate a VM to the install.
It might not be robust enough to handle a multi-national corporation, but for ANY small, medium, or even large business structures it is a great and capable fit! My specific experiences with companies using it were a past size of 94 users/160 PC count, and my current company that has over 300 users and 400 PC's with no issues!
Read Brent Long's full review
Tim Catania profile photo
June 17, 2014

Review: "Spiceworks - IT Everything at a glance."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Spiceworks to manage computers and in a help desk function. Spiceworks is currently being maintained and used by our technicians. Additionally, we use it to allow users to submit computer and technology issues. Their alert system is awesome and their ticketing system addresses our need for for issue tracking and management.
  • Spiceworks has an excellent built in monitoring and operations dashboard that is being updated often to add more features.
  • Spicework's help desk panel is awesome. Many features are just a click away when you need them.
  • Spicework's ticketing system is the best free system we've ever used.
  • There could be more scanning features for network traffic.
  • Spiceworks has an awesome community. I'd love to see news articles and forum conversations related to my equipment.
  • Spiceworks could use more options for the help desk GUI.
Install this on a non-production first to make sure you're happy with the functionality. We haven't had any issues with the installation but it's better safe than sorry when it comes to important servers. Furthermore, schedule the scans associated with Spiceworks for after-hours. They are not too terribly resource intensive but they can be a little burdensome on the network.
Read Tim Catania's full review
Stephen Smith profile photo
June 16, 2014

User Review: "Spiceworks for the win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it company wide as a help desk ticketing system to help with logging of issues and to make sure users get the support they need in a timely fashion. Spiceworks addresses the issue if some of our support team is out or busy with something else they can log a ticket and we will see it right away and asses how urgent the issue is.
  • Spiceworks has a great community of like minded folks, that always try to help each other out and are there to answer questions when needed.
  • Spiceworks provides a very simple but effective ticketing system for our IT department to keep track of all support issues.
  • Spiceworks provides an inventory system that indexes all systems as well as devices that most would not worry about until something went wrong.
  • Spiceworks does a lot of things well, but something I would like to see is a wiki type solution that is secured from the rest of the community to use for internal documentation.
Spiceworks is very simple to set up and use. Spiceworks also provides free support for the product and how to videos on just about anything you need to use it for in your day to day business. Spiceworks is well suited for IT departments looking to organize themselves but also works well for an MSP as you can install Spiceworks at multiple sites and manage all from one place.
Read Stephen Smith's full review
Nikki Blake profile photo
June 16, 2014

Spiceworks Review: "Supremely useful AND it's free? Yes, please!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is currently used by the IT department to track help desk tickets and manage PC/server/printer inventory. Users submit trouble tickets via email which generates a ticket within Spiceworks and notifies all IT staff. This process helps prioritize IT tasks based on existing issues and IT staff availability, track trending issues, as well as improve user satisfaction. The scanning/inventory function allows IT staff to view information about a user's PC (software installed, serial number, IP address, etc.) without being physically present. The built-in remote control (RDP) feature is especially helpful.
  • The inventory scanning feature has been extremely useful. Because our PC naming convention is based on the serial number, figuring out who a particular PC belongs to can be a challenge. However, the inventory within Spiceworks automatically detects the PC and documents a ton of useful information - serial number, PC name, last logged in user, software installed, hardware configuration and IP address.
  • The help desk function is our most frequently used area of Spiceworks. Users can simply send a message to a specific email address and Spiceworks automatically generates a ticket. Each IT staff member is notified and based on who is available or has particular expertise in the user's issue, they can assign the ticket to themselves or admins can assign the ticket to a particular technician. Each ticket includes areas to track time spent on the issue, purchases made (including item, vendor, price), make notes that are visible only by IT staff for documentation purposes, and respond directly to the user. Ticket information is searchable which is especially helpful when researching a problem that has come up in the past.
  • We don't use the reporting feature very frequently, but when we do we are always pleased. The canned reports cover a lot of common needs, but if you need a custom report, it is easy to create your own from scratch.
  • The help desk does not allow you to add time spent to tickets after they've been closed. The Spiceworks app does, however.
  • The Tickets Anywhere hashtag (#) commands either work very slowly or only sometimes.
  • The inventory view will randomly switch between icon and browse views instead of keeping the last setting.
Spiceworks can be used by the smallest of offices to large enterprise environments. While very large networks may need some additional features, Spiceworks easily covers all the necessities and helps keep everything managed and organized. All that is necessary to deploy is a no-frills computer connected to the network - doesn't even need to be a server. This could easily run in the background on a standard machine. Occasionally there are issues with blocked ports that prevent the automatic scan feature, but this is easily remedied through Group Policy or a local install of a small fix-it application. The Spiceworks community forum is a priceless resource of information both specific to Spiceworks as well as general IT questions and concerns. Any issues you may have with installation or use of Spiceworks can probably be resolved by searching through the forum or posting a new thread. The Spiceworks users around the globe are always very willing to help out a fellow Spicehead in need!
Read Nikki Blake's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (11)
7.8
Expert directory (11)
8.7
Subscription-based notifications (11)
8.2
ITSM collaboration and documentation (10)
8.0
Ticket creation and submission (11)
7.9
Ticket response (11)
7.8
External knowledge base (10)
9.7
Internal knowledge base (10)
9.2
Customer portal (9)
9.6
IVR (6)
8.4
Social integration (8)
9.2
Email support (10)
8.9
Help Desk CRM integration (7)
8.1

About Spiceworks

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually.

Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.

Spiceworks Competitors

Spiceworks Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No