Spiceworks Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 64)

Barrett Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it exclusively as a ticketing system to start with. As we have gone on and refined things we are slowly adding to it more and more. At the moment, the main use it still as a ticketing system, but we have recently added inventory information and started using the purchasing section of it. It is being used in the Department of Residence at the moment.
  • The ticketing system is clean and efficient.
  • So many metrics can be tracked.
  • The addition of other components can make it a little clunky.
  • The aesthetic is a bit busy, could be cleaner.
Spiceworks is great for places with small tech budgets. Its free version is great to use, especially as a ticket system to keep things efficient in the office. The inventory section can be super useful in smaller networks. In larger companies, it would be better to use the paid version and have a tech dedicated to running the server.
Read Barrett Ford's full review
BART HUNTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to scan our entire network infrastructure. I use it primarily as a tool to inform me of our security posture. It identified gaps such as workstations without antivirus installed and even how many workstations running a particular operating system is on our network. This tool is very cost efficient (free to be exact) that a security practitioner can use to perform risk analysis. I highly recommend this for security administrators who have a limited budget but still need an effective tool to help in identifying security vulnerabilities on their network.
  • Identify workstations with running various operating systems on your network.
  • Identify workstations running various anti-virus programs on your network.
  • Identify workstations and servers running low on storage capacity.
  • Provide dashboards to easily view the current state of your network.
  • Spiceworks uses a lot of system resources and does need room for improvement in this area on Windows systems. Sometimes it can hang and a system reboot will clear up the issue.
  • Spiceworks should be able to be installed on non-Windows systems such as Linux, Apple MAC OS, or other flavors of unix. So it should have a Linux install available for servers running this OS.
  • Running Spiceworks on a workstation along with other programs is not recommended. I would advise installing it on a dedicated server.
Spiceworks is well suited for Information Technology departments who have a limited budget. The free version of this software is one of the best tools to help a security practitioner perform a risk analysis on their network. Other similar tools that are free are limited in the IP ranges that they can scan, but not Spiceworks. I can scan several subnets with this tool. Another cool feature is that I don't have to visit each workstation on our network to obtain information about it. Spiceworks gives me all the information I need right at my own desktop. Spiceworks is well suited for small IT shops and small security departments. Other tools of this capability will cost you thousands.
Read BART HUNTER's full review
Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Great Free Product

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are mostly using Spiceworks to complete auditing and reporting across our network. IT automatically inventories all of our devices and lets us see at a glance the key metrics and measurements that we need to know. We can also put specific notes regarding each device to help us to keep track of things such as hardware faults/fixes/upgrades. We have over 250 devices and counting so it is critical we keep track of these types of things in a central location.
  • Inventory.
  • Reporting.
  • Application deployment.
  • Windows updates.
Spiceworks is a good free suite but there are better paid alternatives that can do a lot more. It is useful for basic inventory but if you want remote management or app/Windows updating and all that sort of thing, Spiceworks can't offer it. It is great for managing smaller environments but as we started to grow, we started to outgrow Spiceworks. It does have some good features such as warranty lookup which has been handy but if you are larger than 100 endpoints and want more features, you would want to look at products with more functionality.
Read Sam Othman's full review
Cesare Arienti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks has been used to assess our domain network of the whole organization. With its free license up to 100 devices has been useful to:
- Understand vulnerability on our network devices
- Patch level of Windows OS
  • Simple web interface.
  • 0-day checks.
  • A lot of "premade script."
  • Better management of scan exclusions.
  • Implement a more modern interface.
It's very useful in:
- asset management like licenses, computers, monitors,...
- OS patch level and 0-day checks
- small to big business
Read Cesare Arienti's full review
Sam Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Spiceworks Rulez!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spiceworks for IT helpdesk ticket submission, reporting, and as a knowledge base repository. We are also using it to track purchases. It is used solely in IT as a way to keep IT issues at the forefront and as a way for users to keep in constant contact with the ticket owner.
  • A great way to track communication on IT tickets between the owner and the user.
  • Ease of use.
  • Reporting.
  • Better integration with SSO.
  • Integration with MFA.
Spiceworks has a great community backing it. I have never had a question that was unanswered.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
Jewitt Bradley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Spiceworks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the help desk and inventory applications.
  • The help desk allows us to have a ticketing system without breaking the bank.
  • Collaborations with a huge number of vendors.
  • Syncing online help desk with on-site.
The contract function helps you stay up to date with vendor contracts. Also the help desk is a very useful function that continues to get better and it is a free utility along with inventory, remote desktop, network scanning, and a host of other features that help one-man shops to small businesses.
Read Jewitt Bradley's full review
Jamie Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Spiceworks, can't miss!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks in a variety of ways.
It addresses our need to maintain software and hardware inventories, as well as deal with any of our help desk ticketing. We have, in the past used it in order to ensure that products and services are currently online. The other thing that it addresses is our ability to put any questions out to their community and have valuable feedback provided by community members.
  • Strong Community Support.
  • Easy integration.
  • Less unrelated advertising.
  • More articles.
Spiceworks will help you remain relevant and help get you up to speed in the ever changing technical landscape. It is well suited to anyone within the IT community, whether you are a beginner or an old dog. The topping on the cake has to be the Spiceworld Event held annually.
Read Jamie Abraham's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT Dept is using Spiceworks. It provides us with a great level of detail right down to the memory in a workstation or laptop. The tool provides us with all the information we need to make informed decisions about hardware and software on any of our devices.
  • Excel Inventory Reports
  • Reports with Hardware details
  • Inventory report interface for creation
  • Scheduling could be more enhanced for automatic e-mails.
The Spice works tool is excellent for companies on a tight budget to get an inventory of assets for hardware and software inventory. The ability for us to customize the reports allows us to create custom-tailored ones for different departments if they want to view all their current hardware inventory.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Spiceworks Works!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is being used to manage our general mailbox for our service team. Our mail program did not keep replies with the incoming messages, and messages could be deleted from our inbox and not be able to recover them.
  • Each ticket has a timestamp of when it was received, making it easy to see our response times.
  • Spiceworks displays live data on how fast we respond and how long it takes us to close requests.
  • Recipients added to distribution as CCs do not always get the emails from Spiceworks.
  • Spiceworks does not allow us to break up a conversation.
Spiceworks has helped us to know that we are responding to every customer email and how long it takes for us to get there. It truly does not stack conversations as well as I had hoped.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Free and Wonderful!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this for both maintenance and IT for their free cloud ticketing system (on.spiceworks.com) in order to keep things organized. I also use it for asset tracking and am a member of their online community. This has been a blessing for us, as all of it is free. The community is also very knowledgeable, being able to help me with various problems I run into. Also, I am a member of what they call SpiceCorps, which is a local group of IT people who meet up periodically, just be social, share knowledge, and general friendship.
  • Ticketing.
  • Community.
  • The search function is lacking.
Some people don't need a ticketing system, but you can use this one for free. Some people don't need asset tracking, but this one is free. However, in general, I highly recommend being a member of the online community just for the sake of knowing that you're not alone with the pain of printing, and even if you don't know something, someone in the community is usually ready and waiting to help.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks as our help desk ticketing system and as a resource for learning and troubleshooting issues. The help desk ticketing tool is very useful and cost effective, it is free! The Spiceworks community has been great, there are a lot of technical professionals and the wealth of experience is tremendous.
  • Help desk
  • Inventory
  • Slightly more moderating of material
  • Less marketing from vendors
Spiceworks is a great tool / set of tools for any sized company. They also have a yearly conference that is one of the best in the tech industry. Besides help desk and inventory there are other free tools for use by IT staff. There are also webinars that include vendors and other industry professionals which are very useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks as a help desk/ticketing system for tracking problems, questions and feature requests throughout our entire organization. We have a few users that manage the ticketing system (myself included) and we encourage everyone at our company to submit all IT related concerns through Spiceworks. It helps us to address anything from a question on system usage to requests for new hardware, or software troubleshooting as well. It also gives us the opportunity to track these requests and see what issues are trending, and time spent on certain issues as well.
  • It's easy to set up
  • It is very user friendly
  • Reporting is a bit difficult to figure out at first
  • Categorizing for trends can be a bit daunting/excessive if it isn't used properly
The ability to track issues and communicate with our end-users quickly and efficiently helps us tremendously. In a world where emails get lost, having a ticketing system/help desk such as this keeps everything in one place. I especially like that Spiceworks helps us to follow along on a ticket to see where it is in the process of being resolved. Assigning tickets to the appropriate user/department is a cinch and being able to reference past issues easily is a bonus.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Spiceworks to help get answers on questions that I cannot seem to find answers for elsewhere. Spiceheads get together and help each other out and it is a wonderful thing. There is so much knowledge between the users that it is priceless. I use it here in the IT department.
  • Helps answer questions you may have a hard time finding.
  • Helps with training and education.
  • Has software that you can use to help in IT.
  • I can't think of any.
If you work in the IT department or even if you work with technology yourself, Spiceworks will help you. You can post a question and usually get some answers from other users. If you want to work on something mechanical like a car, this might not be the place for you. I go to YouTube, but we aren't talking about that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks to manage help desk tickets and prepare KPI reports on the type of issues faced by our internal users as well as the time it takes to resolve and the notes on the resolution. We also link KB articles where relevant. In addition, we also use Spiceworks to manage Contact Us tickets we receive from our website and combined with ticket rules, assign them automatically depending on the issue subject and category
  • Free version works brilliantly
  • Ease of customization for easy adoption
  • Web interface makes it easy for multiple users to work concurrently
  • Reports are easy to prepare/customize to gather KPI
  • Agents can be intrusive
  • Limited installation option is missing e.g. if we only want to use one feature, instead of all
  • On-premise version constantly wants to go to the web for dashboard
  • Changing a password is quite cumbersome
Spiceworks works well for help desk ticket management and provides relevant reports. Being free, it is easy to have multiple instances where air-gap between systems is required.

I found the agents to be limited and produce false positives and alerts for features that I have not enabled.

Overall, it works well and did I mention the cost is zero?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WE have been using Spiceworks in our environment for about a decade to inventory hardware and software. We also rely heavily on the Helpdesk for internal users to open tickets for help with IT needs. This has been a great software to use in this way for multiple reasons. It has been great with getting more people in the IT department to be able to assign tickets and leave notes and other things that email just doesn't do.
  • I love the help desk portion of the software, it works to streamline our department to not step on each other's toes and we know what is being done at all times.
  • Hardware inventory is really nice, it scans regularly and updates what we have in the environment. Keeping us aware of changes.
  • The software inventory is great as it scans regularly and updates us on what changes and what has been updated and installed.
  • The community is great. If I need help, I ask a question and usually get an actionable response quickly.
  • Upgrades could go smoother. I have bombed out the install at least twice in the 10+ years I have been using it.
  • The customization of the helpdesk backend is great but sometimes it leaves you unsure of what to do and how to script things.
  • Extracting data from the DB that it keeps for feedback to management on performance is limited.
Small companies that want a cheap and easy to use Helpdesk and software/hardware monitoring service for their company. I would think if the company was larger it would have issues with the management of the software and could become overloaded on the software and people side. I used this software when it was just me and 100 users, and it was hard to get people to use. Now, I have almost 300 people and 2 admins using the software, and it helps us keep up with demands.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Free can be better!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks is being used as an inventory management system for us. We use it to both track our count of devices and if devices are online. This has made life much easier with monitoring switches and servers without having to pay for a service. We have tried some paid services, but have found that this meets our needs currently. We also use this as our ticketing system since it pulls in all the inventory automatically.
  • Free.
  • Simple to use.
  • Scans network on its own.
  • Has the ability to group.
  • Can arrange dashboard for your needs.
  • Simple ticketing system.
  • It's unable to notify if network goes down as it is on your network.
  • Doesn't have tons of bells and whistles, but that's because its free.
It's suited to small companies just trying to monitor utilization, status, and other simple metrics. Small shops with just one or two IT staff are ideal. We can use it also for ticket management.
Read this authenticated review
Martha Batruny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I would say Spiceworks is very easy to set up. It is no doubt simple but most functional tool. It's clean, clear and polished interface is highly appreciable. It consists of incredibly amazing monitoring features. It is indeed incomparable free IT software with plenty of benefits. It works more than our expectations. It comprises of a variety of customization options with wonderful performance.
  • It is super duper easy to use.
  • It is extremely easy to implement.
  • Best ways for handling tickets.
  • It's could version needs some improvement.
  • The email notifications do not have that much unwanted stuff.
Spiceworks can be used with even low budget. It is well suited to our business and
fulfills all the requirements of our company. It is 100% recommended to other
customers.
Read Martha Batruny's full review
Leonard Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spiceworks was used as a help desk system, inventory management, as well as a knowledge base center. It helped us manage customer tickets as well as assign workflow for each tech. Techs were assigned a ticket, they commented on each ticket, and they provided documentation for that particular issue. We were able to discuss tech issues with other people using Spiceworks which helped us solve issues faster.
  • Creating a ticket and assigning a tech in Outlook was simple to use.
  • Ticket management for each tech was easy to use.
  • Inventory management was well paid out and easy to access.
  • Upgrade the ticket search feature so it doesn't feel like tickets are so clustered together when doing a search.
  • Improve upon features for the tech. Maybe an antivirus or online status of computers on the main page.
  • A feature to record time would help improve tickets being worked on.
If you have under 50 clients in an MSP then Spiceworks works perfectly. This is also true if you don't have a lot of employees in your MSP. The cost is also sufficient for smaller organizations. It would be less appropriate it you had to do billing management separately. I feel like other MSP services provide bulkier packages to better fit those needs.
Read Leonard Johnson's full review
Armando Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Just a thought

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well, we used it for monitoring device switches. We were in the process of looking around for something to use. This free version was a good start. The problem we had was just finding something to do what we wanted since our network is pretty large.
  • Network Monitor was good. It did your basic stuff like CPU utilization, memory stuff, etc.
  • Also, the fact you can use it on most operating systems of today that was plus.
  • Dashboard was easy to get around with.
  • Alert thresholds
  • Email alerts
Spiceworks Network Monitor is an easy-to-use product that will nicely meet the needs of most small to midsize businesses. You do not need to be a professional network engineer to use the product and you don't need to be in the IT department to use it.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks to manage all IT support requests for our team. Since we recently expanded our team and users are across the entire United States, we needed a better solution to manage these requests. Previously users would text, email, AND call for assistance which did not allow for easy tracking of requests for the IT team.
  • Very easy to use and enter a support request
  • Email functionality allows quick updates to users of status/updates to support requests
  • Allows IT team to triage and assign out tickets very quickly
  • As a user, I would like to have a login where I can track my specific requests in one place
  • We currently have a link that we access to enter our requests-it would be cool if we could initiate via email plugin
It is very user friendly for all levels of tech savvy-which we have on our team. Users can quickly access Spiceworks and easily log a support request. They can also specify preference for contact, including email follow up of ticket status. It's not overly complicated and was easy to implement with a team that is very used to just emailing or calling in requests to the support team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks (on premises, not the cloud version) as a ticketing system across our entire organization. One of our locations is also using Spiceworks Inventory to keep track of workstations, printers, and other devices. We have more than 10+ IT support techs, 1000+ users submitting tickets, and 10000+ supported devices (1 for 1 school district). Users submit tickets via email. IT support mostly uses the web interface; the mobile app is used less often. Management tracks time spent on tickets via reports. Nothing groundbreaking --a normal ticketing system in a mid-size organization.
  • Price: it is free.
  • Ease of installation: all components (web server, database) are included in a single package. The entire ticketing system can be configured in 5 minutes.
  • Email integration: we can submit tickets, add time, comments, and close over the email.
  • Performance issues. With tens of thousands of tickets and thousands of devices in the Spiceworks database, reports can be very sluggish. Throwing more hardware resources does not help.
  • Customization is limited. We use a custom script to control our ticket assignment, as rules inside Spiceworks are not adequate. Spiceworks implementation of Apache does not work well with configuration changes. The database server used is SQLite, which is quite limited -- working with the database directly is not advisable.
  • Support and documentation are what can be expected from the ad-supported product. Most of the time forums are the best place to find answers.
Spiceworks Help Desk and Inventory is a great fit for small organizations without funds to purchase a ticketing system. If an organization has more than 5 people in the IT department, a different ticketing system would be a better fit. Spiceworks is easy to set up, but customizing deployment is a painful process. Another scenario for Spiceworks use is an organization where management does not understand the need for paid ticketing system -- Spiceworks can be used to prove the usefulness of a ticketing system.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks for two purposes: for its inventory tracking capabilities to keep track of all our our IT infrastructure, and also we heavily use the help desk feature across our whole organization, which allows us to manage and track support issues and their solutions all within one central place, and to easily recall past issues and their solutions.
  • Help desk trouble ticket system, which is great for tracking the status of issues within your organization. It allows users the ability to submit help requests themselves, and it allows teams to update and track the tickets.
  • Inventory tracking of all your equipment with lots of details about each piece of equipment, like the patch level of computers and the location for equipment or the last time it was serviced or updated.
  • Spiceworks is free!! You can't beat a free solution, and the community behind Spiceworks is huge. Their forums are filled with fellow IT pros willing to help each other out if you submit a question.
  • Spiceworks is pretty flexible in the inventory tracking area but it would be nice to be able to create multiple custom fields because sometimes I need more than one customizable field.
  • Spiceworks offers apps for managing things from your phone, but it's a very text-heavy app. It would be nice for it to be a little more graphical for some of the lower-end users out there.
  • Spiceworks offers 2 different apps, one for their forums and accessing the Spiceworks community, and another for the help desk features. It would be nice to have them combined into one app.
Since Spiceworks is a free solution, it's hard not to recommend it to anyone. It's great for IT pros looking for inventory tracking and management, and also those looking for a help desk ticketing system, which is searchable and makes it easy to recall past tickets and their solutions and see the history of an issue withing your organization. The apps make it really handy to view when you are on-the-go, too. Even if it's not a perfect fit for your needs, since its free, its hard not to find a way to fit it into your needs.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spiceworks as our help desk ticketing solution. We tried it for Inventory and the scanning slows down the network. If you scan your network do it during off hours so not to impact your users. However the Help Desk ticket software is great as well as linking to the spiceworks.com site. Spiceworks.com has a great forum to get answers for your tech issues.
  • Help Desk Ticketing software. For a small company to keep track of all their issues.
  • You can choose between cloud or on premis.
  • You can use the dashboard and reporting to get metrics to justify your IT spend!
  • No cost solution. Doesn't add to your budget.
  • Inventory. The network scan really slows down your network. It's very intensive. Do this off hours.
  • Network Monitor also slows down your network. Do this only if you need it. There's another solution Panopta that has a very light weight solution for low cost per machine.
Spiceworks is suitable for small IT shops. It's a generic ticket system. You can create reports and add-ons. Larger shops should look at something bigger. Spiceworks is very simple. However Spiceworks.com is a great site that can add to any tech's toolbox. There is a large community that helps answering questions. A lot of questions have already been answered so it has a huge knowledge base.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization encourages the use of open source software when it can be used to cut costs. We were testing multiple asin set management softwares, and I was asked to test Spiceworks as I had experience with it. I set up a virtual server, installed Spiceworks and began to test. Let me say from the start that scanning in all the devices it in my plans took an incredible amount of time, but now that they are scanned in, it is not that bad. Spiceworks is built and maintained by all of the "spiceheads" on the Spiceworks forums, and they are very proud of what they have built, as well they should be. This software, in my opinion, is second only to PDQInventory for asset management.
  • Actively monitors all of the devices on your network.
  • Excellent for software inventory
  • Outstanding for hardware inventory
  • Price. For the low, low cost of zero you get an amazing quality tool
  • 3rd party integration
  • Scans are very slow.
  • Huge learning curve
  • 3rd party integration is not really well documented, meaning that it can take a while to find what you need to set something new up.
Spiceworks is just a suited well to the startup that has a very small budget to the Information Technology Juggernaut that has a multi-billion dollar budget. It is not suited for an IT department that is not used to doing some troubleshooting on enterprise level software. Spiceworks can probably do what you need, but it might take you a while to set it up.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a growing company and looking for better solutions for the IT department. Reviewing functionality for our needs and solutions on the market we stopped with Spiceworks solutions from HelpDesk and network monitoring.
The Spiceworks HelpDesk application allows us to control, analyze and improve performance of IT HelpDesk team.
The Network Monitoring tool gives us enough information on the network state, servers and network resources up time and sends alerts once things going wrong.
  • For small and mid size companies - very good solution. Low prices or free solutions.
  • Easy deployment, fast start, not additional training is required for personnel.
  • user friendly web interface, great performance, easy integration.
  • It would be great if different SpiceWorks solutions had a single web management console.
  • Integration between solutions to have all the data available in all solutions.
  • Give more options for alerting and more flexible options for monitoring.
This is a great solution and I like to use it in my environment, having experience with expensive enterprise level solutions I can tell that Spiceworks does a great job.
9 of 10 only because this is not the best solution from the features prospective.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (35)
8.6
Expert directory (30)
8.2
Subscription-based notifications (26)
8.2
ITSM collaboration and documentation (28)
7.9
Ticket creation and submission (35)
9.0
Ticket response (34)
9.1
External knowledge base (33)
9.2
Internal knowledge base (30)
8.2
Customer portal (29)
8.7
IVR (7)
9.0
Social integration (18)
7.9
Email support (28)
8.5
Help Desk CRM integration (19)
7.7

About Spiceworks

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually.

Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.

Spiceworks Competitors

Spiceworks Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No