SpyFu Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Jake Hundley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

The Best Competitor Research Tool Out There

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When it comes to assessing the competition, SpyFu is fantastic. I prefer its competitor analysis features much more than SEMRush or any other platform out there. That is what I use SpyFu for. Regarding reporting and integrations, it doesn't quite seem like it's the best option given the versatility other platforms like RavenTools has to offer. Especially at the price.
Read Jake Hundley's full review
Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Accessible and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SpyFu is definitely a lower-cost, more simplistic, easier-to-use, less robust tool compared to SEMRush. However, they provide similar information in similar ways. I would say for the serious, large business looking to invest in a hardy tool, SEMRush is great. For the smaller business looking to dip their toes in the pool of digital marketing research possibilities, SpyFu is a great place to start.
Read Austin Voigt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Straightforward competitive keyword tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It isn't fair to compare these two tools overall. They have a few shared pieces, but SEMRush is much more expensive but includes many more tools making it a full SEO suite. When looking strictly at the shared tools from both companies (the competitor keyword tools), they stack up pretty evenly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SpyFu Search Analytics Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Personally, the only tool I use as often as SEMRush. If you have the SEMRush paid version, I personally choose to use that over SpyFu. SpyFu is the best free search analytics tool online though. It has the greatest offerings in its free pack and allows you to have the most visibility into the research around your actual paid search analytics along with your organic ones and the ones you should be acquiring.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

SpyFu is a lot of data for a great price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at SEM Rush, but for the price, we decided to give SpyFu a chance. SpyFu is very affordable compared to other similar tools. I think that I can overlook some of the lack of intuitiveness of the platform given the low monthly price.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SpyFu has given me the best value and insight for keyword and competitor research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They both give me great value, I use them together to get the best results. SimilarWeb gives me a holistic view of a website's traffic - it includes both organic and paid traffic, while SpyFu gives only organic traffic results.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

A Comprehensive Competitive Analysis in One Place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SpyFu is just an overall better package contained in one place. A full comprehensive competitive analysis can be completed with the use SpyFu. In the past, many other competitive tools would be needed, but here, it is all together. SpyFu presents everything in a user-friendly well-organized manner where you can create PDFs to share research compiled with the team, even if they haven't used SpyFu.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

An SEO competitive analysis tool that drives action

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say that the above tools each offer their own unique skillset to be able to enhance what we find with SpyFu. For competitive analysis at a low cost point SpyFu really follows through on the promise of delivering actionable competitive insights with additional tools that also aid in the content creation process. Can I completely ditch the tools above, no, but I would also say that I would not ditch SpyFu either as part of my complete SEO toolbox.
Read this authenticated review
Jordan Comstock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2018

SpyFu is great for keyword research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think that these are both really good products. If you are in an agency there is probably room for both in your budget because you will want to use them with different clients. If you are at a smaller company or a start up I would go with SpyFu. Much more affordable and very effective.
Read Jordan Comstock's full review
Rachel Hensley | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2018

SpyFu the best on competitor analysis.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer SpyFu to SEMRush because, for a free version, SpyFu gives more information and has a better, easier to use interface. SpyFu also doesn't give you a max amount of times you are able to view it on the free version which I love and also use often.
Read Rachel Hensley's full review
Jack Pennuto | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Perfect SEM/SEO/PPC Tool - No Agency Required

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As an independent company working on our own behalf, SpyFu seemed like a better fit than SEMRush, which appears to be geared more towards agencies or consultants. Additionally, SpyFu offers a lot more features than Linkody, which will be beneficial in the long term.
Read Jack Pennuto's full review
Chandler Elmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

SpyFu Helps To Make Spying Online Much Easier

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SpyFu is less robust than SEMRush in a lot of ways. Its keyword tool for example severely lags behind SEMRush. However, SEMRush does not have a solid PPC insight tool like SpyFu. This is reason alone to use both instead of just using SEMRush. We also see that SpyFu does a better job at showing how two and sometimes three websites stack up against each other better than SEMRush.
Read Chandler Elmore's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (36)
8.9
Backlink management (27)
6.6
SERP ranking tracking (29)
7.4
Page grader (20)
5.8
Competitive analysis (35)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (23)
7.0
Site recommendations (20)
7.0
Task management (15)
5.1
Local SEO (23)
6.9
Social SEO (21)
5.6
Mobile SEO (22)
6.5
Global SEO (24)
8.0
Multi-domain support (19)
7.1
Integration with web analytics tools (13)
6.2

About SpyFu

SpyFu is the eponymous SEO and PPC research platform from the company in Scottsdale, Arizona focused on "spying" on competitors, or basically using their behaviors to refine your own through keyword and content analysis, and backlink poaching. This positional search engine optimization and paid listings management platform touts the ability to lower costs and raise rankings via a Kombat-oriented approach... basically a cute way of saying "it makes comparisons" of how well your site does in niche keyword areas vis-a-vis rival actors in the same or contiguous marketing space.

Published pricing starts at $79 per month with the Basic plan, for Google, Yahoo & Bing research, 6 years of historical access, unlimited access to SpyFu's tools, but somewhat limited access to leads and domain contacts keyword rank tracking. The $139 Professional plan gives full access to UK data and doubles the rank tracking of keywords from 400 to 800, and provides custom branded (white label) reports and API access. the $999 Agency plan gives team access (10 user logins) and unlimited tracking and reporting capabilities.

Categories:  SEO

SpyFu Competitors

SpyFu Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No