SpyFu Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Jake Hundley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

The Best Competitor Research Tool Out There

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu has worked extremely well for us when we assess a prospect's market competition to see how competitive we need to be as a marketing agency, as well as what we should expect when launching ad campaigns as far as impression share goes. The data we're able to pull to show prospect's the climate of their market really impresses them. Once we have acquired that client, we focus less on what the competition is doing and more on how we can better optimize the keywords we're aiming for. In this instance, SpyFu isn't as applicable to us since we use another SEO/PPC tool for existing clients.
Read Jake Hundley's full review
George Louvis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

Why I love SpyFu and you will too.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

One of my clients owns a seasonal company. He is relatively small in an industry where he goes against national franchises. His annual budget is $100,000 per year. The national franchise spends that in one month. However, by looking at their ads and their keywords we can plan the best way to market against them and the best time to run specific ads with specific keywords and targets. It also helps us to optimize our site so that we rank organically for keywords they are paying for.
Read George Louvis's full review
Frank Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

SpyFu comes through

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need insights into the competitive landscape of any online space this tool is excellent. It also finds competitors via keywords both for paid and organic search. This provides an opportunity to see what keywords may have been overlooked or what terms should be looked at for organic - knowing that the rankings and traffic volume warrants it.
Read Frank Watson's full review
Bill Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu- Under the mask

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking for exact traffic numbers from various channels, not so good. Privacy concerns prevent this and keep accuracy in the sub-50% area. However, if you need some research on a website, it's one of the better ones and is an excellent way to augment Google's keyword planner
Read Bill Martin's full review
Ruben Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu is well suited to spy on your competition. See what they're bidding on and what they're not. How much they're spending. How long of a history they have with Ad words. In most situations, it gives you a better understanding of the whole Keyword search realm.
Read Ruben Diaz's full review
Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Accessible and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu has a very friendly user interface that is easy to navigate, it has a lower price entry point which is great for smaller businesses like ours, and it does provide the basic data we need for our digital marketing research from both an SEO and paid media perspective. However, there are a few things that get sacrificed with these benefits; the data is not as robust as other platforms, the user interface is not a bit over-simplistic and not as customizable, and you're definitely getting a bit less when you pay a bit less.
Read Austin Voigt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Straightforward competitive keyword tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • SpyFu is excellent at identifying big wins among competition or competitive gaps in organic and paid search results. If you are looking to get competitor data for comparison's sake (understanding that the data is useful but not the entire picture), it is well suited for that.
  • If you are trying to compare your web analytics data to SpyFu data for your competition, that is not an apples-to-apples comparison. Traffic figures are an estimation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu is a great tool for agencies and marketing teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu is great for agencies and internal marketing teams. It's easy to use by all people in a marketing role. Senior-level executives may not be interested in greater detail within reports and research. Still, those details are helpful for the marketing person running PPC campaigns or SEO related types of activities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SpyFu Search Analytics Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Personally, I love using SpyFu in both the paid and free versions. It is one of the best free versions that you can get online for a search analytics tool. It helps to group keywords in various ways and find analytics around specific keywords and research similar ones to help improve your search engine strategies. It also offers great analytics and overviews on the activity on your web domain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

SpyFu is a lot of data for a great price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think that SpyFu is an awesome tool for the money. There is unlimited data that you can slice and dice. You just have to figure out what exactly you need in terms of SEO/SEM, PPC, competitive analysis &/or keyword research and then SpyFu can provide you with the reporting that you require.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SpyFu has given me the best value and insight for keyword and competitor research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are starting out your business idea, it is wise that you first do keyword research to make sure there is an interest in your business idea, especially if it's an online business. It is also very helpful when you want to see who will be your competitors and how well they are performing by reviewing their website.
Read this authenticated review
Angela Lyons, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

I like SpyFu. You will too.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spyfu is great for both PPC and SEO keyword research. You can also see what your competitors are doing which can give you ideas for your own company.

I really like the feature that allows me to see ads that competitors are using.

Kombat is fun because you can compare yourself with competitors and see where there are similarities and differences.
Read Angela Lyons, MBA's full review
Max Milano | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

SpyFu is the spy that You Need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spyfu is a must before starting any AdWords campaign. If you didn't use it you would be in the dark about your competitors and it would waste a lot of your budget. Not really needed if you don't plan on running an Adwords campaign. It's still good to see what competitors are doing though.
Read Max Milano's full review
Sylvia Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Frictionless, affordable, and badass competitor intelligence you can act on right now!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think it's an excellent tool for marketers to keep a consistent eye on their competitive landscape so they can pivot as required. But the reporting feature is not great and creates an additional layer of hands-on manual work.
Read Sylvia Flores's full review
Lee'Ann Burgess | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

SpyFu is a must-have for businesses!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you own your company and have any involvement with tracking your marketing efforts as well as keeping tabs on what your competitors are doing and how they are ranking, I would recommend using SpyFu and at the very least, try it out for free to see if it is a good fit for you and your organization. It's a helpful tool and I have been using it for several years for my company.
Read Lee'Ann Burgess's full review
Johnny Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Spyfu Usage Benefits

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu, in general, is a great every day tool for finding talking points for meetings, tracking general trends with competition, & for building KW sets.
Read Johnny Norris's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

A Comprehensive Competitive Analysis in One Place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Whenever a teammate has to complete a competitive analysis or asks about what the "others" are doing - I always will recommend that they use SpyFu to answer those questions. "what keywords should we target?" are also able to be answered using SpyFu. This helps when setting up a Bing or Google Adwords campaign.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

SpyFu for Competitive Intelligence

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu is an essential source of information that can be used to set the initial assumptions guiding a digital marketing campaign. However, because the data is not a primary source it would be a mistake to continue to guide campaign decisions in the long haul using this tool. Google Analytics and primary source advertising data is ultimately the key.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

An SEO competitive analysis tool that drives action

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu is meant to be a competitive analysis tool and give you an idea where your competitors are with their content. This is not a standalone keyword research tool. I highly recommend utilizing at least one other service to back up keyword opportunities that are uncovered using SpyFu. The same goes in the opposite direction I would not suggest diving into a keyword theme without knowing how the competition is ranking and using that theme.
Read this authenticated review
Jordan Comstock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2018

SpyFu is great for keyword research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SpyFu is my favorite tool to gather mass keywords. So if you were looking to do competitive keyword research for your long term SEO strategy, it would be important to get as many keywords as possible. They don't charge by the row or anything, so you can grab many many keywords from as many competitors as you would like.
Read Jordan Comstock's full review
Rachel Hensley | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2018

SpyFu the best on competitor analysis.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are just developing an AdWords campaign, SpyFu is one of the first places to start to see what the most successful businesses are doing with their Adwords strategy. It is also good to continually watch so you can always stay ahead of the industry you are in.
Read Rachel Hensley's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (36)
8.9
Backlink management (27)
6.7
SERP ranking tracking (29)
7.4
Page grader (20)
5.8
Competitive analysis (35)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (23)
7.0
Site recommendations (20)
7.0
Task management (15)
5.1
Local SEO (23)
6.9
Social SEO (21)
5.6
Mobile SEO (22)
6.5
Global SEO (24)
8.0
Multi-domain support (19)
7.1
Integration with web analytics tools (13)
6.2

About SpyFu

SpyFu is the eponymous SEO and PPC research platform from the company in Scottsdale, Arizona focused on "spying" on competitors, or basically using their behaviors to refine your own through keyword and content analysis, and backlink poaching. This positional search engine optimization and paid listings management platform touts the ability to lower costs and raise rankings via a Kombat-oriented approach... basically a cute way of saying "it makes comparisons" of how well your site does in niche keyword areas vis-a-vis rival actors in the same or contiguous marketing space.

Published pricing starts at $79 per month with the Basic plan, for Google, Yahoo & Bing research, 6 years of historical access, unlimited access to SpyFu's tools, but somewhat limited access to leads and domain contacts keyword rank tracking. The $139 Professional plan gives full access to UK data and doubles the rank tracking of keywords from 400 to 800, and provides custom branded (white label) reports and API access. the $999 Agency plan gives team access (10 user logins) and unlimited tracking and reporting capabilities.

Categories:  SEO

SpyFu Competitors

SpyFu Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No