SpyFu Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Kathryn Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

SpyFu for Marketing Help

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work in the marketing dept, and we are the only ones who use SpyFu in the company. I help with our PPC/SEO/SEM strategies for Avidex, and this program helps us do a competitor analysis and strategize our marketing programs.
Read Kathryn Johnson's full review
Jake Hundley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

The Best Competitor Research Tool Out There

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spyfu to see what kind of competition our clients are facing and for what keywords their competition is targeting. It's also a good measure to see what our client's viability is with their given budget before we launch their campaign. We'll primarily use it to assess keyword rankings before we have enough data in Google Search Console.
Read Jake Hundley's full review
George Louvis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

Why I love SpyFu and you will too.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu is used primarily by me. Although my marketing team has access to it, I tend to be the one that uses it the most. We use it to find good keywords to use for our clients, as well as checking out what competitors are using and looking at their ads. Being able to see what ads specific competitors have been running, when they run them and their budget is a tremendous advantage for us in putting together plans for our clients.
Read George Louvis's full review
Frank Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

SpyFu comes through

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu allows us to get insights into the terms used by competitors and helps us build a planned budget for paid search spend for new clients. It also now gives us insights into how our SEO efforts are faring. We can see what terms - either paid or organic - should be given attention. The information on the backlinks of competitors helps us discover places we should add to our client's backlink profiles. All in all this tool is an important part of our arsenal. I have been using it since the early days and am impressed with how the tool has matured and added elements.
Read Frank Watson's full review
Bill Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu- Under the mask

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu, along with other tools, allows us to see how people are accessing a potential client's website. We see a sample of what people have done in the past recent months — an example of organic terms that are puling up search results as well as some keyword research.
Read Bill Martin's full review
Ruben Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use SpyFu to see what my competitors are using as some of their keywords. Competitive analysis. I use it to analyze potential keywords that I may want to add to our campaigns. On many occasions, I also use it to see SEO data. Most importantly is the SEM Keyword analysis, which also shows spent data.
Read Ruben Diaz's full review
Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Accessible and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu is mainly used by our paid media department and SEO department for competitive research. However, it is also a great tool for us to better understand how search engines are perceiving our clients' sites and marketing initiatives and allows us to have a better understanding of the digital marketing landscape.
Read Austin Voigt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Straightforward competitive keyword tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SpyFu across the organization for competitive research and analysis of organic website traffic. It allows us to see how our own website stacks up to competitors as well as how our clients' websites compare to their competition. We also use it to identify organic search keyword opportunities for web content creation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu is a great tool for agencies and marketing teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SpyFu for PPC and SEO research. As an agency, we use it for our own purposes and for that of our clients. It's easy to by people on our team to quickly understand the cost of PPC terms and run competitive reports. We will run reports and send them to clients.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SpyFu Search Analytics Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu is being used by my organization in a variety of ways. We are an agency that works with various businesses to solve numerous business issues in a number of different markets. SpyFu has helped to save time and to make overall marketing efforts more structured and strategized backed by validated data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

SpyFu is a lot of data for a great price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu has been used by my organization for SEO/SEM research. Also, we used it for competitive analysis and keyword research. There is endless data available with SpyFu. It was used solely by the marketing department.
Read this authenticated review
Angela Lyons, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

I like SpyFu. You will too.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The marketing department at ClientHub uses SpyFu to research keywords and ad campaigns for our paid search initiatives. There are many tools out there to do this, but SpyFu is pretty straightforward. In addition, you can see what your competition is doing for keywords and ads. Without proper keyword research, a company can find themselves spending quite a bit on ineffective ad campaigns.
Read Angela Lyons, MBA's full review
Max Milano | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

SpyFu is the spy that You Need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spyfu is one of the most useful tools for digital marketers out in the market right now. We use it for the obvious PPC keyword research, but the real value is at looking at competitors and figuring out their digital marketing strategy by looking at the keywords and budgets they have (or don't have).
Read Max Milano's full review
Sylvia Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Frictionless, affordable, and badass competitor intelligence you can act on right now!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use it to provide competitive analysis for clients, specifically when I am performing a marketing and brand audit. This helps me to establish a baseline with the client on what they are up against, so we can attack with intention. :)
Read Sylvia Flores's full review
Lee'Ann Burgess | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

SpyFu is a must-have for businesses!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu is a great tool to get an overview of your competitors' keywords they are ranking for, estimated ad spend on Google Ad words, samples of their ad copy and allows you create projects to help you track your SEO and marketing efforts. My main use for SpyFu is to gain insight on keywords and links that my competitors and my clients' competitors are using.
Read Lee'Ann Burgess's full review
Kiar Olson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

SpyFu makes a great resource for competitor keyword research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SpyFu to help our customers gain insight into their competitor's most important keywords and what they are spending money on. It also gave us valuable keyword research for new markets and looking for new niches our customers require.
Read Kiar Olson's full review
Johnny Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Spyfu Usage Benefits

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu is an excellent tool for getting a baseline of a client's web presence as well as their status vs their competition. It allows us to reveal some underpinnings of why or why not to make certain changes to their marketing strategy. It is also good for audits of web links, SEM, & industry trends.
Read Johnny Norris's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

A Comprehensive Competitive Analysis in One Place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a primarily entrepreneur company, we are constantly looking to optimize our own campaigns—but in optimization comes beating out our competitors. We use SpyFu currently to look into exactly what our competitors are doing. Based on what they are doing we are able to tweet our own campaigns so that we can maintain competitiveness in the market.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

SpyFu for Competitive Intelligence

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SpyFu to help us formulate our initial SEO and PPC keyword strategy for our clients by looking at their competitor's websites. Instead of starting from scratch, we find it useful to look at the keywords that are already performing for the competition to identify opportunities and as well as areas that have been ignored.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

An SEO competitive analysis tool that drives action

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SpyFu in the marketing department. This tool is being used to help us in our content creation and looking at gaining competitor insights regarding our content direction. This gives us keyword insights not only for organic search but for paid search as well. The typical process we go through takes on 2 forms. The first is reviewing a keyword and looking for variations and then reviewing the landscape for that keyword. The second direction we take is inputting a competitor and see where they are dedicating their efforts for content creation outside brand names.
Read this authenticated review
Jordan Comstock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2018

SpyFu is great for keyword research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My main use for SpyFu has been for advanced competitive keyword research. It is very easy to pull thousands of keywords for myself, and my competitors using SpyFu. Another big use of it is the reporting they provide. They auto-generate excellent SEO reports every month or so. They are a vital tool to our SEO success.
Read Jordan Comstock's full review
Rachel Hensley | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2018

SpyFu the best on competitor analysis.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SpyFu was used for me to do competition analysis on our direct competitors regarding Adwords. It gave me ideas about the Adwords Keywords our main competitors were buying and what their most successful Adwords ads were. SpyFu also estimates how much your competitors spend on Adwords monthly which is valuable information when you are in a very competitive field.
Read Rachel Hensley's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (36)
8.9
Backlink management (27)
6.6
SERP ranking tracking (29)
7.4
Page grader (20)
5.8
Competitive analysis (35)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (23)
7.0
Site recommendations (20)
7.0
Task management (15)
5.1
Local SEO (23)
6.9
Social SEO (21)
5.6
Mobile SEO (22)
6.5
Global SEO (24)
8.0
Multi-domain support (19)
7.1
Integration with web analytics tools (13)
6.2

About SpyFu

SpyFu is the eponymous SEO and PPC research platform from the company in Scottsdale, Arizona focused on "spying" on competitors, or basically using their behaviors to refine your own through keyword and content analysis, and backlink poaching. This positional search engine optimization and paid listings management platform touts the ability to lower costs and raise rankings via a Kombat-oriented approach... basically a cute way of saying "it makes comparisons" of how well your site does in niche keyword areas vis-a-vis rival actors in the same or contiguous marketing space.

Published pricing starts at $79 per month with the Basic plan, for Google, Yahoo & Bing research, 6 years of historical access, unlimited access to SpyFu's tools, but somewhat limited access to leads and domain contacts keyword rank tracking. The $139 Professional plan gives full access to UK data and doubles the rank tracking of keywords from 400 to 800, and provides custom branded (white label) reports and API access. the $999 Agency plan gives team access (10 user logins) and unlimited tracking and reporting capabilities.

Categories:  SEO

SpyFu Competitors

SpyFu Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No