Azure SQL Database Reviews

187 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 14, 2021
Niloofar Keshvari Nia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Couchbase and Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS)
The simplicity and great features and good support of Microsoft as well as the more reasonable flexible price than other competitors is one of the important reasons for choosing it.
Read Niloofar Keshvari Nia's full review
July 29, 2021
Scott Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Azure SQL Database, compared to our on premise SQL server installation, is much easier to use in terms of seeing database diagnostics. There is a whole visualization platform that comes with the tool that will allow your database administrator to see what jobs are tying up resources or other bottlenecks.
Read Scott Kennedy's full review
May 01, 2021
Rishabh Khanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is very easy to setup SQL database on Azure. one can always refer to their documentation for best practices. It is highly available and scalable. It is cheaper than its alternatives and provide better performance than others. As we are using many other services of Azure for creating a SaaS application, so it is always better to have all services at one place.
Read Rishabh Khanna's full review
May 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database is "the" serious database. There really is no competition in that field. SQL Database would be a serious competitor through the ease of implementation and the "no maintenance," but since it's too expensive for "normal" use (medium to small applications), it just priced itself out of the market, so to speak. Nevertheless, we do have 2 or 3 large applications that are highly integrated in azure, and for those it's just too easy to use SQL Database instead of the on premise Oracle Database with VPN gateways etcetera.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS)
Amazon RDS for SQL Server is the best example to compare with Azure SQL Database since both provide a Microsoft SQL Engine to host your databases.

Amazon RDS for SQL is much more compatible with your on-premises databases than Azure SQL, the reason is that Amazon RDS for SQL actually runs Microsoft SQL Server On-Premises Engine but on its cloud-managed instances.

Due to that, Amazon RDS for SQL is more expensive, although it provides flexible licensing options with [bringing] your own license, it is still more expensive to use and its available options are dependant on the type of deployment you choose.

On the other hand, Azure SQL is fully cloud-managed since Microsoft owns the SQL Product itself and can customize it to match its cloud needs, [it's] a simple decision to be honest [...] if you plan to use a Microsoft SQL Engine, you should surely go with Azure SQL, Amazon RDS for SQL can be a good option if you are already on-boarded on AWS and would prefer not to expand or move to another cloud provider.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say MySQL in either Aurora or MariaDB form come close however, Azure SQL Database has a more streamlined approach to delivering a consistent programmability model, supported drivers and feature set.
Azure SQL Database T-SQL is advantageous and more complete than SQL found in Amazon Aurora.
What I came to observe is that a developer becomes more productive and simply gets there faster on Azure SQL Database. The existing development tools remain, no training and tinkering necessary. Whilst some features as say database diagrams are not provided seldom it is a deal breaker.
With MySQL and Maria ETL becomes a bit harder, choices go down in what tools can be used and the pricing typically is not attractive.
Lastly, in my case, some existing off the shelf applications would not support MySQL derivatives.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
December 03, 2019
İhsan Akkarpuz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure SQL has a slight advantage over its rivals because it's developed by Microsoft, so it is well suited to professionals.
Read İhsan Akkarpuz's full review
November 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Being able to manage our databases in the cloud, scale quickly, and only require access to VMs made choosing Azure a no-brainer over a traditional SQL Server installation/integration. We don't have the budget or resources to integrate and maintain servers on our own, so using Azure SQL allows us to manage within those constraints.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We moved away from Oracle and NoSQL because we had been so reliant on them for the last 25 years, the pricing was too much and we were looking for a way to cut the cord. Snowflake is just too up in the air, feels like it is soon to be just another line item to add to your Azure subscription. Azure was just priced right, easy to migrate to and plenty of resources to hire to support/maintain it. Very easy to learn, too.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2019
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure owned by Microsoft who owned SQL Server, so provided a variety of tools for easy migration/transition and from on-premises to the cloud; and management. I recommend using Azure for any on-prem SQL server databases.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
November 15, 2018
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure SQL is a clear upgrade to SQL Server 2012 and pretty much has the advantage with all the extra features that it has. Security, queries, exporting tables, T-SQL has all improved. Transitioning 18+ years of an in-house database to the cloud was a struggle, but for the long-term solution it is worth it.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
November 06, 2018
Erik Ralston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Relational Database Service is the other obvious competitor. We were already in Azure, so it's not a serious contender for our business due to that bias already, but I do personally find the marketing and documentation of RDS more intimidating to sort through.
Read Erik Ralston's full review
July 27, 2016
Zimran Azim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's more easy to shift and get all the services up in no time, provide best up time and monitoring easily so you can get the best services which take care of themselves. It's a better fitting for a large company size.
Read Zimran Azim's full review
February 24, 2016
Tom Jaskula | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If you are a company that is already invested in Microsoft technologies, then the Azure suite is a better fit than the Amazon suite.
Read Tom Jaskula's full review
August 07, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Comparing with Amazon Aurora: Azure SQL DB is 100% compatible with SQL Server and Aurora is compatible with MySQL and PostGreSQL. Because of if, SQL DB suits large enterprises with hundreds of databases better.
Comparing with Oracle: the main issue is that Oracle will try to push all other services available in their product offering.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It stacks up in different ways, for the most part, I think Microsoft is doing a really good job versus the competition. They basically started database type products from the beginning. I've always been excited about updates and can see their progress over time. Get's me really excited when I see new updates.
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we were early adopters with Azure and landed on the Azure PaaS (Platform as a Service), it made sense to use databases that were on the same platform as the application to save on costs. Also, we were impressed with the simplicity of Azure SQL. From a management perspective and an automation perspective it's much easier to have all the eggs in one basket (as long as you plan for the unexpected/disaster recovery).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (26)
8.7
Database scalability (28)
9.6
Automated backups (28)
9.0
Database security provisions (28)
9.0
Monitoring and metrics (27)
8.8
Automatic host deployment (22)
8.9

What is Azure SQL Database?

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

Azure SQL Database Integrations

Azure SQL Database Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
2 vCORE$0.5044Per Hour
6 vCORE$1.5131Per Hour
10 vCORE$2.52Per Hour

Azure SQL Database Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Azure SQL Database?

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

What is Azure SQL Database's best feature?

Reviewers rate Database scalability highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Azure SQL Database?

The most common users of Azure SQL Database are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.