Azure SQL Database Reviews

146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Azure SQL Database - Good Now, Getting Even Better

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say MySQL in either Aurora or MariaDB form come close however, Azure SQL Database has a more streamlined approach to delivering a consistent programmability model, supported drivers and feature set.
Azure SQL Database T-SQL is advantageous and more complete than SQL found in Amazon Aurora.
What I came to observe is that a developer becomes more productive and simply gets there faster on Azure SQL Database. The existing development tools remain, no training and tinkering necessary. Whilst some features as say database diagrams are not provided seldom it is a deal breaker.
With MySQL and Maria ETL becomes a bit harder, choices go down in what tools can be used and the pricing typically is not attractive.
Lastly, in my case, some existing off the shelf applications would not support MySQL derivatives.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Azure SQL - your solution for Agility and Scalability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Being able to manage our databases in the cloud, scale quickly, and only require access to VMs made choosing Azure a no-brainer over a traditional SQL Server installation/integration. We don't have the budget or resources to integrate and maintain servers on our own, so using Azure SQL allows us to manage within those constraints.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Easy decision, good price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We moved away from Oracle and NoSQL because we had been so reliant on them for the last 25 years, the pricing was too much and we were looking for a way to cut the cord. Snowflake is just too up in the air, feels like it is soon to be just another line item to add to your Azure subscription. Azure was just priced right, easy to migrate to and plenty of resources to hire to support/maintain it. Very easy to learn, too.
Read this authenticated review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Great answer for scalability!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure SQL is a clear upgrade to SQL Server 2012 and pretty much has the advantage with all the extra features that it has. Security, queries, exporting tables, T-SQL has all improved. Transitioning 18+ years of an in-house database to the cloud was a struggle, but for the long-term solution it is worth it.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Erik Ralston | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Azure SQL Database: The Best PaaS offering for SQL Server

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Relational Database Service is the other obvious competitor. We were already in Azure, so it's not a serious contender for our business due to that bias already, but I do personally find the marketing and documentation of RDS more intimidating to sort through.
Read Erik Ralston's full review
Zimran Azim | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2016

Azure "The Best to catch a breath for your self"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's more easy to shift and get all the services up in no time, provide best up time and monitoring easily so you can get the best services which take care of themselves. It's a better fitting for a large company size.
Read Zimran Azim's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Azure SQL DB is an example of how a DBaaS should be done.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Comparing with Amazon Aurora: Azure SQL DB is 100% compatible with SQL Server and Aurora is compatible with MySQL and PostGreSQL. Because of if, SQL DB suits large enterprises with hundreds of databases better.
Comparing with Oracle: the main issue is that Oracle will try to push all other services available in their product offering.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

Reviewing Azure SQL Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It stacks up in different ways, for the most part, I think Microsoft is doing a really good job versus the competition. They basically started database type products from the beginning. I've always been excited about updates and can see their progress over time. Get's me really excited when I see new updates.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2015

Azure SQL - Making Life Easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we were early adopters with Azure and landed on the Azure PaaS (Platform as a Service), it made sense to use databases that were on the same platform as the application to save on costs. Also, we were impressed with the simplicity of Azure SQL. From a management perspective and an automation perspective it's much easier to have all the eggs in one basket (as long as you plan for the unexpected/disaster recovery).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (18)
9.1
Database scalability (19)
9.4
Automated backups (19)
9.1
Database security provisions (19)
9.3
Monitoring and metrics (18)
8.3
Automatic host deployment (15)
9.0

About Azure SQL Database

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

Azure SQL Database Integrations

Azure SQL Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No