Azure SQL Database Reviews

143 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

My Azure SQL Database Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have multiple terabytes of data, the standard Azure SQL Database won't work for you. You can spend more to get this, but I'd rather have it at the lower price point. For pretty much everything else, I'd use it in a heartbeat.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Azure SQL Database - Good Now, Getting Even Better

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In general, if a given business is a Microsoft products based enterprise then it would be very receptive to Azure SQL Database. There are almost no barriers to its adoption. One only needs to be aware of the limitations and constraints as a platform or service https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/azure-subscription-service-limits
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
İhsan Akkarpuz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Secure Product Providing High-Performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Azure SQL Database covers features of most of the other products in the market. SQL agent was an exemption, but it must be on Azure's roadmap to be included in the next edition of the product. I would recommend other competitive companies in the field to install Azure SQL as it is supported by Microsoft so you can have confidence in its secure data management.
Read İhsan Akkarpuz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Azure SQL - your solution for Agility and Scalability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The most important positive for our organization is the ability to scale up or down at will. As a startup, we needed to quickly adapt to changing space and performance needs. It's also integral as we grow different branches of the business. Thus far, we haven't encountered much of anything with the tool that hasn't been a good fit for our business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Easy decision, good price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have any apps in the cloud, this is the way to go. The interface and management is much better than AWS, and no one else is getting closer. If you are running just BI, you could go with a Snowflake or Cloudera approach, but Cloudera is complex and Snowflake simply sits on top of Azure Data Storage anyway, and I hear will soon be an offering by Microsoft as well.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Jipping | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Azure SQL Databases is quick to scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Azure SQL Database will be great to use for an organization that needs an extremely flexible database solution or a low-cost solution. Some scenarios such as healthcare or banking may require for the solution to remain hosted onsite due to security/regulations. For most scenarios, Azure SQL Database is a great solution.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Great answer for scalability!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Complex queries are a big plus. For a heavy front end users like me, I like a database that can handle all my complex syntax.

Migration was a problem since we had a lot of processes on Microsoft software as old as 2005. Since they are both Microsoft products, I would have hoped for an easier transition.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Erik Ralston | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Azure SQL Database: The Best PaaS offering for SQL Server

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Azure SQL Database, like most PaaS platforms, is best when you want to save money on human resources by paying a little more for computing resources. Especially cases where the developer is already deep into the Microsoft stack, such as situations where you're already using an Azure Web App for hosting your application. In these case, SQL Database is a no-brainer decision. Obviously, Azure SQL Database is less appropriate for Big Data applications (where a NoSQL technology or at least Azure SQL Data Warehouse would make more sense) and it's delivering SQL Server, so lots of open source stacks would be averse to it (e.g. Wordpress and most PHP technologies where they want MySQL).
Read Erik Ralston's full review
Atul Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Azure Sql rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's well suited for enterprise applications, as development to implementation cycles are shortened and less risky. The Azure platform and ARMs are our favorite now for budget and time.
Read Atul Gupta's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Azure SQL DB is an example of how a DBaaS should be done.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For large databases cost should be carefully evaluated as it can be very expensive. But for medium and small databases (usually 80% of the organization) it has perfect fit. Data replication (for disaster recovery), backup, security and performance recommendation are great tools and work very well. When planning to migrate from Oracle, start first with smaller databases - but be aware Microsoft is always improving its migration tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Intro to Azure SQL DB

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Works great for simple applications where you don't need functionality like cross-database queries. Also good for elastic use cases since it can be scaled up and down easily.
Read this authenticated review
Rick Hahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2018

The Hidden Savings of Using Azure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are a small operation and your focus is on dollar for dollar comparison to a local server based product, it will seem more expensive, until you look at the big picture of total cost of ownership. In the alternative if you consider the cost of IT with this product compared to a local server based product it shakes out in your favor. Specifically when you consider that IT help can be had remotely from around the world at huge savings and by being cloud based you can get some very brilliant but value based talent by shopping globally. Azure products help accomplish this because IT can add and remove features and resources without any need for local boots on the ground. Where local servers and databases are subject to power outages, tampering by local employees, local access security issues.... It is just built for high availability on a more reliable backbone with secure access from anywhere.
Read Rick Hahn's full review
Simranjeet Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2018

Easy to maintain large and complex data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is used to secure store customer client information. It also provides a multi-task feature. For example we can open different inatances of the same server or a different server, and can perform any number of operations.
I always prefer to use this product, but there are some areas in which it struggles a little bit. For example, it should decrease CPU cost and require less system resources . I hope the next version overcomes these issues,
Read Simranjeet Singh's full review
Zimran Azim | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2016

Azure "The Best to catch a breath for your self"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Sync and migration tools: If you already have a clutch of SQL Server-stored data somewhere and want to either sync it with SQL Azure or passively migrate it via sync, Microsoft has published a service -- the appropriately named SQL Data Sync to accomplish this. Use of the service itself is free, and all inbound data to Azure costs nothing, so you won't have to worry about racking up costs by syncing gigabyte-sized tables.
Read Zimran Azim's full review
Tom Jaskula | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2016

Azure SQL Database - a modern cloud solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SaaS shops that need to react quickly to customer demand can benefit greatly from the speed and ease at which a database can be created and scaled. Azure SQL Database also works extremely well with PowerBI and a plethora of other Azure services.

Azure SQL database is not likely to be a fit for replacing the database behind a large ERP, this isn't what its meant for. It also is not a fit if you have over 1 TB of data.

Read Tom Jaskula's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

Reviewing Azure SQL Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's appropriate with anything relating to product/customer/marketing efficiency. I work in consulting for numerous small and medium size businesses. Most of the time I consult on business development, marketing, online reputation, process improvement, and database work. When appropriate, I recommend Azure as a solution to whatever problem exists. The platform typically works out and helps me with clients.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (18)
9.1
Database scalability (19)
9.4
Automated backups (19)
9.1
Database security provisions (19)
9.3
Monitoring and metrics (18)
8.4
Automatic host deployment (15)
9.0

About Azure SQL Database

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

Azure SQL Database Integrations

Azure SQL Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No