Azure SQL Database Reviews

146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

My Azure SQL Database Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It's cheaper for us than maintaining our own hardware but it's easy to spend more to get more, i.e. price creep.
  • It's very easy and quick to build out a new database to test/POC a new project.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Azure SQL Database - Good Now, Getting Even Better

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • This boils down to the use of OPEX as oppose to CAPEX which is perceived as an advantage over the old model of doing business.
  • The many barriers to scaling a solution fade away. It typically becomes a quick pitch with facts on the resource overuse or saturation and an up-sizing is approved.
  • The extra development would be often necessary for unsupported features or a differently implemented security.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Azure SQL - your solution for Agility and Scalability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We don't need a dedicated SQL dba because so many of the database maintenance operations are managed. A huge positive not only in budget but time constraints.
  • The ability to scale quickly is the biggest positive as our data needs change constantly.
  • Easy to migrate from legacy tools and systems, saving us on the need for redevelopment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Easy decision, good price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We get our data much faster and hassle-free with direct connections to our apps.
  • All our costs for major projects are now self-contained within a subscription, so managing costs is easy.
  • Negative is the speed at which it can take to connect DB that are not in the same subscription or region, but that’s across the board.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Jipping | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Azure SQL Databases is quick to scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Azure SQL Databases are a great solution and with the Azure pricing model, you can reduce costs in most scenarios. They also have added intrinsic value by the products nature of being scale-able to the current task (i.e.- a short term need for more processing power).
Read Michael Jipping's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Great answer for scalability!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The big plus here is the security with our users. We sell our software and the companies that buy it are concerned with our employees stealing information. Azure really helped improved our security more efficiently so no one that isn't supposed to can see our partner's data.
  • The average query running time has significantly decreased, which is huge.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Erik Ralston | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Azure SQL Database: The Best PaaS offering for SQL Server

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With easily managed secondaries and point-in-time restoration, Azure SQL Database provides a very robust set of built-in features for disaster recovery that have saved us a lot of work making our own.
  • Integration with Azure DevOps and the Azure Management APIs that allow automation of resources and deployments has allowed us to run for years without a full-time DevOps person
  • Elastic database capabilities have allowed for significant cost savings of our infrastructure that now boasts thousands of SQL database running on the platform.
Read Erik Ralston's full review
Atul Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Azure Sql rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Fewer resources required compared to on premises solutions, so better ROI
  • Reduced gestation time, so better ROI
  • Easy for training and prototypes
Read Atul Gupta's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Intro to Azure SQL DB

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Makes the database cost for our use case more predictable and regular
  • Adds redundancy capabilities much easier than implementing our own
  • Integrates easily with the other Azure services we utilize
Read this authenticated review
Zimran Azim | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2016

Azure "The Best to catch a breath for your self"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As compared to On Site SQL server AZURE is less hectic and less responsibility to worry for.
  • It pretty much easy to follow devOps or Agile for Backlogs as AZURE allows to take care of its own things.
  • Database scalability, Patching and Upgrading is the best thing it gives in return
Read Zimran Azim's full review
Tom Jaskula | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2016

Azure SQL Database - a modern cloud solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The bigger your organization, the more ROI you are going to see with Azure SQL db.
  • Moving to Azure SQL db will free up your DBA to work on the backlog of projects that often never get done because they spend a lot of time maintaining and monitoring onsite SQL.
  • Generally speaking, Azure SQL database is less work and less responsibility relative to onsite SQL Server or any onsite database.
Read Tom Jaskula's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Azure SQL DB is an example of how a DBaaS should be done.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Perfect for small and medium databases, being very cost effective.
  • As a Platform as a Service, there is no concern about patches, upgrades and end of life.
  • Be aware of security and network capabilities. The service cannot run in the VNET as Azure Virtual Machines do.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

Read about my experience with Azure SQL Database. You might be surprised!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Serving a great purpose. We solved our issue and are using the cloud. The ability to scale up or down at will is amazing.
  • I wanted to do cross data querying. It is not supported.
  • The return on investment has proved it to be a great solution.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (18)
9.1
Database scalability (19)
9.4
Automated backups (19)
9.1
Database security provisions (19)
9.3
Monitoring and metrics (18)
8.3
Automatic host deployment (15)
9.0

About Azure SQL Database

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

Azure SQL Database Integrations

Azure SQL Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No