TrustRadius
SQL Developer is a relational database software solution offered by Oracle.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/PT/g2/HT7ZLQCLDFOV.pngGreat software that help us save time an resources with Queries and Database stuffWe as a group of developers use SQL developer to integrate the queries for our apps and to better understand our database designs.,One of the things that SQL Developer is really good at is helping us view and export database structures to see if it needs some design optimization. Sometimes, as a developer I need to check that out. SQL Developer also offers stability in the management of query executions. And, one of the main advatages of SQL Developer over other options is the easy way that let you have multiple connections open, and change between them.,I think SQL Developer needs to improve its funcionallity to export data in multiple formats from queries. It will help us generate reports. I do not see SQL Developer as the best tool to perform data migratios, perhaps that is an opportunity of improvement.,9,It has a great advantage over other alternatives in revenue because it's more affordable than most of them. It can add value to any team thanks to the development time optimization when working with advanced database structures. Because it is easy to use and understand it can reduce training expenses to optimize the educational budget of the company.,Not a member of any user groups,Oracle Database,NetBeans, Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform, Apache MavenSQL DeveloperWe use SQL Developer to process various database items into a large scalable database that is used for our ground system.,SQL Developer is nicely integrated and provides greater visibility into schemas as well as data. SQL Developer allows easy access to fields view and data view of multiple schemas Allows repository type of view that enables ease of browsing thru tables without extensive use of SQL.,SQL Developer is already intuitive, but could be more user friendly by utilizing a UI based design. SQL Developer could use more of an IDE-type look and feel. Addition of more Database admin type functionalities.,9,SQL Developer has made it very easy and seamless for database processing.,Not a member of any user groups,,Eclipse, NetBeansA nice client toolSQL Developers is used by many developers and DBA across several departments in our company.,Comparing with native SQLPLUS, or command line interface, SQL Developer provides a user-friendly interface to communicate with Oracle databases. As a DBA, I especially like the DBA tools which can manipulate AWR, configure Resource Manager, launch SQL Tuning Advisor, etc. Another function people use a lot is to export a table into csv format. SQL Developer makes it very easy.,SQL Developer doesn't support MySQL database. We need to use MySQL Workbench. It would great if a single client tool woks for all DBs someday. The explain plan can be shown as a better diagram. For a long sophisticated plan, it is not very easy to read and to catch where the bottleneck is I don't find partition display in SQL Developers,9,Since this is a free tool, it definitely gives a positive impact. Many developers and DBAs use it as a daily tool. It is easy to set up, intuitive to use. Needs minimum support.,Northern California Oracle User Group,Toad for Oracle,Toad for OracleSQL Developer, best Oracle tool for a developerMy department and organization uses Oracle SQL Developer to use and manage Oracle Database 12c a better way. My team uses Oracle SQL developer, as it is a graphical tool which honestly makes it quite easier to not only use and manage Oracle Databases, but also train new junior DBAs to do the same. It's easy to learn and understand.,It's free Very useful to organize different Oracle Databases or connections Easy to use, user friendly, and quite intuitive,Not useful if you are not using Oracle Database Quite slow even when using Oracle Database, many other faster products like this out there No export feature, like a CSV or Excel format,7,ROI of SQL Developer is quite positive as it is very easy to use for database processing.,Not a member of any user groups,My SQL Developer. Your indespensible database management toolSQL Developer is an indispensable tool used primarily for data mining and analysis. We have data in many repositories and using proper drivers we can connect to various back ends and merge data. Most non technical personnel do not have knowledge to perform SQL queries so we find using SQL Developer very useful in this regard. We like that we can also interface with SQL Server. So primarily we use it for data mining and analysis.,It easily connects to Oracle DBS. The query optimization tools are easy to use. Getting details about existing objects using scripts. It's portability into different file system like Excel, text etc.,It should be better at helping identify errors. It could be better at extricating data. Frequently requiring updates to JDK.,7,It minimizes time, which translates into cost savings. Helps generate reports for end users more quickly and with less errors. One tool can do what might otherwise require multiple tools.,Not a member of any user groups,,Oracle Access Management, Oracle Application Testing Suite, Oracle API Manager
Unspecified
SQL Developer
365 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SQL Developer Reviews

SQL Developer
365 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 365 vetted SQL Developer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 33)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Victor Toscano profile photo
December 07, 2018

SQL Developer Review: "Great software that help us save time an resources with Queries and Database stuff"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We as a group of developers use SQL developer to integrate the queries for our apps and to better understand our database designs.
  • One of the things that SQL Developer is really good at is helping us view and export database structures to see if it needs some design optimization. Sometimes, as a developer I need to check that out.
  • SQL Developer also offers stability in the management of query executions.
  • And, one of the main advatages of SQL Developer over other options is the easy way that let you have multiple connections open, and change between them.
  • I think SQL Developer needs to improve its funcionallity to export data in multiple formats from queries. It will help us generate reports.
  • I do not see SQL Developer as the best tool to perform data migratios, perhaps that is an opportunity of improvement.
SQL Developer is a recommended software in cases like getting track of database objects and designing queries during the process of software development in any platform. For example, we use it when we implement a new Java app and need to be sure that objects and business logic are in line with our database structure.

I think it's a great tool for me as a software developer. However, as a DBA I think it would not be the only software I depend on to perform some data processes, although it can be really useful too.
Read Victor Toscano's full review
Nikhil Patel profile photo
October 24, 2018

User Review: "SQL Developer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SQL Developer to process various database items into a large scalable database that is used for our ground system.
  • SQL Developer is nicely integrated and provides greater visibility into schemas as well as data.
  • SQL Developer allows easy access to fields view and data view of multiple schemas
  • Allows repository type of view that enables ease of browsing thru tables without extensive use of SQL.
  • SQL Developer is already intuitive, but could be more user friendly by utilizing a UI based design.
  • SQL Developer could use more of an IDE-type look and feel.
  • Addition of more Database admin type functionalities.
SQL Developer is well suited for any level of database experience.
Read Nikhil Patel's full review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

SQL Developer Review: "A nice client tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developers is used by many developers and DBA across several departments in our company.
  • Comparing with native SQLPLUS, or command line interface, SQL Developer provides a user-friendly interface to communicate with Oracle databases.
  • As a DBA, I especially like the DBA tools which can manipulate AWR, configure Resource Manager, launch SQL Tuning Advisor, etc.
  • Another function people use a lot is to export a table into csv format. SQL Developer makes it very easy.
  • SQL Developer doesn't support MySQL database. We need to use MySQL Workbench. It would great if a single client tool woks for all DBs someday.
  • The explain plan can be shown as a better diagram. For a long sophisticated plan, it is not very easy to read and to catch where the bottleneck is
  • I don't find partition display in SQL Developers
Many developers who are not familiar with dictionary views find SQL Developer a nice GUI to access DB objects. In addition to DBConsole and command lines, DBAs now have one more interface to manage jobs, reports, configurations. SQL Developer is free, which is a great benefit comparing with some other client tools. I use command line most of the time, which I am used to, and it gives nice display of execution plans.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "SQL Developer, best Oracle tool for a developer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department and organization uses Oracle SQL Developer to use and manage Oracle Database 12c a better way. My team uses Oracle SQL developer, as it is a graphical tool which honestly makes it quite easier to not only use and manage Oracle Databases, but also train new junior DBAs to do the same. It's easy to learn and understand.
  • It's free
  • Very useful to organize different Oracle Databases or connections
  • Easy to use, user friendly, and quite intuitive
  • Not useful if you are not using Oracle Database
  • Quite slow even when using Oracle Database, many other faster products like this out there
  • No export feature, like a CSV or Excel format
Oracle SQL Developer is best suited while using Oracle Databases, may it be any versions or any Oracle Databases. But if you try using it with any other databases such as MariaDB or MySQL, it does not work very well, in fact it is quite useless. But I have to say, it is quite easy to use, and install.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "My SQL Developer. Your indespensible database management tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is an indispensable tool used primarily for data mining and analysis. We have data in many repositories and using proper drivers we can connect to various back ends and merge data. Most non technical personnel do not have knowledge to perform SQL queries so we find using SQL Developer very useful in this regard. We like that we can also interface with SQL Server. So primarily we use it for data mining and analysis.
  • It easily connects to Oracle DBS.
  • The query optimization tools are easy to use.
  • Getting details about existing objects using scripts. It's portability into different file system like Excel, text etc.
  • It should be better at helping identify errors.
  • It could be better at extricating data.
  • Frequently requiring updates to JDK.
Developing and testing database queries implemented in reports used by end users. Also well suited for debugging queries, though it could be better at identifying specific errors. It's interface is definitely designed more for developers than end users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2018

SQL Developer Review: "Quality application with room for improvement"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the IT area within the company for db management. My team allows our developers to use this tool to provide technical support for our production applications when issues arise. They can review the data in the system to determine if the issue was in the data or the codebase. It is also used in our testing environments to allow our developers create and update testing data.
  • It connects with Oracle dbs with ease.
  • The query optimization tools are readily available and easy to use.
  • Occasionally the application will freeze when it fails to properly connect to a database.
  • It tends to be a very resources heavy and can freeze when running longer queries, with no way to stop the execution.
  • There is no clean way to change the user's password within the UI.
Well suited for any management of Oracle DBs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 28, 2018

Review: "SQL developer is a reasonable choice, if your team is not performance-critical."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is a non-profit based healthcare system consists of hospitals and clinics. We have an electronic health record system that is used by our clinicians and captures and stores clinical data. Our projects are to analyze care providers' utilization of our computer system, to understand user behaviors and patterns. We used SQL developer to develop ETL processes and extract data for analysis.
  • SQL developer is a popular tool and provided free. This means we could find a good analyst and data developer easily since many of them are already familiar with the tool. It is also good to educate our developers and analysts to follow up with new features of the tool.
  • SQL developer runs upon Java. It is easy to install and set up to get started with the first SQL. My organization is in healthcare industry and we don't need "everything in one" tool. Comparing to Toad, SQL developer is light and use less memory, for us, it is a reasonable choice.
  • SQL developer is more specialized in individual developer's use rather than collaborative database development. In our project, individual clinical analysts have their own data mart to run and analyze, which was better fit to do the project with SQL developer.
  • We often used the functionality of exporting data to files, such as Excel cvs or text to be used as a secondary analysis. In case the file size is big it used to fail or even crash the application. And it ended up with failure of the whole export. I wish SQL developer provide a step by step export, or at least show estimate of exported file size in advance.
  • There is little support of code quality management, maintenance, and assessment. Since our data analysts often works in silo environment we need a centralized code management to keep consistency of data, which SQL developer is not good at.
  • Performance is good overall, there are tools for improvement to be used in a professional manner, especially to work for a large data set such as enterprise data warehouse.
In case your company's database is not performance-critical, SQL developer is a reasonable choice. It is freely-downloadable from Oracle website, many data developers and analysts are familiar with, well documented. It was good in my organization since our end-users were domain-specific analysts who have a background in clinical fields but have skills of SQL additionally. In addition, we used the tool for "read-only" mostly to analyze clinical data, so poor code management of SQL developer wasn't a limitation.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 06, 2018

Review: "SQL Developer for everyone and it's free"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are business critical platforms running on Oracle databases. SQL developer edition mostly used by reporting and support functions with in the IT organization. This tool is preferred for non-complex database connection and reporting activities.
  • Code snippets
  • Debugger options
  • Explain plans for executions
  • User interface and experience should be improved.
  • Detailed code analysis functions should be implemented.
It depends on the role and requirements of the job. I recommend SQL developer mostly for business analyst and data reporter roles. It has basic query builder features and templates enough to complete day to day tasks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "SQL Developer great database development tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to interact with Oracle databases. I use it to query, update and load tables in Oracle databases. It is very reliable and free. By using it I don't need to look for other database clients. It does not take too long to install it and it's very easy to use.
  • Quickly set up database connections.
  • Good data visualization.
  • Good for more common DBA tasks.
  • Runs on several operating systems (Windows, Linux, Mac).
  • Makes upgrades and patching easy.
  • Creating complex reports.
  • Improves on error details.
I think it is well suited when you want to work with many databases from a single interface. I usually set up connections to Dev, Test and Prod databases. It is useful when we need to browse database objects. The environment is also suitable for doing PL/SQL applications development. The tool just simplifies development and management of Oracle databases. Less appropriate for databases other than Oracle.
Read this authenticated review
George Robbins profile photo
May 28, 2018

SQL Developer Review: "The only SQL development tool most people need."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is being used by the data management team at my current climate to do data analysis and data preparation. It is the starting point for most reports and also where we merge data from multiple data sources. Very few business people have any knowledge of SQL and so they need the team to use SQL developer for bother recurring and ad hoc queries.
  • Performs well even with large amounts of data
  • Helps finds SQL errors before runtime
  • Easy to install and upgrade.
  • Embedded documentation for PL/SQL functions is lacking
  • Integrations with other data sources
  • Not useful if you don't have strong SQL skills
If you have an Oracle Data warehouse, then you do not actually need a different IDE for your data development. In the past, it was necessary to have TOAD or something similar, but now the new versions of SQL developer allow it to be used for most use cases. Very stable and great for analysts and DBAs.
Read George Robbins's full review
Kartik Chavan profile photo
May 16, 2018

"SQL Developer Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Congratulations for SQL Developer, this is an amazing tool which saves me a lot of work and can be compared with professional classic tools like TOAD. For accessing our databases Oracle SQL Developer is a very popular tool in our company. It being available for free, it is also capable of interfacing with SQL Server. It is very simple to use and provides a great value to all the departments.

  • Very intuitive user interface
  • Easy Data Manipulation Language operations like inserts, updates, and deletes.
  • It highlights the syntax errors
  • Some queries are not stable
  • No machine learning features
  • Difficult to terminate a running query.
They need to improvise on extraction of data. It is really a great tool for any type of SQL queries. It can be used for custom queries and reports. This being free, it has a lot of features compared to other non-free tools. Hence, I would always want to use SQL Developer.
Read Kartik Chavan's full review
Nefi Bernal profile photo
May 24, 2018

SQL Developer Review: "Not the best, but better than most"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used to mining data and completes several data analysis tasks.
  • provides data profile
  • separate result windows
  • schema organization
  • assistance while writing statements, it actually provides a title assistance where others provide none, but i think it can provide more in order to make easier and faster for the developers
As far as an SQL platform it is a great option, the only downside that it may have is training and support. They do build it to be very simple but it would be nice if they were to provide training for the advanced features.
Read Nefi Bernal's full review
Brandon Johnson profile photo
January 18, 2018

User Review: "SQL Developer for the first timers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is mainly being used by my department. Other areas do not use it, they much rather use TOAD. Though, a lot of areas do not use SQL at all also.
  • It honestly is a great tool for being able to find errors in code.
  • I taught myself how to do SQL within SQL developer.
  • There are great support pages/Youtube videos online.
  • I wished that it truly pinpointed every error exactly as we see it. Usually, it is not the case.
  • Sometimes, the actual system can freeze up on you (Has happened to me on both home and office network numerous of times) but I expect it sometimes due to the amount of data.
  • Honestly, they could improve extraction of data.
I think SQL developer is great for anyone who needs to query a DB and create different views. I can use it to quickly access the data that we house for governance purposes.
Read Brandon Johnson's full review
heather collins profile photo
January 02, 2018

Review: "Oracle SQL Developer does basic stuff right"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is a very robust tool that we use in our company for accessing our databases. It can be downloaded for free and is capable of interfacing with non-Oracle databases like MySQL, SQL Server as well. It is a very simple tool and offers good value to both DBAs and developers alike.
  • With an intuitive user interface, Oracle SQL developer is great for point and click DML operations like inserts, updates, and deletes.
  • It's available for free from Oracle's website and gets frequent updates as well.
  • I found that integration with non-Oracle databases like UDB can sometimes be tricky with downloading third-party database drivers.
  • Some versions of this application have been slightly unstable and have frequently needed updates to the Java JDK installations.
Oracle SQL Developer is ideal for everyday common database CRUD operations. It is also helpful in formatting SQL queries into Java code and vice versa.
Read heather collins's full review
Ken Sparks profile photo
December 12, 2017

Review: "SQL Developer is a must-have for Oracle"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team and I use SQL Developer to develop and test database queries implemented in and for our various end-user reports. SQL Developer is used by other teams throughout the organization for various other purposes. By using SQL Developer, I am able to quickly and easily write, execute and debug queries. I am also able to generate and explain plans to help me evaluate and tune queries for the greatest performance.
  • Highlights syntax assisting in the proper development and completion of statements.
  • Allows toggling of breakpoints for SQL debugging. By using these breakpoints, I can evaluate variable values real-time as the query executes.
  • Highlights syntax errors and upon hover, displays proper syntax with a direct link to the appropriate documentation for the statement in question.
  • It would be helpful if one could quickly and easily integrate another editor into this tool. Although the provided editor is quite useful, other 3rd-party editors are much more powerful.
  • SQL Developer should be able to easily integrate with source control providers other than GIT and Subversion.
  • The syntactical auto-completion should allow some keystroke to complete and suggested statement rather than requiring a mouse-click to accept the suggestion.
SQL Developer is well-suited for querying large data sets. Its performance is very good and it limits the returned result-sets to prevent the return of massive datasets in an interactive environment.

SQL Developer is less appropriate for end users querying database tables. The interface is designed more towards developers and less towards end users.
Read Ken Sparks's full review
Luigi Vecchione profile photo
January 31, 2018

SQL Developer Review: "Why Should i Trust SQL?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Dev is being used in different projects since I'm working for a Consultant Company, it's totally related to the project requirements. It's so helpful to manage and query all the DWH instances and the database themselves.
  • Great Activity Monitoring
  • Great Management of Databases and Objects on the instance
  • Great Query Optimization module
  • Machine Learning Functionalities
  • Auto-format of the code
  • Resource Management
Well suited for management of dwh both in small than in big sizes. Not really suitable for Big Data Management.
Read Luigi Vecchione's full review
No photo available
December 20, 2017

Review: "Sql Developer - Great tool for Database management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is being used within IT to control our databases. It's used to run queries, create reports, database administration, and for data modeling. Oracle is our ERP and SQL Developer is pretty much the easiest way to make changes to and get information out of our databases.
  • Run SQL statements and SQL scripts.
  • Create and save custom reports.
  • Cant really terminate an executing PL/SQL procedure once it has been started.
  • Export function can be buggy at times.
SQL Developer is well suited to create reports that are not readily available as a seeded report. It also makes it easy to make changes to seeded reports (adding/removing columns, calculated columns). Database monitoring as well as connecting to third party databases for monitoring is also simple. The tree based object browser makes it easy to navigate where you want to go.
Read this authenticated review
Krishan Mohil profile photo
November 01, 2017

SQL Developer Review: "Free tool used for Oracle Database development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used by our ERP & BI Development and Support teams and our DBA team. It also is used on occasion by security and system administration folks. Programmers are looking at tables constantly. Having a graphic tool to do that makes the process quicker and easier. In the past some folks have used TOAD (which is a great tool), but over time SQL Developer has won out as Oracle has continued to add features. We just cannot beat the cost since it is free. Security and system administrators occasionally need to run scripts and SQL Developer provides a nice visual interface to do so. I am comfortable using the SQL*Plus command line.
  • Easy to use, even if someone not worked in past with it and have experience using some other tool like TOAD. It's easy to work with it.
  • It's connectivity and features with Oracle database is added advantage for users like monitoring SQLs, sessions and data modeling.
  • Getting details about existing objects with their scripts and data. Its portability into different file system like Excel, text etc.
  • Its connectivity to other databases and use of specific functions from it. Example: DB2.
  • Running many SQLs in parallel from a number of open SQL sheets. TOAD has this feature, very useful to toggle between different tabs.
SQL Developer is well suited with Oracle Database, importantly it's free with it. SQL Developer gives all the good features required by developer or admins when using Oracle Database, and it's easy to use. However, when used with other database SQL Developer has its limitations to have their features and functions.
Read Krishan Mohil's full review
Dorrie Keyes profile photo
October 24, 2017

Review: "SQL Developer, the best gui tool for Oracle"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used by our ERP Development team and our DBA team. It also is used on occasion by security and system administration folks. Programmers are looking at tables constantly. Having a graphic tool to do that makes the process quicker and easier. In the past some folks have used TOAD (which is a great tool), but over time SQL Developer has won out as Oracle has continued to add features. We just cannot beat the cost since it is free. Security and system administrators occasionally need to run scripts and SQL Developer provides a nice visual interface to do so. I am comfortable using the SQL*Plus command line. However when I am working with databases that I don't use very often, I appreciate the visual display of database objects as well as the easy way to get query results and put them into Excel.
  • The cost versus features factor cannot be beat since SQL Developer is free.
  • SQL Developer can automatically keep itself updated. This is great especially when working with different versions of the database. You can be sure it will be able to use all of the new features of any new release that comes out.
  • SQL Developer has reports built in for Oracle databases. I can write SQL, but having them there and easily available is a great time-saver for a DBA.
  • SQL Developer has attachment points for Git and SubVersion and access to native Oracle database tools such as export. These are great features for developers.
  • SQL Developer can be used to connect to non-Oracle databases, but they don't make it easy. Drivers must be downloaded and configured to make connections. Including these things and having a clickable select for the database type would be nice.
  • SQL Developer also has a Data Modeler. I used to use Oracle Designer 2000 and it had so many more features. Oracle promised that we could use Data Modeler instead but it does not have near the features that Designer did. It was really easy to design database tables before and Data Modeler is harder to use.
SQL Developer is great for keeping multiple Oracle database query sessions open at one time within one application. If I use SQL*Plus, I have to have a terminal server connection open first. So every SQL session is in a different window. That quickly becomes a lot of windows to keep track of. We do not use it for running automated scripts. Those are done through the command line.
Read Dorrie Keyes's full review
Dan Hotka profile photo
November 30, 2017

"SQL Developer Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SQL Developer (SD) for PL/SQL development. Being free from Oracle Corp, it is a very cost-effective way to build and maintain PL/SQL code. I like the main editor window that I can execute PL/SQL or SQL and get results. The SQL can be easily saved for future use in the form of a report. There is a nice history function that shows all of the code (last 100 things done I think...) SD executed. This feature is particularly handy when doing some SQL tuning with hints. Another nice feature is that SD supports the APEX environment, right out of the gate! You can easily view the APEX management data right from SD. SD also has code snippets and some code templates. The code snippets are drag and drop bits of code useful for various functions, SQL tuning (there is a category for all of the useful SQL hints), date functions, date/time masks, number/character conversions, and more. I have plugged my various useful SQL into the SD reports making them very easy to run.
  • PL/SQL Development: the tool's strength really. SD supports code condensing, parentheses/brace matching, insites (popup windows with data object column names, etc).
  • I like the report feature...very easy to add your library of SQL to be run as reports. SD works with bind variables in your SQL well too.
  • The history feature is particularly nice. It's called SQL Recall and it saves quite a number of PL/SQL and SQL code you have been working with for near-future reference and recovery if needed.
  • The code snippets is very nice. Various functions and function details at your fingertips. Use a drag and drop operation to add to your code.
  • SQL Tuning. SD has explained plans but these could easily be improved upon using the latest features of the Oracle RDBMS.
  • More code templates. You can add your own but the tool seems to be lacking a bit when it comes to pre-existing code examples.
  • Smaller foot print. The thing is huge and somewhat slow.
  • Seems every time I get a newer SD, I also have to upgrade the Java environment as well. Would be nice if they picked a rev of Java and stuck to it.
SD is well suited for PL/SQL development, some data analysis, and executing of SQL. The price is certainly right at 'free'... I find it not as helpful when it comes to SQL performance tuning. I usually have to resort to SQL*Plus or other tools to run the more advanced performance tuning things such as SQL Trace.
Read Dan Hotka's full review
Sebastiano Manzella profile photo
November 29, 2017

Review: "Oracle SQL Developer : An easy way to manage DB"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we use a lot of SQL Developer to manage in a graphical way our customers' database. For each project we are involved, we have one or more than one database, so a fantastic tool to manage easily and quickly is SQL Dev thank to It is slim and immediate graphical interface. This tool supports our developers with tasks such as creating objects, statements and scripts Sql, editing, and debugging code scripts Pl / Sql.
  • simple and immediate graphical interface
  • no installation
  • easy import and export DB schemas
  • keep hold query results after closing
  • more extensions
Oracle SQL Developer is a professional tool for managing and organizing SQL databases. It, therefore, supports database administrators and programmers in general, who appreciate the functions developed specifically for Oracle SQL. In fact, it can be counted among the Integrated Development Environment (IDE), as it allows us to carry out typical activities of this category of applications. This integrated work environment is available in Windows, Mac, and Linux environments, showing a certain versatility of use.
Read Sebastiano Manzella's full review
Suhas Kashyap RR profile photo
November 20, 2017

"SQL Developer Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL developer is a tool used to access the database of various applications. It can be used to access multiple database / schemas simultaneously.
The Database & Application team were using the SQL developer to access the client DB for verifying the data stored in application.
Earlier, we did not have common tool to access DB and was having few issues. Later it got resolved with SQL developer.
  • Able to query the DB and get results easily and can easily execute scripts.
  • Able to connect with multiple schemas / DB simultaneously.
  • Able to export the results in required format (Excel / Csv)
  • Able to customize the features that are required.
  • UI of SQL developer is nice and easily accessible.
  • Inconsistency and data incompatibility in date and time syntax, string concatenation and is case sensitivity.
  • Reconnect menu item does not always work when the database has been unexpectedly disconnected
  • Not stable when query is taking long time to execute
  • When reconnected to DB, the previous SQL query window could have been opened instead of opening new query window
SQL developer is suited where we have to connect to multiple Database and execute query simultaneously. This tool can be used to export the data in different formats and is suited where we have to show the results immidiately.
SQL developer tool can be integrated with the SVN / GIT, so results can be shared across the team easily.

But SQL developer is not suited if a query should be executed on multiple database, as it becomes slow. Sometimes it gets crashed suddenly without any information and the query, results may be lost.
Read Suhas Kashyap RR's full review
Ketan Kothari profile photo
November 07, 2017

Review: "SQL Developer - Free Tool for Oracle and other databases."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used for querying Oracle databases. It provides an easy way to get data from Oracle databases and also help monitor any issues within our IT department.
  • Query Oracle Database and export data
  • Provide quick overview of Database
  • Use it to Run SQL Tuning advisor and custom reports for performance troubleshooting
  • Quick to load and faster performance
  • Ability to support setting of default schema on logon automatically
  • Use thin JDBC LDAP URL instead of hard-coding server names in connection.xml. Currently, we need to use advanced and specify URL our selves.
Query Data
Performance Tuning
Less appropriate for Non SQL related tasks
Read Ketan Kothari's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
November 01, 2017

SQL Developer Review: "Manages the giant with another giant"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a software developer, it is important to manage databases from a fast and reliable presentation. SQL Developer allow developers to quickly manage data on a par with project and development times. Not only that, but also gives you modeling and reporting tools that facilitate the documentation in the analysis and design phases.
  • Data modeling and reporting tools.
  • Create new databases for startups.
  • Simple data management, even in a complex environment like Oracle Database.
  • It works mainly for Oracle and does not work as easily with other databases like SQL Server.
  • Installation can be a problem if you are not used to Oracle installation process.
If you are working with Oracle Database, SQL Developer is the way to go. If you go with other databases like SQL Server you could prefer SQL Management or Toad.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Gurcan Orhan profile photo
October 31, 2017

SQL Developer Review: "The right editor for all your DB related operations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Oracle SQL Developer can connect to many different database management systems, such as Postgres SQL, Enterprise DB, Microsoft SQL Server, etc.
  • Enhanced capabilities for querying
  • Ease of usage and simple UI
  • Importing Excel files to database quickly
  • Multiple query editor screens
  • Works both on Macs and Windows PCs and laptops
  • Enhanced formatting capabilities including your own query formatting
  • Comparison of saved queries and / or databases
  • Works with Data Modeler seamlesly
  • Enhanced debugging mode with break points
  • Change management support
  • Data miner support
  • OLAP support
  • REST Data services support
  • Cloud ready
  • History of SQL Statements
  • Thumbnail view
  • Git support
  • SVN support including team versioning environment
  • External tools support
  • Localization support
  • Customizable shortcuts
  • Fully customizable querying tool
  • Code Templates (can be used for commonly used statement: scf ==> select count(*) from)
  • Data and/or objects migration
  • Connection to multiple and various types of databases at once, within the same application
  • Works with files easily, steadily and with high performance
  • Mac and Windows support
  • Team coding support (git, SVN, etc.) with change management
  • Oracle special packages and additional tools (data miner, OLAP, Data Modeler, REST Data Services, Cloud and others)
  • Code templates. Shorten your most used statements (type ssf and "space" and it converts to "select * from")
  • Native JDBC support (with native connection string) for non-supported JDBC database connections.
  • Easy to install, just extract the zip file or copy your installation folder to a USB drive and it is ready to go.
  • Easy upgrades, without losing any connection details.
  • Supports CLI (Command Line Interface) for low level tasks.
Read Gurcan Orhan's full review

SQL Developer Scorecard Summary

About SQL Developer

SQL Developer is a relational database software solution offered by Oracle.
Categories:  Relational Databases