SSIS Reviews

199 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

John Stuchly | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

SSIS Just Works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Consolidation into a standard tool for data movement makes maintenance and administration easier.
  • The extensibility of the tool has allowed us to fill the gaps with 3rd party add-ons.
Read John Stuchly's full review
zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

Great Tool For ETL Design

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Paying a license fee to the SSIS ETL vehicle for our enterprise projects increases our costs.
  • Because it is a powerful and performance ETL tool, data increases our business productivity.
Read zahit bogus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Our use of SSIS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - easier to manage and maintain data imports and maintain consistency over time.
  • Positive - reusable projects reduces time for repetitive tasks.
  • Negative - learning curve. Variety and flexibility of possible solutions can be overwhelming.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

SSIS enables you to build the data lake of your dreams!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • By using SSIS, we have been able to eliminate simple, redundant data move operations that were conducted manually.
  • We have been able to build a stable data repository that combines data from different sources and provides a more holistic view of the business's data.
  • SSIS provided a flexible framework that we were able to use to connect to a variety of data sources--Oracle, SQL Server, Teradata, CSV, and web--which enabled us to build a system for business-critical reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

SQL Server Integration Services, worth a look

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We partner with other companies to help provide value to their customers. We had a number of them that requested reporting sent to their customers monthly. Our traditional Devs spec'd they would need up to a week toget that coded, tested and released. With SQL Server Integration Services and SQL Server Reporting Services we had the first iteration out in a day. This sends out over 3,000 reports, using our Partners Branding we get these out in less than 1 hour saving development resources.
  • In a growing company from Startup to Enterprise, integrating our home grown order entry into our ERP system was proving difficult by hand. Once I implemented SQL Server Integration Services we had it done in less than a month. This reduced our project implementation time by over 1 month which saved consulting time and expenses.
  • We use SQL Server Integration Services to backup our production boxes, cleanse and change the data to comply with different countries regulatory requirements, and restore that data to our Development and Test environments allowing our developers to have the most recent data set possible.
Read Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

SQL Server Integration Services: A Great "Free" ETL Tool for Most Use Cases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Because SSIS comes "free" with SQL Server, there is no additional one-time or recurring software license fee to pay.
  • SSIS has a fairly shallow learning curve so any Microsoft-oriented software development team can adopt it and put it into production service with very little training time needed.
  • Packages created in SSIS can easily be transitioned from development to production use either via direct deployment to SQL Server or via a deployment management system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

In the world of IT this should be a standard tool, at least in any Windows environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Like any IT department, we almost always have an MS SQL license and therefore also access to this tool, though the free version also works just fine with a little less functionality.
  • Makes things like data cleaning or integration easy.
  • Scheduling and running SISS jobs can be done in many ways, very flexible.
  • Negative. I would say source control is difficult, there’s no elegant solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

SSIS - Strong performer in the traditional data space, but can be improved in handling JSON objects

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have delivered numerous projects to our clients using SSIS where the client has been very happy with the delivery of our solution.
  • The big struggle with SSIS is having multiple devs on a single SSIS package, this can create merge nightmares from a source control standpoint.
  • Overall SSIS is a good option for clients who have Microsoft enterprise licensing. It provides a good set of capabilities for RDBMS systems, but you will need more custom dev if you are ingesting emerging feeds such as JSON objects.
Read this authenticated review
Stu Teel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

SSIS for data integration and ETL!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Quick and easy tool to bring disparate data together to make final harvest a 1 stop shop for data visualization
  • No need to pay elaborate hourly rates for Python scripts etc if you don't need to harvest data that way.
Read Stu Teel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

SQL Server Integration Services: a great tool for small to medium sized implementations

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • SQL Server Integration Services has had a positive impact on our organization as it has allowed us to integrate data from external data sources via CSV and flat files
  • SQL Server Integration Services has a waning positive impact on our organization as we are moving more toward Big Data and Oracle data
  • Given the initial investment in SQL Server Integration Services, the ROI has been positive as it has enabled business-critical ETL for the past 5 years
Read this authenticated review
Greg Goss | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2018

A solid ETL tool. Data doesn't stay in one place, SSIS keeps it going where it needs to go.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I use SSIS to automate tasks that I'm repeatedly asked to do. "Hey, can you go into the system and close any open orders that we've fully filled?" Sure....then I schedule a package to do that for me every hour so I'm never asked again. It saves me time, which gives value to the company.
  • It removes the risk of human error. When people build files and send them, there's the risk that it doesn't happen the same way every time or gets forgotten. With SSIS, you spend some up front time building a process, but then you deploy it and forget it (unless it emails you that there was an error. You are putting error handling in your ETL, right?). Very repeatable and consistent business solution.
Read Greg Goss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2018

Good integration with MSSQL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As it is part of the SQL related products, customers are more receptive to the product due to the lower risk. This increased our product offerings in our solutions for projects.
  • The work required to implement an SSIS project is relatively quick compared to other tools and it reduces the amount of time required by staff to configure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2018

If your back end RDBMS is SQL Server, SSIS gives you a bang for your buck.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It wasn't used effectively, resulting in not realising ROI to the extent we had anticipated
  • It was easy to learn, which resulted in business teams using it extensively without IT support, resulting in lots of packages/code to maintain
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2018

SSIS is one of the best ETLs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive Impact: Faster Performance
  • Negative Impact: Script Task and Script component always hangs up
Read this authenticated review
Jose Pla | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2018

Don't let SSIS rest if you already have it with SQL Server combo

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It comes with SQL server, so if you are already using that for the DB, we had no charge for using SSIS for the same solution. That is one big advantage of Microsoft, they provide the whole combo for BI at once.
  • ROI is a time measure, if you bought SQL just for the DB, but then you want to use SSIS, most probably it is already there.
  • If you try even an open source solution, you will have to install it and get trained on it, for SSIS the learning curve is very short.
  • Be careful, SSIS is for ETL, not for middleware at an enterprise level. In the begining it might work but it is not the purpose of the tool, for middleware solutions where the business depends on, don't get confused and if you are still looking for Microsoft go for BizTalk.
Read Jose Pla's full review
Eddie Brady | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2017

SSIS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • SSIS can have significant ROI by automating data flow processes and putting data integrity checks and transformations in place during the process. The reliability of the process increases and time is recouped because no end user is responsible.
  • Ability for non programmers to create and automate processes.
Read Eddie Brady's full review
David Milillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

SSIS Addict

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Investment in SS/SSIS was already done before I joined. But we could not operate without SSIS at this point. So much implementation has done within SSIS that migration would be next to impossible at this point.
Read David Milillo's full review
Hung Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2016

Use it if you have a Microsoft Stack

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Using SSIS has allowed us to free up a lot of time from our business users. We do a lot of predictive analytics here and we generate models/reports for various business units outside of our own. This involves ETL, running stored procedures, executing R scripts, and running other analytical tools over the data and generating data. By automating a lot of these tasks, these users are free to do more research and explore other opportunities for revenue/profit.
  • SSIS is a pretty popular tool and it is not difficult to hire users that have experience. We don't need to spend a lot of time training new associates no how to use the product which saves us a lot of resources.
  • Overall, we're able to achieve our business goals because it does what it's intended to do. We're able to integrate our tools and applications together to create new products and revenue streams.
Read Hung Nguyen's full review
Eugene LaRoche | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2016

SSIS- Mundane but Dependable

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • SSIS comes with standard SQL Server implementations, so it does not cost extra to utilize. On the other hand, its inflexibility makes it inferior to some other leading ETL tools. Investments into tools other than SSIS must be weighed against the pricing model for shops already using SQL Server.
Read Eugene LaRoche's full review
Chris Morgan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2016

SSIS is terrific for all your ETL needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • SSIS has allowed us to meet a complex variety of ETL needs without having to acquire a profound knowledge of application programming and the learning curve is really not bad considering the power available. We heavily depend on SSIS every day.
  • SSIS or SQL Server doesn't play nice with Sybase databases, and it takes some work to make ETL go smoothly between Sybase and SQL server databases, particularly since SQL Server Management Studio can't query certain Sybase formats.
  • It is included with SQL Server, so it is a very powerful tool included at no additional cost. It has saved us a lot of money over possible alternatives.
Read Chris Morgan's full review
Tom Jaskula | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

A Reliable Data Preparation Tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Data preparation is the majority of the effort involved in data warehousing projects. The amount of time it takes to prepare data is the same now as it was when the product was introduced in 2005. There are more features now, but the amount of time that you are spending with the tool has still remained the same.
  • SSIS is a very widely used tool, making talent easy to find.
  • Because its included with SQL Server, you don't have to go through any additional effort to purchase this tool. If you own SQL Sever then you already own SSIS.
Read Tom Jaskula's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (35)
9.4
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (27)
7.6
Simple transformations (35)
9.9
Complex transformations (34)
8.2
Data model creation (17)
7.4
Metadata management (21)
6.7
Business rules and workflow (28)
8.1
Collaboration (25)
6.3
Testing and debugging (33)
7.3
feature 1 (1)
7
Integration with data quality tools (25)
8.6
Integration with MDM tools (25)
7.5

About SSIS

Microsoft's SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) is a data integration solution.
Categories:  Data Integration

SSIS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No