Squarespace Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
223 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 85)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 23, 2021
Isabel Sam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stupid simple to use. I know very creative people who cannot code and this is probably the easiest ever platform for them!
  • Pretty website templates and great functionality with showing off portfolios.
  • They've already figured out what are the problems that non-coding people have when creating websites and they've figured out a simple solution for all of it.
  • SEO doesn't seem to crawl as well on different search engines.
  • I wanted to hook up my API code to my squarespace site to see how it tracks visitors and I didn't have a way to do that.
  • Website loading time felt kind of average (3-5 seconds). I like to be around 1 second or less.
Read Isabel Sam's full review
May 22, 2021
Michael Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Blogging feature - easy to set up
  • A variety of templates and designs for the clients to from
  • Mobile apps
  • Couldn't see anything wrong. Almost makes me want to stop creating custom sites because of Squarespace!
Read Michael Chow's full review
May 14, 2021
Megan Murray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Squarespace is very easy to use, this is a super helpful thing as small business owners we have to wear many hats and being a full blown website developer doesn't need to be one of them.
  • Squarespace has quick and simple plugins.
  • Squarespace allows you to easily expand as you need to.
  • As a wine company it would really love it if Squarespace had an easy plugin for wine club subscriptions.
  • Squarespace would be awesome if it could automatically take your photos that you upload on the site and optimize them for the web and for the website.
  • I do wish we could have more than two contributors for the basic website costs.
Read Megan Murray's full review
May 13, 2021
Courtney Birnbaum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Squarespace makes it simple to set up your website, whether you know a lot or very little about web design. HTML coding can be used but is not necessary, thanks to the hub's large selection of templates for both overall website look and individual pages.
  • The backend "Dashboard" for Squarespace sites is very clean and clear — navigation is simple to get started, and if you select a wrong section, you can easily go back to the main menus.
  • Commerce is very nice. I've used Shopify and a few custom store backends, and Squarespace stands out as one of the best. Because I'm a longterm user, I have certain benefits that now have a different price point, but I'd recommend their store as a very good option for most groups.
  • Analytics are pretty standard, which is nice for groups who want to keep track of basic traffic and sales without needing a secondary tracker, but may not satisfy someone looking for extra robust information.
  • It takes practice to get used to the editing flow for setting up pages in Squarespace: you need to both use an on-page "Page Content" tab to edit most aspects but also use a gear icon on the left-hand sidebar to finish setting up the pages with SEO, social image and metadata style descriptions.
  • Because so much of your website is created through drag and drop, it can be frustrating at times when items do not move as precisely as you need. I end up having to resize columns after laying out the whole page from time to time.
  • I pay for a domain through Squarespace because it keeps it simple, but the pricing is not ideal, especially if you need more than one domain. If you are bringing your own domain names, there is extra work, but it does work.
Read Courtney Birnbaum's full review
May 09, 2021
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Squarespace makes it very easy to get products listing in an eCommerce store. The interface is intuitive (they've improved in this regard quite a bit in their recent update, in my opinion) and quick to navigate.
  • Squarespace is designed for fast deployment. While it sacrifices some customization, it is very simple to get your website framed up, the pages filled out with images and content, 3rd party integrations set up, and everything launched.
  • The tools for building your content are easy to understand use. They've improved greatly with the functionality for inserting a content block. It used to be pretty buggy or fiddly but you can now just place your cursor in the editor where you want to insert something, see an indicator for where the new content will be inserted, click, and you're on your way.
  • Solid uptime performance. I've never had problems with my website going down after two years as a customer.
  • Automatic updates keep the site secured and free of malware or other problems that tend to afflict the average WordPress user.
  • Design options tend to be limited unless you venture into the world of add-ons where things can get quite technical. If you're looking for a plug-and-play, you'll get it here, but you will likely have to concede some personal design preferences to fit the boundaries of their templates.
  • It can be a little bit tricky at first to figure out the Pages tool and how to use it to get your navigation the way you want. I have some pages that I don't want in the primary navigation and
  • This platform really needs more turnkey functionality for a membership site, recurring payments, gated content, etc. I hope that's coming at some point. Right now, you're better off using Squarespace for a more conventional eCommerce business.
  • If you're a blogger and want to load up your site with ad placements, Squarespace is not for you. The platform is really unfriendly for any kind of ad network integrations, including AdSense.
Read Josh Summerhays's full review
February 18, 2021
Daniel Shatzkes CEO Entrepreneur, Manufacturer, Musician | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Getting started with Squarespace is incredibly easy. Their templates make getting an early design for your website set up and published quick and simple. There are plenty of advanced features that can be utilized to tweak the design indefinitely but getting up and running smoothly and quickly is key and Squarespace does that beautifully.
  • The Squarespace Analytics tools are incredibly helpful. They are quite detailed yet very easy to understand and parse through. If you've ever tried to understand all of your Google Analytics data, you can feel like you need to get a new degree to comprehend it all. Squarespace Analytics are intuitive and easy to understand allowing you have an easier time making decisions based not eh data you re provided.
  • Squarespace makes integrations with other platforms very easy as well. Email service providers (like MailChimp or Contant Contact), or integrating with outside fulfillment centers for orders of your products is very easy to set up. The back end design and control makes navigating through these things very easy (with the right instructions, of course).
  • My biggest complaint about Squarespace is particularly about the shipping rates controls in the Commerce plans. Squarespace does not allow you to assign different shipping costs to different products. You can set up different costs for different levels of shipping (for example, Ground, Express, Overnight, etc.). But if you have two different products that are different sizes and weights you cannot independently assign each of them a different cost for Ground shipping. All products have to have the same price for Ground, the same price for expedited, etc. It is incredibly frustrating. This one deficiency alone has actually been enough to have prompted me into looking for alternative platforms for my e-commerce site. If you sell multiple products of varying sizes and weights and you intend to charge you customers shipping, then be aware of this beforehand. If you only sell digital products, or products that don't vary much in size or weight, or you intend to offer free shipping on everything then this will not be as big a deal for you.
  • Squarespace offers excellent help services via live chat, but in the years that I've used it I get the sense that recommendations from users are taken seriously. I've made numerous recommendations for enhancements and fixes over the years and I know other people that have as well. However what I continue to see from Squarespace is development of new product offerings that aren't necessarily in line with their core product offering, and not much in the way of making what they already offer much better. There are certain things that should be prioritized by their development team but I don't get the sense that these are taken seriously. Of course this is just my guess as I don't work there but it's important to remember that perception is reality to those who are perceiving.
  • As much as Squarespace makes integrations easy, they still have along way to go with regards to being recognized by many other platforms as integration worthy. Very often I come across services that offer integrations with web design platforms and Squarespace is not one of them. I'm not sure why this is but I wish Squarespace would do a better job of working with these other companies to have integrations with them.
Read Daniel Shatzkes CEO Entrepreneur, Manufacturer, Musician's full review
May 24, 2021
Grace Cartwright Aspinwall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use platform.
  • Uploading images is fast.
  • Aesthetics are beautiful.
  • Hate that I cannot access a media library of past images.
  • Sometimes it doesn’t save properly.
  • The program boots me out without warning.
Read Grace Cartwright Aspinwall's full review
May 23, 2021
Jared Jacobson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides great looking templates
  • Provides good online sessions to develop skills
  • Provides website analytics
  • The forum needs to have more users
  • Help center can have more videos
  • Need more templates for more industries
Read Jared Jacobson's full review
May 14, 2021
Don Stone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The sites created in Squarespace are easy for my clients to maintain.
  • Updating a Squarespace site can be completed by the client
  • It is easy for me to quickly design and implement a wide range of websites for my clients.
  • Maintaining a Squarespace website costs more than a traditional or WordPress site.
  • Building larger or more complex sites is difficult.
  • Lack of 3rd party plug-ins reduces customization options.
Read Don Stone's full review
May 08, 2021
Elizabeth Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Squarespace is great because the interface is simple. Anyone can build a website in this platform.
  • I love that analytics are tracked within the software itself.
  • User management and editing is easy.
  • Writing blog posts are easy.
  • Squarespace is simple, which is a positive, but it also lacks a lot of other tools for creating further complexities.
  • The templates could definitely be improved.
  • Some templates are not responsive.
Read Elizabeth Turner's full review
May 24, 2021
Darcy Knapp, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to navigate
  • Simple to update products
  • Ease of use for check out pages
  • Simple platform for site management
  • Low SEO value
  • Hard to expand for larger scale online catalogs
  • Limited check out integrations
Read Darcy Knapp, MBA's full review
May 23, 2021
Meadow Griffin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Templates and Designs worked well for the sort of website I was creating
  • Blogging Feature was great to keep customers up to date on current events
  • Great price for what your getting in the website deign
  • Excellent support whenever you run into a snag. Live chat I have found was a great tool and you get responded to right away.
  • I find the usability of the editor to be a little frustrating at times. I would have preferred to have an autosave feature instead of having to save every change.
  • Page speed is low, which makes for a poor smartphone experience.
Read Meadow Griffin's full review
May 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Design - Squarespace is like an Apple product, it just looks really nice and does what you want it to do out of the box. If you're like most young non-profits, you probably just want to put up a basic website that looks visually appealing, presents information about your work, and collects donations. Squarespace is fantastic for that purpose.
  • Accessible editing - If you have folks on staff who are not tech people, they will still likely be able to make quick updates to text or replace a photo with Squarespace. The editor is very newbie-friendly, and you can easily add restricted contributor users who can make certain changes, but can't bork the whole thing. Compared to a WordPress dashboard, Squarespace is super simple.
  • Landing pages - Squarespace has a feature called "Cover Pages". These are really handy for when you'd like to make a quick landing page for a specific project or take your site offline temporarily. If you set up your site and only select a cover page as your site structure, the price for monthly service also drops dramatically.
  • Domain included - When you create a Squarespace site, you can register a domain name for free for the first year. Many organizations have trouble keeping track of a separate web host and domain registrar and will lose their domain name unintentionally over an unpaid bill. Having the domain and the site hosting/builder all in one package comes in handy to avoid this situation.
  • Pricing - I haven't done a lot of shopping around, but the price points for getting to e-commerce functionality seem fairly steep. It's worth doing the math on your expected sales to see if you should choose the commerce plan with transaction fees (less expensive monthly) or without. It's also challenging to compare with other solutions, because Squarespace is all inclusive while another product like WooCommerce will cost money as you go along in the build and can be hard to predict.
  • Store Products are rigid - Squarespace uses Product objects for e-commerce, and they are created by the page. In other words, if you start building a store page and add 10 products, those products will not be accessible on other store pages across your site. If you're working with a large inventory, this can be a nightmare.
  • E-commerce add ons - We were looking to create a popup that encouraged customers to donate to our organization, and this isn't natively available inside Squarespace. It was frustrating that we had to do a lot of searching for a third party company and pay $50 to get this done. It would be nice if Squarespace could offer a marketplace of approved vendors if they aren't interested in building out these types of standard e-commerce behaviors. I had to trust the $50 code would do what we wanted it to do without any backing from Squarespace. Luckily, it worked beautifully!
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Streamlined appearance.
  • Multiple options.
  • Space for creativity and ingenuity.
  • Trying to configure site options.
  • Adapting a template to a site.
  • Being able to move around the interface.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Super easy to use
  • Simple for people without a coding background
  • Standard nice-looking templates to save time
  • Hard to customize
  • A bit cookie cutter
  • Site goes down from time to time
Read this authenticated review
May 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to set up initially
  • Learning curve isn't steep to access the dashboard features
  • Decent Analytics to keep track of basic traffic data that helps in making decisions.
  • Needs more integrations from other web friendly platform tools.
  • Not innovating fast enough - I feel their updates aren't creative enough
  • Better Video & multimedia integration.
Read this authenticated review
May 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Out-of-the-box templates make it easy for non-technical people to get started
  • Easy to manage, add users, and customize administrative features
  • Ability to integrate a number of other services and applications
  • For those who are a bit more savvy than a typical non-customized website but not proficient coders, the tools can seem a bit limiting in ability to really adapt and tweak visuals and special content
  • Doesn't always play friendly with mobile versions and different browsers and can be difficult to know, at times, how the content will look across the internet and smart phones
  • Limited customization of payment/donation features requires us to use a separate platform for online payments
Read this authenticated review
May 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast setup
  • Easy-to-understand backend
  • Great customer service
  • Back end does require some technical knowledge
  • There is no scraping opportunity from our our website, which would have improved content speed
  • Customer service was email only
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is intuitive. I have little IT knowledge but easily picked it up.
  • It integrates well with other software. This allows us to seamlessly host our Donate page and scheduling system.
  • Honestly I have yet to see a drawback, at least for my organization.
Read this authenticated review
January 28, 2020
Bryan Hume | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reliability: Never worry about plugins breaking or other technical issues that plague other platforms.
  • Customization: There is a deeper level of customization available in Squarespace than many realize when leveraging Custom CSS and the Squarespace community.
  • Limits: There are design elements that are easier to create with other platforms, but you can usually find workarounds on Squarespace.
  • Price: An all-inclusive platform comes with a higher price tag, but it is well worth the investment.
Read Bryan Hume's full review
April 28, 2020
Michael Leone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to design a bold, colorful and eye-catching website.
  • There are multiple avenues for creation and maintenance - web and app.
  • The user interface is easy to understand and requires very little learning and/or trial and error.
  • The mobile app lacks certain customization and editing options are native in the web app.
  • It would be nice to log-in and automatically be routed to your domain, instead of having to select it.
  • While it's easy to use, certain tasks take multiple clicks - it would be nice if there as a "Favorites" option to quickly access the areas you use most.
Read Michael Leone's full review
February 21, 2020
Christy Price | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast website development based on templates.
  • Built-in, onsite SEO.
  • The new, 7.1 version of Squarespace is, at the moment, a step backward from 7.0 and missing some key features.
  • Squarespace Campaigns integration is lacking (cannot join a mailing list from a contact form).
Read Christy Price's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (57)
8.7
API (41)
7.7
Internationalization / multi-language (31)
7.6
WYSIWYG editor (72)
8.7
Code quality / cleanliness (66)
8.8
Admin section (84)
8.8
Page templates (85)
9.0
Library of website themes (82)
8.3
Mobile optimization / responsive design (80)
8.6
Publishing workflow (71)
8.3
Form generator (66)
8.4
Content taxonomy (63)
8.5
SEO support (69)
8.5
Bulk management (40)
7.6
Availability / breadth of extensions (56)
7.2
Community / comment management (57)
8.0

What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a CMS platform that allows users to create a DIY blog, eCommerce store, and/or portfolio (visual art or music). Their templates are designed to be elegant and give users maximum control over the look & feel of the website. Some Squarespace templates are industry or use case-specific, such as menu builders for restaurant sites.

Squarespace allows eCommerce users to customize not only elements like themes and fonts, but also structural elements like online store layout. Templates are optimized for mobile shopping. SEO, product galleries, and order management features are built in. Squarespace integrates with Stripe for credit card payments, and ShipStation for shipping.

Squarespace Video

About Squarespace Version 7.1 | Squarespace Tutorial

Squarespace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a CMS platform that allows users to create a DIY blog, eCommerce store, and/or portfolio (visual art or music). Some Squarespace website and shop templates are industry or use case-specific, such as menu builders for restaurant sites.

What are Squarespace's top competitors?

React, Elementor, and Medium are common alternatives for Squarespace.

What is Squarespace's best feature?

Reviewers rate Page templates highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Squarespace?

The most common users of Squarespace are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.