Squarespace Reviews

182 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Michael Leone | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Squarespace: website creation made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to design a bold, colorful and eye-catching website.
  • There are multiple avenues for creation and maintenance - web and app.
  • The user interface is easy to understand and requires very little learning and/or trial and error.
  • The mobile app lacks certain customization and editing options are native in the web app.
  • It would be nice to log-in and automatically be routed to your domain, instead of having to select it.
  • While it's easy to use, certain tasks take multiple clicks - it would be nice if there as a "Favorites" option to quickly access the areas you use most.
Read Michael Leone's full review
Christy Price | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Squarespace is the Best Choice for Small Business Websites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast website development based on templates.
  • Built-in, onsite SEO.
  • The new, 7.1 version of Squarespace is, at the moment, a step backward from 7.0 and missing some key features.
  • Squarespace Campaigns integration is lacking (cannot join a mailing list from a contact form).
Read Christy Price's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Squarespace - A Beautiful, Affordable Website Platform for Nonprofits

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is intuitive. I have little IT knowledge but easily picked it up.
  • It integrates well with other software. This allows us to seamlessly host our Donate page and scheduling system.
  • Honestly I have yet to see a drawback, at least for my organization.
Read this authenticated review
Bryan Hume | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Simple & Powerful Website Platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reliability: Never worry about plugins breaking or other technical issues that plague other platforms.
  • Customization: There is a deeper level of customization available in Squarespace than many realize when leveraging Custom CSS and the Squarespace community.
  • Limits: There are design elements that are easier to create with other platforms, but you can usually find workarounds on Squarespace.
  • Price: An all-inclusive platform comes with a higher price tag, but it is well worth the investment.
Read Bryan Hume's full review
Robbin Block | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Designer Look and Feel is Ideal for Creative Businesses

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use with its drag and drop interface.
  • Beautiful templates — more so than other easy to use builder tools like Weebly or Wix.
  • Extensive and well-designed elements, including fonts.
  • Images are presented beautifully.
  • Drag and drop interface is not as intuitive as it was when it first launched. It's a bit more challenging to use than, say, Weebly.
  • Its ecommerce functionality isn't as robust as something like Shopify.
  • Setting up grids or sections isn't as easy to do as other tools.
  • Changing templates to see how content may look isn't seamless.
Read Robbin Block's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

No need to be an experienced web designer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Template Website that is easy to update
  • Great customer service and forum - to answer any question you have along the way
  • One stop solution for purchasing domain, setting up domain, and going live with your website
  • Not to worry about SEO - you can still have great search results with Squarespace
  • Adding more business cases for different templates
  • More integrations for email, social, lead gen platforms
  • Cheaper price on domains since they could purchased elsewhere and then forwarded to the website.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Folts | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Squarespace: the best choice for small businesses and freelancers!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use. Literally, anyone can manage it after 30-60 minutes of training.
  • It offers more design flexibility than it used to (backgrounds, more unique layouts, etc).
  • There's no need for maintenance—plugin updates, security issues, etc.
  • The editing experience is VERY slow. Every time you switch in or out of an editor (page content, styles, etc), Squarespace takes 3-5 seconds to load, which is not a deal-breaker, but definitely annoying.
  • There's still no "real" way to set a background color on a given section. You can fake it by using a background image, which works, but what if you want a light background? Squarespace automatically makes the text white for any section, regardless of how bright the background is.
  • It's frustrating that Squarespace hasn't implemented some sort of variable system for fonts and colors. If you decide to change fonts or colors, you have to go around and update it in 50 million different places, which is a huge pain.
Read Andrew Folts's full review
Dan Talvi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Webpage development that's as easy as it looks in the commercials.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly Interface: Easy to jump in and create with no coding or design experience required.
  • Free Trial (No Card Required): Designing the perfect website takes time. Squarespace allows a 14-Day Free Trial (with live access to the website) to learn the interface, input information, and tweak designs before committing to any plans.
  • Multiple Tiers: Depending on the business or individual needs, Squarespace provides multiple website and commerce plans with corresponding features based on the user's goals.
  • Pricing: While not too prohibitive, Squarespace hosting may be more than the average user may want to spend on hosting, especially if building their own website from scratch. However, if looking for a quick, good looking website that is easy to manage, Squarespace is the way to go.
  • Almost cookie-cutter Templates: when developing using the Squarespace auto-generated website builder, the templates provided look somewhat generic. If looking for a functional website that looks nice, Squarespace will do the trick. If looking for a quick, but more customized look, this might not be the way to go.
Read Dan Talvi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Easy to Use with Some Limitations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Well-designed starting templates.
  • Flexibility for more advanced users who know how to customize through additional code.
  • Ease of use.
  • We would love to be able to add pop-up modules as a default option, without having to add additional code.
  • The site sometimes gets very laggy and working on the site gets slow/frustrating. We would like the option to perhaps work offline and push all edits live at once.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Great tool for getting a website up quickly and efficiently

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Minimal development experience needed to maintain.
  • Solid templates that look professional with minimal work.
  • Easy to manage multiple sites.
  • WYSIWYG can be difficult to work with - feels like designing in Microsoft Word sometimes.
  • Templates can be limiting and are generally less flexible than competitors like WordPress.
  • Plugins and advanced features are mostly not an option.
Read this authenticated review
Emily Muhoberac | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

If Squarespace went to high school, they would have won "best all around" as their senior superlative.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive User Interface: Literally anyone can create a website on Squarespace, from the experienced designer to the absolute novice.
  • Customization: While Squarespace manages to be extremely user-friendly, it doesn't do so at the sacrifice of customization. You can still add custom coding if you need to, but it doesn't require coding experience to make a well-designed site.
  • Functionality without hundreds of plugins: Many Squarespace competitors offer expanded functionality through plugins, which can be difficult to work with as they are third party functions that vary in quality. Squarespace has done a great job of adding features to their platform, so plugins are less necessary. They offer many integrations to major services (like Typeform and Stripe), but the experience is much better than sifting through hundreds of plugins.
  • I could see an experienced designer being frustrated by the limitations of Squarespace compared to an open platform like WordPress.
  • Sometimes it's difficult to make quick edits in the website builder because you don't know where the functionality resides. For example, you can make some edits to your nav bar by clicking on the nav bar, but you can make others by going through a series of menus. This is easily resolved by watching the tutorials, but can be frustrating for new users.
Read Emily Muhoberac's full review
Daniel Shatzkes CEO Entrepreneur, Manufacturer, Musician | TrustRadius Reviewer

Pros and Cons

  • Getting started with Squarespace is incredibly easy. Their templates make getting an early design for your website set up and published quick and simple. There are plenty of advanced features that can be utilized to tweak the design indefinitely but getting up and running smoothly and quickly is key and Squarespace does that beautifully.
  • The Squarespace Analytics tools are incredibly helpful. They are quite detailed yet very easy to understand and parse through. If you've ever tried to understand all of your Google Analytics data, you can feel like you need to get a new degree to comprehend it all. Squarespace Analytics are intuitive and easy to understand allowing you have an easier time making decisions based not eh data you re provided.
  • Squarespace makes integrations with other platforms very easy as well. Email service providers (like MailChimp or Contant Contact), or integrating with outside fulfillment centers for orders of your products is very easy to set up. The back end design and control makes navigating through these things very easy (with the right instructions, of course).
  • My biggest complaint about Squarespace is particularly about the shipping rates controls in the Commerce plans. Squarespace does not allow you to assign different shipping costs to different products. You can set up different costs for different levels of shipping (for example, Ground, Express, Overnight, etc.). But if you have two different products that are different sizes and weights you cannot independently assign each of them a different cost for Ground shipping. All products have to have the same price for Ground, the same price for expedited, etc. It is incredibly frustrating. This one deficiency alone has actually been enough to have prompted me into looking for alternative platforms for my e-commerce site. If you sell multiple products of varying sizes and weights and you intend to charge you customers shipping, then be aware of this beforehand. If you only sell digital products, or products that don't vary much in size or weight, or you intend to offer free shipping on everything then this will not be as big a deal for you.
  • Squarespace offers excellent help services via live chat, but in the years that I've used it I get the sense that recommendations from users are taken seriously. I've made numerous recommendations for enhancements and fixes over the years and I know other people that have as well. However what I continue to see from Squarespace is development of new product offerings that aren't necessarily in line with their core product offering, and not much in the way of making what they already offer much better. There are certain things that should be prioritized by their development team but I don't get the sense that these are taken seriously. Of course this is just my guess as I don't work there but it's important to remember that perception is reality to those who are perceiving.
  • As much as Squarespace makes integrations easy, they still have along way to go with regards to being recognized by many other platforms as integration worthy. Very often I come across services that offer integrations with web design platforms and Squarespace is not one of them. I'm not sure why this is but I wish Squarespace would do a better job of working with these other companies to have integrations with them.
Read Daniel Shatzkes CEO Entrepreneur, Manufacturer, Musician's full review
Elizabeth Pampalone | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

Squarespace = Website In A Day

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love using Squarespace for Small Business Websites for local soloprenuers.
  • Squarespace works great for Coaches and Trainers who need a membership site
  • I often use Squarespace for those who have e-commerce stores with less than 100 products.
  • ability to duplicate blocks in builder
  • ability to save blocks in builder
  • file upload manager / Images etc
Read Elizabeth Pampalone's full review
Mary Racter | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

It just works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Attractive visual interface for site building
  • Fully responsive templates that adjust seamlessly to mobile
  • Easy to create a website with little to no technical expertise
  • Does not support OAuth2 for federated access; this would be an extremely useful feature for company internal websites or reducing sign-up friction
  • Personal plan is quite pricy and limited
  • Templates have limited customisability
Read Mary Racter's full review
Alicia Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Squarespace plays game of Customer Keep-Away!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for quick site building through their templates. If you work quickly, you can build a site in about a day.
  • I believe their demographic includes people just entering the web so the interface is simple (sometimes too much) and easy to learn.
  • They have customization options if your business expands from a simple site to online purchasing.
  • The designs are very clean and simple which allows for a professional look.
  • If you have a problem, customer service plays a game of keep-away! With only the option to chat or email, the contact person at Squarespace changes every time. So... everytime you have a question or response to a querie, you get a new person who doesn't have the thorough history. Squarespace says they share the information... but the representative would need to actually read the history and I don't believe they do.
  • If you don't auto-renew (which I don't like as I want to acknowledge this purchase every year), your account may go dead in an instant. To get things sorted out, you enter Customer keep-away and it can be days before a resolution is made.... Days!
  • Customer care..again... The turnaround time for a response has been no shorter than 24 hours! A ridiculous amount of time in this day and age. If you ask a question during the email thread, it will cost you another 24 hours.
  • The marketing for their product touts a quick and efficient response time for customer care. This is simply not true for the average, smaller client.
  • If one is not familiar with website developement, it can be daunting to create a site, even if you use their templates. Since there is no live person to answer immediate questions, you must watch (and re-watch) their videos. Some times there is a question they haven't answered with a video and it is hard to resolve this with only chats or email.
Read Alicia Kramer's full review
Nathan Meehan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

Squarespace: Making the Novice Look Professional

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible: Squarespace allows me to quickly and easily make changes to our website.
  • Professional: I am not a web design professional. Squarespace helps me makes my site look professional.
  • Inexpensive: Squarespace's price point is great for a small company that needs to maximize our use of every dollar.
  • Integration: Squarespace integrates well with other services (such as LinkedIn) and helps me do my job.
  • Responsive: Squarespace has a lot of tutorials and help available on the web. They were also quick to respond if I had questions or problems.
  • Interface: Sometimes I have problems with their interface not saving or working correctly. For example, the photo editor tool sometimes locks up and crashes causing me to lose work.
  • Picture Integration: Sometimes it is unclear how to manipulate cropping and sizing of pictures so they look right on the website.
Read Nathan Meehan's full review
Jacqueline DeCapua | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

Great Software to Create Beautiful Websites

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to create your own domain, your own email, and an ad free website all in one place.
  • Many different layouts to choose from that are able to serve various different needs and services.
  • The analytics are awesome and really help me understand what people are interacting with on my website.
  • They offer a google AdWords credit for signing up.
  • Some layouts are difficult to customize.
  • The design process is a little clunky at times and takes some getting used to.
  • It's a little more expensive than some other web builders.
Read Jacqueline DeCapua's full review
Edmond Lorts | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

Simple and beautiful solution for artist.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Templates are sleek, modern, and beautiful.
  • Customer support is U.S. based and super friendly.
  • There are multiple plans so your site can grow with your business.
  • An even more basic plan would be welcomed for people looking for just a simple gallery to host w/o the bells and whistles.
  • I'd like to see Squarespace suggest the optimal layout/design based on my content.
Read Edmond Lorts's full review
John Selkow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Squarespace is a hit

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use
  • The artistic and modern design’s or a great alternative for a btob company
  • Sometimes the design options are scarce when we are looking to re-designed the website
  • While building the website, the platform can run slower than usual
  • There can be improvement on the frequently asked questions/help section. Some of the resolutions are generic and sometimes we need to look elsewhere for a workaround
Read John Selkow's full review
Dave Becker | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Easy Website Creation For Anyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The website was easy to create, using Squarespace's user-friendly tools.
  • Making edits and updates are also very easy, and requires very little training to teach someone new to do so.
  • We were able to password protect our site, so the resources contained within are only available to those in the company.
  • We are using a search tool to make it easier to find what you are looking for.
  • The search tool is helpful, but lacks an ability to sort your results. Maybe it's just the tool we're using, but it's a feature I would like to have.
  • When adding custom images to your site, the image size requirements could be easier to understand.
  • The mobile app to help write blog posts on the site lacks some of the functionality of the desktop version.
Read Dave Becker's full review
Faith Barker | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Love Squarespace!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • UX/UI design and functionality
  • Excellent web support and service
  • Customized webpages made easy
  • Low cost
  • SEO suggestions
  • Email newsletter with web tips and software updates
  • Referral incentive
Read Faith Barker's full review
Sara Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Great Value

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Aesthetically pleasing templates that have a modern feel and clean feel.
  • Organizing the templates to be able to find what you are looking for that would work for your project.
  • I had to call customer service a few times and it was positive.
  • I think it would be nice if they had a recommended amount of words for each box in the template. When I imported some of text it did not have the same look as the template because I had too little or too much. I had to gauge by making changes and keep going back to review.
Read Sara Meyer's full review
Sarah Daggett | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Helped this Novice Get Going

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It was so easy to get set up. In one place, I was able to reserve my domain, choose a template, and get to work on a webpage. All on my own.
  • Squarespace partners with Unsplash, a free photography website, that allows me to use professional-level photography with no royalties.
  • Using the customization tools to build my webpage was hard. There were some areas that made total sense and others that made no sense at all. My husband has some experience with this stuff, so I brought him in to have him look over the UI with me. Together, we figured it out, but I felt like some features were unnecessarily hard to use.
Read Sarah Daggett's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (42)
8.9
API (28)
7.9
Internationalization / multi-language (21)
8.5
WYSIWYG editor (54)
8.7
Code quality / cleanliness (49)
8.5
Admin section (64)
8.8
Page templates (65)
9.0
Library of website themes (63)
8.8
Mobile optimization / responsive design (61)
9.1
Publishing workflow (55)
8.0
Form generator (49)
8.2
Content taxonomy (48)
8.1
SEO support (53)
7.8
Bulk management (26)
6.2
Availability / breadth of extensions (39)
6.4
Community / comment management (42)
8.1

About Squarespace

Squarespace is a CMS platform that allows users to create a DIY blog, eCommerce store, and/or portfolio (visual art or music). Their templates are designed to be elegant and give users maximum control over the look & feel of the website. Some Squarespace templates are industry or use case-specific, such as menu builders for restaurant sites.

Squarespace allows eCommerce users to customize not only elements like themes and fonts, but also structural elements like online store layout. Templates are optimized for mobile shopping. SEO, product galleries, and order management features are built in. Squarespace integrates with Stripe for credit card payments, and ShipStation for shipping.

Squarespace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No