StatCounter Reviews

20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Charles Rogel | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Great website monitoring tool that provides detail by each visitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I can visit my site in real time showing pages visited and the duration of the visit.
  • It shows very detailed data on where visitors came from.
  • I could monitor the performance of campaigns in real-time as visitors came to my site from a promotion.
  • I'd like to see individual visitor history for top visitors.
Read Charles Rogel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Great Alternative to Google Analytics

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use and install
  • Can track custom activity in real time
  • Customized reporting for location and volume throughout the day
  • Not robust enough to do more advanced analytics like customer segmentation
  • Interface isn't as clean as other tools such as Google Analytics
  • Found it wasn't very accurate when traffic on the website got too high
Read this authenticated review
Hemant Mahla | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2018

Best free web-visitor analysis tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's a free tool which is best to start with website visitor analysis.
  • It gives detailed reports for location, browser and time.
  • It's really easy to set up and use. It may just take few moments to set up an account.
  • They need to add a real-time visitor report option on the website. Else, it is a great tool.
Read Hemant Mahla's full review
Jerry Janes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2014

StatCounter is not Google Analytics and that is a good thing.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reports are general, which sometimes is all a client wants to know.
  • Data is ordered logically and is easy to flip between screens.
  • It's simple to add to any site.
  • Their communication is excellent. Rarely are there issues but if so, they go right to Twitter and engage immediately.
  • I honestly cannot suggest a thing. Again, StatCounter is used for specific reasons and exceeds my expectations.
Read Jerry Janes's full review
Trevor Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2013

Crucial Tracking Info for Tight Budgets

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This services gives the user a lot of functionality for a low price (free with a limited data log) which can be a lifesaver for small business and organizations with limited budgets. Because it is free, any of its shortcomings can be met by complementing it with other free services such as Google Analytics (GA).
  • One shortcoming of GA, and highlight for StatCounter is its ability to track IP addresses. The user’s IP address help pinpoint them to a specific city, state, and country. If the user is using a browser at a larger company, sometimes the IP address will actually reflect which company the website is being accessed from. This feature can be really good for smaller companies/organizations, because they tend to have more personal connections with their smaller user and contact base. Because of this low traffic situation, the in depth analysis is easier to digest and it is possible to gleen who of the business personal connections are interacting with their website.
  • Like most regular tracking services, StatCounter provides many of the same functionality of large data information aggregation. Page visit length help show audience retention. Path through the website and system stats (operating system, resolution browser) can be used to optimize page design and web layout. Keywords, Search Engine information, landing pages, and came from pages, help give an idea of success of current campaigns and provide information for increasing their success
  • For the free version data logging is limited to two weeks, which requires manual pulling of the data (CSV or excel formats) on a regular basis which can become tedious.
  • For offline graphing/presentations, data must be re synthesized/visualized. This typical requires someone manual manipulation the data or develop scripts or coding to improve the collection of the data for offline presentation and records.
  • Lacks some of the pretty visuals that can be seen in competitors such as Google Analytics.
  • Lacks user specific in depth tracking across multiple services (mailchimp, google etc), like more fully featured platforms (Kissmetrics) are able to provide.
Read Trevor Williams's full review
Autumn Walden | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2013

StatCounter: I approve

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's helpful to easily view the hostnames of visitors to get a real sense of your audience.
  • My top 5 views are recent pageloads, recent came from, download activity, exit link activity, and keywords.
  • I appreciate being able to choose free vs paid for log activity.
  • It would be great if the csv file that we can download incorporates all the data that is being collected. I wasn't able to download the hostname information.
Read Autumn Walden's full review
Samantha Worgull | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2013

StatCounter: Stats Made Simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • StatCounter does not lag when entering long time frames (yearly data) like some other analytics sites I've used.
  • StatCounter is user friendly.
  • StatCounter does not have tons of different drop down menus like other sites I've used, which I like. It has a very clean, functioning look.
  • I would like to see our referral traffic ranked in order of most to least. I'm not sure if this function exists already, but if it does, I do not know how to do it.
  • Maybe put the average time on site on the same chart as the visitors and page views graphs.
  • I feel as though some tasks can be streamlined, but this is not just unique to statcounter but to other analytics sites I've used. But people like digging really deep into the data, but for people like me who use it for one purpose, a shorter one-stop-shop version would be nice. Like one page where everything can be seen.
Read Samantha Worgull's full review
Erin Ann McBride | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2013

7 years with Statcounter

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • StatCounter is easy to use, easy to implement, with a UI that anyone, regardless of skill level with web analytics, can read and interpret.
  • I've been using StatCounter for at least 7 years. I install it on every website or blog I am responsible for.
  • StatCounter is much faster to read and use to get live-time results than any other service I have found.
  • I can't think of any changes I would make that are exclusive to StatCounter.
Read Erin Ann McBride's full review
Richard Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2013

StatCounter. Free and Easy.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I really like the simplicity of the weekly stats. It's nice to log in and view weekly stats at once.
  • Keyword analysis helps you determine what keywords are working for your site. It's very helpful.
  • Visitor paths provide a great resource to see where people have entered and exited the website. This helps with fine tuning your SEO efforts.
  • I am very happy with StatCounter and not sure what else they could add to improve the website. The graph designs could be more interactive.
Read Richard Yager's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2014

Long-Standing, Rock Solid, Simple, Affordable Web Stats for Your Analytics Mix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • StatCounter is reliable and accurate.
  • StatCounter has always been easy to use.
  • StatCounter maintains your statistics for many, many years compared to many web services that restrict how far you can go back.
  • StatCounter is very affordable and has been.
  • I can't think of any weaknesses.
Read this authenticated review

About StatCounter

Web analytics product designed for SMB.s Statistics collected are based on page loads.
Categories:  Web Analytics

StatCounter Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No