Sublime Text Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
99 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Divyang Sabhadiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

A Versatile and Diverse Text Editor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organisation mainly deals with Web Development Apps so we need an editor that can out point errors and give suggestions about the syntax in different languages even on the same page. It's common to have Java Scripts and PHP along with HTML, CSS on the same page. The best feature about this tool is it makes suggestions to the user about the common syntax on the language that you are working, without any external setting.
Other great thing about this tool is its tab view of different pages altogether that makes navigation too easy unlike other competitors. You also have Tree view of the files and folder you are working on the left column for quick works.
Moreover it has this feature which almost no other tool has: a "zoomed-out" view of the page pinned to right top corner for pointing a particular portion of module on your thousands of lines of work.
  • Has a free version.
  • Text highlights are great for debugging.
  • Better find-replace feature than others.
  • Can easily work with multiple projects without confusion.
  • Accurate syntax suggestions.
  • Less and complicated plugins.
  • Formatting a large document file can be confusing.
  • Often prompts to purchase a new version.
  • No auto-saving a document.
  • Cannot highlight a particular portion of text.
Highly recommended for beginners as this tool can boost their developing much with its in-built tools that make learning fun and easy.
Even professionals do not need to memorise certain syntax and with some shortcuts coding or developing environment can be made faster than usual.
We generally do not need to contact their customer care as the great commjnuty support solves all its problems.
Read Divyang Sabhadiya's full review
Tom Erdman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Sublime Text is the easy and powerful experience you're looking for in a text editor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is an exceptionally versatile text editor that's exactly as complicated as you want it to be. Sublime is used across our IT department by our web developer, systems administrators, help desk lead and our manager. They all use it for different types of text manipulation, and none of them had a problem getting started in it.
  • Super easy to use for basic text manipulation.
  • Easy to extend and the variety of syntax it can support is huge.
  • It's very affordable, making it easy to disperse.
  • Working with the command palette takes some getting used to, at least for a non-developer.
  • You need to install a plugin to print. Maybe that's normal for this type of powerful editor, but it threw me for a loop.
I honestly can't think of a scenario where Sublime Text isn't useful, outside of needing to quickly print something. I use it for log files, Linux configs, checking Cisco syntax and writing Python and Bash scripts. It can be set to automatically load syntax based on file extensions, and just flat out makes my job easier some days.
Read Tom Erdman's full review
Suleman Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Sublime for dummies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is a software house, so the core work is software development and when we talk about software development, then Sublime is in the few IDEs that first come to mind to use for development.
  • Settings/Preferences feature is the best feature to save the developers time. For example, it makes it easy to exclude unnecessary folders from search, etc.
  • Third party plugins make our work faster.
  • By comparing to visual code, there should be some easy approach to debug the JS/PHP applications.
Especially for those who use the Github, plugins for GitHub with Sublime makes the experience wonderful.
Read Suleman Ahmad's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Sublime Text is a fast intuitive text editor for quick coding

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by personal preference by a subset of developers. It's a fast, lightweight text editor that I personally use for front-end development. I prefer it over other editors simply because I like the interface and its relative speed. Other developers also use it primarily for Javascript or CSS/HTML development.
  • Syntax highlighting for JavaScript is great.
  • Distraction free mode.
  • Not sure if I just am not using it right but JavaScript syntax error highlighting isn't obvious.
  • Doesn't remember word wrap as a setting.
Comparing it with other text editors for JS development, it's just faster and better looking. We've tried some other ones on Mac and PC but prefer this one.
Never had to use their customer support before. There is ample documentation online so it's straightforward to find a solution to any problem you might encounter. For example, I needed to convert a string of HTML code to a properly formatted HTML file to "modify." Easy to do when there are so many users of the product who have needed to do that same thing before.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Sublime Text is a powerful, versatile, and lightweight text editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is primarily used by our programmers as a lightweight code and content editor. It allows routine text and document modification tasks to be scripted and automated, saving countless hours of text manipulation. Unlike many IDEs that are designed to work with a specific set of programming languages, Sublime Text supports almost any programming language—those that aren't supported out of the box can be supported with help from a third-party plugin.
  • Automation: Users can quickly complete tasks using regular expressions and scripts that would otherwise take hours by hand.
  • Code Editing: Sublime Text provides highlighting and basic code formatting support for a wide variety of languages.
  • Code Completion: Unlike many traditional IDEs, code completion support in Sublime Text is lacking, which means it may not be the best choice for new employees.
  • Hidden Features: Most of the best features are hidden in context menus or behind shortcuts. Users will need to take time to learn these and explore the software.
If your team does a lot of development and/or programming work, seasoned employees will likely appreciate the feature set of Sublime Text. Teams that need to edit complex text-only documents (without formatting) will likely be able to save time using automation scripts. On the other hand, if your team requires rich text formatting when editing documents, or is made up of new programmers with limited experience, you may benefit more from a traditional office document editor or standard IDE.
Support seems to be somewhat limited, which is understandable given the inexpensive licensing cost. Detailed documentation (both official and unofficial) is also available to help work through issues or learn about new features. Because Sublime Text is widely used, there are many communities online that provide great unofficial support. Additionally, many of the available 3rd party plugins are supported more extensively.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2020

Fast, reliable, and efficient general-purpose text editor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sublime Text as our code editor of choice for our dynamically typed language. ST comes with great syntax highlighting and other tools that make writing code much easier out of the box. Whenever we have to write Javascript, HTML, CSS, or Python, we use ST. Some engineers also use ST with some extra plugins for quick text manipulation, such as when they need to format strips, strip out lots of whitespaces, or prefix an unnumbered list with numbers.
  • Low memory usage.
  • Cross platform support for Mac, Windows, and Linux.
  • Development has slowed down a lot recently.
  • Many plugin developers moved their plugins onto VSCode and stopped maintaining the ST versions.
Sublime Text is a great text editor with a great intuitive UI and many features to support coding. But, it is not an IDE. What I mean by not an IDE is that it doesn't have features whereby it analyzes the code deeply. That means no autocomplete, ability to jump to the exact definition of a symbol or function, show compile errors, or built-in debugger. That's all fine for dynamically typed languages such as Python, Javascript, Ruby, as dynamically typed languages are too hard to analyze by an IDE anyway. However, for statically typed languages such as Java, Go, Scala, most programmers wisely pick an IDE as the autocomplete, etc. work great and reliably.

Besides writing code in dynamically typed languages, ST3 is also great for general web development (HTML CSS) and text manipulation. Sure, there's vim and many other text editors out there, but in my opinion, ST3's interface is just so clean, beautiful, intuitive, feature-filled yet not bloated. General-purpose functions ST3 has that are really useful for text editing, in general, include multiple selections, select next instance of the variable, line sorting, line joining, and mass indentation.
ST3 has an active forum where you can ask technical questions. Occasionally, the authors will pop in to answer a few questions here and there, but most of the time it's other helpful users who will assist you. Though they aren't the most knowledgeable, they are at least timely. I don't know of any direct way to contact the authors.
As for plugin support, that differs with each plugin but as I mentioned before, many plugins are no longer maintained.
Read this authenticated review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

A Great Text Editor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is useful as a light weight text editor with a lot of powerful functionality. It provides a lot of useful macros and shortcuts to maximize productivity. Individuals can use Sublime Text to organize their files and make edits to their code. It is useful for quickly writing up some scripts or for modifying existing files. Once one gets familiar with all of the functionality Sublime Text provides, it becomes a powerful asset to the engineering development cycle.
  • Lightweight
  • Easy to use
  • Color coordinated highlights
  • Shortcuts and Macros improve efficiency
  • File organization
  • Quick to launch
  • Free to use version constantly prompts user to purchase full version.
  • Different versions of Sublime Text are still used and available meaning you may not be using the latest version.
  • User must setup Sublime Text to their own personal preference before it becomes more useful than other text editors.
Sublime Text is most useful when starting a new project. It is quick to launch and will keep open the files you want to use. It also has the ability to organize and present your files in an intuitive tree that makes structuring your project simpler. From here, you can quickly code the beginnings of your project without the overhead of an IDE. This allows for the ability to write proof of concepts or small projects in little time since Sublime Text has IDE like features that improve efficiency, but you do not have to save projects and wait for an IDE to load the files. Once the project becomes more complex, Sublime Text is a little less ideal when working on the bigger scope of the project where an IDE would be more useful.
Sublime Text is widely used so there is no shortage of articles or documentation explaining the best way to utilize it. There is also support articles on the official Sublime Text website that can be used as a quick start guide. It also provides a reference of the functionality that you can always reference when you run into issues. One thing that could be helpful would be if there were more starter tutorials within the text editor itself.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Charley Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Sublime Text has a ton of great features if you know how to use them

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web department uses Sublime Text to write code for the website. It's a great program and is quick to load, so we can make changes fast. Our website is very robust and we receive many requests for special designs and features. Sublime Text helps us meet demands quickly and efficiently.
  • Sublime Text has a great side menu for organizing files. I can quickly see what other files are in my directory so I can keep my information hierarchy clean and efficient.
  • Sublime Text has great built-in tools like Multiple Selections. Multiple Selections allows me to select one variable and change every instance at once instead of searching every line of code.
  • Sublime Text has a fantastic syntax definition tool that automatically creates an index of every class. I can use keyboard shortcuts to work quickly and keep everything organized.
  • Sublime Text doesn't have a print feature. Printing code isn't something I do often, but there are times when that would be very helpful. As of now, I have to copy the code to a text editor and print from there.
  • Sublime Text has a million tools to speed up processes, but no simple way to learn how to use them. An interactive demo or training resource in addition to the documentation would be really nice.
  • Sublime Text changes frequently. Updates and new features are great, but the changelog doesn't always give an in-depth explanation of what was changed and how to use the new features.
Sublime Text is fantastic for writing and editing code. It is by far my favorite program for writing CSS and HTML. However, I know I am not using the program to its full potential because it is difficult to learn how to use the more robust features like finding, running and installing packages to make my work more efficient.
Read Charley Allen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Reclaim Your Time With Sublime Text

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is my workhorse text editor. In a world with a myriad of text editors, it really stands out. Editing text can often be a tedious affair filled with lots of repetitive tasks. Sublime Text does an excellent job of streamlining navigation and reducing the amount of time needed to handle these tasks. It removes the helps mitigate the mindless tasks and helps you focus on the parts that require thought.
  • The biggest advantage over many other editors is the ability to open large files. Some editors just can't open a CSV with millions of lines but Sublime Text does it like a champ.
  • Multiple selections let you change or create many instances of the same variable or value with ease.
  • The Goto Anything simplifies navigation and lets you control, open, or move within files without ever having to take your hands off the keyboard.
  • Likewise, the command palette allows you to access any of the application's functionality right from the keyboard.
  • It is highly customizable with a rich ecosystem of third party plugins and the ability to create your own.
  • In a world of free and open text editors, Sublime Text does ask for donations. You can use the product freely with only a very infrequent popup asking for donations. You can use it however long you like without paying, but it is well worth it to donate to.
  • People not used to the functionality may need a bit of time to get up to speed using the documentation.
  • An integrated terminal would be nice, but that is just a quibble. It's hard to find many cons with Sublime Text.
Anybody who needs a text editor to handle the structured files in software development and its associated fields needs to have Sublime Text (and probably already does). This isn't a word processor though, and can't do fancy fonts, document structure, and styling of such a program. It was created to wrangle plain text and it does it better than anything else.
There are very good documentation and video resources for getting up to speed with Sublime Text. The community, while not official, is actually a wonderful source of support. There is a lively and responsive forum where you can go for trouble-shooting and feature requests. And there are many users outside of this that offer robust community support. If you search for a Sublime Text question on google, 9 times out of 10 you will find it answered on places like Stack Overflow and you'll be back in business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

One of the best Text Editors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is used as one of my favorite text editors, we use it daily to take notes, parse text files or write short scripts in various languages. Some people on my team use it as their default IDE for development.
  • Wide variety of plugins
  • It has LINT for several languages by default.
  • It can detect the type and programming language of the file and show code highligths based on this, wich is good.
  • Customizable themes
  • If you close the program, the next time you run it, files that were open in the previous session will be displayed again, even those that have not been saved.
  • Lacks of printing function
  • Some basic functions like "compare file" do not exist by default, requiring installation of third party plugins.
If you need a light and simple text editor, Sublime Text is one of the best options. Even if some functionality is missing by default, you can hardly find a community plugin to implement it. You can use it as an IDE for development, but I do not recommend it due to the lack of more robust functionality for this use.
Summing up the good things that were pointed out in this review, the rate is based on ease of use, program features and community support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Solid, Lightweight and Well Established Text Editor with a Respectable Set Of Functions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is one of the most popular text editors and the interface is clear and legible. Out of the different text editors on the market, this one is probably amongst the best and the plugins allow for a suitable amount of customization so that different use cases can be addressed.
  • Plugins are helpful for different use cases.
  • The interface is intuitive and easy to use.
  • The different themes allow for a better experience while using it.
  • There is a bit of steep learning curve to using this editor versus others.
  • There are some plugins that are redundant.
Sublime text is great because it is extremely lightweight, the license for one user can be used on all devices which allows users with multiple laptops or desktops, and it is generally very reliable and fast. The only drawback is that if there is a language that is a bit more obscure, Sublime may not have the same level of support as another editor.
The support for Sublime Text is okay. The user base is quite large and typically accustomed to technology, so I don't see that most users would necessarily need technical support, so the support is likely limited to licensing issues. It is a large company and support is not always the most efficient.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Sublime features, and an easy to use interface, are the hallmark features of this software.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is useful across the organization for coding solutions in many different languages including Python. It is light weight and easy to use with a good interface.
  • Supports multiple tabs in one window with strong features such as 'Find and Replace'.
  • Keyboard shortcuts for many features such as Indenting are very useful.
  • Automatic syntax checking and support for various languages.
  • Text compare between two files is not easily accessible and not prominent.
  • PEP-8 coding standard suggestions for Python are not available natively.
  • Debugging Python code is not directly supported.
Good for quick edits with easy in and easy out.
Find text feature is really useful in single and multi-file mode. However, the 'Replace' text feature does not work as intended across multiple files.
The support website has good examples of many use cases and caters to most users. The forums have an active community and plenty of users who provide feedback actively.
Read this authenticated review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

To Typo is Human, To GREP is Sublime (Text)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is one of many programming-focused text editors in use by my department and it is a particular favorite of mine. It is used, in concert with other text editors, by our programming staff. As a free-to-start, fully unlocked, and highly featured text editor, it enables my software development staff to quickly and easily do their day-to-day programming work.
  • Sublime offers a competitively-featured text editor in a free-to-start model, ensuring a strong appeal with new and experienced coders.
  • Sublime allows extensive user-customization and functional extension via configuration settings and Package Control.
  • Sublime supports multi-line and block editing in an intuitive, easy to learn manner.
  • Sublime ships with a powerful grep module for advanced finds and replaces.
  • End-user configuration can be somewhat opaque, as it involves copying and modifying default settings files, and it's easy for a newbie to get swamped in the fine-grained configuration options.
  • User-supplied packages don't always do what is advertised—nothing adversarial or malicious in my experience, just packages that purport to do something but aren't always well-implemented or maintained (although this is not Sublime Text's fault, really).
  • The behavior of the "replace all" function can be mildly irritating, as it hides the find and replace dialog from the bottom of the editor window upon completion of a find and replace call. Perhaps this is a user-configurable behavior?
Sublime Text is great for beginning coders who want to take a fully-featured spin with an excellent text editor with IDE functionality, without having to pay upfront or suffer with time or feature-limited shareware. It's also a wonderful option for long-time programmers who are stuck in vanilla text editor land and would like to get into a more user-configurable text editor. Sublime is not well-suited for human-readable communications; there is no inbuilt print functionality, and it is set up to support fixed-width characters and column widths deemed best for programming purposes.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Marouane Tohme | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Served Smooth With A Dash Of Lime

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is a well built, lightweight and easy to use text editor that has become my go-to for quite some time now. The application is lightweight so running it alongside more processor intensive apps doesn't result in any real performance hits. I am especially fond of the tab feature, which allows me to have many files open at once. Sublime supports virtually every file format, I have yet to throw something at it that it couldn't open. The application itself is stable and robust.
  • Tabs
  • Low Resource Threshold
  • Stable
  • Broad File Type Support
  • I do wish there was better support for modular add-ons but to be fair that might hurt the performance of the application.
  • There isn't really anything else I can think of that I dislike about Sublime.
  • Great application A+
Sublime Text really shines in scenarios where you're strapped for computer resources. Whether it be CPU or RAM, the application is especially lightweight making running it on any machine, old or new, high end or otherwise a breeze. The small size makes installing in a pinch quick and the stability is a massive plus. It's an application one can rely on to work when they need it to.
Read Marouane Tohme's full review
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Superior Search Capabilities and Rapid File Switching

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sublime Text for software development as well as quickly searching the filesystem, finding particular information I'm looking for and performing batch operations on files. The business problem it addresses is being a useful tool that can supplement my primary software development in the preferred platform for the project I'm working on. For instance, when I'm using Android Studio to develop Android apps, or Xcode to develop iOS apps, I often have Sublime Text open as well for its superior search capabilities and overall ease of use. I may use Android Studio or Xcode much of the time, but I find myself regularly switching to Sublime Text for features like Find & Replace.
  • Great for web development. This is where Sublime really shines, although it supports so many other languages that it can be used for just about anything.
  • Great plugins with things like Git integration. Customization for your preferred workflow.
  • Amazing Find & Replace and search capabilities.
  • With the use of plugins, you can streamline development to put common tasks on macros and really cut down on repetitive tasks.
  • Sublime Text is not my first choice for Java development simply because it is so lightweight, and there are more robust, full-featured Java IDEs out there like NetBeans and Eclipse.
  • Sublime Text is also not my go-to for a standalone IDE for most projects. I might use it as a standalone for a web project, but overall I prefer to use Sublime Text as a supplement to another more full-featured IDE.
Sublime Text is excellent for when you want a lightweight, extremely fast, snappy, and simple text editor that still has enough features that you can achieve more complex software development tasks. It is not well-suited for a full IDE ecosystem like you find with NetBeans or Eclipse. It is also not suited for Android or iOS development on its own. You'll want to use Android Studio or Xcode, and use Sublime Text as a supplement to these bigger platforms. What's nice about Sublime Text is that it has such a simple user interface that it can help psychologically for focusing on the code. It can eliminate clutter and distraction. It is also so fast that it just feels snappy and not clunky or bloated like many other IDEs.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
Miguel Useche | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

The best code editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is being used by the Development team to quickly edit source code and work on it. Sometimes we work with small projects or we need to handle huge temporary files and we use Sublime Text because it offers great performance. Also, it doesn't need to create a project and do a big initial configuration to start to work, just open the app and start working.

It solves the problem of working fast on small projects and handling big files.
  • Since it's coded in C++ it opens super fast! Also, it handles big files without any problem and without overloading the machine.
  • Sublime Text allows me to work with multiple languages in a single window. I can have a different configuration for each tab, so it's a great tool to work with for multi-language projects.
  • It offers a great search tool which is fast, simple to use, and really helpful.
  • It has shortcuts for everything. You can work with just the keyboard. There's no need for a mouse because you can do everything from shortcuts.
  • It's very customizable. You can edit a theme, fonts, colors, etc. You can just download configuration files or themes and improve the appearance of the editor.
  • License price and slow development.
  • It has a single console where all output is displayed. Sometimes this is messy when you have multiple plugins installed and all of them throw info into the console.
  • Some add-ons do not offer good documentation. You install them and you don't know where to configure it or start it.
  • There's no UI for the config settings, you have to edit the configuration files. If you brake it, the editor won't work.
It's well suited if you want to have a fast editor, you work with multiple operating systems (because the license is shared among them), or you want to centralize configuration in multiple machines and work with multiple programming languages.

I don't recommend it if you are searching for an editor that does many things in a single application. Remember that this is not an IDE.
I wrote them multiple times through email and they have replied fast and in both cases, my issues got resolved without any problems. I didn't need to write multiple times. Just one time.
Read Miguel Useche's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Sublime Text for Developers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is being used in a department by department basis. Each department can choose to use it or not. We have selected it for many of the advanced features that other applications like Notepad just can't deliver. As we are a custom development shop tools like Sublime Text are vital in our day to day life cycle.
  • Sublime Text does great at highlighting different types of text.
  • Sublime Text handles many different formats of text well. We utilize it a lot for XML and JSON.
  • This application is very fast at searching and editing.
  • Sublime Text could be better at handling oddly formatted text.
  • Sublime Text could be a little more intuitive, sometimes it is difficult to find the setting you are looking for.
  • Sublime Text could have a few more basic themes to choose from.
Sublime Text excels at viewing text in the raw. This is especially helpful when working with various databases, systems and such. This allows us to see the raw test to quickly debug many issues that we could not see in other tools. This also helps greatly when working with web services and other third parties.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Cameron Renfro | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Sublime Text is the only text editor you need.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sublime Text as our primary text/code editor for all web and application development. Sublime Text gives us the tools necessary for modern complex development environments. Our primary work is custom WordPress development, and Sublime Text allows us to navigate and stay on top of the thousands of files that make up a modern day website framework.
  • Sublime Text's code syntax highlighting makes navigating lines of code a breeze.
  • The flexibility and customization of Sublime text allow us to tailor its feature set to our specific needs.
  • All developers know how valuable keyboard shortcuts are, and Sublime Text's keyboard navigation and shortcuts system is amazing.
  • Sublime Text is a serious text editor and does come with a learning curve. While it's still great for basic text editing needs, it's more geared towards developers.
  • Because Sublime Text is so customizable, some user-friendliness is lost in the process.
If you are a serious web or application developer, I think Sublime Text is a slam dunk. If you are shy about learning serious developer tools, then you may want to skip Sublime Text and look for something more simple or elementary. Regardless of what language you're writing in, Sublime Text text has you covered.
Read Cameron Renfro's full review
Josh Howe | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

My Favorite Code Editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is my go-to text editor when using any type of code. When I am building anything for my organization, it starts in Sublime and gets copied into Drupal. Other co-workers have seen my workflow and are always asking what text editor that I use. From the easy color coding, the code hints and just the ease of use, Sublime Text will save you so much time!
  • Color Coding: Every element in your code is color coded. Did you miss a semi-colon? Forget a bracket? The code will not color correctly until the correct syntax is used. This makes it very easy to debug your code if you ever run into a problem.
  • Code Hints: As soon as you dive into Sublime and start writing code, hints will start popping up when you begin typing. This speeds the process of writing anything as you can quickly tab through the correct response, saving you typing time.
  • Language support: Sublime has almost, if not every, coding language built in. All syntax can be color-coded to your preference!
  • Different views: You can have as many windows side by side within Sublime. When building a website you can have your HTML on the left and CSS on the right for easy reference.
  • The only thing that I would like to see from Sublime is a monthly/weekly newsletter with a tutorial. There is so much you can do with Sublime. I know that I am not using it to the fullest and I know I could speed my workflow even more.
  • Too many features? I honestly have not had an issue using this product and have been using it since college.
Sublime is suited for any programmer, web designer or student looking to organize their code. It is fast, lightweight and is super versatile. Not to mention it is pretty much free. You will get a popup to remind you to donate to the developer if you have a free version but that is it!
Read Josh Howe's full review
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Sublime Text is an amazing tool at no cost!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is being used across the engineering department and by a few other employees in other departments who interact with our codebase. It is not required to be used by everyone, but most use it because it is one of the best free products out there right now on the market.
  • It is amazing at text highlighting and formatting
  • It is great at editing text quickly with multi line editing and search and replace amongst other advanced features
  • It is great at working with multiple codebases
  • It isn't the greatest at code completion
  • It's a little hard to change your settings
Sublime Text is well suited for the average programmer who is looking for a good text editor to edit code. Sublime is not the greatest for a production level coding environment where multiple stages of checks and pushes are needed to migrate code into production
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Jay R. Newlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Sublime Text: One of the best text editors out there!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Individual developers used Sublime Text as their go-to text editor, usually for writing code in any one of a number of languages/frameworks. It is a flexible tool with a number of add-on packages that allow the user to see/format their code according to company formatting or generally accepted formatting standards.
  • Automatic code formatting/syntax highlighting.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Open an entire project in a side-nav pane.
  • Search for a text snippet in the current file or across the entire project.
  • Language packages are only for formatting/display; they don't include code helps or hints (like an IDE or other text editors).
  • There are many packages available, but finding and installing the right one can be daunting.
  • The Minimap (document map) always looks interesting, but it rarely helps me to find anything.
Sublime Text is a great tool for anyone who wants a GUI text editor, especially those who write code. Sublime Text should have an appropriate package to recognize code from almost every development language out there. Sublime Text is overkill for anyone who needs a straightforward, simple editor for plain text files.
Read Jay R. Newlin's full review
Chris Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Still a sublime experience - among many rising stars

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is used by many of our team members to edit code, text, and content within files. It adds productivity and efficiency via its built-in features and the wide range of easily installed plugins. It's popularity and community of users also means there is a large amount of information available to learn about new features and solutions for typical text-editing concerns.
  • A large number of built-in features.
  • Good built-in and customizable keyboard shortcuts.
  • Plugin capabilities and library.
  • Customizability.
  • Intuitiveness - there is a learning curve, especially for non-programmers, in order to get the most benefit from it.
  • Innovation - needs continued development & popularity - continues to be very popular, but other editors are rising quickly.
Plain text file editing is the typical use case - most often for programming, but could also be useful for data entry, processing, mass file updates, etc.

It would NOT be useful for editing any more specialized format - for example, Rich Text, Word/Excel Documents, etc.

It's also a GUI only program. Some programmers may prefer a command line editor, especially for text-editing on a headless server - Vim or Emacs are the most common options for CLI.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Sublime Text, a great product for the everyday developer.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text specifically is used by a few of our developers as a preference over other publicly available text editor tools. It is not a mandated tool, but it is mandated that if you use Sublime, a license is acquired. The business problem it solves is specifically geared around the type of development currently being done. For example, if we're actively doing .NET development, we'll be in Visual Studio more, if we're doing more front end, or pet project type work, or working in a language that isn't .NET, it'll likely be in Sublime Text or a different rich text editor type software.
  • The package manager is an outstanding part of Sublime Text.
  • The layout is cohesive and easy to understand.
  • There is active development on the platform to keep making it better, and the releases are consistent enough to keep me happy.
  • It's a lifetime license, which is fantastic!
  • I'd love to see some 'pre-made kits' of packages that make for a particularly great experience in a certain language. ex: 'if you use typescript, here's a cookbook of public packages that are generally installed and are recommended to make your life great!'
  • The releases come out of nowhere, and although I've known them to be reasonably consistent, some update on the progress of development could be nice.
  • With tools such as VS Code, etc. coming out that are serious competitors in the space, I'd love to see some serious innovation around why I can get team members to move over to Sublime Text, above and beyond 'it's just a preference' and 'I'm used to it.'
Sublime Text is incredibly suited for a developer who is working across a large swath of projects. For example, I work in .NET, AngularJS, Angular, Typescript, Java, Ruby, Python, sometimes a dabble of C, etc. For all of these different languages, it would be somewhat onerous to have an IDE that's specific to each one. Sublime Text, and the community packages therein, make it very easy to swap between projects and languages and feel like I'm having a cohesive experience across them all. If you need an incredibly deep integration/build environment (looking at you .NET/C#), then you'll probably want to use the specific tool for that language, a la: Visual Studio, or if all you're doing is typescript, webstorm has a particularly deep/good integration, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Very intelligent and light weight IDE

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is used as a text editor by my department for various technologies (for example - Python, SQL, R) to edit the code and run using the command prompt. It is mostly used by my department for data science work. We use sublime text for solving various client related problems.
  • Having provided the extension name of the file we are working with, this intelligent tool provides very cool themes coloring the syntax, variables, etc
  • The auto complete feature is also very helpful while coding
  • It is very easy to learn
  • File is very light weight
  • Not very active community
  • Settings are mostly code based and is not easy for beginners
  • No frequent upgrades
For a project requiring multiple technologies like Python, SQL, etc, we can use Sublime Text to code them simultaneosuly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Great IDE for developing efficient well tested applications

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sublime Text is used by developers across different teams. It's an excellent tool which gives developers [the ability] to code applications in a programming language they love. It has a package manager which allows for installing plugins which have functionalities like autocomplete and syntax highlighting. It's easy to install and set up is very easy.
  • It has auto-complete functionality which allows developers to code without knowing each and every syntax or method of the particular language they are coding in.
  • It has syntax highlighting which helps developers to code applications allowing sublime text will take care of the syntax.
  • It has code highlighting in case, which helps in code reviews.
  • The pricing for the license is a little bit high as compared to other competitors like Notepad++.
  • It's not that good with big scale projects. I would use it for smaller tasks.
  • Some of the plugins which are shared by the community lack documentation.
It has a plugin manager which allows you to install plugins which are suited for programming languages in which you can code comfortably. It has various themes which you can install easily. It can be used to create small scale applications. It has GitHub plugins which can be linked to your GitHub repository so that the code can be collaborated with by other developers. It has some drawbacks as it doesn't provide seamless integration with GitHub.
Read this authenticated review

About Sublime Text

Sublime Text is a highly customizable text editing solution featuring advanced API, Goto functions, and other features, from Sublime HQ in Sydney.
Categories:  Text Editors

Sublime Text Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No