Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.5 out of 100
Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)

Overview

What is Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)?

Sugar Sell from SugarCRM is a collaborative CRM, allowing users to track and monitor activities, map each customer’s journey and automate as many workflows as you need to. Sugar Sell is presented by the vendor as lean, fast and integratable...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Af

6 out of 10
May 28, 2021
[Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)] is being used as a trial currently to fill in the gaps that salesforce crm cannot do and will hopefully take over …
Continue reading

Sugar Cell Review

7 out of 10
December 17, 2019
My consulting company has implemented SugarCRM as a resource in multiple client organizations. It is used by numerous departments …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 31 features
  • Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (29)
    8.8
    88%
  • Custom fields (29)
    8.7
    87%
  • Customer data management / contact management (32)
    8.7
    87%
  • Interaction tracking (30)
    7.6
    76%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Sugar Sell (SugarCRM), and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Sugar Professional

$52.00

Cloud
Per User/Per Month (billed annually)

Sugar Sell

$80.00

Cloud
Per User/Per Month (billed annually)

Sugar Enterprise

$85.00

Cloud
Per User/Per Month (billed annually)

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.sugarcrm.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $52 per month
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Sales Force Automation

8.4
84%

Customer Service & Support

8.7
87%

Marketing Automation

8.4
84%

CRM Project Management

8.7
87%

CRM Reporting & Analytics

8.7
87%

Customization

8.5
85%

Security

8.4
84%

Social CRM

8.3
83%

Integrations with 3rd-party Software

8.4
84%

Platform

8.1
81%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)?

Sugar Sell from SugarCRM is a collaborative CRM, allowing users to track and monitor activities, map each customer’s journey and automate as many workflows as you need to. Sugar Sell is presented by the vendor as lean, fast and integratable with anything.

Sugar Sell replaces former editions of the SugarCRM product, including the SugarCRM Community Edition, the open source edition, which is discontinued.

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Integrations

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Competitors

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Sugar Sell from SugarCRM is a collaborative CRM, allowing users to track and monitor activities, map each customer’s journey and automate as many workflows as you need to. Sugar Sell is presented by the vendor as lean, fast and integratable with anything. Sugar Sell replaces former editions of the SugarCRM product, including the SugarCRM Community Edition, the open source edition, which is discontinued.

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) starts at $52.

Insightly, Zoho CRM, and Pipedrive are common alternatives for Sugar Sell (SugarCRM).

Reviewers rate Case management and Task management highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 57)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use Sugar Sell as the CRM solution for our Unified Communications, Data Center & Edge IT solutions. It helps us in painting the complete profile of the Prospect right from the first interaction to capturing his latest activities and interests. The great thing about Sugar Sell is that it is able to integrate very easily with the 3rd party buyer intent platforms so that our sellers can easily see the buyer intent sourced by these platforms right in the prospect/contact profile in the Sugar Sell. This helps our sellers to prioritize working on the prospects/contacts in an efficient way.
  • Native integration with the marketing platforms and 3rd party buyer intent platforms helps data from these systems to be populated in the CRM helping our sellers with the 360 views of the prospect
  • Support omni channel seller communication with the prospects
  • Sales console is very detailed, easy to access and informative it helps our sales team quickly fill themselves with the details of the prospect rather than going over the entire profile scraping all the unwanted data - purchase history, conversation history, interactions, industry, current pain point etc. all is populated at one place in the Sales console
  • The AI and machine learning capabilities in the Discover module is comparatively not as advanced as those offered by Salesforce Einstein
  • Though SugarSell has a mobile app that helps us see the prospect/contact / opportunity on the go but it misses on certain important capabilities like rendering and building out the reports which would be great add on
  • UX feels little outdated - there are certainly room for improvements to improve the usability of the platform e.g. reporting section can be refreshed with more out of the box reporting
I would recommend SugarSell to anyone who is looking for a good, stable, and highly customizable CRM solution out there. It has got great customizability, reporting capabilities and overall a great platform for a small to medium scale business. When it comes to larger enterprise-level businesses, I feel that Salesforce would make a bit more sense since it has more connectivity with other apps and has a greater community of developers and users than SugarSell. Also, if you use enterprise-grade marketing automation platforms for your marketing activities like Adobe Marketo, Salesforce Pardot then Salesforce Sales cloud would make more sense since there is a great native out of the box integration capability for syncing prospects, contacts, programs, opportunities etc. which unfortunately is lacking in SugarSell.
Sugar Sell's support team is great, they helped us during the implementation process when we were new to the Sugar Sell CRM. They explained to us the essential feature sets that we can explore and implement tailored to our use case, requirements, and expectation of the platform. They are also super responsive and are available on multiple channels like call, mobile support, chat apart from email which makes them very much reachable in case of any mission-critical issue.
Jay Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being used by our Sales team only within our organization. It is used only for new sales and some retention efforts. We don't use a lot of the full features of it. We mostly use the leads and prospects modules.
  • Customize screen layout
  • Customize fields
  • Search functionality
  • Recording data
  • The email campaign of SugarCRM is very difficult to use. It is way more complicated than it needs to be.
  • Importing into SugarCRM as a lead is very easy but importing into account/contact is not.
SugarCRM is very flexible, and, since we have direct access to the underlying data, it is not too bad to integrate with other systems. If you want it as an email campaign platform, then I would look elsewhere or think about integrating with a tool that is better suited to do that.
Have only used their support a few times and not in quite a few years. When I did reach out with a question or issue they were very responsive and I was satisfied with the end result.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It has really helped us to maximize our sales and marketing efforts. All our info regarding sales opportunities, accounts, contacts, leads, etc are under one platform allowing us to get visibility into our sales efforts and pipeline. Also by automating most of the tasks by setting up workflows helps a lot in saving time and making the process efficient. It is very easy to use and very affordable and also well suited for most businesses. It covers most of the important functionalities required in any CRM like workflow automation, analytics, leads and contacts management, etc. Overall it is a very robust and scalable CRM in the market for small to mid size businesses.
  • It was easy to set up and didn't take a lot of time during integration.
  • Its export functionality is good.
  • Their customer support service is fantastic and their technical support is great as well.
  • Their reporting and analytics function is very comprehensive.
  • It is very well-organized in terms of content management or Workflow management and opportunity management.
  • The UI can be made better. It's a little clumsy at times.
It can be used as an end to end CRM tool. It has all features for lead management, opportunity tracking, contact management, analytics etc. It is more suited for small to mid sized companies. It's not the best CRM if your requirements are heavy in terms of workflow management as lacks some advanced features present in other CRMs.
The support team is pretty responsive . They gave good online and offline support and their technical documentation is pretty comprehensive too.
May 28, 2021

Af

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
[Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)] is being used as a trial currently to fill in the gaps that salesforce crm cannot do and will hopefully take over the large number of duplicate accounts that are in sfdc currently. [Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)] is used by other software companies as well and I was tasked to get the crm and see if it could add value to where salesforce is lacking and that’s the source of the truth.
  • Building personal reports
  • Integrations
  • Visually appealing
  • Lack of Drill down to the level of detail
  • Cannot slice and dice the data with multiple scenarios
  • User experience is a little slow
I think [Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)] is well suited for small to medium sized businesses it seems to lack a true enterprise feel and I doubt it’s capabilities if your company is exceeding either 100M in revenue or, more than 450 employees. Other than that[,] it is an affordable crm if a company does not want to invest in an enterprise crm like a salesforce. I would recommend [Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)] to all my medium to small sized network accounts to use.
They are very knowledgeable and tech Savy. I have no issues with the support team
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Sugar is the main program for our company. It's used across the whole oganization. At the momento we've had small issues such as sometimes it would get stuck or at times certain information was not available on the right hand side at the time of putting notes on a case.
  • User Friendly
  • Saves Information Quickly
  • Informs you what you did wrong in order to continue
  • Add More Color to it
Sugar allows us to keep récords of the clients that the company has, such as new inbounds that are coming in hot or clients that you have to follow up with. These last couple of updatees that the system has made have been real helpfull. Especially being able to link a phone system to the system and be able to dial out quicker.
The support overall at least for us has been phenomenal. Anytime that the system has any Issues at all IT gets in contact from someone from support to get the system back up and running. Have never gone more than 30 minutes with the system not working. So overall I will be definetely recommending this system in any other company that I may work for in the future.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This system is used by several departments within the company, and this allows each department to have knowledge and control over the situation of our client. With this, each person who can open the information of our client will know what the problem is and the history of the customer and in this way to be able to offer a correct service and attention.
  • Facilitates access to customer information.
  • Schedule appointments and follow up with clients.
  • Allows a correct and effective contact with customers.
  • System load is sometimes slow.
  • The appointment scheduling system.
  • Data update.
Sugar Sell is an excellent system in our company since it allows us to share information between the different work departments. It helps us when the client calls us, no matter who answers, [they] will be able to provide the correct attention because the client's information will be sent to the Mac and I can also update it. I could improve the system for scheduling appointments, but it works well.
Because it provides us with the necessary support and with the updates that are being made in the system, it allows us to improve our work experience and makes it easier for the entire team. When requesting some type of support it is effective and immediate and with this, it [does not] stagnate our productivity.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use [Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)] to manage all the leads of all the customers. It's basically a data base for the company. All the company uses it. For each customer we attend, there is a lead with the specifics on that case (customer). Some of our mates have already integrated the phone calls directly on the CRM, there is now a widget for Genesys (phone).
  • It sycs well with the phone (Genesys)
  • It brings up all the info including past years
  • There is a button on the phone and by clicking it, it takes us to the lead
  • SMS permissions can be tricky
  • I would love it if the SMS were possible to send without having all detailed info of client
  • Sometimes even when you filled in the requested, it won't let you send a text to a client.
It's actally great to be able to integrate the phone function, but at the same time, it's not a good idea to be able to "refresh" the website if you are on a phone call, there should be an alert or something to stop you from doing it. Or, a pop up alert saying "you are about to leave the page, phonecall will end".
I am not 100% involed in it, but the portion i am, it's very good. We also receive instant response whenever it crashes for some reason.
March 09, 2021

SugarCRM Experience.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Sugar [Sell (SugarCRM)] all over the company, what we like the most it that it's customizable to your business needs.
It's a nice tool that allows to record all the calls and send SMS easy and quick, it lets you have a detailed record of all your clients, user friendly.
  • Record calls
  • User friendly
  • Schedule call backs
  • Slowness
  • You have to keep clearing your cache it order to work properly
  • It allows two users to edit the same case at the same time
It's great to follow up with clients, schedule call backs, send SMS, record calls, billing and many other functions.
Easy to understand and also allows companies to customize in order to succeed all the expectations and needs.

I don't like that you need to keep deleting cache in order to work properly.
Usually when we have a trouble with Sugar [Sell (SugarCRM)], they fix it really easy and quick.
We can keep using while they're working on it. When it gets down usually it takes 15 minutes or so to be back and after being back they keep monitoring it in order to ensure it's working properly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company has multiple product lines, each with their own sales teams. Since each sales team is managed separately, CRM tools have historically been used very differently by each team. We have been through multiple big-name CRM tools. What eventually happens is that product use drops to almost zero because the tool cannot meet the needs of everyone. Sugar Sell has solved that problem for us.
  • The product is highly customizable.
  • It has powerful reporting features.
  • It performs much faster than other CRM products we've used.
  • Integrations with other systems work well.
  • Initial setup / configuration is involved and takes time.
  • There are limitations on logging into multiple devices.
  • The menus across the desktop and mobile versions are inconsistent.
If your organization has needs or requirements that it seems cannot be met by the industry leaders in CRM, I would urge you to talk to Sugar Sell (SugarCRM). They bent over backwards to work with different groups of people within our company to prove to them how committed they were to making the product work for us. It seamlessly integrates with our email and other applications we use frequently. And they helped us configure detailed reporting for our very complex sales territories and organizational structure.

If you are looking for a very basic CRM tool that doesn't require much configuration, Sugar will still work for you, but you certainly have other options.
Edward Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SugarCRM is being used in our team to generate and monitor tasks and also to manage our business needs, such as offering an administration portal for personalized support and sales and marketing automation, creating automated workflows as an administrator, and now the documentation is much easier because each user places the information in a centralized place and registers the contact with the buyers, and we have realized that this keeps our business organized.
  • Intuitive, simple and very robust user interface.
  • Organize your work better with lots of information you can add.
  • Needs some ways to automatically purge or self-clean old data.
  • Sometimes it's slow, and reports can be better and that affects the global search that doesn't always work.
The product has an excellent development model. Excellent integration with SQL. It can be customized to meet business requirements, it is cost effective and architectural integration is flexible, I like being able to create a new opportunity directly from an Outlook email and the fact that it can be implemented on the site, allowing additional flexibility with integration to other systems. On the other hand it is not so easy to use or robust compared to other CRMs that we have used, in addition to the fact that sometimes it is slow and not all modules work in the same way, for example, not being able to mass import the budget module, or lack of scanning in the document module.
December 17, 2019

Sugar Cell Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My consulting company has implemented SugarCRM as a resource in multiple client organizations. It is used by numerous departments including sales, vendor management, and others. It is used as a tool to consolidate and clearly view information on clients and their needs within the company. It addresses the need to have client information (business details, point of contact, location) located in a simple, easy interface.
  • Great user-interface and visualization.
  • Easy set-up for SSO which aligns with IT policy.
  • Less features than other CRM products.
  • Mobile application can be cumbersome.
SugarCRM is well suited for medium-sized businesses with semi-integrated departments to keep everyone on the same page and allow integration with other applications to streamline the process of managing customer relationships. I feel that SugarCRM would be less suited for multinational companies that need stronger visualization and customization, with good support, for their businesses.
Kelly Wasden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are currently using SugarCRM in its most basic form, for sales account management, and have recently started using it more for post sales and customer support. We track lead flow and where they were generated, reports for some mild forecasting, as well as all lifecycles of the sales process. We currently are using it for tracking converted leads, opportunity creation, upsell opportunities, and account management from our Customer Service team.
  • Leads.
  • Account conversion.
  • Price.
  • Reporting could be improved.
  • Simplicity and ease of use.
  • The clunkiness of the UI and the APP.
SugarCRM can make sense in some scenarios where it is somewhat cheap to deploy and get up and running. Don't be fooled by simplicity though, because you might need to hire an outside source to come in and configure it all properly for you which isn't the cheapest thing ever. For smaller sales teams, I think SugarCRM can and really has gotten the job done for us. However, as the team scales and more reports are needed, I find it very hard to recommend as a CRM when there are SO many other better choices out there. Reports are a mess, their mobile app is terrible, and their opportunity conversion is an absolute joke and needs some serious UI/UX re-tooling.
Rick Giddings | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SugarCRM is the staple of our sales floor. This application makes my life easy from a sales management standpoint. SugarCRM allows all users to make notes from each time contact is made to a prospect, log the time and date, and keep it assigned to that specific user. This formula can help avoid having multiple sales reps working on the same account/prospect and ultimately eliminate any confusion. Sales managers can check in on any quotes for their teams to help create a funnel that doesn't get pushed to the side.
This application can also easily be manipulated into the way your company needs it most. We implement new functions to the dashboard frequently with ease. Customer support is always prompt as well.
  • Manages the sales pipeline.
  • Creates a funnel of pending sales.
  • Tracks all contact being made by each user.
  • If SugarCRM created their own click to dial feature, that would be great. For now, we use TenFold to integrate with SugarCRM.
When I have a sales rep who is on vacation, SugarCRM makes it easy for me to locate a contact and pick up with them where the last talks left off so that I can assist in closing the deal.
December 13, 2018

SugarCRM - great product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SugarCRM as a central platform for all teams which allows us to be more efficient internally and externally. We use this CRM to house internal information and build reports on my team's sales funnel in terms of prospects and warm leads to closed accounts. We have various sales teams globally so its helped us scale while streamlining reporting and communication among the teams. It also helps ensure all teams are maintaining their client pipeline with a intelligence behind it which is helpful for management.
  • Very easy to set up and configure reports among teams. Very customizable and allows me to build reports that illustrate how the team is performing.
  • Exporting granular reports into excel for in depth analysis and actionable measures.
  • Ability to mass upload lots of information and leads. Important for our team to import lots of information on prospecting clients.
  • UI is sufficient but seems a bit outdated compared to SFDC.
  • Inability to login to multiple devices computers.
  • The email marketing tool is decent but far from the best, overall other solutions that have better marketing platforms.
When our company got acquired in early 2018 we had various sales teams located globally. Some of the teams did not use a CRM. With SugarCRM we were able to streamline all reporting, communication and accountability among the teams. The CRM has helped us ensure the teams are not targeting the same clients and doing double work. Additionally since teams are in various timezones the activity tracking is extremely helpful to give a snapshot of the latest status with the account and how close we are to the sale. Without this CRM we would be extremely messy and on different pages with each sales team.
Emma McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SugarCRM as our primary tool in tracking applications, determining eligibility, and managing payments for children in publicly funded preschool programs. Although it was primarily designed as a sales tool, we use it less as for sales (given that we are not a sales organization) and more as a relationship management and accounting tool. We have a very small team (10 people total), but we all use Sugar on a daily basis.
  • Extremely flexible. Sugar is open source, and so you're able to build customized modules to fit your needs readily and easily.
  • Robust reporting capabilities. I appreciate how it's quick and easy to pull the data that my clients need.
  • Easy to use. Sugar has a fairly straight user interface, and so is usable even by those who are not particularly tech savvy.
  • More approachable user interface. At its core, it's a complex database, and it's not always intuitive.
It's well suited for tracking and managing customer relationships. We also find that it's well suited for tracking program eligibility. We use it to manage over 6000 applications for publicly-funded preschool programs, as well as the entire communication flow with both families and preschool providers who engage with our program. It does well if you have a few different customer groups that interact with one another - it allows you to track your communication with these groups, as well as their relationships with one another.
Peter Fletcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have worked with Sugar for many clients ranging in size from 2 to over 300 CRM Users.

Sugar is extremely flexible and cost effective compared to its competitors like Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics.

Sugar covers the whole customer life cycle from Lead through Sales and on-going Support and Marketing. It is easy to use and has many features like in-line editing that keep Clicks to a minmum. Most tasks can be one with two or three clicks.

Sugar Mobile gives a very strong mobile app to give users complete flexibility whether at their desk or in the field.

  • Sugar gives full account and contact visibility so any member of the organisation can have a full and accurate view of all related activities, products install, contracts in place and much more. It gives the proverbial One View.
  • Dashboards are one of the strongest parts of Sugar giving each user their own view of the way they can and want to interact with the customer. The dashboards are a key feature in that they are very easy to customize so that each user has a personal view with tasks, data views etc. appropriate to their role. Customizing these dashboards by role is also very easy. No coding is required, it is largely a matter of dragging and dropping fields.
  • Sugar's Forecasting Module makes the forecasting process quick and easy by using the Opportunities already created by the Sales Team. It also provides great individual feedback to the Team regarding YTD & QTD performance against Quota.
  • Sugar Mobile is a very strong mobile app for IOS and Android that is both easy to use and comprehensive. I t can be used both of-line and on-line mode.
  • With Version 8, there's not much Sugar can't do for us. With Plug-ins for most extra requirements that Sugar doesn't deliver at no/very low cost it's easy to build/deliver what we really need.
  • S
Sugar is an excellent product that covers the CRM needs for most organisations, large or small. Its low cost, flexibility and ease of use make it stand out in a very cluttered market. For mobile teams, Sugar Mobile is a free IOS/Android App that is superb.

Ease of customisation and administration mean our clients can control their own destiny if they wish to. This ease of use helps significantly reduce Sugar's TCO sine external consultants are not required to make the system changes that Clients want on a regular basis.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Generally excellent, but not perfect. The support team responds quickly and they have a P1 / P2 / P3 ticket classification system. I personally wish that there was a P4 for product enhancement requests, but Sugar does not handle enhancement requests via this channel.

Also, like all support organizations, they have a tendency to close tickets too quickly. If customers do not respond to messages, they automatically close the ticket even if the issue has not been completely resolved.
Yes
Very simple process to upgrade from V6 to V7 with no major issues and no down time.
December 12, 2017

Sugar CRM Is Pretty Sweet

Zeke Becerra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Sugar across the organization in many ways: to manage marketing automation, customer journey, and our quotes. My use of Sugar is completely sales-related. I use it to manage my customers and prospects in the way a CRM is traditionally used--logging communication and activities with them in the CRM. I also create and manage quotes in Sugar and that makes managing my forecast/pipeline easy to do.
  • Quote Management
  • Activity Logging
  • Marketing Automation
  • I'd like to see the reporting interface become a little more modern. Too much menu-diving required.
SugarCRM is great for keeping track of your interactions with your customers and prospects, both from the standpoint of logging activity manually (calls, emails, etc.) and linking it with a marketing automation tool. I think for someone who is not a Sugar admin, reporting can be time-consuming. As a Territory Manager, I want creating a new report to be easy, fast, and accurate. SugarCRM provides accurate reports, but I haven't found creating them to be easy or fast.
August 17, 2016

Sugar CRM Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The marketing and sales department used it for the tracking of vendor contacts, partnerships, trade show contacts and lead vendors. We also used it to track project management for different sales and marketing initiatives. In the system, emails were tracked against contacts. New opportunities for projects and trade shows were also managed. For all of these different functions, we had simple workflow actions that made notifications for certain business events and triggers. We also used the system for sales and marketing reporting on ROI and forecasting for sales.
  • Open source code which allows your developers to customize it however needed. It also did pretty well integrating with other products.
  • The Sugar CRM community is pretty vast and the user community is very engaged so you can find great resources and answers to questions and problems.
  • Our team really liked the custom reports we were able to create inside the application. They were visually appealing, user friendly and worked very well for our business unit's needs (forecasting, ROI, campaigning etc).
  • Official documentation is not a strong point for this application. I wish there was more reference material to guide people new to the system from an admin and developer side.
  • There are fewer bells and whistles to the application than other CRMs.
  • Since it is open source, you don't have any sort of support plan options like other bigger applications like Salesforce.com or Oracle etc.
Small businesses may find use of the application because it's low cost. Or companies that have a pretty straightforward sales process and won't require a lot of heavy customization. Heavy customization is fine in the framework, however you need a skilled developer to be able to manage it.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Sugar across our sales/marketing/account management teams to organize and track our customers and prospects - particularly our sales/marketing funnel.
  • Sugar's reporting is pretty simple to use once you get trained up on it.
  • The pricing is good for an organization of our size.
  • Ability to customize also good - again, once you get trained up on it.
  • Really, really find it a hassle (at least right now) to sync Sugar with our marketing automation software. We use a 3rd party API as our connector between the two systems but I find glitches in it that concern me and make me wonder if all my information is being accurately transmitted and matched up.
  • Sugar wasn't very intuitive when I first began using it. We recently had a 3rd party come in to redesign the system for us and once it was customized, it was much better.
  • Search function doesn't always seem to work in the top nav bar- frustrating when I'm trying to find something fast and don't want to go into a module to do it.
I think Sugar is the kind of thing that can be used out of the box but shouldn't. We needed help to go back and rethink the design of it for our organization and once we did that, it became a better solution.
Marc Prince | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Sugar is being used by the whole organization. We use it primarily to track all of our interactions with our clients. We can now monitor the entire sales funnel. One of the biggest process failures was in our followup with the client. Know what the conversation and pain points are with each contact has greatly increased our win ratio.
  • Pricing is a major consideration with Sugar. When comparing Sugar with competitors, the cost to value ratio is outstanding.
  • I really like the ability to customize the reporting.
  • I have my dashboard really locked in. I log in, view the dashboard, and drill down into the issue of the day.
  • Sales funnel.... Knowing how much we are promoting, how those promotions are affecting our target, and how we are engaging with those who have responded. Sugar has made this a simple process that we have integrated into every workflow touching the sale.
  • PSA connectors. I have not found a PSA with a great CRM integrated, so I let the PSA do what it does best. Problem is getting the Sugar to more closely integrate with the PSA.
  • Sugar's flexibility is great, but it sometimes seems like I am handing out a lot of nickels and dimes to third party developers for their modules.
  • Desktop and mobile menus could be a bit more homogenous.
We all have Sugar on our computers and mobile devices. Workflows are dedicated to ensuring Sugar is always up to date. Now, when I am in the field, or meeting with a client on their premises, I have all the information on my phone. Many of my closings are done in the moment.
When we run into a problem is not the garden variety the SUgar support team sees day to day, so it takes some extra effort on their part. We rarely require a scripted, cookie cutter, answer.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SugarCRM is used by marketing and sales to track prospects and customers and provide reports.
  • Customized reporting is a strength.
  • Customizable to user needs.
  • Getting to a point of being usable can be difficult.
  • If something is customized and SugarCRM updates, things can go wrong.
  • If something is customized, it had better be dialed in the right way, or things can go wrong.
I believe with proper support a more complex sales force would appreciate SugarCRM. Simpler sales operations or those who do not have backend support might want to look at a simpler product. Social and marketing is underdeveloped at this point. Other products offer more if you are looking to integrate.
With SugarCRM, you really have to do it yourself. Support can give examples of how to do things, but ultimately it's up to you. With such a complex program, be prepared to sink some considerable FTEs into this effort.
April 08, 2016

SugarCRM Review

Aaron Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I reviewed multiple enterprise CRMs to find which would fit our company the best. SugarCRM was one of those. My review consisted of actively testing each CRM for about 2 weeks, attempting detailed customizations, testing the workflow processes and evaluating the overall usability of the system. At the end of my review there were two CRMs that ultimately met our requirements, SugarCRM and Salesforce.
  • SugarCRM's number one strength is the ability to host your instance on-site. This make any customization and changes possible as you have full control over every aspect of the CRM, including the source code.
  • The price of SugarCRM is its second strength. It has essentially all of the features of Salesforce and more but at a dramatically lower price.
  • The integrated Project Management module was another top selling point for my organization.
  • SugarCRM is hard to use at the administration level, plain and simple. Of all of the CRMs I reviewed SugarCMR had the steepest learning curve and was the most difficult to understand.
  • I also needed to make some customizations that weren't "out of the box" I was able to make these customizations easily in Salesforce but had to program everything by hand in Sugar and still wasn't able to implement my customizations fully.
  • At a developer level the Sugar Framework is quite a bit to learn. I thought that it would actually be easier to develop in Sugar since it uses common programming languages however the framework that Sugar is built on is very confusing and bloated with far from adequate documentation.
  • Developing and administering Sugar feels like you need to have some secret insider info that you can only get if you hire one of their "partners" to actually do the development and administration for you. It is not something that can be done easily in house like some of the other CRMs
SugarCRM is a great fit for a company that wants the features of Salesforce but not the price, or if you need to be able to host the CRM yourself for security or customization purposes. Finally I would recommend SugarCRM to a company that plans on having an outside "Sugar Partner" set up the CRM and perform regular maintenance as opposed to handling it in house.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
SugarCRM is being used as the main engine to support Sales, it starts with adding Leads, upon further analysis and contact with the leads, those leads get converted into Opportunities, SugarCRM is very flexible and efficient at handling this process due to the workflow integration where approvals and notifications can be set. Opportunities then can be closely tracked, upon further client management, the goal is to transform, those Opportunities into actual accounts, that is signing contracts and again execute and keep track of all the workflows within SugarCRM, that involves the interaction with several other departmewnts in the company that are connected through SugarCRM to produce documentation, notifications and Approvals to bring in new accounts into our sales system in SugarCRM.
  • Excellent on supporting customized processes
  • Workflows can be easily created and existing workflows can be easily modified
  • Notifications and approval processes are easily created
  • The back-end programming (logical hooks) for advanced customizations could benefit from a more user-friendly interface
  • General layout could be improved by the addition of modern templates to customize the standard look and feel
  • Support communities could be further improved with the addition of videos on how to do specific configuration, modules.
SugarCRM is so flexible than can be adapted to handle multiple Industries and customized processes, for developers, the configuration is very intuitive and for end users the overall experience is positive since end users can customize their own dashboards or request changes to the way workflows and notification are handled throughout the system. Several business processes can be implemented for Sales, HR, Facilities etc.
Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SUCRM as we call it, is used across the whole organization and I have deployed it for a few clients. We have used it primarily as a CRM and for client follow up.
  • Excellent database system. Can be copied to other servers.
  • Custom fields.
  • Ability to link CRM data to deals.
  • Good user interface.
  • Provide portable versions.
  • Probably provide platform independent CRM system.
It is a very stable CRM and that is what it is! However, I will recommend it more for businesses in healthcare, manufacturing, IT, accounting and logistics. In fact any business where there is a need to keep customer records in a pliable way and be ready for retrieval is where SugarCRM plays well.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The entire organization used Sugar CRM as a way to keep in touch with our thousands of clients. We had five companies under the same corporation and used Sugar CRM to discern which contact went to which company, as well as keeping track of their notes, which products they had or had used, and each time an employee reached out to them/vice versa.
  • Everything is available at all times, cloud-based
  • You can add extra functions if needed
  • The ability to search through a funnel based on specific requests/inquiries (Ex: City/state, company, etc)
  • It's slow. VERY SLOW.
  • Crashes constantly; makes it difficult to use. Frequently have to log in. You can't have more than one (or two, if you're lucky) windows open at a time, making searches very, very sloooowwww.
  • Very difficult to use. If you need to update or change functionality on a platform, it's almost like pulling teeth. We had to frequently consult with Sugar CRM's staff members to understand how to do so.
I think the biggest issue that we had is that we had so many customers and prospects spanning over 20 years. It made it very slow to search for anything, and many times if we tried to change something it wouldn't actually save. It's very glitchy. I don't really have a specific scenario for best or worst-case, but it'd likely do better in an industry where you don't have tens of thousands of people to sort through.
Return to navigation