Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Reviews

194 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Edward Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

It makes everything easier, the best CRM software, all better in one place.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The product has an excellent development model. Excellent integration with SQL. It can be customized to meet business requirements, it is cost effective and architectural integration is flexible, I like being able to create a new opportunity directly from an Outlook email and the fact that it can be implemented on the site, allowing additional flexibility with integration to other systems. On the other hand it is not so easy to use or robust compared to other CRMs that we have used, in addition to the fact that sometimes it is slow and not all modules work in the same way, for example, not being able to mass import the budget module, or lack of scanning in the document module.
Read Edward Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

The CRM You've Been Searching For

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If your organization has needs or requirements that it seems cannot be met by the industry leaders in CRM, I would urge you to talk to Sugar Sell (SugarCRM). They bent over backwards to work with different groups of people within our company to prove to them how committed they were to making the product work for us. It seamlessly integrates with our email and other applications we use frequently. And they helped us configure detailed reporting for our very complex sales territories and organizational structure.

If you are looking for a very basic CRM tool that doesn't require much configuration, Sugar will still work for you, but you certainly have other options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Sugar Cell Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM is well suited for medium-sized businesses with semi-integrated departments to keep everyone on the same page and allow integration with other applications to streamline the process of managing customer relationships. I feel that SugarCRM would be less suited for multinational companies that need stronger visualization and customization, with good support, for their businesses.
Read this authenticated review
Kelly Wasden | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

SugarCRM -- The little CRM that... Couldn't.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM can make sense in some scenarios where it is somewhat cheap to deploy and get up and running. Don't be fooled by simplicity though, because you might need to hire an outside source to come in and configure it all properly for you which isn't the cheapest thing ever. For smaller sales teams, I think SugarCRM can and really has gotten the job done for us. However, as the team scales and more reports are needed, I find it very hard to recommend as a CRM when there are SO many other better choices out there. Reports are a mess, their mobile app is terrible, and their opportunity conversion is an absolute joke and needs some serious UI/UX re-tooling.
Read Kelly Wasden's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

SugarCRM - great product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When our company got acquired in early 2018 we had various sales teams located globally. Some of the teams did not use a CRM. With SugarCRM we were able to streamline all reporting, communication and accountability among the teams. The CRM has helped us ensure the teams are not targeting the same clients and doing double work. Additionally since teams are in various timezones the activity tracking is extremely helpful to give a snapshot of the latest status with the account and how close we are to the sale. Without this CRM we would be extremely messy and on different pages with each sales team.
Read this authenticated review
Emma McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

Sugar is a great, customizable solution - just make sure you have a good tech team behind it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's well suited for tracking and managing customer relationships. We also find that it's well suited for tracking program eligibility. We use it to manage over 6000 applications for publicly-funded preschool programs, as well as the entire communication flow with both families and preschool providers who engage with our program. It does well if you have a few different customer groups that interact with one another - it allows you to track your communication with these groups, as well as their relationships with one another.
Read Emma McCarthy's full review
Peter Fletcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2018

SugarCRM - 10 out of 10

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Sugar is an excellent product that covers the CRM needs for most organisations, large or small. Its low cost, flexibility and ease of use make it stand out in a very cluttered market. For mobile teams, Sugar Mobile is a free IOS/Android App that is superb.

Ease of customisation and administration mean our clients can control their own destiny if they wish to. This ease of use helps significantly reduce Sugar's TCO sine external consultants are not required to make the system changes that Clients want on a regular basis.
Read Peter Fletcher's full review
Zeke Becerra | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Sugar CRM Is Pretty Sweet

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM is great for keeping track of your interactions with your customers and prospects, both from the standpoint of logging activity manually (calls, emails, etc.) and linking it with a marketing automation tool. I think for someone who is not a Sugar admin, reporting can be time-consuming. As a Territory Manager, I want creating a new report to be easy, fast, and accurate. SugarCRM provides accurate reports, but I haven't found creating them to be easy or fast.
Read Zeke Becerra's full review
Marc Prince | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2016

Sugar is the sweeter CRM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We all have Sugar on our computers and mobile devices. Workflows are dedicated to ensuring Sugar is always up to date. Now, when I am in the field, or meeting with a client on their premises, I have all the information on my phone. Many of my closings are done in the moment.
Read Marc Prince's full review
Aaron Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2016

SugarCRM Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM is a great fit for a company that wants the features of Salesforce but not the price, or if you need to be able to host the CRM yourself for security or customization purposes. Finally I would recommend SugarCRM to a company that plans on having an outside "Sugar Partner" set up the CRM and perform regular maintenance as opposed to handling it in house.
Read Aaron Fisher's full review
Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE) | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2016

One cool CRM out there.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a very stable CRM and that is what it is! However, I will recommend it more for businesses in healthcare, manufacturing, IT, accounting and logistics. In fact any business where there is a need to keep customer records in a pliable way and be ready for retrieval is where SugarCRM plays well.
Read Chin Uba (MBA, MSc, MCITP, MCSE)'s full review
Marissa Schuchat | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2016

Queen of the Details

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM is functional for back-end/in-house IT services tracking. The software was used to track inventory as well as web services rendered, and a large amount of data. I can see SugarCRM being used in a sales or fundraising capacity as status indicators are really clear as well are the emails that come along with any status changes.
Read Marissa Schuchat's full review
Jeff Bickart | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2015

Partner's view of SugarCRM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Will you be using a partner to help with configuration and customization of the product? Will you be using your own in house staff to provide your services? Will you be integrating with 3rd party systems or your own in house systems?
Read Jeff Bickart's full review
Sid Haas | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2015

Flexible and powerful CRM that does the job for our company

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM is flexible enough to adapt to the way you do business. I would focus on asking questions of all CRM providers about that. Just because the software is designed for the way developers think your sales team should work, doesn't mean it makes sense for how you actually do business.
Read Sid Haas's full review
Zoe Leanza | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2015

Sugar and spice and...not so nice: A review of SugarCRM

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM is appropriate as a customer profiling database for small projects (ie, fewer than 1,000 customers) but with larger projects it gets very tedious and repetitive, presenting a number of frustrating issues with redundancy and a meticulous attention to detail. Thus, I would recommend this to smaller projects; but it is less appropriate for larger tasks with multiple contacts or locations. Another thing to consider is its user-friendliness. If the employees using SugarCRM have minimal experience with marketing or customer profiling, it is a good choice since it is so easy to learn and navigate - a simple and intuitive layout that resembles a social media site.
Read Zoe Leanza's full review
Andrew Dunifer, MBA/MS MIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2014

SugarCRM Professional - Gets the job done when your organization is tight on a CRM solution budget.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SugarCRM does the trick if you are looking for an open Source CRM application and you don't have a ton of cash for the big name CRM platforms. However, it is very difficult to get user buy-in because it is cumbersome to use. I have experience with many other CRM applications such as Oracle, Goldmine, and a few others and I find that SugarCRM has been one of the lesser of the reliable and intuitive.
Read Andrew Dunifer, MBA/MS MIS's full review
Jennifer Stewart | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2013

SugarCRM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When determining if Sugar is the right CRM system for your company I would determine if you would benefit from the customization opportunities or need something more out of the box. If you are planning on extensive customization then make sure you have the internal support of an administrator who can work with developers - third party or internal - to implement those pieces. I also recommend knowing the reports that your people will require to present and talk to Sugar about your needs. If you decide to implement SugarCRM explore the third party plugins and integrate what you can from the beginning.
Read Jennifer Stewart's full review
Stewart Sylvester | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2013

Sugar CRM - The Most Agile CRM Out There

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

What do you want/need from a CRM?
Do you care about open source CRM?
How important are integrations/customizations to you? (sugar is unparalleled in both).
How important is name recognition to your decision makers (ie, will you be fired for not choosing salesforce)?
How much are you willing to spend?
Hosted or on-premise?
Read Stewart Sylvester's full review
Joelle DiBenedetto | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2013

Sugar CRM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The customization a breeze no matter what industry you are in. As long as you have a work flow to start with, Sugar can easily fall in line. Do your research and make sure that the system has what you need for your business.
Read Joelle DiBenedetto's full review
Emmanuel Mwangi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2013

Great CRM system that needs to be customized carefully.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Figure out what you are going to build in SugarCRM before you build it. Going in without a gameplan is a recipe for an expensive and painful experience. Also, use seasoned developers who are familiar with SugarCRM. Going cheap here will bite you in the end. The experience in SugarCRM is key; far more than just someone who knows PHP or CRMs in general.
Read Emmanuel Mwangi's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (25)
7.9
Workflow management (22)
7.8
Territory management (19)
7.5
Opportunity management (20)
8.2
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (21)
7.2
Contract management (20)
6.8
Quote & order management (18)
7.7
Interaction tracking (23)
7.0
Channel / partner relationship management (18)
7.6
Case management (17)
6.4
Call center management (13)
7.7
Help desk management (12)
7.1
Lead management (17)
8.1
Email marketing (17)
6.7
Task management (20)
7.8
Billing and invoicing management (12)
7.0
Reporting (18)
7.5
Forecasting (19)
8.2
Pipeline visualization (20)
7.5
Customizable reports (21)
8.2
Custom fields (23)
8.4
Custom objects (20)
7.6
Scripting environment (14)
7.7
API for custom integration (20)
7.8
Single sign-on capability (16)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (19)
8.9
Social data (13)
8.8
Social engagement (11)
8.7
Marketing automation (14)
7.8
Compensation management (8)
8.8
Mobile access (15)
7.2

About Sugar Sell (SugarCRM)

Sugar Sell from SugarCRM is a collaborative CRM, allowing users to track and monitor activities, map each customer’s journey and automate as many workflows as you need to. Sugar Sell is presented by the vendor as lean, fast and integratable with anything.

Sugar Sell replaces former editions of the SugarCRM product, including the SugarCRM Community Edition, the open source edition, which is discontinued.

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Integrations

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Competitors

Sugar Sell (SugarCRM) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No