SumTotal Talent Development Reviews

29 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

An integrated total learning solution - SumTotal

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SumTotal Learn is used by the entire organization and also to help with SumTotal implementations. SumTotal Learn is the only corporate learning management application that links both skills and competencies. It has gamification features in-built which stimulates the users to learn more by themselves. It addresses learner engagement, social learning and extended enterprise learning (through marketplace) as well. I like all the advanced features in this application and would highly recommend this for all industries especially for Life Sciences. We get great support from SumTotal support team as well as from the community.
  • Enterprise Search - which is a global search where you can search and filter the courses, people, navigation links, reports, etc. This can also be customized based on the organizations' needs
  • Administration - Administration / Configurations available for Administrators and Managers are highly commendable. It has help manual as well to refer in case if we stuck somewhere. It reduces the efforts to reach out to support team or SumTotal technical team. This can be customized, meaning, the permissions and restrictions can be customized based on the security role.
  • Gamification - Awards & Ba and the leader board are the stimuli for the learners. This helps improving self-motivated learning.
  • "Self" Tab for the user profile is very impressive. It has the users' profile, learning widgets, leader board, reports, etc.
  • "My Team" Tab almost manages the entire team's learning activities and the levels, etc
  • "Library" Tab helps accessing the entire catalog with advanced filters
  • Reports and Analytics help the organization to analyse the overall performance.
  • The application can be integrated with other 3rd party applications such as Work Day, Enterprise Document Management System, Collaboration tools, UI Framework such as Drupal, etc.
  • Complies with all standards for Life Science Industry and in compliance with GDPR regulations as well
  • Using Library Tab and Learning link (under Self Tab) are always confusing, sometimes we miss the track
  • License cost is comparatively high
  • Its a SaaS product and could not be customized to the level organization wants
SumTotal Learn is well-suited for Life Science industries (based on my experience) from the compliance perspective and also in dealing with GxP document management. It has GDPR regulations as well hence can be used in EU regions as well.
If the organization is small or medium-sized, then the license and implementation cost would be slightly high. However we get the value for the investment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

SumTotal Core Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently SumTotal is being used by HR, Payroll, Compensation, Tax. It is our only source for payroll and human resource records.
  • Calculates pay and taxes
  • Reporting
  • Mass importing of manual checks to be issued in California
  • Ability to fund pay cards immediately
  • Perform gross-up calculations within the payroll system automatically
I personally, am not a fan of SumTotal. I have worked on several different HRIS and Payroll systems which outweigh all aspects of SumTotal (Lawson Interface Desktop, Ceridian Dayforce, ADP Enterprise, and Ultimate Software's UltiPro). As antiquated as Lawson felt, it had more functionality than SumTotal. Of course, all others I worked on were for the most part cloud based and had modern functionality to go with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

A developing, unrefined LMS

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Where to begin.....It's been a long and slow process to get everything up in running in this software. It has way too many features with 20 clicks to get to anything. We were promised big things with SumTotal Learn but have received something that is more messy and complicated to use than we ever thought. We're slowly making progress with SumTotal and unlocking the features we need but this is very much a developing piece of software that is unfinished.
  • Clean front-end user interface.
  • Custom layouts for front page and individual users.
  • Flexibility on user roles.
  • Navigation (too many clicks to get anything done).
  • Reporting is complicated.
  • Buttons everywhere that don't do anything.
  • Features enabled that don't fully work or function the way they should.
  • Support for the product is lacking.
SumTotal Learn is an LMS that is slowly developing into a finished product. I can't recommend this to anyone until it is a more finalized product. We have a large number of users in our database and the product seems to run fine even with 10,000+ users. If you're looking for an easy administrator user interface, this is also not for you. It has a very steep learning curve for admins.
Read this authenticated review
Kimberly Barricklow | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2014

Providing a solid platform to deliver education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are able to deliver mass education through the LMS as well as track completion and competency of our employees. It enables us to communicate consistently and effectively across our campuses as well with those that are spread throughout the state. Staff can rely on a constant and consistent source to find new communication, education or track their educational experiences.
  • It allows for simulations to address complex scenarios in the healthcare setting.
  • We can quickly review reports to see completion rate of an activity.
  • We have empowered our upper managment to utilize the tracking functionality to have quicker compliance on education modules.
  • Staff would like to see the links of assigned training to allow users to launch into an activity
  • Offer more reports within the programs so users dont have to make their own
I think the links not being active to send the users into the activity causes a lot of frustrations for our users.
Read Kimberly Barricklow's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2016

Dated looking, but works.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SumTotal Maestro across our franchise network for providing access to online courses for our owners, their managers, as well as their employees. Every manager looks for ways to on-board new employees as quickly as possible and online learning helps reduce that time. Online learning also provides easy access from anywhere with internet access, 24/7 to employees wanting to continue developing skills in their respective fields, as well as learning new subjects.
  • Assign complete learning plans to users so they don't have to spend time searching for courses.
  • Export learner's transcripts so managers can easily see their employee's progress.
  • Embed Social Media feeds that are relevant to their business.
  • I don't think we can build courses using Maestro. We rely strictly on third party software for course development.
  • Creating custom reports can be challenging.
  • Since we have to manage our total number of monthly active users, many of our manager's accounts go inactive. Once they're inactive, they stop receiving any notifications from their employee's course completions.
  • The user interface is dated looking. Many of the newer LMSs have more of a Windows 8 look and feel, which is what newer users are wanting.
It works well for just uploading SCORM compliant courses. We don't use it for managing ILT courses as it was complicated when we last tried it. We also do not sell courses, but I don't think that it's capable of doing that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Not Warm and Fuzzy

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company provides LMS Support for a large company using SumTotal. The whole company uses SumTotal as their primary LMS, about 80K users.
  • Easily customizable notifications
  • TMU tool allows for quick mass uploads
  • Configurable front end
  • JasperSoft Reporting - it is difficult to use and manage.
  • Exams could be more robust. Offering alternate types of questions.
  • Too many clicks on the administrator side. Adding new activities is not intuitive, you need to click through each section to determine what needs to be entered where. Would be better if it was guided for new activities, just prompting for 'required' fields.
If a company requires specific functionality, SumTotal appears unwilling to be flexible.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2014

LMS Shopping: Like buying a car, know what your money buys you

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to provide eLearning asynchronous training to our clients. We decide what to develop, and our clients buy subscriptions to our training library. Our training supports their requirements to earn CLPs and certifications in their fields. Our employees also use it for the same purpose.
  • SumTotal has a very user friendly design, making it easy for non-programmers to configure their LMS interface, customize various environments for different groups, and to integrate numerous external web applications through iFraming, such as social media or news feeds. I was able to configure a custom environment for several different clients, making it feel like their own LMS, such as a custom color scheme and logos, custom widgets (which are section of any page), news feeds, training messages, and custom learning plans.
  • SumTotal can not yet support media-rich mobile learning. Our eLearning design use instructional video, text, interactions, pop-ups with course resources and other information, etc... The SumTotal mobile capability right now does not support our design; ie our pop-ups won't pop-up, even those that simply open a PDF or document, and non of the hyperlinks will work.
When choosing an LMS, you need to decide what features are most important. Things like single-sign on, 508 compliance, ability to support mobile learning, price per user, ability to customize for various audiences, and technical support. When I chose our LMS, it was called GeoEngage because of price and all of the tech support was on the East Coast. The LMS was bought by SumTotal a few years ago. We originally wanted SumTotal, but it was too expensive for our small company. Now we get both, and we continue to get great customer support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2014

Sum Total- Does it add up as an LMS?

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sales training, onboarding and curriculum development
  • Curriculum development
  • Prerequisites
  • Calendar view
  • Usability- launching activites
  • Look and feel could be more appealing
  • Audience management/integration could be improved
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (1)
1
Employment history (1)
5
Job profiles and administration (1)
2
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (1)
1
Organizational charting (1)
1
Organization and location management (1)
1
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (1)
2
Pay calculation (1)
8
Support for external payroll vendors (1)
1
Benefit plan administration (1)
1
Direct deposit files (1)
3
Balance details (1)
3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (1)
3
View and generate pay and benefit information (1)
5
Update personal information (1)
2
View job history (1)
2
Report builder (1)
1

About SumTotal Talent Development

To thrive in an ever-changing world, individuals and organizations need adaptability, agility, and resilience. SumTotal aims to help develop these essential skills through powering a journey of learning and people development that is curated, compliant, predictive and generates measurable outcomes.

SumTotal states learning-centered talent development is the heart of HR and HR Technology and that now, more than ever, building a culture of learning is critical to growth and business sustainability. SumTotal provides a unified Talent Development suite delivering measurable impact across the entire employee lifecycle. The solution delivers the following modules:

  • SumTotal Learning Management
  • SumTotal Recruiting
  • SumTotal Onboarding
  • SumTotal Performance
  • SumTotal Succession
  • SumTotal Compensation

SumTotal works in partnership with users to configure a solution that matches customers' unique needs and processes for learning and talent management, with satisfaction and business success as the primary objective.

SumTotal brings a team of dedicated customer success, support and professional services experts to help users achieve their learning and talent development goals; they state they aim to be a true partner to help organizations thrive in a changing business landscape.

SumTotal Talent Development Features

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

SumTotal Talent Development Screenshots

SumTotal Talent Development Competitors

SumTotal Talent Development Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SumTotal Talent Development Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
75%

SumTotal Talent Development Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (UK), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, French (Canada), German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Korean, Norwegian, Russian, Swedish, Thai, Vietnamese, Arabic, Bengali, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Croatian, Czech, Estonian, Finnish, Greek, Hungarian, Indonesian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Persian, Polish, Romanian, Serbian, Slovenian, Slovakian, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu