Symantec Advanced Threat Protection Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 08, 2021
Emma Jones Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Advanced Threat Protection is currently used at the level of various departments of the organization. It is an easy software to use and implement and has a fairly simple maintenance; that is why we use it to keep our network protected against the presence of advanced attacks. One of its most relevant and helpful characteristics for us is that it allows us to easily manage incidents in the internal network. This is thanks to the fact that it provides us with information about them in great detail. It is also key in the protection of our end points.
  • It provides a fully centralized management console that is very easy to use, which is a great help to keep total control .
  • It provides a reliable and effective protection which helps to detect in real time the risk of the network or the endpoints.
  • It allows the detection and response of threats more quickly thanks to its powerful artificial intelligence.
  • Its interface is intuitive so it is very easy to use.
  • It is ideal for remote connections, because it has the protection of endpoints (malicious Wi-Fi networks, VPN).
  • It is not very light software so sometimes the performance of the devices drops.
  • It does not work quickly in the presence of many endpoints.
  • If you have a large work station, its value can be somewhat high.
  • Its virus scan is not suitable for old systems.
It is valuable software for when it comes to a large or medium organization, since it helps to protect the endpoints, but as the number of servers increases its value increases. However, it is important to keep in mind that when it comes to low end devices, its protection can affect their performance. This is because it is not a software with a very light agent.
Read Emma Jones Smith's full review
April 29, 2021
Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We us SEP throughout our company on servers, workstations and laptops. We use for Firewall, USB control, Spyware and AV protection.
  • USB Control. Only allow certain usb devices to be connected and allow on certain users to have the ability to us usb keys.
  • Easy of Administration, configuration and installation.
  • Support is excellent. When I've called in for help they go above and beyond to help you resolve you issue or answer your questions on a certain configuration.
  • Better zero day detection but that's for any AntiVirus company
  • Better tools to help you migrate large number of endpoints to new servers. Removing the reboot after a new install especially servers agents.
  • Fast Web administration. Very slow if you have a big install with allot of endpoints. It seems to slow down the more agents you have attached to the server.
Any company size to medium size. Once you get over 1000 endpoints you required additions servers which increases the cost overall. Doesn't see to scale well. If detailed logging is required look for another product. The logging on the server is very basic.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
April 30, 2021
Dylan Eikelenboom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Advanced Threat Protection is easy to use and implement, even in a moderately size digital environment such as in our company. We use it throughout our internal network to secure our network and ensure compliance with various security standards. It gives us a great overview of the total network infrastructure of our company and the associated threats/issues.
  • It has a good overview and it is easy to dig down into specific assets
  • The set-up was quite easy
  • The admin GUI is very clear
  • It can be hard to set up automated remediations to repeated threats
  • Depending on the device, it will incur some performance penalties
  • Updates are not automatic
Symantec Advanced Threat Protection is especially well suited for very large network infrastructures, especially in critical sectors where downtime/vulnerabilities much be avoided at all costs. It is mostly suited for Windows devices, but other OS'es are supported to a certain degree. For smaller scale operations, the initial costs and the advanced nature of the application makes it too big to use.
Read Dylan Eikelenboom's full review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Advanced Threat Protection is currently being used in various organizations and departments. In most cases, it is being used as an endpoint threat detection and protection tool to prevent unwanted and unauthorized access from external networks into the network and onto end points such as personal devices.
  • Uses Symantec's vast experience in threat protection
  • Symantec's global presence and information sharing
  • Large customer base results in knowledge of potential threats at infancy stage
  • As in most software, it can always be easier to use for non-technical clients
  • When it comes to security, detection speed is key and can never be fast enough
  • For some end users, the application itself can be slow to respond
Symantec is my favorite and most recommended threat protection solution and has been recommended to others countless times.
Symantec offers a wide variety of solutions that are suited for personal at home use, enterprise use and global organizations with large networks and worldwide presence.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It;s being used by one country division. Day to day connectivity and devices that we connect to our windows machine.
Also filters spam/phishing mails which could have broader impact. It's in "always on" mode and very rarely it needs manual intervention.
Till now with my personal experience I have seen 10+ occurrences where Symantec has proven worth.
  • Almost no manual intervention.
  • "Always on" mode detects threats from every device connected.
  • Covers multiple interfaces, mail, web browsing, downloads, new memory device.
  • Could be more informative about threats observed.
  • Could warn about probable method which could lead to threats.
  • If during bring-up some tips could be shared.. as 1 line read better.
It's covering most of the security threats for day to day office work. Can trust and use doubtful devices on office laptops as it's not allowing any permission without scan. Although it's less interactive, it could improve on that and maybe providing security tips during boot up or when connecting any device to laptop.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Advanced Threat Protection is used as our anti-virus program. It is on machines across the organization, but mostly utilized by the information security and systems teams at our company. It helps us keep our systems and computers safe and the maintenance in Symantec has been fairly simple. It addresses the issue of having potential threats on the network going unseen.
  • Easy to learn the tool.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Better user interface would be a nice improvement.
  • Automatic upgrades.
It is well suited in most corporate environments that want an easy to maintain anti-virus program. The only major drawback we experienced was not having the ability to easily interact with the UI. Some other AV programs have more straightforward graphics and management panels. However, overall it did a great job at protecting the company.
Support responds fast for higher priority issues, they have always been good at solving the problems we encounter.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2019
Wallis Riaño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have managed to address issues such as having a constant security in my computer and system during its time of use and I can also differentiate and eliminate threats as it has done in my system since its installation. My organizer is faster since Symantec cleans and keeps my system one hundred percent protected, detects any threats and automatically discards them without any problem. I can be calmer because I have the effectiveness of its protection, my software is always clean and without any risk of being damaged. The greatest benefit obtained has been the maximum protection of all our equipment from hackers or viruses.
  • What I love about Symantec is its advanced security.
  • It makes my system and devices active and without any threats.
  • It allows me to have conversations with any other users who use this same protection system to help each other and learn about the handling.
  • With its functionality I can eliminate any image that I have had for a long time, just by applying the touch and release option that ends with any risk that I get from any hidden image in the system.
  • Its speed at the beginning of the session is correct because it acts directly with the system operators.
  • It is reliable since I activate the product through messages and my computer IP, and it is effective and functional, it is of excellent execution and protection once it is already installed on the computer.
  • What I dislike about Symantec is the form of scanning that does not cover a certain amount when registering vulnerabilities and attackers.
  • Feasibly protect the computer system by giving the user peace of mind for its extensive security and durability.
Its protection of our equipment is effective and it can be executed without any problems for the users of my company. It can be used by anyone who wants to obtain it, excellent security software. I recommend it 100%, it's very reliable.
Read Wallis Riaño's full review
June 29, 2019
Andrew Bouwhuis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented Symantec's AV as a means to protect against virus and malware security issues. It's deployed at a number of our customer sites and, for the price, really has a great history of doing a good job.
  • It seems to be very good at protecting us from threats. We don't have users who are doing stupid things or anything, but we have never had a severe compromise.
  • The management is pretty easy (we are using the on-prem version), it's full of the ability to see what's going on and customize things.
  • The client runs without much issue, and without users' knowledge or involvement.
  • I don't like that I have to maintain the client and keep it up to date. Updating the client is not a very easy process.
  • Deploying the client could be easier. They have a deployment tool, but it doesn't really get to all PCs, which means I still have to manually deploy it.
  • Because the product has so much customization, it can also be very difficult to set up and understand.
I think it would be best suited for an enterprise level environment where you have dedicated onsite IT staff able to check it, manage it, and update it daily.
Read Andrew Bouwhuis's full review
May 02, 2019
Luciano Rios | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Advanced Protection Threat Protection is a program used across the whole Alcoa Company for all departments and areas, including HR and the Finance department. With this program, it is possible to solve most problems like malware and virus. The software can protect and control the machines from all employees.
  • Fast process.
  • Easy to protect the machines.
  • The program can protect from malware of the system and services too.
  • Improve the protection of the system in all areas.
  • The employees are now safer and relaxed about security.
  • The company now has more protection in the data and information.
With Symantec Advanced Threat Protection you can protect machines, the system in the cloud, communications, videos, and important information (secret information) from people that have the intention to of stealing it. One thing that I do not like is the price. It is a wonderful program with a lot of benefits, but it is very expensive when we compared it with other companies in the market.
Read Luciano Rios's full review
April 19, 2018
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My IT department used it as the primary threat control for all machines in the organization. It was meant to address a simple means of identifying viruses/malware/etc. and we would be notified of quarantines or current issues in order to inspect on our own.
  • It was easy to install on machines in an active directory environment, and maintain/update whenever we needed without having to physically go to clients.
  • The interface was pretty well locked down for clients, which was good in order to stop accidental meddling.
  • Symantec has good online resources for current threats, including messages or warning signs and what to do/where to find them on a machine in case SATP cannot deal with it on its own.
  • Doing manual scans are incredibly slow, and the UI didn't help. It's difficult to find important settings.
  • It often didn't find threats that I knew existed on a machine, and I had to use other products in order to solve the problem. It seems like it finds only the obvious threats. After a couple years, I stopped trusting it as the one-stop-shop for threat detection, and it eventually became a nuisance when given the option to favor other detection programs.
  • It didn't do well against ransomware, and in all known cases in 2015 through 2016 it failed to detect anything until it was too late.
If you need something simple to quickly deploy, it's fine. But if you have other options, go with more useful threat detection products. I wasn't impressed by what it does.
Read David Crawford's full review
March 09, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We found Symantec Advanced Threat Protection to be a robust reliable solution to end point security. Good central management features, easy to deploy and manage. It allows us to rely on this product for an increasing threat landscape. We have used this on some 3000 client devices and 500 physical and virtual servers.
  • Reliable detection and blocking of threats.
  • Easy deployment and updates.
  • Good central management console and features.
  • Fairly transparent to end users
  • Supplier support - Really dire. Technical support off shore was passable, but account management was non existent. Really reflects on Symantec poorly given our spend per annum with them.
  • Cost per annum. At the upper end of protection systems. With little or no account support this was poor value.
  • Proactive communications with customer
Very well suited to enterprise deployment. Very well suited to Wintel environment. Poorer version available for Linux or Mac.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Advanced Threat Protection (SATP) is used to assist and detect malware and ATP across our organization as a whole. It is managed by our IT department. The business problem that it addresses is protecting the confidentiality, availability, and integrity of our IT assets and personnel.
  • Detecting and Tracing Advanced Threats
  • Actionable Intelligence
  • Network traffic analysis.
  • Context intelligence
  • Sandboxing and detonation
  • Static based detection
Detecting and Tracing Advanced Threats utilizing Advanced Threat Protection: Endpoint and Email products when combining the sandboxing and detonation.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Threat protection in the whole organization. In healthcare this is especially important as we're liable for the loss of patient records and HIPAA laws.
  • Ensures there is no adverse activity on the network, outside invasions, loss of data, spoofing of accounts.
  • Blocks denial of services attacks
  • Integrating to other tools in your portfolio
This is a great enterprise-level solution. It is a tool well suited for a NOC or SOC department to oversee. You will get a huge or on this investment by simply avoiding hacking and loss of data, in any environment, but especially if you're in healthcare or financial services, where there's more regulation around data.
Read this authenticated review

What is Symantec Advanced Threat Protection?

Symantec Advanced Threat Protection is a single unified solution that uncovers, prioritizes, and remediates advanced attacks. The product fuses intelligence from endpoint, network, and email control points, as well as Symantec’s massive global sensor network, to stop threats that evade individual security products. It leverages existing Symantec Endpoint Protection and Symantec Email Security.cloud investments, so it does not require the deployment of any new agents. It includes functionality from the former Blue Coat Advanced Threat Protection.
Categories:  Network Security

Symantec Advanced Threat Protection Features

Has featureSynapse Correlation Technology
Has featureSymantec Cynic
Has featureGlobal Intelligence
Has featureCorrelation
Has featureCloud Sandbox
Has featureInvestigation
Has featureRemediation

Symantec Advanced Threat Protection Downloadables

Symantec Advanced Threat Protection Competitors

Fidelis Elevate, FireEye Advanced Threat Protection, Cisco Advanced Threat Protection, Palo Alto Networks Threat Prevention

Symantec Advanced Threat Protection Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Symantec Advanced Threat Protection Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Asia

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Symantec Advanced Threat Protection's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses Symantec Advanced Threat Protection?

The most common users of Symantec Advanced Threat Protection are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.