Tableau Desktop Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1564 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 122)

Pusshpendar Kumaarr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Tableau Desktop Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Because of the product's capability, user interaction, and available free online training, Tableau Desktop has become leader in the data visualization segment. The reason we selected Tableau Desktop is our large data sets and need for a tool that is flexible enough to suit this need as well as provide data security. Tableau Desktop's features make it stand out from the rest of its competitors.
Read Pusshpendar Kumaarr's full review
Ron Rothstain | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Tableau Desktop - The nuts and bolts of it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau Desktop is highly superior to the other comparable products I have used. Tableau is the best BI tool available in the market and it has a wide variety of use. It is easy to use and has many good visualizations. it has a large variety of data connections and can connect to almost every database.
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
John Rome | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Tableau Desktop still is my go-to product in a crowded BI tool market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau supports more data sources that both Amazon QuickSight and Microsoft Power BI. It also created a much more sophisticated dashboard which is important for leadership and others who use it. However, we use other products like Toad Data Point and Alteryx and tools that help augment the use of Tableau Desktop. For more power users, other tools are often preferred over Tableau.
Read John Rome's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Great for Data-Viz-Wizzes, Painful for Others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Domo in the past and while their sales/account management is a mess, the actual product is powerful, intuitive and above all else, easy. I much prefer Domo to Tableau because it's easier for me, as a viz-novice, to pick up and start. I was able to create wonderful visualizations that answer questions without me having to input a storyboard or explain it: the drill-down features of Domo stand unchallenged.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Good for a lone wolf

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Tableau Online, Tableau Public and Dapresy Pro
The online and public versions are only good for the hobbyist because they are not secure enough for most business applications. Dapresy is a marketing tool that is supposed to give executives a snapshot of marketing results. It's not very customizable and the results are often illegible. They don't follow Gestalt design principles like they should.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

The best tool for visualization and storytelling

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have had the good fortune to use a lot of BI tools such as QlikView and Power BI but Tableau according to me provides the bang for the buck. Having said that, the other tools are continually improving and the market would be crowded with a lot of tools providing matching functionalities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

The Dominant Tool, But Will It Stay That Way?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft PowerBI could potentially be a better fit for organizations on Office365, it's a close call though. Google Data Studio has potential but is still far behind Tableau on the "user-friendly" factor. Tableau still seems to dominate for the "recommended" analytics tool, but that could easily change in the next 12 months with now being a part of SalesForce. It's a chance for both Google and Microsoft.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Tableau Desktop - iReviewed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In most cases, when we only want to look at the dashboard on a regular basis for monitoring KPIs, Tableau has always been the best option. It is easy to build charts, dashboards & even presentations with the Story Telling option. Although, I use Excel with javascript if I wanted any alerting system to be included. I would even go for Excel with Power BI if I wanted easy access to the data behind the charts.
Read this authenticated review
Clinton Shields | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Visualization made simple, and complex!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we first looked at getting a visualization software for analytics we looked into two options Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Desktop, and even though Power BI is more cost-effective we decided to go with Tableau Desktop as it had more options that we are looking for such as free reader and Tableau Server and offers a very comprehensive and simple interface that is easier to learn for new staff.
Read Clinton Shields's full review
Rahul Malik | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Tableau is the market leader when it comes to Interactive Data Analysis and Visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau Desktop is the market leader when it comes to creating interactive and appealing graphs and charts. The beauty of the tool is that is can work with almost any kind of back-end source and in real-time take the data and present you with an amazing insight based on the data. The drag and drop functionality is very handy compared to other software which isn't that easy to get going.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

No tool is better than this for data visualization. A must have.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is very easy to use, we can create numbers of charts through it which I think other tools lack in. Lots of online communities are there which have provided solutions to the basic issues. Its ODS(output delivery system) is also very effective. We can use SQL in it for processing the data.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jason Xiao | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2019

Tableau Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Excel has better-embedded coding functions, such as VBA developing environment, but cannot publish reports to an online portal and has limited visualization function. QlikView has fewer online resources and a small community to help you solve problems.
Read Jason Xiao's full review
Tim Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Easy to use and share reports

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are replacing a lot of homegrown, Excel and email-based reports that run off scheduled jobs. This is much better because you can pull data reports whenever you want and you don't have to wait for scheduled reports to kick off. Also, easier to share with co-workers when released.
Read Tim Ryan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2019

Tableau is a good tool for those willing to invest the time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've worked with Tableau and Power BI and would say that Power BI has come a long way in the past 2 years and is an equal matchup. Power BI pulls ahead with its integration with Office 365 and MS Power Apps.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

A Great BI Tool for those that love customization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau Desktop is far more capable than Data Studio but it should be since you're paying for that service. Datorama seems to be a closer rival with similar abilities and excellent customer service with a dedicated client success manager.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2019

Best solution for BI (features + price)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau Desktop has many more features than other competitors. Comparing Birst, the layout is much more efficient. Power BI and QlikView are as easy as Tableau Desktop. The price for Tableau is a disadvantage when compared to Birst and QlikView, but not against Power BI. Support from Tableau is superb, as opposed to others.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Great visual tool for sharing data with others

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau is a lot easier to visualize data and the dashboards are more robust. We didn’t use WebFOCUS to its greatest extent but getting up to speed on Tableau was easy. Training is also better in Tableau and the user community is very knowledgeable. We selected it as our organization was using it, so moving to it was easy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2019

Very robust BI tool, but a steep learning curve. Be sure to dedicate enough time to learn it well!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I'm a user that has many responsibilities, and one of them is setting up visuals for business insights. Because I'm not a daily user of Tableau, I find myself constantly having to re-learn certain functions because there are so many options it's very hard to find what I'm looking for. I have had a much better experience, as a non-analyst user, with another tool (Domo). I can see Tableau Desktop is a powerful tool, but I find the user experience very frustrating.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (101)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (121)
9.2
Report Formatting Templates (104)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (116)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (118)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (84)
7.8
Report sharing and collaboration (114)
8.2
Publish to Web (105)
8.7
Publish to PDF (107)
8.9
Report Versioning (76)
8.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (79)
8.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (34)
8.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (110)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (108)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (84)
8.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (97)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (79)
8.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (87)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (37)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (86)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (61)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (54)
7.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (78)
8.4
REST API (28)
8.1
Javascript API (27)
8.1
iFrames (25)
7.4
Java API (24)
7.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (26)
8.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (22)
7.7

About Tableau Desktop

Tableau Desktop aims to allow people to make data-driven decisions with confidence, by helping them answer questions more quickly, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently.

The vendor says that with a couple of clicks, Tableau Desktop connects directly to hundreds of data sources, both on-premises or in the cloud, with the goal of making it easier to start analysis. Interactive dashboards, drag and drop functionality, and natural language queries help users of all skill levels quickly discover actionable insights, all from an intuitive and visual interface. Users can ask deeper questions by quickly building powerful calculations, adding trend lines and seeing statistical summaries, or clustering data to see relationships.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that is strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.


Tableau Desktop Competitors

IBM Cognos, SAP Lumira Discovery, Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI, MicroStrategy Analytics, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Free trials are available for both editions.

Tableau Desktop Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No