Tableau Desktop Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1564 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 130)

Carlos Ochoa | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Expensive, but good

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The whole organization is using Tableau as a front end. We are trying to have updated insights to accelerate decisions. It is no longer enough nor it is feasible in the long term to have people working constantly on excel graphics and PowerPoint presentations. Tableau is a good way to have reliable insights and set the work efforts where they should be.
Read Carlos Ochoa's full review
Pusshpendar Kumaarr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Tableau Desktop Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Desktop is being used across the organization for data analytics and visualization. In my area, we use Tableau Desktop to track program and project progress, resource utilization, demand and supply, estimation, and forecasting. I've been using Tableau Desktop for four years, and it helps me a lot in improving the efficiency of the team and productivity and to keep an eye on resource demand. What I like about Tableau Desktop are its frequent updates based on user feedback and great community support for query resolution and learning. You can connect almost every data source with it, be it .csv, flat file, SQL, cloud platform, or another source. Tableau Desktop provides great flexibility of joins and blending of data and easy-to-create visualization.
Read Pusshpendar Kumaarr's full review
Ron Rothstain | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Tableau Desktop - The nuts and bolts of it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are transitioning all of the data from my department into Tableau so that it can be stored all in one place and visualized. I work for a university IT department that runs a helpline. Our organization collects data on the individuals that call for help. I am able to use Tableau to analyze the caller demographic data. In doing this I am able to get data-driven answers to questions like "what areas are most in need?", "are there certain populations that seem to be disproportionately impacted by our IT rollouts?", and "are there any trends in this caller data that would suggest we focus our resources on specific issues?".
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
Simol Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Data management and visual precedence!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Substantiated training is required to use Tableau Desktop, so most of the incoming associates working with our company have already a well-versed background or at least some certification recognized by the Tableau Desktop enterprise. Tableau Desktop is second only to Windows and consists of enormity in the amount of data connections and visualizations. We use this platform to pose as a processing engine to work with mega data bits to produce displays using queries of non-coded language.
Read Simol Shah's full review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Turn Tables Into Vistas of Visualization with Tableau Desktop

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Seventy-five percent of our department uses Tableau Desktop, for a range of use cases, including the joining of related data sets for specialized reporting purposes, and also for the analysis of assessments data. Tableau allows us to easily merge and process large datasets without needing to be SQL experts, and to produce compelling and fluent data visualizations.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
John Rome | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Tableau Desktop still is my go-to product in a crowded BI tool market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Desktop is one of the primary business Intelligence tools we use at my organization. We have an enterprise license of Tableau server (8 core) that runs in the AWS Cloud. We have over 100 licenses of Tableau desktop and use it to help visualize and make data easier to consume. While it is used for some ad-hoc analysis, I would say it is used to deliver dashboards to employees, faculty, administrators who don't have a lot of reporting or SQL experience. Meanwhile, we also use tableau public to showcase our official data. These dashboards are built with Tableau Desktop as well.
Read John Rome's full review
GH Powell | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Still the Industry Standard for BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a boutique consulting firm with the ability to choose what BI platform we consult with. Tableau remains the industry standard BI/Data Visualization Tool for business. It remains as our tool of choice for our customers and our internal reporting.

We have used it to solve all kinds of problems across the data value chain, from data exploration, automation of reports and providing insights.
Read GH Powell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Great for Data-Viz-Wizzes, Painful for Others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Desktop is used at our organization by most of our analysts, who then publish the reports to Tableau Server for distribution to everyone else in the organization to consume the information. This enables our analysts, myself included, to use Tableau Desktop to create helpful insights which can then be used by anyone at any technical level.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Good for a lone wolf

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Tableau to analyze billing and pushed through several million dollars that were stuck because it wasn't visible to management until I created the Viz. We also analyzed quality and security.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Tableau Desktop in education

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Tableau Desktop to organize data from student feedback surveys. We have recently implemented a lot of student feedback and need a centralized system to analyze it. Tableau Desktop helps a lot, and I have led the charge in getting it up and running and teaching other teachers to use it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

The best tool for visualization and storytelling

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work for a Data Sciences organization which provides consulting and corporate training in data science and visualization, and since Tableau is my bread and butter for visualization, either to understand my data or train people on the nuances of data. It is generally used across the organization although some people prefer using R and Python libraries in pockets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Tableau is a sophisticated BI platform that's constantly improving

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to create analytics for distribution and use throughout the supply chain organization.
We have creators that publish to the server which other users leverage. That solves the business problem of sharing spreadsheets and everyone having a consistent view of the information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

The Dominant Tool, But Will It Stay That Way?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau was purchased on the recommendation of a SaaS provider to get analytic data from their product. The IT Dept currently is the only user of Tableau and processes all the data. Over two years our organization has used Tableau to go from zero analytic data to a significant amount for our size. Its use has grown far beyond the initial single SaaS tool we bought it to use with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Tableau Desktop - iReviewed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Desktop mainly for creating dashboards that are live and easy to refresh when required. It helps in monitoring KPIs of our business that may go up or down on a daily bases. We also use Tableau Desktop for ad hoc analysis where we want to look at any trends & patterns that may be helpful to provide insights for the broader audience.
Read this authenticated review
Clinton Shields | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Visualization made simple, and complex!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently my organization is using Tableau Desktop to perform most if not all of our in-house analytics, it not only speeds up the process of our in house analytics but it also gives us plenty of options to customize and filter our reports. We also use Tableau as a consulting tool with our clients to help answer questions they have about their own business key performance indicators.
Read Clinton Shields's full review
Rahul Malik | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Tableau is the market leader when it comes to Interactive Data Analysis and Visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau has increased our business and productivity exponentially. Tableau helps to make data-driven decisions with confidence, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently. It is the backbone of our analytics department and it is used by us throughout the analytical life-cycle from data preparation to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward. Because of it, we are able to call out patterns and anomalies and it has helped us enormously in fraud detection as we will be recognizing the trends in the data which we use to feed the tool.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

No tool is better than this for data visualization. A must have.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our company, we use this department-wide. The teams that work on data visualization use this product. The work on this tool is client specific, some teams use this to understand the data, some teams use it for making the good charts for presenting the data. The teams that are mainly using this tool are more into analytics.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jason Xiao | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2019

Tableau Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It was used by our department. And we mainly use it to build web-based reports, which can be used interactively by the senior management team.
Read Jason Xiao's full review
Maddie Cheasick | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Visualization is the Future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Desktop is being used to actively track sales achievement to the number of leads created per week to optimization reporting and everything in between! While the sales team here at Sojern are the main users, it can serve a purpose and be a resource for almost every department within the company.
Read Maddie Cheasick's full review
Tim Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Easy to use and share reports

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used for reporting purposes for many business units to see how products are performing. Also used to make analytical decisions by the product team to see how to position products in the future. Production support issues can also be triggered off these reports if something is not working the way it should.
Read Tim Ryan's full review
Aditya Gollakota | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

Tableau is a great data tool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Desktop is being used by our team for social media and raw data visualization. It addresses the problem of being able to visualize raw data from social channels to which we don't have the API access to integrate with our existing social media tools. It addresses the problems of being able to house and visualize data from all platforms in one place.
Read Aditya Gollakota's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2019

Tableau is a good tool for those willing to invest the time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

While working for a large defense contractor, Tableau was adopted and implemented on a large scale and enterprise-wide. We used to Tableau to roll up and display data in charts that were used for decision making. We started using Tableau desktop to build models on top of datasets where inputs could be added to see what happens when certain variables are changed.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (101)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (121)
9.2
Report Formatting Templates (104)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (116)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (118)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (84)
7.8
Report sharing and collaboration (114)
8.2
Publish to Web (105)
8.7
Publish to PDF (107)
8.9
Report Versioning (76)
8.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (79)
8.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (34)
8.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (110)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (108)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (84)
8.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (97)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (79)
8.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (87)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (37)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (86)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (61)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (54)
7.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (78)
8.4
REST API (28)
8.1
Javascript API (27)
8.1
iFrames (25)
7.4
Java API (24)
7.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (26)
8.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (22)
7.7

About Tableau Desktop

Tableau Desktop aims to allow people to make data-driven decisions with confidence, by helping them answer questions more quickly, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently.

The vendor says that with a couple of clicks, Tableau Desktop connects directly to hundreds of data sources, both on-premises or in the cloud, with the goal of making it easier to start analysis. Interactive dashboards, drag and drop functionality, and natural language queries help users of all skill levels quickly discover actionable insights, all from an intuitive and visual interface. Users can ask deeper questions by quickly building powerful calculations, adding trend lines and seeing statistical summaries, or clustering data to see relationships.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that is strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.


Tableau Desktop Competitors

IBM Cognos, SAP Lumira Discovery, Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI, MicroStrategy Analytics, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Free trials are available for both editions.

Tableau Desktop Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No