Tableau Server Reviews

708 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Tableau - Good Viz, Poor Admin

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Today, if my shop is largely Microsoft-centric, I would be hard pressed to choose a product other than Power BI. Tableau was the visualization leader for years, but Microsoft has caught up with them in many areas, and surpassed them in some. Its ability to source, transform, and model data is superior to Tableau. Tableau still has the lead in some visualizations, but Power BI's rise is evidenced by its ever-increasing position in the leadership section of the Gartner Magic Quadrant.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Failed to meet expectations

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Tableau Server over other options because of the published feature set and capabilities. It appeared to be far more advanced than its competition. However, it failed to meet expectations. Moving forward we are going to give a more serious look at Google Data Studio since we are standardized on G Suite across our institution.
Read this authenticated review
Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

My Tableau Server "Spiell"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There were a lot of reasons why we chose Tableau and the least is the cost but also the way Tableau stores data in the columnar fashion instead of in Cubes. We went through a painstaking selection process and at the end, came down to a couple of vendors and we ended up with the product that was least to pair up with Amazon Web Services to create a decent and cost-effective proof of concept and we landed with the solution we have today.
Read Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP's full review
Ilham AB | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

A very cool tool for Data Visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to our previous version of software and tool that had been used since the beginning of the company, Tableau is reliable, fast and accurate. Some important features for advanced analytics and data visualization are not available with the previous system. Therefore it was the right decision to replace them with Tableau. Most of the business users are happy because they are more productive now.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Heidi Hiemstra | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2017

Tableau Server will Serve you Well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I did not choose Tableau for my organization, but did choose my organization in part because they use Tableau! Fantastic flexibility combined with relative ease of visualization.
Read Heidi Hiemstra's full review
Chris Metropulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2017

Tableau - A Program Ahead of its Peers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We still use Microsoft Excel for much of the lighter, day-to-day pivot tables or calculations. We see Tableau as the future however and are slowly tying more and more of our standard work with Tableau. Smartsheet isn't a 1:1 example, but it was considered for importing information but we found imports were fragmented and the program wasn't meant to be used as we intended.
Read Chris Metropulos's full review
Elvin Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2016

Our experience by using Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Because our big data project team wants to show highly customized visualization for their complex data and analyzed results, only Tableau Desktop can support this target. After we developed many, many dashboards and other views, we wanted to share it with different users. We tried to deploy these design to Tableau Server and got good results. So, we chose it for our presentation layer server.
Read Elvin Cheng's full review
Jonathan Drummey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2016

Getting the most out of small data in healthcare

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QlikView, Tibco Spotfire, SAS, and SAP. At the time, all cost more than Tableau for our (small) needs, SAS and SAP were in some ways overqualified in terms of breadth, and none of them had the ease of use of Tableau.
Read Jonathan Drummey's full review
Andrew Porter | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server - Enterprise Data Visualization Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau Server has many competitors, two primary ones would be SAP Business Objects and Microsoft PowerView through Tabular Analysis Services. I have worked with all three products. First and foremost, in terms of data visualization Tableau is the best by far. However there are a few questions to ask:

Are your end users die-hard Excel junkies? In that case I'd go with Microsoft PowerView / Tabular Analysis Services
Is your data housed in an enterprise-grade SAP-BW? Then I would stick with Business Objects.

Tableau is its own standalone ecosystem that comes with a learning curve. Once someone in your company learns how to develop Tableau reports, they will become indispensable. With the right minds tasked with owning Tableau Server, you can quickly churn out visually stunning and insightful reports primarily due to features such as calculated fields and mappings. However, with this velocity Tableau Server is also wickedly powerful. It threatens to flatten and dismantle your data warehouse world by unleashing business logic into your reporting suite; this of course a facet of your ETL layer previously locked deep within the bowels your data warehouse.

Read Andrew Porter's full review
Craig Rosenblum | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2016

Tableau - A Report in multiple dimensions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

JReports is good, but more for creating dashboards. We decided to go with Tableau over creating a web solution because of the cost of entry and time to get it up and running. The support at Tableau is very good, but at some point, you don't need it anymore because of its intuitive structure.
Read Craig Rosenblum's full review
Pooja Takavale | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2016

Visualise BIG data - Be Realistic Be A Tableauite!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sisense was another tool I came across, but I chose Tableau over Sisense as an end-to-end tool for data visualisation and BI. Tableau is the complete data visualisation tool, which is what I was looking for. So, I chose Tableau. Plus, it's easy to use and there are no complex situations while using it. I could not use Sisense that easily.
Read Pooja Takavale's full review
Sudhakar Kamanboina | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2016

Tableau - Solution for the BIG data Analytics !!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau is better than Splunk in analyzing the unstructured data and displaying all relevant information to the user. I have used Splunk but it does not provide the information of every component of a system, it just drills down to log analytics. Tableau is beyond Splunk, as it manages any kind of data.
Read Sudhakar Kamanboina's full review
Sridhar Akkineni | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2016

Tableau - The Big Boss of Visualization tools.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QlikView can't connect to live data (in general)
Licensing Costs of QlikView and Cognos are expensive.
Cognos doesn't have excellent Graphics embedded within the tool
Tableau is a user friendly tool
Tableau has a single platform for development.
Tableau can connect to various database types with ease and less effort.
Embedding maps in Tableau workbooks is an easy process
Read Sridhar Akkineni's full review
George McCarrolle | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

To Server or Not to Server, that is the question!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've personally have used a vast majority of the Business Intelligence products on the marketplace. I've used all of the Oracle products over the past few years. I've used all of the products in the Microsoft stack, along with Cognos, Qlikview, etc. Each are effective if your use case is very specific in nature. Tableau exceeds these products in my opinion based on the the ease of use and the robustness of the results.
Read George McCarrolle's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

Tableau server is a good choice for a healthcare system willing to strengthen analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used and still are using IBM Cognos for business intelligence purposes. It is good for use as a data infrastructure and analytic framework, rather than a BI toolkit, but Tableau is replacing Cognos fast. We used D3.js for a few proofs of concept visualization and dashboarding, but those efforts stopped because of productivity and maintenance problems.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.1
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.2
Report Formatting Templates (75)
6.9
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.1
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
7.9
Publish to Web (80)
8.3
Publish to PDF (79)
7.5
Report Versioning (65)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.0
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
7.9
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (85)
7.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
7.9
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.2
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.4
REST API (37)
7.3
Javascript API (34)
7.3
iFrames (38)
6.6
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese