Tableau Server Reviews

705 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 105)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Tableau - Good Viz, Poor Admin

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visualizations.
  • Simple deployment method.
  • Easy to navigate interface.
  • Server administration is cumbersome.
  • Recent changes (after 10.x) have required rewriting of admin scripts.
  • Cumbersome licensing management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Deep dive into your data with your Global team using the Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Security: Organisations sometimes have confidential data, which is important. If there is a lack of security controls within this software, this would become a major setback for the organization. I feel this is the best feature Tableau provides.
  • Can be assessed from anywhere: Tableau Server can be accessed from anywhere in the world. You need not have to install specific software or applications on your phone. Simply view your stats from any device anytime and make the most use of this software.
  • No matter which cloud your organization sits on: Tableau can be configured with any of the cloud service providers and sit with your infrastructure providing a very smooth connection.
  • The tool does not lag in any major domains, but one thing that I feel sometimes this platform lags in is the processing speed of the data. Even with a bunch of data the tool sometimes takes huge time to process and develop the dashboards. For large data sets, this can be understood but with small data sets, the computing power shall be much higher. This can be fixed easily by boosting up the processors on which the tool has been deployed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Failed to meet expectations

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's part of the Tableau ecosystem of products.
  • Easy connectivity to Tableau Desktop.
  • Easy installation.
  • Slow, even with a solid server running it.
  • Overly complicated.
  • Still not 100% sure why I need it in the first place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Reviewing Tableau Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides easier reporting for end users
  • It allows for better comprehensive reporting
  • It allows us to connect to multiple sources with one product
  • Desktop should not allow updates unless server is updated first
  • Need a better management tool that doesn't take a long time to start-up
  • Better documentation online
Read this authenticated review
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Tableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server is extremely well at providing a stabile system for us to host data sources and dashboards
  • Tableau Server is great at managing permissions for users, data sources, workbooks, and dashboards
  • Tableau Server has had some issue handling some of our larger data sets. Our extract refreshes fail intermittently with no obvious error that we can fix
  • Tableau Server has been hard to work with before they launched their new Rest API, which is also a little tricky to work with
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau server's portal and general look is really convenient and pretty. Users feel comfortable using it.
  • The learning curve of Tableau Server from an end-user perspective is really short. For the creator of content, it is a little more complex but easy to learn. Tableau has really succeeded in creating a user-friendly software.
  • From an administration point of view, Tableau is great. Installation and housekeeping are really easy and quick.
  • Visuals are really appealing and will help "sell" your presentations.
  • Tableau allows connectivity to a huge selection of data sources and data formats.
  • Online training for software is free and of very good quality.
  • Tableau doesn't (at least when I used it) have custom widgets or elements in the creation of dashboards. Its main competitor, Power BI, allows this. Because of that, some visualizations are challenging and need the use of advanced tricks that most users don't know about.
  • Tableau logs a lot of information, and sometimes, getting the right information from these logs when something goes wrong is challenging.
  • Tableau support is not the quickest. This sounds bad, but I have to specify that I very rarely had to contact them. However, when I did, the answer took a few more days than with other providers.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Kanthesh MALLESH | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of Dasboards

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrating with APIs, and also on webpages.
  • Version controlling of Workbooks.
  • Provides high-level security to the dashboards. It is completely isolated with other users who don't have access.
  • Adoption of AI [Artifical Intelligence].
  • More options for dashboard management in server.
  • Sharing an interactive dashboard with another environment is the missing factor.
Read Kanthesh MALLESH's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau is perhaps the most aesthetically pleasing software to create beautiful visualizations that get updated in real-time. I wish this software had been around 20 years ago.
  • Tableau Server makes sharing visualizations across the organization seamless. I don't think I could do my job without it.
  • Tableau Server is used to create interactive daily reports, updated automatically and in an interactive style.
  • Tableau Server is sometimes referred to as simply Microsoft Excel with a power boost. I understand the reason analysts say this. It is because the software is almost exclusively a visualization software. If you're looking for truly advanced analytics combined with cutting-edge visualization, Tableau Server isn't it.
  • Tableau Server limits the type of graphs a user can create. There are numerous workarounds for different graph types, but they are not easy to implement.
  • Tableau Server can sometimes be slow to render graphics with lots of data and calculated fields.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Intuitive and easy BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Many available plugins, incl. the one I have used for regional analysis (data enriched with addresses / GPS attributes)
  • Narratives (story building) is a great tool for creating and sharing your analysis with your audience
  • Data visualization is one of the best you can get today
  • Supports mobile usage
  • Connection to SQL database: by connecting it to a database, one has to employ an SQL specialist to write the script
  • No autosave function
  • No automatized notification feature (e.g. alert based on value out of range, in a report)
  • Very expensive solutions
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cody Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Tableau Server: A No-Brainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is able to extract data very efficiently, as compared to extracting data on one's personal machine
  • It is able to handle a large quantity of content and traffic to the reports hosted on the server
  • It is fairly self-sustaining and doesn't require too much maintenance, though it is hosted in our own environment.
  • Some of the metrics and data relevant to Tableau Server are difficult to get to, and it would be super insightful if it was more accessible and readily available to users trying to report on it
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Subhadipto Poddar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Tableau Server - Connecting the visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Access from any device
  • Worksheets can be managed online
  • Can change and visualize new stuff
  • Easy to use
  • Public server gives first few lines free of charge
  • Free lines are limited to 10 million per single connection
  • Premium is expensive
  • New data sources cam be published from Tableau Desktop
Read Subhadipto Poddar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's good at doing what it is designed for: accessing visualizations without having to download and open a workbook in Tableau Desktop. The latter would be a very inefficient method for sharing our metrics, so I am glad that we have Tableau Server to serve this function.
  • Publishing to Tableau Server is quick and easy. Just a few clicks from Tableau Desktop and a few seconds of publishing through an average speed network, and the new visualizations are live!
  • Seeing details on who has viewed the visualization and when. This is something particularly useful to me for trying to drive adoption of some new pages, so I really appreciate the granularity provided in Tableau Server
  • I think the UI of how projects and folders within projects are managed could use some improvement. The organization is pretty straightforward, but it's designed for a large amount of content. Accessing a simple dashboard from one published workbook requires clicking into a Project then clicking into the dashboard to actually see the content. It's hard to describe without seeing it, but it always feels like there was an extra, unnecessary click. Seems minor, but this is an annoyance I and my colleagues face many times through the day.
  • There seems to be some formatting issues between what's built in Tableau Desktop (TD) and Tableau Server (TS), e.g., if I format some filters over a background in TD, they show up very legibly with the background as white against the color background. But when published the same filters could have the color of the background and no way to change it to white, and the font has less contrast for some reason. Seems minor, but it wastes a lot of time retrying then re-publishing just to get something to work as expected. The view in TD should be exactly the same as TS.
  • As far as I can tell, there's no way to put a clone of a certain dashboard into multiple projects/folders and have any updates propagate to those clones. Also as far as I can tell, there's no feature that tracks where the same dashboard has been published in multiple places. That means if I have a dashboard that I need to show in multiple places so those teams can access it in their native location with their other content contextual to them, I have to maintain a record of all the places I've published and re-publish to all whenever updates are made. And if it turns out the solution is there in the product, then the UI is clearly pretty dense because I haven't found it whereas this was an intuitive setting to find on a competitor BI tool I have used. I think this should be improved in the product since it's often necessary to manage the same content across multiple locations so various teams are accessing their single location relevant to them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Tableau Server Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It can gather data from various sources and combine it in one place for users to view and use the data.
  • Visualizations created by Tableau can be easily modified and updated by users.
  • Tableau Servers can provide daily reports that are up to date, along with dashboards that can provide real-time data.
  • Tableau Server needs to provide more options to modify and update user-friendly dashboards.
  • Tableau Server can be expensive for a company.
  • Tableau Server sometimes takes a long time to load reports with a lot of data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's extremely intuitive to use the visualizations. Users can manipulate and construct meaning and additional questions from the data quickly.
  • Tableau is very flexible -- it's completely data source agnostic. It will take data from any source.
  • Our development team learned it very quickly.
  • While it took little time for our data analysts to crank out visualizations, it did take some time(longer than I expected) for our technology operations team to configure the server to share the sizes.
  • The server update process is rather cumbersome -- requires a full uninstall/re-install.
  • Again, while it took our data analysts next to no time to start creating, I've been in other organizations that have struggled with the feature-rich interface and complexity of the Tableau client. So, it requires the right personnel, with dedicated time, to fully leverage the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very well organized.
  • Menus are clear to understand.
  • The product works without issues.
  • Their technical support sometimes doesn't understand the issues.
  • One technician may know the product very well and another technician may not know the product well enough and has to engage a different team.
  • Their licensing is very strict, doesn't give me many options and if you run into any issues, you have to contact the licensing team via email and only email.
Read this authenticated review
Sachin Basappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage.
  • Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent.
  • Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.
  • Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting.
  • In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed.
  • Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.
Read Sachin Basappa's full review
Eli Massey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2018

Tableau fits our needs as a small company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Access to our data sources such as MS SQL and MySQL
  • Ease of use and administration
  • Relatively small footprint for hardware
  • Reasonable pricing
  • Better exposure of the engine components for diagnostics and reporting
  • Having to uninstall the product and reinstall to upgrade is odd and cumbersome
  • Bring the command line options into a modern web admin interface with better information like backup processes and history
  • Admin reporting on use of data sources and ability to search out dependencies in the database
Read Eli Massey's full review
Shoaib Yari | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for easy sharing of data and actionable insights with an extremely user-friendly visual interface
  • Acts as an environment to implement and enforce data governance with centralized and certified data sources
  • Easy to deploy, scale to our specific needs, and monitor
  • Enterprise level implementation is very pricey
  • Dashboard layout changes if the screen resolution of the Tableau developer is different from the end user's screen resolution
  • Embedding is limited and difficult
Read Shoaib Yari's full review
Henry Yennie | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Usable Analytics for the Right Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Summarize complex data in an easy to understand format.
  • Very fast idea/need to realization timelines.
  • Ability for end users to interact with data sets, giving them filters, groupings and other tools to get the data they need.
  • Tableau's mapping capabilities are "almost there". We would love to have Tableau able to function as our sole GIS product. Each version of Tableau brings us closer to that goal.
  • We would like to have the ability to schedule data transfers. The new Data Prep tool is step in that direction.
  • We still have need to produce lists of summarized data. Making this process a little more straightforward would be nice.
Read Henry Yennie's full review
David Vander Leest | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

Tableau - One Stop Shop for Visual Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server is a must-have if you want to easily foster an environment of collaboration of dashboards and analytics built by your end users.
  • Tableau Server has a strong and very flexible security model.
  • Upgrades and maintenance of Tableau Server are fairly painless.
  • Tableau Server provides a one-stop-shop for Tableau Desktop users to find data to work with.
  • Content Discovery can be challenging. Unless users have security to data sources or dashboards, they often don't know they are there.
  • Tableau Server doesn't natively support the ability to send PDF versions of dashboards to users that aren't Tableau Server users. An open source project was developed called VizAlerts that provides a workaround for this, but it should really just be built into the product.
  • There are no phone numbers to call if you need support. The only way to contact Tableau Support is via email. If we have an urgent problem we typically need to reach out to our account executive to get appropriate attention.
Read David Vander Leest's full review
Dan Colbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The visuals are beautiful and powerful, and the interface is easy to understand.
  • The Tableau REST API provides a very functional programmatic interface between our web app and the back-end server.
  • We use Tableau Server for Linux, which greatly simplifies the installation and maintenance of the server architecture.
  • While I have some thoughts for improvements in the Tableau Desktop application, the server environment is a powerful, growing, and improving software. No significant cons.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Ryan Akana | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2018

Tableau - The One Stop Shop

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Various connections to different data sources all in one product. We have so many different data sources within our organization. Tableau makes it easy for us to have all of our reporting in one place.
  • The ability to leverage the software with the company's growth. We have acquired three companies in the last 3 years. Our company has grown from 800 to 1500 plus employees in that short amount of time. Our Tableau Server is the same from day one when we purchased the software, and that was 6 years ago. We haven't need to buy additional cores as we have eight cores right now and we are doing extremely well for an organization with such large growth.
  • The process of how one manages permissions to the different projects saves IT time and resources.
  • I would really like to have the ability to schedule a report as an extract (TXT, CSV, Excel, PDF, or other) that I can either email, place onto a network share, or other transfer method.)
Read Ryan Akana's full review
Sandeep Munagala | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Experience with Tableau

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Saves plenty of time in Development Work.
  • Better Visualization
  • Flexibility to connect to plenty of databases, if not create your data set, using WDC functionality
  • Easy Server maintenance & very quick releases by Tableau.
  • Workday connectivity will help easy integration for HR department & this will encourage more usage in our company
  • Enabling the XML format of the dashboard will help easily share the dashboard, like in COGNOS
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

An essential part of our service offering.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Set up and administration are very easy. It takes little time to implement and structure according to the business needs.
  • Broad customization is possible through the use of embedded analytics. Even without that - simple tweaks such as replacing the landing page logo with a company logo and modifying the logos within the standard tableau server interface allow for enough customization to ensure professionalism.
  • Permission structures are thoughtful. It's not challenging to create groups of users that are able to access only the elements appropriate for them to be viewing.
  • .\tabadmin cleanup is an essential function that would benefit from an automated run option through the configuration menu. Currently a batch or bash script must be created and scheduled.
  • Tableau Server extracts are currently very good, but occasionally if a user needs to run a full refresh from within the server environment it can end up appearing to have worked, but bad data has still made its way through. the only solution for this that we have found thus far is to actually re-publish the workbook with a fresh extract
Read Brett Mendes's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.1
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.9
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.1
Publish to Web (80)
8.5
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.6
REST API (37)
7.6
Javascript API (34)
7.5
iFrames (38)
6.8
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese