TrustRadius
Talend Open Studio is a data integration solution.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/BV/9u/EKA3CEMR5G0U.pngMy point of view of Talend Open Studio: Great!Talend Open Studio is the IDE for Talend Products. You can design all your SOA Architecture inside of it. You have access to your artifacts, connectors, source code, etc.Talend Open Studio is for Developers and offers an easy way to develop Webservices, and connect this services to consume data from several sources, like databases, ERP, CMS, CRM, etc.,Your developers will be able to design SOA services graphically, and it is very easy to document and implement the code. Talend Open Studio is based on Eclipse IDE, so your developers will be very comfy using it Open is Key in Talend Open Studio = Open Source,Since it is an Eclipse-Based IDE, sometimes it can be a little slow. You cannot setup your artifact repository using the same credentials as for other modules within the TOS.,9,Being Open Source, your costs on the IDE side are zero. There are a lot of programmers with knowledge in Eclipse, they will be comfy using TOS. The development process will be faster. Once you develop your Service Bus using TOS, you can connect easily with other Talend products, like DTS, Big Data analysis tools, etc.,,JBoss Enterprise Service Bus, Oracle BPEL Process Manager, Mule ESBTalend Open Studio for allTalend is used by parts of my company mainly in the integration team. We use it to move data between various systems such as FTP, Oracle DB, DB2, MDM, CRM. We move data on a schedule and on demand. We use Talend Open Studio to sync data between various systems. We also use Talend jobs to backup some important files which are generated part of other ETL jobs.,Talend runs fast and long without any issues to move millions of records as part of a single job run. Talend shows a good preview of the data counts moving between various systems. Using property files in Talend we can dynamically use various environment specific values seemlessly.,Talend Open Studio does not have enough components to do Deduplication and fuzzy match using machine learning. Talend Open studio is not highly available and makes it tough to run Tier 1 applications. Talend Open Studio does not provide any good ways to do unit testing of the components.,9,It was easy to quickly ramp up a team of ETL developers without prior knowledge on ETL jobs We could move millions of records into CRM systems within a span of a day as part of a large data migration project. We did not have a scheduler as part of the open studio. We had to build a quartz based scheduler to run the jobs on schedule and on demand,Oracle Data Integrator,Eclipse, Oracle Database 12c, IntelliJ IDEA, RStudio,20,5,Quick data transformation Quick data migration Bulk and schedule data migration between disparate systems,We never used Talend Open Studio for CRM systems. This has turned out really cool for us. We could ETL millions of records without any licence cost with free Talend Open Studio We could automate file backup using Talend Open Studio jobs,We may use Talend for bigdata in the future We may use data preparation in future We might consider using Talend ESB,10,Not Sure,Price Product Features Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,I do not see any reason for change of evaluation or selection process. Talend Open Studio fits all our requirements and data migration needs. Even when new systems are added to our kitty, we do not see any short of Talend Open Studio components to use. It's just great for what we need from it.,5,No,NAGreat tool for data migrationWe helped several customers implement Talend for data migration and integration. We have used it mainly for migrating the data to Salesforce with various other systems like Oracle, MySQL, FTP (File-based integration/ migration), etc. It does provide a lot of predefined functionality out of the box along with providing the facility to use complex java code for developers. I mainly like it for small data utilities. It does provide a lot of control for developers.,It does provide a lot of predefined functionality out of the box along with providing the facility to use complex java code for developers. Mainly like it for small data utilities. It does provide a lot of control for developers. Pricing is, of course, a major plus :),Experienced few bugs sometimes. It behaves a little strange sometimes giving random code errors which go away just by restarting Talend Open Studio. Developers with java background are needed for complex development.,8,Overall a very good tool when comparing the pricing, features, and flexibilities provided together.,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Salesforce Commerce CloudFully utilize your talent with Talend Open StudioTalend Open Studio is used by the business to implement data quality checks in pipeline. A great benefit that Talend offers over other similar tools like Informatica, is that Talend allows us to write our own components using Java, instead of being limited to using predefined components in the palette. Talend also offers big data integration, which is extremely useful for businesses that handle large volumes of data.,Integrating with Big Data tools Handling multiple data sources Monitoring real time data flow Developing jobs quickly using predefined components,Community support could be better. Adding a custom component to the palette is not very straightforward. Interface could be improved to make it easier to use.,9,A wide variety of business requirements can be accomplished with Talend. Data warehousing can be handled using Talend. Data cleaning and quality control can also be accomplished with Talend. As a single tool, Talend alone, provides a significant positive impact on the business.,Informatica,Chartio, Oracle Data Warehouse, SnowflakeTalend, Make the most of your data!Talend Open Studio is one of the best integration tools I have used. It has a lot of options to integrate data from. Also, Talend can be connected to Tableau and other business intelligence tools in order to get a better visibility. The error tracking and troubleshooting are much better and help to easily identify the problems.,Talend Open Studio provides a great and easy to use interface. It is conveniently used to extract, transform and load the data and we can simply email business users though it is not a reporting tool. Also, it is easy and quick to install and get started. Custom code writing is a good feature which makes it even more flexible to use. MDM and data quality is also one of the key features of talend and helps to manage data well. MDM is easily available under GPL open license. Wide range of transformation components to play around and get the work done easily.,The community is not that up to date and forum is not that great in response. Probably we should make people aware of the tool more on how to use and its implementations. Talend crashes when transforming a lot of data (millions of rows). Proper training documentation is a must for talend which is currently lagging. This will help users to learn more about Talend and use it effectively.,9,Definitely a positive impact. I liked the way talend is used for logging errors and debugging purposes. It helps to easily identify what the error is and helps build a solution.,SSIS and informatica,Tableau Public, Alteryx Analytics
Unspecified
Talend Open Studio
38 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Talend Open Studio Reviews

Talend Open Studio
38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 40 vetted Talend Open Studio reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jose Miguel Siu Navarro profile photo
June 21, 2018

Review: "My point of view of Talend Open Studio: Great!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Talend Open Studio is the IDE for Talend Products. You can design all your SOA Architecture inside of it. You have access to your artifacts, connectors, source code, etc.
Talend Open Studio is for Developers and offers an easy way to develop Webservices, and connect this services to consume data from several sources, like databases, ERP, CMS, CRM, etc.
  • Your developers will be able to design SOA services graphically, and it is very easy to document and implement the code.
  • Talend Open Studio is based on Eclipse IDE, so your developers will be very comfy using it
  • Open is Key in Talend Open Studio = Open Source
  • Since it is an Eclipse-Based IDE, sometimes it can be a little slow.
  • You cannot setup your artifact repository using the same credentials as for other modules within the TOS.
  1. Design and develop Web Services (RESTful or SOAP)
  2. Develop Connectors to other systems that will interface with the Service Bus
  3. Deploy Services to Talend Service Bus Server
  4. Manage the inventory of artifacts and connectors
  5. Projects that need to be implemented with low budgets
  6. When your developers are proficient in Java and Eclipse
Read Jose Miguel Siu Navarro's full review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

User Review: "Talend Open Studio for all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Talend is used by parts of my company mainly in the integration team. We use it to move data between various systems such as FTP, Oracle DB, DB2, MDM, CRM. We move data on a schedule and on demand. We use Talend Open Studio to sync data between various systems. We also use Talend jobs to backup some important files which are generated part of other ETL jobs.
  • Talend runs fast and long without any issues to move millions of records as part of a single job run.
  • Talend shows a good preview of the data counts moving between various systems.
  • Using property files in Talend we can dynamically use various environment specific values seemlessly.
  • Talend Open Studio does not have enough components to do Deduplication and fuzzy match using machine learning.
  • Talend Open studio is not highly available and makes it tough to run Tier 1 applications.
  • Talend Open Studio does not provide any good ways to do unit testing of the components.
For quick daily integrations Talend is a very good tool and it makes development time so short and easy. Citizen developers who are not great programmers can pick up and start using Talend Open Studio within weeks. It's well suited for all kinds of data migration between various systems.

It is less appropriate for smaller synchronous services where you need to trace the complete transaction and how data moved between them. It's also less appropriate for small data movements where other tools can be easier to use and manage.
Read this authenticated review
Ankit Goyal profile photo
March 21, 2018

Talend Open Studio Review: "Great tool for data migration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We helped several customers implement Talend for data migration and integration. We have used it mainly for migrating the data to Salesforce with various other systems like Oracle, MySQL, FTP (File-based integration/ migration), etc. It does provide a lot of predefined functionality out of the box along with providing the facility to use complex java code for developers. I mainly like it for small data utilities. It does provide a lot of control for developers.
  • It does provide a lot of predefined functionality out of the box along with providing the facility to use complex java code for developers.
  • Mainly like it for small data utilities. It does provide a lot of control for developers.
  • Pricing is, of course, a major plus :)
  • Experienced few bugs sometimes. It behaves a little strange sometimes giving random code errors which go away just by restarting Talend Open Studio.
  • Developers with java background are needed for complex development.
Well suited if you want to perform small data utilities as it provides good control to developers. Support of Java means you can perform a complex transformation. Not a very good experience when handling a large volume of data, however, it depends on a lot of other factors like system specifications etc. But still felt like a scope for improvement.
Read Ankit Goyal's full review
No photo available
September 05, 2017

Review: "Fully utilize your talent with Talend Open Studio"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Talend Open Studio is used by the business to implement data quality checks in pipeline. A great benefit that Talend offers over other similar tools like Informatica, is that Talend allows us to write our own components using Java, instead of being limited to using predefined components in the palette. Talend also offers big data integration, which is extremely useful for businesses that handle large volumes of data.
  • Integrating with Big Data tools
  • Handling multiple data sources
  • Monitoring real time data flow
  • Developing jobs quickly using predefined components
  • Community support could be better.
  • Adding a custom component to the palette is not very straightforward.
  • Interface could be improved to make it easier to use.
If you need to design the data flow architecture while working with big data tools, Talend Open Studio is a great way to do so. This is also true for designing data quality checks and monitoring real time data flow.
On the other hand, I would not recommend using Talend for handling less volume of data or for performing trivial or fewer data operations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2016

Talend Open Studio Review: "Talend, Make the most of your data!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Talend Open Studio is one of the best integration tools I have used. It has a lot of options to integrate data from. Also, Talend can be connected to Tableau and other business intelligence tools in order to get a better visibility. The error tracking and troubleshooting are much better and help to easily identify the problems.
  • Talend Open Studio provides a great and easy to use interface. It is conveniently used to extract, transform and load the data and we can simply email business users though it is not a reporting tool. Also, it is easy and quick to install and get started.
  • Custom code writing is a good feature which makes it even more flexible to use.
  • MDM and data quality is also one of the key features of talend and helps to manage data well. MDM is easily available under GPL open license.
  • Wide range of transformation components to play around and get the work done easily.
  • The community is not that up to date and forum is not that great in response. Probably we should make people aware of the tool more on how to use and its implementations.
  • Talend crashes when transforming a lot of data (millions of rows).
  • Proper training documentation is a must for talend which is currently lagging. This will help users to learn more about Talend and use it effectively.
Talend is best with its UI and is easy to use. I have solved a business case with the transformation components, and also used the Talend error handling and exception components. It works best and gives easy solutions without much coding involved.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Blizman profile photo
September 19, 2016

Talend Open Studio Review: "Step-by-step, Talend helps you build your integration flows"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Talend Open Studio to implement integration processes. In one advanced use case, I used it to retrieve employee details via multiple web service methods and combine that data with other sources with the goal of providing required data to the payroll system to complete the onboarding of employees. In another use case, I queried pricing daily data of commodities via a web service method call to provide historical pricing data and visualization of the multi-year pricing histories.
  • Talend provides pre-built widgets to integrate with databases, web services, and FTP for example, which saves time and quality issues in building basic functionalities that are needed to create a full workflow.
  • Using any tool, such as Talend, encourages a consistent mindset and approach for processing steps, rather than being 100% free-form logic based on the mood of the developer. This makes it easier to understand the workflow that is implemented, even if you are working with many different processes.
  • Using Talend allowed me to work on a project to the point where the client needed to review it, pause development for a week or even 3 weeks if key people were very busy, and to resume work without much trouble at all. If I had been developing without such a tool, my custom code base would have been much larger, and I would have had more difficulty resuming work after such a break.
  • Standard source control practices do not work the way you would expect them to when using Talend. The intermediate items that Talend creates in the workspace are not simply a set of .java files, so you must take extra care of managing your workspace directory. This means you must backup your entire workspace directory prior to upgrading the version of Talend you are using for active development. Granted, we should do this even when upgrading a basic Eclipse environment, but it is far easier to get back where you started if Eclipse gets messed up, than if Talend gets corrupted somehow. This is a key concern for developers, and gaining comfort with this is a matter of time committment to a single tool, which developers are hesitant to commit. There are options to help this in the team and enterprise versions of the tool, but those have their own barriers to adoption, money and agreement across a development team.
  • It could take 2-3 weeks for an seasoned Java developer to gain comfort in how to best implement processes using Talend. It is worth it if you have a lot of projects that start, go on back-burner, then resume, or if you are switching between integration processes and wanting a standard way to build your programs
Single or small development teams suit Talend Open Studio well, as do complex integration projects that are likely to start, go to back burner for a week or two, then resume.
Read Mike Blizman's full review
Russell Gomez profile photo
May 20, 2016

Talend Open Studio Review: "Extract the difficulty out of your data gathering workflows, transform your time into meaningful utilization, and load up on your returns."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Talend Open Studio to extract and transform data from our Mongo database into our Microsoft SQL Server database to allow for better reporting options for our end-users.
  • Installation and deployment are very rapid.
  • The user interface allows for quick builds and the testing.
  • The build and deployment of your applications into production are simplified allowing for a shorter development lifecycle.
  • More tutorials and examples of utilization of each component would be helpful. There are plenty of forums to gather this information but best practices and examples from the manufacturer always welcome in my book.
I believe that Talend Open Studio is best suited when there is a budget constraint or if the analyst or developer has limited coding experience.
Read Russell Gomez's full review
Eugene LaRoche profile photo
May 18, 2016

Talend Open Studio Review: "Talend Studio- RAD to the core"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Talend Open Studio is used by the IT department for ETL and systems integration. We are also using the Talend Administration Center (TAC) for scheduling, executing, and monitoring Talend jobs. It provides GUI based (drag-and-drop) rapid development of jobs using any of the 800+ components and facilitate connecting to a myriad of systems. They have connectors to cloud based systems like AmazonS3 or Salesforce, and typical enterprise resources like SQL Server, CSV and Excel files. It makes the technology part of connecting systems trivial and inexpensive.
  • System Integration: you want to pull data from SQL Server and load it into SalesForce? Easy. You need to export data from a COTS, encrypt and transmit it via FTP to an external vendor. Simple.
  • Report Production: while Talend Open Studio is not primarily a reporting system, it is temptingly easy to extract data, dump it in Excel and email it to a business user. These will not be sophisticated, graphical reports, but will allow you to produce simple reports in minutes.
  • Data Transformation and Processing: between your primary input and primary out, you have virtually unlimited ability to manipulate and transform your data in a custom workflow. Talend comes with components for aggregating, filtering, sorting. It also comes with more advanced components for merging or splitting input and output, pinging a server, and implementing custom rules and code.
  • Data Quality and MDM: Talend includes many components for cleansing and managing reference and transnational data. Data masking de-duplication, fuzzy matching, and MDM functions can be implemented with clicking and dragging components.
  • Talend Open Studio is the free product, and is very powerful in and of itself. The paid version comes with a host of other software and features including the TAC for job scheduling and monitoring. It also comes with more components and options.
  • Talend's reliance on Java is both a strength and a weakness. The entire Talend infrastructure is built around open source projects, many of which are primarily implemented in JAVA, thus providing an affinity between the technologies. But the Java platform is unstable and quirky. Our most recent problems with Java include the auto-updater cannibalizing existing installations of JAVA. And if you require Java 8, it will uninstall 7 in the background without obtaining permission. So you will have to put up with all the miseries of managing your JVM.
Talend offers a fairly quick ramp up time and leads to incredible gains in productivity in the realm of system integration and ETL. It is the best integration tool on the market.
Read Eugene LaRoche's full review
No photo available
May 20, 2016

Talend Open Studio Review: "Good product can be better."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the data services/data engineering team. We built our data warehouse using Talend. We also use it to lay the data pipelines across various systems.
  • The number of connectors /components that Talend offers is phenomenal from RDBMS to big data components, the options are plenty.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Ability to write custom code.
  • Open Source.
  • Better technical support.
  • Better documentation.
  • Code generation and processing millions of records in a data warehousing environment can be sometimes very slow.
Talend Open Studio is good for data warehousing.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (8)
10.0
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (7)
9.8
Simple transformations (8)
10.0
Complex transformations (8)
8.9
Data model creation (7)
8.4
Metadata management (7)
9.0
Business rules and workflow (6)
9.3
Collaboration (6)
8.6
Testing and debugging (8)
8.0
Integration with data quality tools (5)
10.0
Integration with MDM tools (6)
8.4

About Talend Open Studio

Talend Open Studio is a data integration solution.
Categories:  Data Integration

Talend Open Studio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No