Task Factory Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

John Stuchly | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Task Factory Speeds Development

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Task Factory to better standardize our ETL and to reduce the number of script tasks leveraged. It is primarily used for data flow and control flow tasks, although some connections are used as well. This is used as a standard, centralized tool within IT, along with other 3rd party SSIS tools.
  • Email notifications.
  • File management.
  • User defined settings for external package calls.
  • Better software update methodology.
Being able to easily call packages from other projects is the biggest win. Having a single process to handle all child calls is a big win over using the standard component for calls within a project, and some other mechanism (via SQL stored procedure calls and/or SQL agent calls) for packages not within the same project.
Read John Stuchly's full review
Bob Amy | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Upgrade to Upsert

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our prima facie need was to increase the speed for loading our data warehouses. We used SSIS, and needed an easy way to convert to bulk updates and deletes. Task Factory offers several tools that reduce our load time by about 60 times. These are Upsert, Bulk Update and Bulk delete. We were already using the SSIS fast load, but had we had Task Factory earlier, it would have saved a huge amount of development. We have used a few of the other tools as well, but unfortunately, our addition of Task Factory was retrofit and not new development.
  • Fast, large updates and deletes.
  • Simple Upsert logic.
  • Very nice integrated help, including video.
  • Easy to install, well documented, and easy to use.
  • Support was excellent under Pragmatic Works. I cannot attest to Sentry One.
  • We had one case of an upgrade that would not work with existing code. They did release a next version very quickly.

I bought Task Factory for the Upsert, Bulk update, and Bulk delete tools. It was WELL worth it to not have to develop bulk loading techniques ourselves.

I never got the chance to use the nuggets tool for generic code patterning.

Read Bob Amy's full review
Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Love Task Factory!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are heavy SQL Server Integration Services shop. There are a number of instances where we were faced with hand-coding solutions that would take hours or days to implement, but with Task Factory we were able to do it in seconds. We have a large number of highly visible, customer-facing processes that depend on Task Factory, and it has been very reliable and easy to use.
  • Our first use case was integrating with our Partners' Secure FTP Sites. Task Factory did this seamlessly.
  • Our second use case involved Excel. We have multiple groups that use Excel to monitor their processes, and using the Excel refresh task made this very quick and simple.
  • Our third use case was for SMTP. The basic SMTP did not give us enough control out of the box that we needed. We send out E-mails on behalf of our partners using their SMTP servers, so being able to change those connections effortlessly using this task was a huge time saver.
  • Not sure. I have not run into an instance where their transform didn't provide what I needed more easily than other solutions.
We use Task Factory a lot for our report automation. We have several use cases where we send out thousands of reports on a schedule to certain groups of customers, and Task Factory allows us to easily get files and move them via SFTP, FTP, or Email very easily. We have used it in our data warehouse as well, but not as heavily.
Read Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA's full review
Karl Blacquière | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2020

Task Factory: a must if you are serious in ETL development!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is used by the BI and the Integration Department. It helps us to standardize the way we are extracting and transforming data into our data warehouse and also the way we are connecting different applications (CRM and ERP).
  • The Slowly Changing Dimension Component saves us a huge amount if time compared to the native SSIS component.
  • JSON Transform is really useful to convert record and send it to rest API.
  • The advanced derived columns allow us to use really cool functions that are not available in the regular transforms.
  • We were disappointed that the Marketto Connector has been retired from the components.
  • We had a problem integrating Task Factory with LegiTest (license problem). It took a lot of time for Sentry to find and fix this problem
I think Task Factory is really helpful when building regular ETL in SSIS. IT helped us save time by replacing the native SSIS component with a more advanced one. However, there are some cases where TF was not performing well when the keys are GUID. We had to remove some TF components in that case.
Read Karl Blacquière's full review
Francisco Murillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

A tool every BI developer should have

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is being used by the IT BI department. It is part of our daily SSIS processes, for example, reads from XML or JSON sources, extracts from websites, compresses and decompresses zip files, handles data to be inserted or updated on tables, parses address information, sends email on different stages of the process.
Specifically, we can use it to download a zip file and decompress it and later use TF Upsert to update or insert zip code data into tables.
  • Upsert data on dimensions
  • Read XML and JSON information from website
  • Allow Upsert to just load bulk data
Task Factory is well suited to update and insert data on EDW database.
Read Francisco Murillo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

A Package for your Packages!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Task Factory within our team. We have a need to ensure efficient ETL design to drive our high-performing data-centric application. Task Factory helps us reduce development time spent programming custom SSIS tasks, gives us components and tasks that are optimized to perform well in production, and a broad array of connections to various data platforms.
  • One-click Auditing Feature. Simply push a button, and all of your SSIS packages now have detailed auditing built-in, including the ability to watch it in real-time.
  • Wide variety of connections. If you need to connect to a common data source, Task factory will have what you need. No need to roll your own anymore.
  • The Upsert Component. Task Factory has a simple and FAST way to do an insert or update with new row data. It just works and works well.
  • SCD component could be a little more intuitive.
  • The help documents could be more detailed and current with what is actually released.
You should strongly consider Task Factory if you are a Microsoft Data platform shop. It really rounds out SSIS. If you don't know what SSIS is, then this is the wrong product for you.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Task Factory: great for saving time !

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Usage: We are using Task Factory inside the IT department to enhance the capabilities of SSIS (SQL Server Integration services).

Business problem: Your team can keep using SSIS and tackle data problems they could not resolve before (read from different sources without any code and do data upsert in one component).
  • Read from APIs without code.
  • Upset mechanism.
  • Can be longer to debug.
  • Need one license for dev servers.
Well suited:
  • When the capabilities of SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) are not enough for you.
  • When you want to extract data from web sources without writing some code.
Not Well suited:
  • If you have separate servers for all your environments (that will cost you more money).
  • If your team does not know SSIS enough (the tool can be difficult to debug).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Task Factory makes me look great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is used to support our SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) needs. SSIS has many tasks built in but we have found they fall short of our needs and Task Factory fills that gap for us. The components provided are well designed and easy to configure for the package to use and allow parameters to be configured for ease of use across environments.
  • The SFTP task is particularly helpful with proxy capabilities and setup with environment variables.
  • The RestAPI task is something new that we have found helpful now.
  • The latest UpSert task has also been a great addition.
  • I thought it needed to improve the UpSert task to include delete capabilities but was informed it is present. Just might be useful to be more apparent to an infrequent user.
One task we use with every package is the Advanced Email task, although simple and used primarily for our monitoring of package success, it is helpful and simple to use. Only downside as with any product is it does require some maintenance and has had the occasional blip of an update breaking an existing functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Task Factory and slowly changing dimensions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the tools mainly for the slowly changing dimensions as we load our warehouse.
  • Slowly changing dimensions.
  • Error logging during the process.
  • Ease of setup.
  • The ability to move records to different tables based on the data.
  • None
I only use the tool for our slowly changing dimensions in our data warehouse. The error hanging is great and the ability to move records around to other tables based on the data is a nice feature.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

Task Factory great for connecting to external sources

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is being used to integrate to a number of external organisations and data sources so it can be loaded into our organisations data warehouse. It helps make the integrations through SSIS very easy and simple using Task Factory's connectors. The main connector we are using it for is the Salesforce ones which are simple and effective.
  • Easy to install.
  • Easy to use.
  • Great support if stuck.
  • New connectors are not released very often.
  • Updating the connectors is not an easy task.
  • Troubleshooting a problem can be difficult.
Task Factory is well suited for integration with Salesforce, REST APIs and other offline sources.
Rather than programme your own connectors, the Task Factory connectors will make it simple and easy to download and parse data from JSON/XML into a database or table.

Task Factory is less suited for custom/very secure API connections especially if they require hashing the connection string each time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2020

Task Factory Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Data Integration team uses Task Factory as a 3rd-party plugin tool to support Microsoft SSIS packages. Task Factory makes our job simple in terms of connecting to "CRM", "SharePoint" or to pull data/files from a web service where we don't need to write a C# code to get this done. Also, it seems very effective when doing encryption and decryption techniques.
  • Task Factory does a pretty good job in terms of connecting to any 3rd-party website/Web API/CRM and downloading/uploading files into them without using any program code.
  • Task Factory makes it easier to encrypt/decrypt incoming/outgoing files.
  • I believe they should improve the "address parser" feature where it simply parses the incoming address but didn't check/verify whether the incoming address is valid (or) checks whether the address has USPS address standard format.
Task Factory works well if we need to connect to any 3rd-party website/tool like CRM / web services / WebAPI, where we can easily download/upload files without writing any code.

Task Factory is less effective in a SharePoint connection feature task where they don't have a variable option to overwrite the existing file in SharePoint site.
Read this authenticated review
John C Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2019

I would use Task Factory even if it cost more!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is used in the IT department only. It addresses the need for data connections and transformations that are not included in the base SQL Server Integrations Services system.
  • Tasks are more automated than having to create them by hand.
  • Support is great either in forum settings or direct contact with support.
  • Maybe ensuring that all assemblies are deleted when having to install Task Factory on the server.
For the tasks available in Task Factory, it does them very well. The upsert task is ideal for my uses. I do wish that there was some sort of delete or mark as delete feature when loading data into a data warehouse. We don't run Enterprise Edition of SQL Server so we don't have the change data capture feature.
Read John C Hill's full review
Jason Loy | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Streamlined data processes

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am testing Task Factory features and functionality to determine if it's a good fit for our organization. It is currently not widely implemented across the business, but there is potential for it if the POC proves viable. I am primarily looking at Task Factory to replace cumbersome, manual API calls and to streamline data flow from 3rd parties into our internal data warehouses.
  • Good SSIS integration with other packages and processes.
  • Easy to configure 3rd party account logins, credentials, etc.
  • Intuitive interfaces.
  • The user-experience could be a little more intuitive. Struggled a bit to put all the pieces together the right way in order to get the data processed the way I needed.
Task Factory seems like it would be great for moving data out of our third-party systems and into our own data warehouse where it can be combined with our other mission-critical data. We are really seeking a way in which we can merge our users' front-end behavior and actions with back-end outcomes. Task Factory seems suited to the task.
Read Jason Loy's full review
Peter Berrens | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Task Factory made things possible

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Task Factory in our daily ETL processes. These processes are built and maintained by the Business Intelligence department
  • The task to call another package in a different solution
  • Advanced lookup and other tasks
  • Improvement can be achieved when new releases are tested better. We had a few times that our ETL stopped when implementing a new release.
When having a complex ETL environment and calling packages in different solutions, it's the only software we found that works according to expectations.
Read Peter Berrens's full review
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

A complete package of additional tasks for SSIS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our department, we use continuously and for several years Task Factory for the development of ETL through Micorosft Integration Services. I can assure you that it is absolutely an excellent product, without it the development of complex packages would certainly be longer, both in terms of time and in terms of effort in developing a lean and fast process.
  • Great time gain in terms of development.
  • Seamless integration with Integration Services.
  • It has an excellent component for developing SCD tasks.
  • It is an excellent program but it is obviously paid.
  • The license must be renewed regularly if the product is to be updated.
  • If you change visual studio version you need to update to the latest versions.
I recommend it in the most absolute way, as far as my specific case is concerned, I really use the task that deals with "Slowly Changing Dimensions" continuously, the speed of processing and processing of the records is truly remarkable, if you try it you will no longer unless you use it.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
Mickeal Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2019

Better quality outcomes with less code cutting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is used within our Business Systems team for the development of SSIS packages for ETLs into our data warehouse and other applications.
It speeds up development time by adding very useful transforms that are easier to use than the standard Microsoft transforms as well. It makes debugging and development faster.
  • Expression editor is by far better than that in standard SSRS.
  • The SharePoint destination and source is much easier to use than standard SSRS.
  • The slowly changing dimension transform is very easy to use and adds a level of capability that gives a better outcome.
  • More worked examples in the help.
Managing slowly changing type 2 dimensions along with auditing information is best done with the SCD Transform.
Read Mickeal Davis's full review
Brett Archer | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Task Factory saves vast amounts of time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main reason we purchased Task Factory was to decrease the time to do Upserts into SQL Server and Oracle databases. Without it, developers would manually have to do lookups/inserts/updates in SSIS.

Although this was the main reason for the purchase, there are so many other components we use in SSIS like the termination task, the Sharepoint task, and the email task. Some of these tasks seem like "no brainers" that should be in SSIS by default!
  • Upserts to Oracle and SQL Server
  • Email
  • Secure FTP
  • Cleaning up DB objects when Upserts fail
Well suited for upserts. However, there are some limitations based upon primary keys, column names, etc. Sometimes if you package crashes or fails, Task Factory doesn't clean the temporary objects in the database.
Read Brett Archer's full review
Al Rubel | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Task Factory Delivers!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for data ETL and interfacing between databases and packages.
  • Data validation
  • Data cleaning
  • Quickly building interfaces between databases, non-database sources, and packages.
  • Would like to see more detailed documentation and examples.
Well suited for building complex interfaces.
Read Al Rubel's full review
Ryan Lundahl | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Worth a try!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Task Factory on the BI team to help with data connectors in SSIS and with tracking our nightly jobs. This solves writing custom code to handle certain data connectors.
  • Job management
  • Data Connectors
  • Easy to Use
  • It is hard to justify keeping a license when your platforms are adding the same functionality that Task Factory provides. This must keep ahead of software providers to justify the use.
We use Task Factory for monitoring our nightly jobs and adding functionality to SSIS in the form of custom connectors. Task Factory does a good job in these areas.
Read Ryan Lundahl's full review
Kang Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2019

#1 SSIS plug-ins

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used as the ETL tool for our data warehouse, which has impact on many departments and applications.
  • Slow changing dimension component helps the Data Warehouse ETL process
  • Salesforce source/destination component helps the integration
  • SFTP component is very useful
  • Slow changing dimension component has some bug on the hash key comparison
It's very useful for integrating different data sources and supporting ETL functions.
Read Kang Chen's full review
Edward Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

Good for any non trivial SSIS project

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Task Factory is used by IT and Research. It is used in the ETL process in the data warehouse, and also many aux SSIS projects that involve moving data from one source to another. It is also used in various migration and data restructuring projects.
  • It provides some less common connectors such as SFTP.
  • The PGP component is very easy to use as it support a cross platform encryption standard.
  • The Upsert Destination is vastly superior than the build in ADO or OLE destination.
  • The PGP task involves some hardcode parameter.
  • The Surrogate key component does not fetch a new key automatically based on the current maximum key.
Task Factory should be considered for SSIS whenever one of the following is true:
- it requires lots of insert and updates
- it needs less common connector
- it needs to work with external source / destination with PGP support
Read Edward Chow's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Good tool but needs to catch up to the competition

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used and implemented by my team , serving company needs . Connecting to REST API.
  • Rest API
  • FIle properties
  • Secure FTP task
  • Upsert
  • Amazon Connectors
  • S3 Connectors
  • Red Shift Connectors
  • Tableau Connectors
Data source calls where SSIS has limitations task factory can work well but there are company's outside has all the connectors. So, Task Factory has to improve its list of items.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Salesforce just got easier due to Task Factory

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Business and Application Reporting team is using this tool. We are using this to take the data from our Salesforce org into a data warehouse. Once the data is there we use it to create Microsoft Power BI reports. Also we use Task Factory to upsert data into Salesforce for any data migration projects. This has solved a numerous amount of issues regarding moving Salesforce data in and out of our data warehouse and other ETL.
  • Upsert Salesforce data.
  • It is simple to use.
  • Very straightforward upgrade process.
  • Continually getting new features that are useful.
  • More drag and drop interfacing.
  • Modernize the UI.
Works great for Salesforce. I can take any flat file or other source and upsert to Salesforce. I think the other way around is also well done. I would like to see a better way to create the relationship between records, but otherwise well done. It has always finished the tasks we need it to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Task Factory Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was initially used to upload and download data from Salesforce. It was then used as part of our ETL to load data for Analysis Services models, both MOLAP and Tabular.
  • Connect and access data in Salesforce
  • Slowly changing dimensions task
  • Error codes and descriptions
  • I haven't used enough in recent months to suggest improvements.
On-premise SQL Server running integration packages. I have not tried to use Task Factory with the intergration packages in Azure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Helpful supplement to our SQL Server's base offerings

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Purchased for Salesforce connectivity from our SQL Server platform. We have since leveraged other features such as Upsert.
It is used in support of our organization-wide data warehouse.
  • Upsert - simplifies coding.
  • Facilitates an odbc connection to the Sales Force world without the complication of using APIs.
  • Various other utilities to simplify ETL development.
  • We have run into compatibility issues or low level problems between SQL server and Task Factory. Working with both SentryOne and Microsoft, they both ended up blaming each other and not offering a fix.
Utilities such as Upsert have provided us with significant improvements in the reduction of repetitive code.

Because of bugs/complications with data type conversions (eg. Decimal to Numeric), care must be taken when converting numeric types.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (37)
8.1
Simple transformations (36)
8.0
Complex transformations (33)
7.6

About Task Factory

According to the vendor, Task Factory offers high-performance components and tasks for SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) that save you time and money by accelerating ETL processes and eliminating many tedious SSIS programming tasks. With more than 70 components, Task Factory helps you connect to nearly any data source, increase productivity, improve the performance of your data-centric applications, and load and manage your data warehouse.

Task Factory components include:

Dimension Merge SCD Transform
Upsert Destination
Fact Table Destination
REST Source/Destination
Salesforce.com Source/Destination
Microsoft Dynamics CRM Source/Destination
Secure FTP Task
File Gateway Task
Data Cleansing Transform
Data Validation Transform
Error Output Description Transform
PGP Encryption Task
Unpack Data Transform
XML Destination
XML Generator Transform

Task Factory Features

Data Source Connection Features
Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Does not have featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL
Data Transformations Features
Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations
Data Modeling Features
Does not have featureData model creation
Does not have featureMetadata management
Does not have featureBusiness rules and workflow
Does not have featureCollaboration
Does not have featureTesting and debugging
Does not have featurefeature 1
Data Governance Features
Does not have featureIntegration with data quality tools
Does not have featureIntegration with MDM tools

Task Factory Screenshots

Task Factory Videos (7)

Task Factory Integrations

Microsoft SQL Server, Salesforce.com, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Twitter, Facebook, Azure Machine Learning, REST

Task Factory Competitors

Microsoft SQL Server Native SSIS Components, Codeplex, Devart

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Task Factory1,245 (annual subscription license)per server
Task Factory Azure Data Factory1,495 (annual subscription license)per ADF node
Task Factory Modules$425-$795 (annual subscription license)per server

Task Factory Standard and Pro editions are licensed per server instance, with the exception of clustered servers. Each cluster within a cluster group must have a Task Factory license. Task Factory Azure Data Factory edition is licensed per Azure Data Factory node. A Task Factory license is not required to use Task Factory when developing and running packages in Visual Studio/SSDT. However, a Task Factory license is required to use Task Factory for packages run outside of Visual Studio/SSDT. Please contact sales@sentryone.com for more information.

Task Factory Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
75%

Task Factory Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Task Factory Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English