TrustRadius
Team Foundation Server (or TFS) is a test management and application lifecycle management tool, from Microsoft's Visual Studio offerings.Great system for consolidating work and informationWe are currently managing a large project and we use TFS to manage bugs, code and releases. It is only being used by the technical team but others are coordinating with us to make sure their bugs make it into the system. As well, we are using data from the system to routinely give updates to management on the status of the project as well as any concerns or risks.,The consolidation of issues is extremely useful for us. Having one place where all bugs are entered has helped our business process immensely. Being able to query data regarding user stories, bugs and code is extremely helpful. As well, using the visual tools built into the system can help with messaging regarding the status of a project. Being able to monitor code deployments is extremely helpful. Since we are managing multiple environments, this tool makes it easy to see what is happening where.,Searching through code can be somewhat cumbersome. It would be nice if there was a way to do general searches in certain areas of the system. Without proper training, the system can be confusing to navigate. This issue can be prevented with good training but it is something to be aware of. Navigation can be clunky at times depending on where you are in the system. For power users, this is not a huge deal but it is a tad bit annoying.,9,There has been a positive impact on our overall business objectives. We have saved a huge amount of time consolidating user stories and bugs into one central location. The system has increased visibility into our processes which has additionally had a positive impact on our business objectives. It has increased confidence in the process and allowed us to have more flexibility around the project.We can get two fruits (Version Control and Track Items) for one single Tree (TFS)Team Foundation Server is used for version control of Microsoft .net applications, SSIS, SSRS. Also, TFS is used for tracking tasks, bugs and change requests.,Version Control Track Bugs, Change Requests, Tasks,Compare versions of SSIS can be improved Merging of the SSIS Code can also be improved,9,Visual Studio with Team foundation server is the best: This is the best combination to use as both are Microsoft products and they are very compatible. The code can be easily checked in or checked out from the Visual Studio and all the TFS Items like Bugs, Tasks, Change requests can be accessed directly from Visual Studio and also from the web browser. Comparision Can be still improved: Comparision of the SQL server integration Services packages from Visual Studio is poor as it does not only compare the code but also compares the resizing and other unnecessary things. This can be improved such that one should be able to exclude the few unwanted things in comparison.,JIRA Service Desk,GitHub, JIRA Service DeskProject Management made easy!We use Team Foundation Server to manage manage almost all the projects and application packages. Team Foundation Server makes it easy for us to have good control of all the progress and it really helps in managing the whole release process even if a lot of developers and many teams are involved.,The environment is easy to use. It is very easy to track progress of various work items. Project management is made really easy.,There is no ability to work offline. There is a learning curve involved which is little hard to get when you are using the tool for the first time The UI can be little more organized.,10,TFS makes it easy for project management and that saves a ton of effort on keeping track of things.,WaveMaker RapidI like to work with Team Foundation ServerWe use Team Foundation Server as Source Control Managment System and for automated Builds and Tests. We don't use the WorkItem System of Team Foundation Server. We Used it a couple of years ago, but it was to complicated. Right now we just use Trello with a Scrum AddOn for Task and Backlog Planning. Right now only our Developers are using Team Foundation Server.,I like the Team Foundation Source Control Management much more compared to other Systems like GIT, because: - Perfect Integration into Visual Studio - Easy and direct checkout/check-in - Perfect branching and merging - Workflow Support with autmated Reminders The Build System is just great. Since Version 2017 its very easy to integrate self made tools into the build process. Easy Managament of Users and User Rights.,Team Foundation Server could be improved in the Task and Backlog Managment for smaller Teams. E.G.: It's hard to quickly write down Tasks during a meeting because you have to fill in lots of Fields per WorkItem. It is hard to push the Items around.,10,Team Foundation Server saves us a lot of Time working together on the same code and reviewing changes of colleagues. We save a lot of time here. Even with very small projects we use Team Foundation Server. Here it saves the time of backing up the source code without adding any overhead. I use it also for my private and learning projects.,GitHub,Trello, Slack, Visual Studio IDE, Telerik, Kendo UIManage with order software deploymentIn my organization Team Foundation Server is used to better manage all projects and application packages. Having several developers in place and having to work on multiple projects Team Foundation Server allows you to have complete control of all developments and to manage independently and with order every release and every package developed without loss of data or misalignments.,No data loss Multiple deployments Deployment without problems of versions,You must avoid getting stuck with check-in Developers must avoid overwriting The developers must be at minimum coordinated among themselves during the developments,8,No time loss No data loss Easy rollback deployment
Unspecified
Team Foundation Server
105 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TFS Reviews

TFS
105 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 105 vetted TFS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-22 of 22)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Martinez profile photo
December 03, 2018

TFS Review: "Great system for consolidating work and information"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently managing a large project and we use TFS to manage bugs, code and releases. It is only being used by the technical team but others are coordinating with us to make sure their bugs make it into the system. As well, we are using data from the system to routinely give updates to management on the status of the project as well as any concerns or risks.
  • The consolidation of issues is extremely useful for us. Having one place where all bugs are entered has helped our business process immensely.
  • Being able to query data regarding user stories, bugs and code is extremely helpful. As well, using the visual tools built into the system can help with messaging regarding the status of a project.
  • Being able to monitor code deployments is extremely helpful. Since we are managing multiple environments, this tool makes it easy to see what is happening where.
  • Searching through code can be somewhat cumbersome. It would be nice if there was a way to do general searches in certain areas of the system.
  • Without proper training, the system can be confusing to navigate. This issue can be prevented with good training but it is something to be aware of.
  • Navigation can be clunky at times depending on where you are in the system. For power users, this is not a huge deal but it is a tad bit annoying.
TFS is very good when working on a large project with a lot of moving pieces. When you have many BAs involved and a lot of user stories, it can be extremely useful to consolidate information. If you are not working on a large project with many users and developers, it may be excessive. However, in general, the tool is extremely helpful when implemented correctly.
Read Michael Martinez's full review
Lavanya Elluri profile photo
July 23, 2018

Review: "We can get two fruits (Version Control and Track Items) for one single Tree (TFS)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server is used for version control of Microsoft .net applications, SSIS, SSRS. Also, TFS is used for tracking tasks, bugs and change requests.
  • Version Control
  • Track Bugs, Change Requests, Tasks
  • Compare versions of SSIS can be improved
  • Merging of the SSIS Code can also be improved
Team Foundation Server is a very a very good tool when you are using with Visual Studio. It's very easy to check in/check out the code to the Team Foundation Server.
One can easily check the Task, Bugs and any change request items very easily from the Visual Studio. One can also check this items directly on the web browser as well.
Read Lavanya Elluri's full review
No photo available
September 20, 2018

TFS Review: "Project Management made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Team Foundation Server to manage manage almost all the projects and application packages. Team Foundation Server makes it easy for us to have good control of all the progress and it really helps in managing the whole release process even if a lot of developers and many teams are involved.
  • The environment is easy to use.
  • It is very easy to track progress of various work items.
  • Project management is made really easy.
  • There is no ability to work offline.
  • There is a learning curve involved which is little hard to get when you are using the tool for the first time
  • The UI can be little more organized.
Team Foundation Server is specifically very useful for bigger teams which have a lot of developers and organizations with a lot of parallel team working on similar projects. It helps to keep track and manage the overall project well. I don't think of an alternative which is as powerful as TFS
Read this authenticated review
Markus Hopfenspirger profile photo
April 16, 2018

Review: "I like to work with Team Foundation Server"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Team Foundation Server as Source Control Managment System and for automated Builds and Tests. We don't use the WorkItem System of Team Foundation Server. We Used it a couple of years ago, but it was to complicated. Right now we just use Trello with a Scrum AddOn for Task and Backlog Planning. Right now only our Developers are using Team Foundation Server.
  • I like the Team Foundation Source Control Management much more compared to other Systems like GIT, because:
  • - Perfect Integration into Visual Studio
  • - Easy and direct checkout/check-in
  • - Perfect branching and merging
  • - Workflow Support with autmated Reminders
  • The Build System is just great. Since Version 2017 its very easy to integrate self made tools into the build process.
  • Easy Managament of Users and User Rights.
  • Team Foundation Server could be improved in the Task and Backlog Managment for smaller Teams. E.G.: It's hard to quickly write down Tasks during a meeting because you have to fill in lots of Fields per WorkItem. It is hard to push the Items around.
Well, as said before. I like TFS for Source Control and automated Builds and Testing, but it could be improved in the area of Task Management.
Read Markus Hopfenspirger's full review
Luca Campanelli profile photo
February 05, 2018

TFS Review: "Manage with order software deployment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization Team Foundation Server is used to better manage all projects and application packages. Having several developers in place and having to work on multiple projects Team Foundation Server allows you to have complete control of all developments and to manage independently and with order every release and every package developed without loss of data or misalignments.
  • No data loss
  • Multiple deployments
  • Deployment without problems of versions
  • You must avoid getting stuck with check-in
  • Developers must avoid overwriting
  • The developers must be at minimum coordinated among themselves during the developments
if you are a development company or you work in a company with continuous developments it is certainly advisable to create a server dedicated to Team Foundation Server, surely you will have fewer problems in the deployment phase and you can always keep all the versioning of your software or your objects under control. Also, rollback in emergencies can be easily managed without losing too much time.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
Brian Willis profile photo
February 02, 2018

User Review: "TFS is great for a Microsoft Shop"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our software development team. Team size is 8. It is being used as source control for .NET applications and as a continuous integration server. It is being used on site and also by our offshore partner developer team in Mexico. It helps us track versioning and collaborate with the peace of mind that we control the code.
  • Continuous integration when the team is using azure is really easy.
  • It's fairly intuitive to use.
  • Azure or IIS deployment is very easy.
  • The project management/scrum piece is hard to learn.
  • The Wikipedia functionality it provides isn't very useful for lack of features.
  • It takes a REALLY long time to check in a large number of newly added files.
  • If your file paths get too long, TFS gives you errors.
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is suited for anyone working in .NET. It's not appropriate otherwise. It's really as simple as that I think.

You could use some other source control with .NET but it integrates so well with the rest of the Microsoft family and is so reasonably priced, there'd be no need to.
Read Brian Willis's full review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

Review: "TFS is useful for big projects... as long as you know it already"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TFS in conjunction with a SharePoint upgrade to roll out Agile/Scrum. The key thing was traceability between MS products (linking). There were multiple project teams and a scrum of scrums was used. Adoption rate was decent, but it was tough to cut the cord on share folders.
  • Traceability between MS Suite
  • Clear what's a Bug, User Story, Feature, Epic
  • Linking test cases
  • Bad use of real estate is it's No. 1 failing, why all the white space?
  • Too much functionality makes it difficult for new users to jump onboard - it's daunting at first
  • Configuring dashboards is easy, but not necessarily what you want to show to upper management - needs some tweaking
If you're JUST doing project management, you probably don't need it - too powerful. If you're doing code and development, it's more useful than something that is basically just an issue tracker/kanban board/wiki.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2018

User Review: "TFS for Microsoft Shops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TFS is used across the organization as an Application Lifecycle Management tool. This addresses the problem of needing a central way to demonstrate the status of projects/applications.
  • Security
  • Reliability
  • Scalability
  • TFS templates are not as flexible as the business requires
Well suited for any IT team. Great way to track and manage the software lifecycle for projects, whether for one team or many teams.
Read this authenticated review
Rich Mephan profile photo
December 01, 2017

User Review: "TFS - The complete Development Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is used by the development and test teams at Peppermint Technology. It is used for management of our source code and we also take advantage of the automated build functionality. We also use it for storing all of our release user stories, tracking enhancements and bugs as well as taking advantage of the project management tools to support our agile development process.
  • Work Item tracking - The ability to define the flow of your work items to match your development/test process is really valuable
  • Version Control - The ability to easily track changes between every checked in version of source code can be a life saver
  • Project Management - The project management dashboards showing things like burndown enables us to easily track whether we are on target for a release
  • Integration between our help desk system and TFS was possible but not as easy as I would expect considering both are Microsoft products
  • Advanced reporting for dashboards could be made easier
TFS is a really good tool for managing small to medium-sized development teams. The ability to customize it to suit your own processes means it should be suitable for any business, though I have to confess I do not have any experience of using it within a large enterprise sized development team split across disparate locations.That said we do have developers spread across the UK and they manage to work remotely with no problems at all.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA profile photo
October 27, 2017

Review: "Team Foundation Server, making the development process just that little easier to manage"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Team Foundation Server as a hub for our in-house software development. It allows the development team to centralise software issues, feature requests and testing.

Apple Trailer Download:

  • Source code management - Team Foundation Server handles our source code and makes examining check-ins and changes nice and easy.
  • Project Management - Keeping the thousands of feature requests and bug submissions under control and in the right place is simple enough in TFS.
  • Administration - As with most Microsoft products, administration is not a difficult affair. Familiar interfaces and tight integration with other Microsoft products make most tasks intuitive.
  • Web interface - While the web interface is certainly very feature rich, there's just no substitute for a good desktop interface sometimes. The test side has Microsoft Test Manager as a desktop application counterpart, but almost everything else is done via the website. Some project management tasks could be simpler in a desktop environment.
For a software development team, Team Foundation Server definitely ticks a lot of boxes. We use the Scrum methodology and Team Foundation Server enables us to manage current sprints and plan for future sprints. Even for 'pet projects' that some developers have, Team Foundation Server is a useful tool to submit their code for archiving and creating tasks to work on those projects.
Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
Erik Sheafer profile photo
October 26, 2017

User Review: "Is TFS the right tool?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TFS in our software division as a source control for code and DB objects. It allows us most importantly to keep a history of our code. Secondly, we can do deploys from this environment out to our many environments.
  • TFS has an excellent interactive UI for all users to make source control easy to use.
  • TFS has the backing of a major company, Microsoft. Updates and the way it is used gets regular updates.
  • TFS integrates into Visual Studio.
  • TFS has many tools for many different areas in the development life cycle.
  • There is no real ability to work offline. You need to be actively connected to it in order to see history.
  • Having many hands in the same project/file can cause conflicts that can be hard to resolve.
  • having a "master" branch is difficult in TFS, it can be done but it is slow and cumbersome and not an intuitive process.
I think if you work in a Microsoft exclusive environment, this is the tool for you. If you are in an arena where you might have C#, Java, or Python other tools might be better suited to your needs. TFS can be very costly but if it is instituted correctly with RM tools, it can be a wonderful thing. If you are a small shop use a free source control.
Read Erik Sheafer's full review
No photo available
October 09, 2017

User Review: "TFS - A Truly Functional System"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Team Foundation Server (TFS) to track the development and delivery of tools we implement across business units.
  • Automatic generation of burn down chart
  • Easy to link user stories and tasks across
  • Easy to move tasks across user stories
  • Easy to move user stories across sprints
  • There are issues encountered when uploading more than one attachment to a task. One needs to refresh first then save.
  • The Admin function where you add iterations isn’t very user-friendly.
It works best with multi-located teams working on an Agile project.
Read this authenticated review
Roxanna Aramjoo profile photo
April 04, 2017

"TFS - Code and Testing and Tracability Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization. We use TFS to manage projects beginning with the Business recording requirements, rating them by Priority and approving. IT utilizes TFS for managing Projects, versioning of code, Management of Test scripts. Utilizing the tool allows us full traceability.
  • Tractability, Code to defects, Test cases to Requirements
  • Metrics - Reworks on development, test cases to change, Defect by root cause
  • Single source for all to pull data, business and IT
  • Simplify automation testing, too much repetitive code with recording
  • Easier access to Code reviews - our development team struggles with this
  • Shelving and un-shelving details - development struggles in this area
[Team Foundation Server is well suited for] Agile - Kanban boards [make it] simple and easy to see progress. Shared queries allow for all to see information, centralizing communication. [It is also well suited for] Managing projects to preventing scope creep. Provides full tractability to ensure testing covers requirements, tree queries allow export of test coverage or lack there off. The tool provides collaboration between Development and QA with the trace data and log files gathered as a test case is being executed.
Read Roxanna Aramjoo's full review
Erin Hinnen profile photo
March 13, 2017

TFS Review: "Great Project Tracking Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is being utilized by many different departments within our organization. We personally use it to track tasks, user stories, bugs, releases, and test cases. Developers associate specific check-ins with bugs/user stories within TFS which, when pushed to our staging environments, are then assigned to QA/UAT for review. User stories and bugs are tracked as release scope for regular releases. The ability to associate releases/user stories/bugs in many different scenarios is priceless. It allows us to create different metrics/queries to measure success and potential failure, as well as to analyze what went well or what went wrong. TFS can be confusing for those new to the field or those who are older and used to other programs, but once the learning curve is achieved, the user tends to take well to the program.
  • Field customization is a feature TFS has that I particularly like. We have a very specialized customization of TFS running so that I can query for specific iteration/release paths that are relevant to our metrics. We also utilize a unique workflow structure for bugs and user stories as the process from creation to close is unique within our company.
  • TFS does their web view really well, especially with newer versions of the product. Often times, I feel that very little is lacking when I am logged into the web view of TFS. I am able to bulk edit items in the newer version of TFS, and at my old job we even set up the ability for QA to push checked in code to stage environments through TFS.
  • Finally, I feel TFS does a very good job of keeping historical track of actions performed to tickets. If someone has edited a ticket in any way, I can review and identify who made the change and when. This helps give me context when a developer contacts me to ask me a question related to the wording of a ticket. This also helps hold people accountable if tickets are written incorrectly or incompletely and prevents people from passing blame to others.
  • The older versions of TFS are more lacking in the web version-- if you aren't updated to 2015 or above I believe, a lot of the web features are not available (like bulk update). You really have to keep up to date with TFS for the best features, and it's no simple task to migrate your entire instance of TFS from an older version to a newer version.
  • VSTS is supposed to be a virtual version of TFS that we've been looking into, but it severely limits customization options for ticket templates and workflows. It would be nice for VSTS to eventually carry that customization over so we could feel more comfortable switching to "the cloud" so to speak.
  • Queries are a very powerful tool, but normal business users struggle to understand how they can best utilize this tool to analyze tickets. Because of the permissions structure in all companies I have been a part of, I've never been able to save my custom queries to a public folder in TFS for business/project users. Instead, I have to take time to train these users and give them guidance on how to best create queries for their needs. This is admittedly a business process issue, but it could potentially also be resolved with some good training/guidance around queries provided by TFS themselves.
TFS is well suited for a team looking for structured requirements, projects, test cases, bugs, user stories, etc. It works well for planning things out and coordinating with others to see the "bigger view". TFS is great in scenarios where paper trails and other auditable data is needed to keep people in check and accountable. The search and query functionality allows users to search for past issues that may have been resolved previously and have crept back, and can provide history and context surrounding project functionality/decisions.

TFS might not work as well for a team truly looking for a scrum experience. Although my companies have both claimed scrum, they both planned out releases at least a few weeks in advance. If you're changing things on a daily basis it might not be as great of a tool.
Read Erin Hinnen's full review
Marcus Felling profile photo
April 04, 2017

User Review: "TFS - The all in one ALM suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is used as an Application Management Lifecycle suite by PMO, Software Development, and Information Technology. TFS ensures that software initiatives drive overall business value.
  • Work Item management.
  • Build automation - enables Continuous Integration out of the box, cross-platform, easy to use.
  • Code repositories - Hosts Git and TFVC repositories, provides excellent pull request experience for Git users.
  • RESTful API - Provides the ability to script/automate just about anything.
  • Visual Studio Team Services just about solves all of the criticisms I had of TFS.
  • Release Management is overly complicated and changes constantly, hard to keep up. I use Octopus Deploy as an alternative.
TFS is especially well suited for .Net shops if they already have MSDN subscriptions; in that case it's pretty much free and a great all in one ALM suite. TFS now supports development of any tech stack, so it should also be evaluated by teams doing more than just .Net development.
Read Marcus Felling's full review
No photo available
April 13, 2017

User Review: "TFS = meh"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use team foundation server for source control.
  • Project management
  • Scrum
  • Integration with visual studio
  • Not a user friendly implementation of Git
  • TFS version control is not widely used in favor of Git
Using visual studio to manage source code instead of GitHub out bitbucket
Read this authenticated review
Tiffany Seeman profile photo
June 10, 2016

Review: "Team Foundation Server - The central repository"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server was being used as the central repository for all organization application assets (Requirements, Code, and Test Suites). Each application is used by different users depending on job title and role but only within the IT departments. It addresses the issue of having multiple repositories for each kind of asset needed to develop projects and applications. The organization can now link together requirements to code pieces, stored queries to code, and test cases to code and requirements to makes sure all pieces of the project have been fulfilled before go-live.
  • Team Foundation Server makes it easy to develop and debug code. While coding, if a variable is missing or comma or something is misspelled team foundation server uses Microsoft visual studio to develop code which helps find where the line of code is with the issue.
  • Test Manager makes it easy to link test cases with pieces of code for developers or test cases for front to end testing for QC analysts. Linking test cases to pieces of code and requirements is super simple.
  • Test Manager makes test automation easy to re-run test cases in the event the same steps will be taken multiple time for a particular test suite. I had one test suite with over 100 test cases and the first 10 test steps were the same for each test case. I set up automation testing using test manager and was able to skip the consistent clicking on the first 10 steps for the 100 test cases.
  • I think if old coding languages were easier to migrate and keep in TFS as a archive and easy to access then that would be a huge improvement.
  • Easier to create dashboards within TFS of the approvals for projects.
I think Team Foundation Server is well suited for companies looking to do web-based status reports for projects and I think it works for organizations looking to implement Agile Methodologies. It makes implementing SCRUM techniques into a project very easy as well as being user friendly. Accessing and shelving code is easy for coders to understand and use so that others can not make any changes to a piece of code unless it is checked in. It makes a whole project run smoother knowing what stage it is in and seeing where the issues are occurring by being able to access the status of each project over the web if you don't have the software downloaded to your PC.
Read Tiffany Seeman's full review
Bill Starling profile photo
December 01, 2015

User Review: "Team Foundation Server for R&D teams"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server is used by the entire company across the globe. Development uses it for obvious reasons in developing new software and fixing bugs that are found and logged into Team Foundation Server by our quality assurance analysts. Support uses Team Foundation Server to log issues from clients and professional services uses it to make minor changes while in the field with clients. Sales uses it to demonstrate new features to clients and to set up environments when holding trade shows.
  • Allows a great deal of history detail on every issue found or new feature added. It keeps a detailed history of any code changes by developers so you can always see who changed what portion or code.
  • You can adjust users permissions down to a group of users (i.e. testers vs. developers vs. managers) and can get very technical with permissions for each group. The permissions can also be set based on certain portions of the code base not just on the entire thing.
  • The information that is tracked is great. When you find an issue and you log it in Team Foundation Server you have many options for fields to utilize and edit to make sure you get the correct team of developers to look at it. You can also have different requirements for each issue or when checking in code such as changes made, priority level, area and iteration (these are used for internal development purposes usually).
  • Simplify the permissions interface and navigation. Permissions are great but sometimes finding the correct screen is difficult.
  • Make the interaction between different versions easier. Sometimes you can run into issues when trying to use an older Team Foundation Server server with a new Team Foundation Server Build server. This occurs when you don't have the resources to upgrade all servers at once.
This is more suited for a larger corporation or development team as the cost of acquiring the software/hardware might be too large for a smaller company. Setting it up can also be hard for a small team if there is no experience with it. Finding experience can be hard because of this fact but the Team Foundation Server wizards are generally helpful and provide adequate help in setup and administration.
Read Bill Starling's full review
Brian Campbell profile photo
December 11, 2015

User Review: "TFS Usage in a Small Company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is being used by one of our departments. It's used for source code management and testing.
  • TFS code management is superior to other products we've used. Merges, check-ins, rollbacks, and version management techniques are much less error prone.
  • TFS tasking and traceability to code for tasks are some of its best features. Individual and team tasking can be applied to any methodology template a manager would want to use to manage a team.
  • TFS usability and unit testing suite is very flexible. Tests can be built all the way from the bottom unit test up to a functional level (understandable by functional people) and automatically executed for regression analysis.
  • Detailed custom changes to development methodology templates could be less difficult. The version we've worked with required development knowledge to make custom changes which should be doable by higher level management.
  • When using multiple TFS in a hierarchical/multi-enclave structure synchronization of code and functionality pushed from one to another can be a bit buggy at times.
Team Foundation Server is an investment that pays off when managing a large project with large teams or multiple small projects.
Read Brian Campbell's full review
No photo available
December 11, 2015

Review: "TFS is an excellent tool to support the full ALM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TFS is used for ALM of all in house supportive software, development of our flagship product and clinical studies for our latest version. TFS acts as a central hub for requirements, code, tests and reports. It links these facets of the product life cycle together.
  • Linking together all aspects of the application life cycle, from requirements to code to builds and test.
  • Trace-ability of all application life cycle via reports and queries.
  • Automated testing.
  • Flexibility of source code management. Centralized or distributed.
  • Upgrade paths could be handled better. Very difficult to upgrade with customization in place.
  • Capacity planning could be improved.
  • Dot Net framework 260 character path limit is ridiculous.
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is best for large scale enterprise deployments. Not needed for a small company. With the infrastructure investment, TFS can aid large scale software development immensely. TFS is highly customizable, but if you go the route of heavy customization, don't upgrade to the latest version aggressively. Plan to invest in at least one full time TFS administrator. Make sure the users are properly trained.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2015

Review: "Team Foundation Server is a great tool for enterprise level development"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server is used by our company as the primary tool for managing our software development process and managing our software code. We use an Agile Scrum process for our development and take advantage of the Team Foundation Server Agile work flow template. We do very few customizations to the template for ease of use and to keep maintenance and administration to a minimum. We use the Backlog and Board every day in our standup meetings. Our team has members in the US and abroad and Team Foundation Server helps keep everyone on the same page. We also use Team Foundation Server for our code repository. All of our source code and automated tests are stored in Team Foundation Server.
  • Team Foundation Server's built in Agile work flow template provides us an excellent out-of-the-box framework to manage our software projects.
  • Team Foundation Server's source code repository is easy to use and has all of the expected features that a large software development organization needs.
  • The Web Portal has a responsive and very easy user interface that allows the Scrum Master to make updates to User Stories, Tasks, and Bugs while members are reporting their status each day.
  • Team Foundation Server integrates with an SQA test module called Microsoft Test Manager (MTM). The integration between MTM and Team Foundation Server is not always straight forward. Some things can be done with Test Cases in the Team Foundation Server UI while others can only be done in MTM UI and vice versa.
  • The Team Foundation Server web portal is good for performing some actions, while the native client app is better for other actions. It is not as efficient or effective to have to know and work with the two different approaches.
I think Team Foundation Server is the best solution when Microsoft development technologies are being used. Microsoft is focused on integration of their own technologies versus those of their competitors. This is just something to consider for the selection process. Also, it is important to consider all of the features that you require of a system. Team Foundation Server can do it all, but each module in itself may not be the best solution on the market.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 14, 2015

Review: "Team Foundation Server - Most reliable Team System with robust Source Control"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team Foundation Server (TFS) is being used for source control and ream project, task, bug etc., tracking.
  • Import work items in Excel and change in bulk. Then publish to TFS. This is the most efficient feature of TFS.
  • Change Set description editing even after check-in is committed. Link work items with each other.
  • Branching with more options from TFS command.
  • Use different version from different branch and build on top that - This feature is missing. This feature we can see in Clear Case.
  • We cannot query well on History field. We should be able to create query where History contents are specifically given by words or phrase.
  • Branch & Label Diagram is also missing or may be I am not aware of how to do that.
Project Tracking, Member Access along with source control - this is the most accepted feature for using Team Foundation Server.
Read this authenticated review

About TFS

Team Foundation Server (or TFS) is a test management and application lifecycle management tool, from Microsoft's Visual Studio offerings.

TFS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No